Is "Culchie" Offensive?

Antifa

It may shock or even disgust Dubs to hear that those of us fortunate to find ourselves outside the M50 even categorise ourselves into cultchies and non-cultchies. For example in Donegal if you live within the sprawling metropolises of Buncrana or Ballyshannon you will more often than not proudly declare yourself a townie and everyone else from outside the town a cultchie.

I'm both shocked and disgusted!!!

Yous are all culchies to me!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13778 - 02/08/2012 12:37:15    1236266

So what if the irish are the culchies of europe anyway. That's one of the reasons tourists flock to Ireland in the first place, i mean what other capital city would you see taxi drivers scurrying around in nissan almeras and toyota avensis'! Its a bag of laughs visiting Ireland.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2012 12:58:52    1236296

AfricanGael
County: UK
Its a bag of laughs visiting Ireland.

May I ask your connection to Ireland and why you post on this forum? You seem to pop up now and again with funny comments.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11376 - 02/08/2012 13:06:21    1236317

I'd like to know also!!!

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 02/08/2012 13:11:43    1236323

Yew, he's a Nigerian who lives in England and saw GAA once on BBC news after London beat Fermanagh last year.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 02/08/2012 13:17:08    1236330

Africangael is right oul' craic!

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 02/08/2012 13:17:26    1236331

yew_tree

1236317 AfricanGael
Its a bag of laughs visiting Ireland.

May I ask your connection to Ireland and why you post on this forum? You seem to pop up now and again with funny comments.

Don't encourage him.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/08/2012 13:17:35    1236333

Sure yew_tree, I have numerous connections to Ireland and I would say I post on the forum for the same reasons as 99.9% of other posters do.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2012 13:25:47    1236347

Id rather be a culchie than from dublin thats for sure.its a city that has lost its identity.its such a great place that even the dubs themselves are in the minority.

liffo (Offaly) - Posts: 649 - 02/08/2012 13:26:00    1236348

liffo
County: Offaly

Id rather be a culchie than from dublin thats for sure.its a city that has lost its identity.its such a great place that even the dubs themselves are in the minority.

No we're not.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13778 - 02/08/2012 13:40:29    1236377

liffo
County: Offaly

1236348 Id rather be a culchie than from dublin thats for sure.its a city that has lost its identity

No it hasnt.. sure it's changed but it needed to trust me.

But lost its identity... Nope.

We're born here.. raised here. It's the same place... just better.

It hasnt lost its identity, trust me... it's just been added too

The connection that Dubs feel with our city is as spiritual to us as mountains and lakes are to our country cousins.

The place just buzzes on a Friday evening when everyone is finished work... you can feel it.

Its life in full flow. So many variable working at the same time...

I love it here.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/08/2012 13:43:46    1236382

The connection that Dubs feel with our city is as spiritual to us as mountains and lakes are to our country cousins.

The place just buzzes on a Friday evening when everyone is finished work... you can feel it.

Its life in full flow. So many variable working at the same time...

Losing the run of yourself there jimbodub although Dublin is a great place. Great nightlife, great people, great pubs and clubs and cracking women. Easily the best place to live in Ireland.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 668 - 02/08/2012 13:56:43    1236406

aidan64

Jaysus... that cuts deep.

It must have been worse losing to a side from the UK

Although you boys are well used to that. Wha....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/08/2012 14:11:30    1236429

cupla ceisteanna

What has any of this got to do with GAA?
Where is the GAA forum gone?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/08/2012 14:17:42    1236439

dhorse
County: Laois

1236439 cupla ceisteanna

Nothing and just click on another thread there... its not hard.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/08/2012 14:23:05    1236443

1236443 dhorse
County: Laois

1236439 cupla ceisteanna

Nothing and just click on another thread there... its not hard.

Thanks for that rather Astute advice.

I was under the impression that any other business was banned and the forum was confined to 3 differenr sporting themes. GAA, Soccer and other Sports

Have you any thoughts on the 2nd part of my query I.E. where has the GAA forum gotten to , what exactly does "National" Forum mean?

Thanks in anticipation

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/08/2012 14:28:53    1236451

Fáilte ar ais dhorse. I hope Laois get stuffed on Saturday.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/08/2012 14:33:14    1236459

Work? You must be on about Dublin, Ohio. As cities go, Dublin, Ireland, is very dirty and shabby in comparison to other capital cities around Europe, which is a shame.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/08/2012 14:41:14    1236474

you need to travel to Milan dirty ran down spot like Newcastle in England

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 02/08/2012 14:45:16    1236479

AfricanGael

It has it's own charms that attracts millions of people. It's a unique place...

The Guinness store house is one of the most visited attractions in the world.

Dublin has history, culture, vibe coming out of it's ears...

It's a little rough around the edges in places but all cities are... they just hide it better.

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/08/2012 14:47:36    1236482