Is "Culchie" Offensive?

I hope so : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8667 - 01/08/2012 18:55:48    1235924

KeyserSoze....I think you'll find my version, although I havent went into detail is actually factually correct.

As my friend once said about Cork talking to A REBEL from Cork....

The Rebel County......me arse.....you only had one Rebel down there and ye shot him!!!!"

;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/08/2012 19:10:15    1235933

KeyserSoze....I think you'll find my version, although I havent went into detail is actually factually correct.

As my friend once said about Cork talking to A REBEL from Cork....

The Rebel County......me arse.....you only had one Rebel down there and ye shot him!!!!"

;-)

class lol............can I borrow that one, for when I'm in the middle of the Rebels come All Ireland Final day ;-)

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 01/08/2012 19:13:42    1235935

from the past ........ good stuff.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Forum/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=0&TopicID=6962

RUBADUB

I have absolutely no hatred for culchies, bog hoppers, red necks, hicks etc. My mother is a pure bog hopper from the Deise.
While visiting our country relations we were listening to a match on the radio, Brian Mullins was taking a penalty, My dad turned to me and said "Don't worry son Brian Mullins eat's Culchies for breakfast" My 5 year old imagination went into over overdrive....my mother and all the relations went into overdrive on my dad!

MesAmis you'll have to change the record .

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 01/08/2012 19:17:59    1235937

Sorry, JayP, but your potted version of history is very much wrong. But you have every right to be wrong in this state whose freedom was won mainly by Munster (especially Cork and Tipperary) men and women, though your throwawayt jaded remark indicates you're not very educated on the matter or very thanfkul to the county who dd most to secure your freedom. As for the Dubs, Pearse himself was racked with guilt over Dublin's historical role as facilitators of British rule in England, and so planned the 1916 fiasco to be centred in Dublin. A similiar rising was planned to go ahead in Corkat the same time to start on the orders from those who were in Dublin. But but they maaged to even mess that up in Dublin so the order never came. Thye've been messing up the country in Dublin ever since.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 01/08/2012 19:23:21    1235942

I don't find the term culchie offensive, it is just the howya word for country people.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 01/08/2012 19:28:01    1235947

To the Dubs ....... I am not moaning just curious. I have often wondered if being a Kerryman was actually worse than being a culchie ? I am married to a Dub and wouldn't swap her for The Kingdom. I tear strips off herself and her crew when it comes to the football. In all fairness to them I get back as good as I give and when it's all over it's all over. Over the years I have noticed that extra little jibe from her family in the heat of battle. I have no problem with it as my sons, reared from birth in Kildare refer to me as a bogger.. That always confused me but now that I know how far The Pale extends I am going to buy them Dublin jerseys.
"The Pale moon was rising above" and all that.

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 01/08/2012 19:50:25    1235958

derrymore, the Kerry boys won't like you getting them Dublin jerseys lol.......................I spend some of my holidays well when its not raining in Ballybunion North Kerry. Alot of Limerick,Cork and Dublin lads head there as well. When it comes to football though the banter between the Kerry and Dublin lads take on a different level, in a good way might I add. They seem to love it, it comes across as a love hate job with them. Had some really good nights down their.

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 01/08/2012 19:58:01    1235964

How would you spot a Dublin Footballer with Culchie Parent/Parents?

He is over 5 foot 5" in height.

Most of the Dublin team come from culchie parents. If the Dubs picked a team of true blues, they be a team of midget, tracksuit wearing players form the real GAA heartlands of Summerhill.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 01/08/2012 20:01:26    1235968

If the Dubs picked a team of true blues, they be a team of midget, tracksuit wearing players form the real GAA heartlands of Summerhill.
kerryrowz , 01/08/2012 at 20:01
---------------------------------------
You mean like Dara O'C....from Tallaght!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 01/08/2012 20:12:17    1235980

DownStar29

Have been living in Kildare a long and the sons are die hard LILLIES (God help them). If they were asked to choose between Kerry and Dublin they would answer Spain !!!!!! ha ha ha.

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 01/08/2012 20:20:33    1235983

lol goodman Derrymore, at least they wouldn't shout for England. Enjoy the fest of our great game over the weekend.

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 01/08/2012 20:26:03    1235985

It probably depends on the tone and the context in which it is used.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/08/2012 10:30:40    1236131

It may shock or even disgust Dubs to hear that those of us fortunate to find ourselves outside the M50 even categorise ourselves into cultchies and non-cultchies. For example in Donegal if you live within the sprawling metropolises of Buncrana or Ballyshannon you will more often than not proudly declare yourself a townie and everyone else from outside the town a cultchie.

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 02/08/2012 11:01:03    1236149

Cork's rebel county name is definitely "anglo-earned"
And there have been books to confirm it by such authors as Tim Pat Coogan, Joe Lee and Diarmuid Ferriter. To be honest the vast majority of educated Corkonians know this and would never claim any different anyways.

Anyways........whats all this got to do with Mullyas....sorry.......culchies??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/08/2012 11:02:30    1236152

Antifa

1236149 It may shock or even disgust Dubs to hear that those of us fortunate to find ourselves outside the M50 even categorise ourselves into cultchies and non-cultchies. For example in Donegal if you live within the sprawling metropolises of Buncrana or Ballyshannon you will more often than not proudly declare yourself a townie and everyone else from outside the town a cultchie.

I thought it was townies and munchies.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/08/2012 11:29:35    1236178

Culchies calling each other culchies... gas.

The blind leading the blind....

You're all culchies for heaven sake.

Pot Kettle black kind of stuff....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/08/2012 11:35:22    1236184

If you're into the GAA, you're a culchie, simple as, doesn't matter where you were born or brought up. Nothing like the GAA to bring out the inner culchie in people.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2012 11:37:33    1236186

Culchies calling each other culchies... gas.

The blind leading the blind....

You're all culchies for heaven sake.

Pot Kettle black kind of stuff....

I think 9280 posts on Hoganstand should be ample to get you nominated for "The King of The Culchies" jimbodub.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2012 11:56:04    1236207

Antifa

1236149 It may shock or even disgust Dubs to hear that those of us fortunate to find ourselves outside the M50 even categorise ourselves into cultchies and non-cultchies. For example in Donegal if you live within the sprawling metropolises of Buncrana or Ballyshannon you will more often than not proudly declare yourself a townie and everyone else from outside the town a cultchie.

I thought it was townies and munchies.

Culann, this is the same in Tyrone. The county is made up of munchies and townies. A munchie is a cultchie in my book, is just a variance but means the same thing. Were the modern Dublin City Slicker views the whole country apart from maybe Cork as pure culties, we on the otherhand have our own sub categories for describing the background of a fellow county inhabitant. They're either a townie or a munchie (A.K.A Cultie)

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 02/08/2012 12:31:42    1236259