International Rules

emmomac

I remember being at that one in Salthill as well, in fairness the place was mad all right with streaking and the like. We were beside a heap of Aussies and had the craic singing Neighbours and Home and Away as such. Game was terrible but it was a gas night out with the Aussies after!! Galways the best night out in Ireland!

wile_man_sir (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 26/10/2013 20:24:20    1506309

am now watching the rugby...much more exciting than this rubbish

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 26/10/2013 20:26:45    1506312

Lovely goal by mcbrearty I expect the Aussies to start flaking now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/10/2013 20:31:38    1506313

The Aussies would massacre us with an oval ball, even for a quarter or 2, so that is out of the question. They were good enough to beat us with the round ball in the past, but two things have changed since then. Firstly, the rules were tweaked to make the game less physical and, more importantly, the Aussies stopped picking good players.

FoolsGold was on here a few pages back trying to tell us that this was a good Aussie squad, but it was utter rubbish. They have only 20 players togged out tonight (instead of 23 - their one star has gone home), which tells you everything that you need to know.

I would scrap this nonsense as I see no purpose to it but, if it is to continue, then the AFL have to send their top players en masse, and at least pretend that they want to make it work.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 26/10/2013 20:37:15    1506315

Greatest team performance in international rules history. Ireland were simply amazing. Ball skills,speed,physicality and fantastic shooting.

KingOfJacks (Kildare) - Posts: 361 - 26/10/2013 21:10:42    1506325

This is awful...

As someome who would like such a series to remain. I think half the game to be played with the oval ball. Say every second quarter. Give it a fairer approach and more bite to see if the irish can outscore the Australians with the oval ball...

Its so one sided its farcical

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 781 - 26/10/2013 21:11:07    1506326

ah lads lighten up, the Irish lads are clearly enjoying themselves and its great to watch some great players from all the counties playing together. its a bit of craic.
the Aussies are a poor side , but the irish lads never stopped running and played brilliant as a team, and our physical strength , skill and fitness really shone through.
I think some of the play was brilliant and its a pity they werent playing a strong Aussie side.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/10/2013 21:11:36    1506327

Where were all the "convicts" could they not get visa's?

allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 26/10/2013 21:15:44    1506331

Thomas Clarke

1506315 The Aussies would massacre us with an oval ball, even for a quarter or 2, so that is out of the question. They were good enough to beat us with the round ball in the past, but two things have changed since then. Firstly, the rules were tweaked to make the game less physical and, more importantly, the Aussies stopped picking good players.

FoolsGold was on here a few pages back trying to tell us that this was a good Aussie squad, but it was utter rubbish. They have only 20 players togged out tonight (instead of 23 - their one star has gone home), which tells you everything that you need to know.

Good at AFL, yes, I wasn't expecting them to be that bad at Gaelic.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2868 - 26/10/2013 21:17:45    1506333

Ireland played really well, accurate kickpassing, great movement and support play, and some quality scores. Not our fault that the Aussies sent over a weak side. For the next time, how about selecting the Irish team from counties in division 3 & 4? It would be a great way to spread representation. After all, something similar already happens in the Shinty internationals.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 26/10/2013 21:26:30    1506335

FoolsGold

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
They're not good at AFL either, which was the point every bar you was trying to make 10 days ago. Come out and admit you were wrong, and that actually you knew nothing about them. I understand that several of the 20 that bothered to show up aren't even AFL players, while others are already retired. You were sold a pup, FoolsGold, as were the GAA top brass.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 26/10/2013 21:36:36    1506336

They're not good at AFL either, which was the point every bar you was trying to make 10 days ago. Come out and admit you were wrong, and that actually you knew nothing about them. I understand that several of the 20 that bothered to show up aren't even AFL players, while others are already retired. You were sold a pup, FoolsGold, as were the GAA top brass.

Hardly "several". Only two have never played AFL. Most of the panel are regulars in the AFL, with a few stand-out stars. It is more of a worry that they looked like they didn't care half the time, which is disappointment considering they were arguably representing two nations.

St.John (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 26/10/2013 21:48:08    1506342

Great team performance

Delighted for the Irish players and very proud of them.

Some fantastic Gaelic football skills on show tonight...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/10/2013 21:52:38    1506343

Hope it remains. Its definitely on next year. Think we have to go with the oval ball . It needs a overhaul. But players love this, plus a trip to oz is a incentive.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2013 21:55:47    1506344

Thomas Clarke

1506336 FoolsGold

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Admit what, 2 not several had never played AFL before. There isn't a high number of indigenous players in the AFL. Yes there was some players who weren't up to it, but they are selecting from a small pool of players in regards indigenous players. Adam Goodes flew back midweek but not fully fit to play. 2 retired at the end of the AFL. There is still 7/8 good players in the squad as was explained to you already.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2868 - 26/10/2013 21:55:51    1506345

to all the knockers of the game we heard yous the first time so theres no need for yous to keep repeating yourselfs or no need for yous to keep harping on......and by the way if yous hate it that much why the hell were yous watching it ?.......muppets

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 27/10/2013 10:33:58    1506376

have to say great performance last night regardless of what you think of international rules the ireland team played some brilliant football last night and as a team and took some brilliant scores

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/10/2013 10:41:03    1506381

I am delighted to see the Irish lads play so well and it is great to see an indigenous Australian team representing their country. As for the whingers, they were complaining when the aussies were battering us physically, they were complaining when they outplayed us and now they complain when we win. Jeez lads, Honestly, Some people just like to whinge.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 27/10/2013 10:57:54    1506387

Gammy_Knee
I hear what your saying but I know like me most of the people on here are just disappointed that we didn't get the games we were hoping for. It was all a big let down and a real F U from the Australia's

CoTyrone (Tyrone) - Posts: 261 - 27/10/2013 11:08:56    1506391

What the moaning for?

We should be proud of our guys. We were faster fitter and stronger then professional sportsmen. They had a long hard season? Well what about our lads who play with here counties train with there counties play with there clubs train with there clubs and then do a weeks work on top of it. Balls to all the excuses our lads were just better. You can say it wasn't the best Aussie side but it wasn't the best 15 GAA players out there either. We made them look limited once we had them physically there was not 1 aspect of the game they bettered us.

Give them the oval ball if they want and use our rules see how it goes. Another whinge of theres "the round ball" well its our ball with the rules from there game for the most part so swap around and see how we go

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 27/10/2013 11:14:23    1506393