International Rules

If they are talking about "tweaking" it so that the game is played with an oval ball then we will simply be playing Aussie Rules.

The compromise already has AFL tackle, AFL Mark, AFL scoring system including points for kicking the ball wide, 4 quarters, interchange players, and no need to solo the ball. In return for all of that Ireland got to play with the round ball.

The Australian team has always disrespected the sport and I don't see why we should respect that.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 27/10/2013 11:18:25    1506396

I'm not the biggest fan of the hybrid game but I agree with Brianmac78's sentiments. Very happy with the way our lads acquitted themselves.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 27/10/2013 12:13:16    1506405

Id love to play the Aussies best selection, maybe after this with a strong selection.
For me watching great players like Sean Cavanagh , Flynner ,Sheehan,mc manus, micheal murphy and Higgins to name a few playing together and enjoying themselves yet never losing focus on the game was brilliant.
Caffrey jumping on mc brearty after the goal he got was good fun.
The level of professional attitude the Irish lads showed was brilliant, ye can only play whats in front of you and I think them Irish lads would beat any Aussie selection .
The passing, movement and pace was a pleasure to watch last night ye get to see lads express themselves who normally mightn't get a chance.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/10/2013 12:29:25    1506411

The most flogged of dead horses in the history of flogging dead horses. When the Aussie resorted to street brawling antics like cowardly acts of 5 guys beating up one Irish I lost all interest in it.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 27/10/2013 12:46:51    1506415

tyroneed

Ah come on, the tackling is NOTHING like the AFL, the scoring is just two extra poles at the side which is much easier to adapt to then the goal scoring system which is alien to the aussies. Whoever scores the most goals wins the match and even the aussies don't seem to know the rules about the mark.The rules are completly lobsided.
Scoring-Ireland
Tackling-Ireland
Mark-Australia
Ball-Ireland
Goalkeeping-Ireland

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 27/10/2013 12:54:02    1506416

Gammy_Knee
County: USA

1506376 to all the knockers of the game we heard yous the first time so theres no need for yous to keep repeating yourselfs or no need for yous to keep harping on......and by the way if yous hate it that much why the hell were yous watching it ?.......muppets
Proof indeed that you can fool some of the people all of the time, or to put it another way, there's an awful lot of posters on here that are very easy to please if they can garner any enjoyment from this debacle.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/10/2013 13:16:13    1506422

shambollocks of a game we don't need it and the AFL don't either .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 27/10/2013 13:34:27    1506433

I think you are way off there RebelCork with this analysis

Scoring-Ireland - I dont think so good compramise here
Tackling-Ireland - This in 90% australia, its a totally different mind set. In Gaelic you try take a man on and he pusl you down you get a free. In this game as in AFL the free goes against you for being caught in posession
Mark-Australia - agreed, huge factor a good gaelic football pass bouncing on front of the man in a hospital pass here
Ball-Ireland - agreed
Goalkeeping-Ireland - agreed

Pretty much everything to do with posession of the ball is stacked in the aussies favour. The reason they were hammered was they didn't send over a good enough team. If those teams played aussie rules last night our lads could have won.

Lets not make excuses for the aussies they disrespected our lads by sending over a poor team and got the beating they deserved. No one to blame but themselves not the rules.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 357 - 27/10/2013 15:04:16    1506466

No matter who australia have on their team, they will never win again! Australia used win due to having a physichal advantage over ireland but the game has become so more professional over here that it doesnt exist anymore!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 27/10/2013 15:29:59    1506480

No matter who australia have on their team, they will never win again! Australia used win due to having a physichal advantage over ireland but the game has become so more professional over here that it doesn't exist anymore!

That may be true but a few things. Firstly the rules have always being skewed in favour of the Irish, with the round ball being the biggest one, could you imagine our lads trying to play with an oval ball? Secondly the Aussies lost interest in this farce of a game a long time ago, they have been picking mickey mouse teams for years, and I would be very surprised if there was much media coverage back home if any, could any of our emigrants tell us if this game was carried live on an major Australian networks. Finally does anyone know what the attendance was last night, from the little bit that I watched last night I would guess around 20,000?

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 27/10/2013 16:17:08    1506502

To sum up , OH Dear ,
If it was a kids game at least ref could have blown up early ,
Unless serious experimenting takes place then surely this fixture is well and truly dead , one test oval ball one test round etc
The only reason for even contemplating a continuation of series is fact that the players seem to enjoy representation .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/10/2013 17:22:04    1506532

If the Aussies won't take it serious then why should we?

The GAA should go around Ireland looking at all the best clubs and pick 23 players that don't play inter county!

Indigenous v Non Inter county!

wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 27/10/2013 19:22:57    1506579

brendtheredhand

1506422 Gammy_Knee
County: USA

1506376 to all the knockers of the game we heard yous the first time so theres no need for yous to keep repeating yourselfs or no need for yous to keep harping on......and by the way if yous hate it that much why the hell were yous watching it ?.......muppets
Proof indeed that you can fool some of the people all of the time, or to put it another way, there's an awful lot of posters on here that are very easy to please if they can garner any enjoyment from this debacle.

Nothing wrong with enjoying watch your own county players in action plus some very good players from other counties. especially M Murphy. No one disputes as a contest it was a non event and that is something the Aussies let themselves down on with the selection that was sent over. Doesn't mean that if someone enjoyed watching lads who have given everything for their respective counties all year play with a smile on their face they are easily pleased. Thought you would of enjoyed the tackling bren:)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/10/2013 21:17:59    1506615

dahayeser

maybe a couple of years ago but now it's compltely in Ireland's favour. Your not even allowed shepard in it which is one of the most basic kind of tackling in the AFL. It's like tacking the shoulder out of football. The tackling is the main reason none of there big players come out, because there rendered useless by the restrictions.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 27/10/2013 21:42:29    1506620

Time to introduce the black card I say.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/10/2013 09:18:12    1506640

living in Brisbane,game was shown deferred, with no build up, no hype and none of my sportsmad aussies co-workers even new it was on

timspud (Tipperary) - Posts: 20 - 28/10/2013 10:16:58    1506655

While the international rules series is not perfect, it is an opportunity for players to represent their country.If it is taken away
there will be no opportunity to do so.Also the teams play for the Cormac McAnallen cup,a great gael, surely the series therefore has
a relevance to honouring the contribution he made to gaelic games in Tyrone and in Ireland.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1677 - 28/10/2013 10:24:50    1506658

I have always been a fan of the Rules, but the Aussies contempt annoys me. So given Ireland's annihilation of the Aussies, how far down the county teams could be go before we got to their level?

Donegal 2012 would have beaten them anyway. How low could we go?

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 28/10/2013 11:39:48    1506689

Personally I believe its an insult to Cormacs memory.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/10/2013 12:43:03    1506704

remember when the Aussie Teams sent over big physical teams and bullied us and then we whinged and complained, this is the reason they started sending over weakened teams.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 28/10/2013 14:26:27    1506741