All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

No big deal if Clifford scores a few spectacular points
In the overall context of the final.
He is the best forward.
Dublin have the quality to bate Kerry, and that would be grand

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1287 - 28/07/2023 15:23:08    2497481

Most of the pundits I've heard at this stage are going for Dublin, I hate this...

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 28/07/2023 22:46:38    2497525

Hoping for a savage match; blood n murder stuff between these great footballing rivals. I must say that I'd love to see Cluxo, Mac, and Fitz solder their 9 Celtic cross into history, but it's a massive ask against Kerry who are widely favored to win it!

Up da Dubs!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 29/07/2023 03:18:34    2497533

Strongly fancy Dublin for this one. As Jack hinself said those lads didnt come back for the craic

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 2030 - 29/07/2023 08:34:25    2497535

Replying To realdub:  "Most of the pundits I've heard at this stage are going for Dublin, I hate this..."
I think Dublin will win comfortably here.

They won't tie themselves in knots trying go deal with Clifford. Screen against the mark when Kerry are in possession and probing- drop Brian Howard back for this. Otherwise I'd expect them to play on the front foot for the majority of the game. John Small to tag Sean O Se which should be enough to break even. Kerry won't watch Dublin in the middle area.

Dublin by 6 or 7 points in the end

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1390 - 29/07/2023 10:35:30    2497551

Dubs should do it. But if Kerry get a good start it will go down to the wire. My head says Dubs by 2 pts. But also I think might go to extra time.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2774 - 29/07/2023 11:18:42    2497555

Replying To seanie08:  "Strongly fancy Dublin for this one. As Jack hinself said those lads didnt come back for the craic"
And as the wise man often said ….. "Never go back" leave well enough alone….,.. I wouldn't rule Dublin out but Kerry will be very disappointed if the don't win this…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 29/07/2023 12:01:04    2497559

dublin to win after extra time 14/1? thats a great bet

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3126 - 29/07/2023 12:53:53    2497562

Replying To maroondiesel:  "No big deal if Clifford scores a few spectacular points
In the overall context of the final.
He is the best forward.
Dublin have the quality to bate Kerry, and that would be grand"
Problems might arise if he got in for a couple of spectacular goals though…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 29/07/2023 12:56:31    2497563

Over the years I have generally always supported Dublin once Tyrone existed the championship. I have always enjoyed their supporters and even during the 00's when they were taking some heavy beatings they always remained civil and genuine.

On saying that, I don't believe it is a good thing for one team to dominate the way Dublin have. And the fact we are looking at either back to back for Kerry or 7 in 9 years for Dublin is a little bit depressing to be honest. I really thought we were going to have a few years of rotating county wins.

But alas, this is the final we have and I am going for a Kerry win by 3-5 points.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 941 - 29/07/2023 13:00:51    2497564

The build up the tomorrow's final is somewhat of an anti-climax due to the championship being run off too early and that is having an knock on effect on club football with players heading away to the US and elsewhere for the summer. But I know the top dogs at GAA HQ won't listen as they are too wrapped up in commercialism as the GAA people's paid for stadium of Croke Park is more productive for other non GAA events.

Now to tomorrow's anti-climatic final, will be putting my bet on the Dubs to lose! Up Kerry!

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 29/07/2023 13:40:20    2497570

Replying To WestRules:  "The build up the tomorrow's final is somewhat of an anti-climax due to the championship being run off too early and that is having an knock on effect on club football with players heading away to the US and elsewhere for the summer. But I know the top dogs at GAA HQ won't listen as they are too wrapped up in commercialism as the GAA people's paid for stadium of Croke Park is more productive for other non GAA events.

Now to tomorrow's anti-climatic final, will be putting my bet on the Dubs to lose! Up Kerry!"
It's an anti-climax because it's Dublin Kerry.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1390 - 29/07/2023 14:02:08    2497574

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "dublin to win after extra time 14/1? thats a great bet"
Especially as there is no extra time I don't think? Replay?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 29/07/2023 14:02:44    2497575

Replying To WestRules:  "The build up the tomorrow's final is somewhat of an anti-climax due to the championship being run off too early and that is having an knock on effect on club football with players heading away to the US and elsewhere for the summer. But I know the top dogs at GAA HQ won't listen as they are too wrapped up in commercialism as the GAA people's paid for stadium of Croke Park is more productive for other non GAA events.

Now to tomorrow's anti-climatic final, will be putting my bet on the Dubs to lose! Up Kerry!"
Anti climactic final ??? There's always one !!! It's the biggest rivalry and the biggest game in the GAA.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6213 - 29/07/2023 14:10:56    2497576

Good man. I agree with the first part of your proposition.

I feel exactly the same when Galway are playing anyone :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 29/07/2023 14:11:51    2497577

Typical "dog in the manger" negativity from Galway, betting on someone to lose rather than someone to win.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1183 - 29/07/2023 15:31:48    2497585

I noticed Spillane said in his article "the game is still the same, the goalposts are still in the same place". Technically they aren't in the same place in Croke Park anyway, in 2000 they moved the goalposts after the Hogan was knocked down. The Canal end goalposts were much further forward back then due to the smaller pitch. The Hill 16 goalposts were slightly behind the current ones.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 265 - 29/07/2023 15:39:07    2497586

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "In Scotland, their soccer competition is deemed dysfunctional due to it generally being dominated by 2 teams.

In the GAA, that's what the vast majority of GAA fans want, and that's what the GAA plans for - long-term football domination by 2 teams.

"What everyone wants is a Dublin-Kerry final", runs the mantra. This is always referred to as a final "for the purists", as if any other team's presence on the big day would constitute some sort of contaminant.

Essentially, with only occasional exceptions, the rest of the country (and I include all Northern counties in that) are natural born losers, absurdly deferential to tradition and to big names. And you don't need to be a rocket scientist to see how that general national mindset affects referees and translates into the big names invariably getting the benefit of any soft calls going, when they're playing any of the upstarts. I still remember a few years ago watching Laois playing Dublin. Poor Laois couldn't have bought a free.

Of course, now that the 2 teacher's pet teams are in the final, the refereeing will be fair enough, as both teams are equally idolised. The orgy of self-praise has started already.

Time to dust off my knee pads, and start genuflecting lol."
Is that you Ulsterman?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4751 - 29/07/2023 15:46:07    2497588

It certainly is anti-climax. I personally am in full club mode/focus now, have attended many underage club games in recent weeks and our adult championship starting next week. Senior All Ireland final after thought it really shouldn't be that way and I believe it will be clashing with major world wide soccer tournament in the next two years.

I think Dublin will edge it based on them only losing the the semi final last year to Kerry by one point and Con O'Callaghan,Paul Mannion,Jack McCaffery and Cluxton didn't play in that game. Kerry meanwhile no longer have David Moran,

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4470 - 29/07/2023 15:49:22    2497591

Replying To The_analyser:  "It certainly is anti-climax. I personally am in full club mode/focus now, have attended many underage club games in recent weeks and our adult championship starting next week. Senior All Ireland final after thought it really shouldn't be that way and I believe it will be clashing with major world wide soccer tournament in the next two years.

I think Dublin will edge it based on them only losing the the semi final last year to Kerry by one point and Con O'Callaghan,Paul Mannion,Jack McCaffery and Cluxton didn't play in that game. Kerry meanwhile no longer have David Moran,"
Some people are never happy. If you feel tomorrow's game is an anti climax then that's down to you and not the game itself. Personally I can't wait for the match As I said earlier Dublin v Kerry in the All Ireland senior football final is the biggest game in the GAA bar none.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6213 - 29/07/2023 16:25:55    2497600