Is "Culchie" Offensive?

OgraAnDun
County: Down

1236963 It's a 32 county republic lads, and don't ye bloody forget it.
Not true Gaels if you deny that.

Nah, good friday agrement finally put that one to bed.
are there any true gaels left

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/08/2012 11:17:34    1237023

As Seamas Heaney said:

My passport's green,
No glass of ours was ever raised
To toast the Queen.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 03/08/2012 11:19:21    1237025

Up the Republic!

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/08/2012 11:20:55    1237027

dhorse
County: Laois

--------
Yeah, anyone who refuses to recognise the legitimacy of the British occupying state and forces in Ireland.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 03/08/2012 11:24:31    1237030

Isnt it amazing how a wum (african uk)can change the topic of a post, now were all declaring our irishness. theres me hoping for a bit of craic on the culchies topic ha ha.

good original post.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/08/2012 11:26:21    1237033

AthCliath, i meant to get back to you yesterday. You wanted to bring back censorship of opinion, do you like that?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/08/2012 11:31:52    1237042

AthCliath, i never changed the subject, i simply pointed out the fact that the GAA is fantastic at extracting the inner culchie in everyone, no matter where you were born, and that in fact on a bigger context that all irish people are looked at as culchies from outside ireland.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/08/2012 11:36:38    1237050

OgraAnDun

1237030 dhorse
County: Laois

--------
Yeah, anyone who refuses to recognise the legitimacy of the British occupying state and forces in Ireland.

Not many so, if the elections north and south are to go by, but then again who cares about democracy .

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/08/2012 11:36:59    1237051

nah, just healthy debate is fine by me, not running down peoples countries ,any way back to the debate are you a culchie or a Dub.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/08/2012 11:37:15    1237052

nordie ;-)

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 03/08/2012 11:41:01    1237056

Most capital cities in Africa would not be safe to travel too.

Total Nonsense

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/08/2012 11:41:29    1237057

AthCliath

nah, just healthy debate is fine by me, not running down peoples countries ,any way back to the debate are you a culchie or a Dub.

Just because its mine and many peoples opinion that Dublin is dirtier and shabbier than other European capitals is a childish reason to look for my comments to be censored. Everyone in Ireland is a culchie to anyone from outside looking in. And I imagine you are into the GAA AthCliath, so you shroud embrace the inner culchie in you. How far is the airport from the town centre in Dublin?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/08/2012 11:47:59    1237068

Theres parts of every capital city, and every city in the world which are dodgy and not safe.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 03/08/2012 11:49:23    1237073

OgraAnDun

Theres parts of every capital city, and every city in the world which are dodgy and not safe.

I never mentioned the words dodgy or unsafe anywhere OgraAnDun. Haven't got that far yet.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/08/2012 11:57:00    1237085

AfricanGael
County: UK
How far is the airport from the town centre in Dublin?

not far by helicopter, bit of a trek walking.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/08/2012 11:57:18    1237086

In all fairness, if you look at the capital cities just in these islands ( London, Edinburgh, Cardiff), Dublin is one ugly hole, even if you confined it to the city centres .The English did build a lovely city for the Dubs, but the Dubs ruined it. If you go the continent, the comparisons become even worse. Cork and Galway are far nicer cities, and even Limerick is safer (most murders, especially gamland murders are commiited in Dublin, Limerick gets a bad rap from the Dublin media). Dublin's one redeeeming feature is the Wicklow mountains on it's doorstep.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 03/08/2012 11:58:21    1237091

AfricanGael
County: UK

How far is the airport from the town centre in Dublin?

I have to say that I'm fascinated by what witty and intelligent point you're going to have regarding Dublin because of where the airport is in relation to the city centre.

So for you information the airport is just over 6 miles from the city centre.

So, what's your point?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13778 - 03/08/2012 11:59:56    1237095

DownStar29

1237019 Wrap The Green Flag Round Me, Boys
J. K. O'Reilly
Wrap the green flag round me, boys,
To die were far more sweet,
with Erin's noble emblem boys,
To be my winding sheet.
In life l loved to see it wave,
And follow where it led,
But now my eyes grow dim - my hand
Would grasp its last bright shred.

Then wrap the green flag round me, boys,
To die were far sweet
With Erin's noble emblem boys,
To be my winding sheet.

And I had hoped to meet you, boys,
On many a well-fought field,
When to our sacred banner, boys,
The traitorous foe would yield,
But now, alas! I am denied
My dearest earthly prayer,
You'll follow and you'll meet the foe,
But l shall not be there.

But though my body moulders, boys,
My spirit will be free,
And every comrade's honour, boys,
Will yet be dear to me.
And in the thick and bloody fight
Let not your courage lag.
For I'll be there and hovering near
Around the dear old flag.

woeful dirge, a lot of fighting, foes, death and boys mentioned. Not good

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/08/2012 12:02:26    1237097

KeyserSoze

1237091 In all fairness, if you look at the capital cities just in these islands ( London, Edinburgh, Cardiff), Dublin is one ugly hole, even if you confined it to the city centres .The English did build a lovely city for the Dubs, but the Dubs ruined it

just a random example, who built.partially , the shell that overlooks the wholesouthside of the city in kilmacud?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/08/2012 12:04:41    1237102

guess the Laois boys were hiding, I'll the wrap the green around me every time and I remember who fell before me and what they did to allow me to wave the green. May the sod rest lightly on their souls

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 03/08/2012 12:10:13    1237112