Is "Culchie" Offensive?

Out of curiosity lads, do non Dubs here find the term Culchie, offensive?
I know its a term derived from Kiltimagh and some of ye seem to take great offense at its use, but then others take zero offence at it and would describe themselves proudly as culchies.
Is a culchie simply someone not from Dublin city?
Is a farmer from North County Dublin, a culchie? Is he a jackeen and a culchie?
Is someone from Moyross/Mayfield, a culchie?

What in short is a culchie, and to those rural dwellers amongst us, would you take offense at being called a Culchie?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 15:35:21    1235681

anyone outside Dublin City Centre lol...............................taken on the chin sure you guys are known as west brit's lol.

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 01/08/2012 15:44:49    1235703

Far less offensive than being a Dub I suppose? :)
Imagine being called a Culann!! Now that's not on!!!!

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 01/08/2012 15:46:04    1235706

No normally its not offensive but it depends on the context of the sentence in which the word is used.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 01/08/2012 15:46:09    1235707

Liam

Anyone from outside the M50 is a culchie. That's just a fact.

Also the term 'culchie' could also have come from the Irish cúl an tí denoting the entrance to the big houses the servants had to use.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13778 - 01/08/2012 15:46:36    1235708

If you don't know a culchie when you see one Liam there's something wrong with ye.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 01/08/2012 15:47:30    1235710

Well yous are the jacks know what that stands for is that offensive? Been from the pale and all ;D

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 01/08/2012 15:48:50    1235712

depends on the context its used i suppose.. have to say im a pretty proud culchie !

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 01/08/2012 15:49:11    1235713

Downstar, for some reason we dont see lads from the 6 counties as culchies....yea re just Nordies ;) haha

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 15:49:39    1235714

Depends on the context/the manner in which it is said.

Light hearted banter, never harmed anyone but screaming in someones face, "you're only a culchie basta, up here taken our jobs" blah blah , i find that offensive but would have no problem confronting the person asking him to explain himself in more detail.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 01/08/2012 15:50:11    1235717

Most of the dubs are offsprings of culchies.

At least we're pure bred culchies :)

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1701 - 01/08/2012 15:51:40    1235720

The Oxford English Dictionary describes the etymology of the word "culchie", meaning a country person or one not from the city of Dublin, as "Apparently alteration of Kiltimagh, Irish Coillte Mach (older Mághach), the name of a country town in Co. Mayo."

I'm a proud Coillte from Kiltimagh. Most Dubs use it as a derogatory term, thinking it will cause offence.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 01/08/2012 15:52:51    1235724

I take Zero offence to it.
I'd rather be a Culchie than a Dub ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 01/08/2012 15:53:12    1235725

According to that tool of knowledge wikipedia: "It is sometimes said to be a word derived from the remote town of Coillte Mach, County Mayo.[2] However the more likely origin of the term is the Irish coillte meaning "the wood/forest",[citation needed] to describe people who lived in the woods"

Now I don't live in the woods Liam and I don't take the term culchie as offensive.....

Actually Liam one thing I want to ask you is why does everybody (media included) in Dublin say "DOWN" the country.....since when did Dublin move to Malin Head?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11376 - 01/08/2012 15:54:34    1235727

haha no its one of these words that is easy to laugh off

finuge93 (Kerry) - Posts: 166 - 01/08/2012 15:55:29    1235728

I don't take it offensively, but some might. Is Jackeen offensive? To answer the question on where the boundaries are, I knew a fella from Lusk who stated he wasn't from Dublin but County Dublin!

DanBreen (Kerry) - Posts: 73 - 01/08/2012 15:55:58    1235729

lilywhitemagic

1235712 Well yous are the jacks know what that stands for is that offensive? Been from the pale and all ;D

Eh .........I hate to break it to you man, but your from "The Pale" also......!
Did you not realise Kildare was also in The Pale???!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 15:56:12    1235730

Lilywhite

"The Pale (An Pháil in Irish) or the English Pale (An Pháil Shasanach), was the part of Ireland that was directly under the control of the English government in the late Middle Ages. It had reduced by the late 15th century to an area along the east coast stretching from Dalkey, south of Dublin, to the garrison town of Dundalk.[1] The inland boundary went to Leixlip around the Earldom of Kildare, towards Trim and north towards Kells. In this district, many townlands have English or French names"

How you like them apples :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 16:00:35    1235735

Downstar, for some reason we dont see lads from the 6 counties as culchies....yea re just Nordies ;) haha

I feel humbled ;-) .............not been called a Brit seriously would jackeen

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 01/08/2012 16:01:42    1235737

Hate to break it to you lad but only a percentage of kildare was in the pale the boundary just stopped far side of clane!!
and no id rather be called a culchie than a jackeen!! much rather!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 01/08/2012 16:02:15    1235738