Is "Culchie" Offensive?

Culann

1236459 Fáilte ar ais dhorse. I hope Laois get stuffed on Saturday

That stands to reason, isn't that what being a sports supporter is all about.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/08/2012 14:51:50    1236487

DownStar29
County: Down

1236479 you need to travel to Milan dirty ran down spot like Newcastle in England

Been there... been just about everywhere at this stage!

Lots wrong with Dublin... lots wrong with every other city I've been too.

No one can hold a candle to Dublin and Ireland for sheer character, spirit and honesty

Lots wrong with Dublin but I love it all the same... it's a work in progress.

We were a third world country not so long ago.

You cant just focus on the negatives... Ireland has one of the best standards of living in the world.

Dublin is the capital of that...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/08/2012 14:51:55    1236488

aidan64

Losing the run of yourself there jimbodub although Dublin is a great place. Great nightlife, great people, great pubs and clubs and cracking women. Easily the best place to live in Ireland.

Kerry is the best place, especially if you can get yourself a state job around the killarney area and join the Killarney G&F club. Now that would be a sweet set up.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 02/08/2012 14:53:29    1236490

AfricanGael
County: UK

Work? You must be on about Dublin, Ohio. As cities go, Dublin, Ireland, is very dirty and shabby in comparison to other capital cities around Europe, which is a shame.

Not at all, you've been on the dark continent to long , all that opulence has you dazzled

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/08/2012 14:55:28    1236492

dhorse
County: Laois

1236487 Culann

1236459 Fáilte ar ais dhorse. I hope Laois get stuffed on Saturday

That stands to reason, isn't that what being a sports supporter is all about.

Good response I suppose.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/08/2012 15:09:29    1236500

Fair play to u jimbodub!!

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 668 - 02/08/2012 16:43:36    1236596

Anyway, where is The GAA forum gone?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/08/2012 16:47:18    1236601

aidan64

1236596 Fair play to u jimbodub!!

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/08/2012 16:51:20    1236610

What I love is we can all attack Dublin and say how bad it is as "Culchie's" - yet when a foreigner comes on and attacks our capital city - we all defend it......GOD SAVE DUBLIN AND IRELAND!!

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11376 - 02/08/2012 17:20:21    1236640

What does a dub called someone from outside Dublin?

Boss

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 02/08/2012 20:34:44    1236772

Killarney.87
County: Tipperary

What does a dub called someone from outside Dublin?

Boss

two letters correct but messed up the rest its BOGGER

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/08/2012 20:42:07    1236779

DownStar29
County: Down

you need to travel to Milan dirty ran down spot like Newcastle in England

Neither are capitals though. Is Dublin twinned with Newcastle? Seriuosish question.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2012 21:01:28    1236791

arock

, Fingal is not Dublin.

Think your way off there bud, you go into darndale and tell them there not Dubs ha ha. what about flyner(swords) b cullen(balbriggan) d daly(swords). theres a lot more. shane ryan (portmanock).

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/08/2012 21:02:58    1236792

Neither are capitals though. Is Dublin twinned with Newcastle? Seriuosish question

No

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/08/2012 21:10:05    1236794

And go into blanch , Tallafornia , clondalkin etc and tell them there not Dubs. If you value your life don't do it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/08/2012 21:11:17    1236798

AfricanGael
County: UK

Neither are capitals though. Is Dublin twinned with Newcastle? Seriuosish question

who are you twinned with..

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/08/2012 21:15:46    1236805

And go into blanch , Tallafornia , clondalkin etc and tell them there not Dubs. If you value your life don't do it.

It's funny you should mention all them areas, because I've worked on the streets in them places many times (particularly blanch), often wearing a Meath jersey and never really had a problem, infact a lot of people are quite friendly. Of course you do get the odd skanger here and there blowing smoke into a pram crammed with 20 kids but hey life isn't all peaches and cream.

As for the word cluchie, couldn't give a monkeys, I've been called a lot worse!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/08/2012 21:24:20    1236812

You cant just focus on the negatives... Ireland has one of the best standards of living in the world.

I see you have been to the brewery today Jim, if you believe what you have written. Have you read any OECD reports lately on child poverty in Ireland?

I agree that Guinness was a great "invention", also brewed and drank by the bucket load in Africa. They actually brew a non-alcoholic version as well in Nigeria, latest sales figures not good.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2012 21:26:37    1236819

How many miles is the airport in dublin from the town?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2012 21:32:34    1236827

Like to know why african uks posts are allowed here.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/08/2012 21:47:14    1236837