Is "Culchie" Offensive?

KeyserSoze

Still annoyed your fans wont support the footballers.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/08/2012 12:10:37    1237115

bring Back the GAA forum

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/08/2012 12:11:38    1237118

Thanks MesAmis,

I thought it was about 30 miles as you can see farms and cattle grazing in the fields close to the airport. Its handy for the dublin farmers to be so close to the town centre i suppose.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/08/2012 12:12:49    1237120

Away back to Proc with ye Keyser! We want our GAA forum back.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2012 12:13:57    1237124

DownStar29
County: Down

I'll the wrap the green around me every time and I remember who fell before me and what they did to allow me to wave the green. May the sod rest lightly on their souls .

Good man, try and not encourage Boys to spill any of their blood, or anybody else's if possible.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/08/2012 12:15:13    1237126

AfricanGael
County: UK

I thought it was about 30 miles as you can see farms and cattle grazing in the fields close to the airport. Its handy for the dublin farmers to be so close to the town centre i suppose.

Well that's disappointing.

I was hoping for a much better insult than that. Seriously make an effort!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13778 - 03/08/2012 12:18:13    1237131

http://www.collegetribune.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/DublinRiverLiffey1.jpg

Just a tiny sample

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 03/08/2012 12:21:38    1237141

dhorse,

As I said or tried to explain that song is about people who gave their lives for the cause. I remember it, I remember why they did it, but I never said go out and do it again. They met fire with fire, against the Crown. If they didn't the Republic would still be under British rule. Thank god for the brave souls who will always be remembered.

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 03/08/2012 12:21:55    1237142

KeyserSoze

In all fairness, if you look at the capital cities just in these islands ( London, Edinburgh, Cardiff), Dublin is one ugly hole, even if you confined it to the city centres .The English did build a lovely city for the Dubs, but the Dubs ruined it. If you go the continent, the comparisons become even worse. Cork and Galway are far nicer cities, and even Limerick is safer (most murders, especially gamland murders are commiited in Dublin, Limerick gets a bad rap from the Dublin media). Dublin's one redeeeming feature is the Wicklow mountains on it's doorstep.

Cardiff? Hahahaha!

Edinburgh is very nice around the centre and the South Side. A lot of the rest of it leaves a lot to be desired though. Had/has very similar problems as Dublin has in fact.

London is beautiful and absolutely horrible in equal measure.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13778 - 03/08/2012 12:22:26    1237143

Actually The Celtic Spider era in Ireland helped to clean up some London ghettos, so it wasn't all bad.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/08/2012 12:32:51    1237159

African(You're no Gael)

2011 HDI (Human Development Index report)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_Human_Development_Index

Joint 5th with New Zealand / Canada

We increased by .01 on 2010

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 03/08/2012 12:37:34    1237167

Ireland overall is also the 5th most peaceful country in the world! Would be the first if it wasn't for Limerick and Dublin!

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 03/08/2012 12:43:28    1237174

jimbodub, if I told you it was 38 degrees in the shade in Dublin today would you believe me or would you go outside and make your own mind up?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/08/2012 12:43:30    1237175

AfricanGael
County: UK

jimbodub, if I told you it was 38 degrees in the shade in Dublin today would you believe me or would you go outside and make your own mind up?
--------
I'd like to think he would do neither as he's not an idiot.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 03/08/2012 12:45:35    1237179

African, you can surely come up with a better response than that?..................

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 03/08/2012 12:45:57    1237180

OgraAnDun

1237174 Ireland overall is also the 5th most peaceful country in the world! Would be the first if it wasn't for Limerick and Dublin!
______

Says the lad from feckin Northern Ireland... ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 03/08/2012 12:48:45    1237184

DownStar29

1237180 African, you can surely come up with a better response than that?..................
_____

No drunk Brewery comments now alright.

Ignorance is bliss. He's only having a laugh anyway...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 03/08/2012 12:49:46    1237186

jimbo

Says the lad from feckin Northern Ireland... ;)
------------
Erm, unfortunately I don't think the people who carried out the review quite agree with my attitudes towards 32 county sovereignty and what state the 6 counties are actually in. If they included the north in that review as part of the UK, then I think that it may be nearly totally to blame for it's dismal placing.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 03/08/2012 12:51:27    1237190

No lad a nordie from Ulster, feck the union jack

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 03/08/2012 12:52:23    1237193

I was only having a laugh boys...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 03/08/2012 12:55:12    1237198