Is "Culchie" Offensive?

The Pale went from Dalkey up as far as Dundalk. Its western boundary was around Maynooth.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13778 - 01/08/2012 16:02:16    1235739

Downstar.........i dont follow your last post????

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 16:03:15    1235742

No Offence.

Good on ya Liam I never knew the Pale included those parts

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 01/08/2012 16:05:14    1235744

Yes.

Its meant to be.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 01/08/2012 16:07:04    1235746

PS

Great thread.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 01/08/2012 16:07:35    1235747

yew_tree

Actually Liam one thing I want to ask you is why does everybody (media included) in Dublin say "DOWN" the country.....since when did Dublin move to Malin Head?

I say down to Cavan, cos I always figure you're going downhill (Cavan being the hollow) rather than up a map. Not sure if thats actually the case.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12161 - 01/08/2012 16:08:21    1235748

ye your dead right 'mes amis' the fitzgeards were the owners the castle in the college and they were the rebellious ones against the pale and wouldnt let it spread that bit further out towards kilcock and enfield

ahoortogo (Kildare) - Posts: 11 - 01/08/2012 16:09:23    1235749

I feel humbled ;-) .............not been called a Brit seriously would jackeen

sorry should read...................I feel humbled :-)...........been called a Brit, seriously would jackeen

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 01/08/2012 16:09:49    1235750

Oh it did sham, Meath, Kildare and Louth are just as much part of The Pale as Dublin, and when someone from those counties calls us "The Pale" its hilarious. Its like me calling you a Paddy or a Mick :)
And lets not forget the Kings and Queens counties in the midlands shall we :) Yes Laois and Offaly! And the real reason Cork is known as the Rebel County......for being Rebellious against local anti establishment groups and remaining loyal to the crown!!!
All ye traitorous culchies :) :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 16:10:30    1235752

Yew/Breff I know thats baffling isnt it! Same as I have relations in Donegal Town and they often talk about going "Up to Dublin".....!! Whats that all about?!?!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 16:12:32    1235754

Downstar that STILL doesnt make sense....
what does "seriously would Jackeen" mean?????

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 16:15:25    1235761

Cobh = Queenstown
Portlaois = Maryborough ( I think)

It would seem the Pale spread its tenticles far and wide :)

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 01/08/2012 16:15:32    1235762

You always go up to the capital. The capital being the pinnacle of the country.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 01/08/2012 16:15:48    1235763

Floops thats true
People in Northern England always say they are going "Up to London, or That London"

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 16:17:59    1235770

ahoortogo

ye your dead right 'mes amis' the fitzgeards were the owners the castle in the college and they were the rebellious ones against the pale and wouldnt let it spread that bit further out towards kilcock and enfield

Ehh. The Fitzgerald's were given the title Dukes of Leinster by the King of England so they could administer the rest of Leinster for the crown. They were also later made Lord Deputies of Ireland by the crown to keep the King's Peace in Ireland.

The Fitzgerald's later rebelled in the 16th Century but their rebellion had nothing to do with stopping the expansion of the Pale. In fact it was their original loyalty to the English crown which meant that the Pale didn't have to be extended beyond it's borders as the Fitzgerald's kept the lands loyal to England.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13778 - 01/08/2012 16:18:18    1235772

Liamwalkinstown

1235754 Yew/Breff I know thats baffling isnt it! Same as I have relations in Donegal Town and they often talk about going "Up to Dublin".....!! Whats that all about?!?!

On googling it

Dublin airport 71m above sea level
Cavan town 55m above sea level
Donegal town 38m above sea level

So up to Dublin, down to Cavan/Donegal makes perfect sense!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12161 - 01/08/2012 16:20:58    1235778

MesAmis

1235772 ahoortogo

Ehh. The Fitzgerald's were given the title Dukes of Leinster by the King of England so they could administer the rest of Leinster for the crown. They were also later made Lord Deputies of Ireland by the crown to keep the King's Peace in Ireland.

The Fitzgerald's later rebelled in the 16th Century but their rebellion had nothing to do with stopping the expansion of the Pale. In fact it was their original loyalty to the English crown which meant that the Pale didn't have to be extended beyond it's borders as the Fitzgerald's kept the lands loyal to England

Right lads, round up a posse....we are off to Sixmilebridge!! We're going Davy hunting!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 16:22:17    1235781

Take her up to monto lads :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/08/2012 16:23:12    1235782

All i know is the pale went as far west as clane bits of the wall that created a boundary apparantley still exist today round clane..
Anyway
the culchie v jackeen thing is bit of banter on match days!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 01/08/2012 16:23:25    1235783

what does "seriously would Jackeen" mean?????

It means I would be offended if I were called British, and Jackeen is a warm term for does from Dublin City who waved the union jack ..............long long ago I think? hence the tag west brits

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 01/08/2012 16:23:46    1235784