Advertisement

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Replying To TheUsername:  "Really pal, how come?"
I think that there is massive motivation for both sides. We are not the team we were, I feel it would be huge for us to win this one, especially with Kerry being fancied.
And it's the last hurrah for our stalwarts.
It's going to be a cracker.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 26/07/2023 15:22:06    2497099

Replying To realdub:  "I think that there is massive motivation for both sides. We are not the team we were, I feel it would be huge for us to win this one, especially with Kerry being fancied.
It's going to be a cracker."
If only everything in life had a fairytale ending..... We can only dream and hope eh.... ;o(

As someone said in previewing this game - both teams have improved since last year's semi final clash.

We have players back, and a stronger panel.

Kerry will have less nerves and more experience after finally getting over the line last year, and DC at 24 is getting better all the time, whereas MF is 34 and will probably be playing his last game for Dublin, along with at least 3 others imo, irrespective of the result.

Has the makings of a cracker, with cards a plenty, but I have a feeling it wont be as close as last time out.....

Rain is forecast so that should add to the intrigue.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 26/07/2023 16:42:08    2497134

Replying To Fionn:  "If only everything in life had a fairytale ending..... We can only dream and hope eh.... ;o(

As someone said in previewing this game - both teams have improved since last year's semi final clash.

Kerry will have less nerves and more experience after finally getting over the line last year, and DC at 24 is getting better all the time, whereas MF is 34 and will probably be playing his last game for Dublin, along with at least 3 others imo, irrespective of the result.

Has the makings of a cracker, with cards a plenty, but I have a feeling it wont be as close as last time out.....

Rain is forecast so that should add to the intrigue."
hmmm..i see Seosamh Umbrella has just hexed us with his predication of a 5-6 point win.
Thanks Joe.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 26/07/2023 20:54:53    2497176

Replying To Fionn:  "If only everything in life had a fairytale ending..... We can only dream and hope eh.... ;o(

Rain is forecast so that should add to the intrigue."
So who you going for Fionn? and by how much?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 26/07/2023 21:31:31    2497180

Replying To realdub:  "I think that there is massive motivation for both sides. We are not the team we were, I feel it would be huge for us to win this one, especially with Kerry being fancied.
It's going to be a cracker."
Fair play pal.

I'm enjoying this one - be great to see the lads sign off as you say, but for me we are well in bonus territory, they are all legends anyway.

Don't feel the pressure and anticipation of doing the five, this feels freeer, less pressure and more fun. Each to their own mind!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 26/07/2023 21:43:58    2497183

Dublin by 5

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13671 - 27/07/2023 12:44:46    2497274

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Another Kerry Dublin final

30 all Irelands and 62 provincial titles for 1,
38 all Irelands and 84 provincial titles for the other

Only th 17th final between them out of 32 matches

Does any neutral actually care who wins really?"
Yes I would like to see a Dublin win
Will be there

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1693 - 27/07/2023 13:48:04    2497294

Anybody come up with a plan for DC yet??

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 27/07/2023 13:49:31    2497295

Replying To avonali:  "Anybody come up with a plan for DC yet??"
Not sure, but the Doc was spotted only drinking pints of orange at the Bridge after the Monaghan match. Was also doing press ups against the bar counter ,,,,

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 27/07/2023 14:28:45    2497306

Really looking forward to this game.

If Dublin win, it would be a mighty rebuilding job by Farrell who had the unenviable task of following Jim Gavin. Some mentions from ex Dublin players about the need to mark David Clifford but I think stopping Sean O'Sé is just as important.

There's a lot of nostalgia about seeing Kerry v Dublin in the final as it is what we grew up with. Some great days from the 1970's right through to 2011 & the meetings during Dublin's six in a row.

Safe travels to all on Sunday and fingers crossed for a great game.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6634 - 27/07/2023 15:22:09    2497315

It's a hard one to call, both teams have shown a lot of flaws this year, and both teams have shown a lot of brilliance this year too.

I do think Dublin have been slightly more laboured at times this year, the draw against Roscommon, Kildare could have won that Leinster game, a few sub par league performances, the Mongahan game was very tight until the last 10 mins or so - and realistically Monaghan never had near enough firepower to hurt Dublin. They will definitely need to improve to win on Sunday.

Kerry on the other hand have been far from flawless, lost to Mayo, a bit causal against Cork, and were lucky enough against Derry. But I do think Derry are a very very good team, and aren't getting the credit they deserve either. They'd have beaten Dublin if it was them rather than Monaghan for sure. But champions find a way and Kerry did that.

There's rarely much in an All Ireland Final, and I don't see either team blowing away the other. Dublin will also have to deal with David Clifford, and I'm not sure they can do much about him aside from double up on him maybe? He's the player of his generation and unmarkeable 1 on 1.

I just slightly fancy Kerry, think they've just been slightly tested this year and are a bit more battle hardened. Good luck to all though, because it's a intriguing contest and hopefully we get a free flowing game of football.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 273 - 27/07/2023 15:39:25    2497318

Brian Howard

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1390 - 27/07/2023 16:54:35    2497332

Replying To hyperache:  "It's a hard one to call, both teams have shown a lot of flaws this year, and both teams have shown a lot of brilliance this year too.

I do think Dublin have been slightly more laboured at times this year, the draw against Roscommon, Kildare could have won that Leinster game, a few sub par league performances, the Mongahan game was very tight until the last 10 mins or so - and realistically Monaghan never had near enough firepower to hurt Dublin. They will definitely need to improve to win on Sunday.

Kerry on the other hand have been far from flawless, lost to Mayo, a bit causal against Cork, and were lucky enough against Derry. But I do think Derry are a very very good team, and aren't getting the credit they deserve either. They'd have beaten Dublin if it was them rather than Monaghan for sure. But champions find a way and Kerry did that.

There's rarely much in an All Ireland Final, and I don't see either team blowing away the other. Dublin will also have to deal with David Clifford, and I'm not sure they can do much about him aside from double up on him maybe? He's the player of his generation and unmarkeable 1 on 1.

I just slightly fancy Kerry, think they've just been slightly tested this year and are a bit more battle hardened. Good luck to all though, because it's a intriguing contest and hopefully we get a free flowing game of football."
They'd have beaten Dublin you say? Derry is it? The rest of us will believe it, when we see it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4908 - 27/07/2023 18:30:48    2497353

Bhí RnaG beo as Cuinne na Piobaire ar mhaidin agus an ceol agus craic idir na dhá thaobh agus cur síos ar an gaol fhada idir na dhá contae is mó sa Caid!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 28/07/2023 13:12:25    2497434

The game is live over here on BBC2. I do not mind who wins but I hope that we get a final
that shows what a great spectacle this game can be is and is a credit to Ireland. I have been telling my
workmates and friends to have a look. Fingers crossed for a classic.

Brummiejoe (UK) - Posts: 23 - 28/07/2023 13:33:28    2497445

Clifford will do what he does imo.

No point overly worrying about him.

If Dublin are to win it'll be out forwards doing the damage I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13850 - 28/07/2023 13:43:09    2497446

I think Dublin will target the idea of trying to stop good ball going into Clifford… They will also need a couple of goals at least to have a chance as they won't outpoint Kerry over 70 minutes… I can see Con having a big say because if he gets possession he will have no hesitation in heading straight for the Kerry goal…. Basquel ( if started ) will have to up his game from the last day as I can't see Costello having the same impact again… Should be a cracking game but I fear the weather is not going to be kind.. Great for Kerry and Dublin supporters to have such an occasion to look forward to…. Enjoy

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 28/07/2023 13:56:15    2497452

It's been said on a few occassions that this is the final everyone wanted. But really was it? Maybe the two counties did and the pundits and journalists. But seems to be a lot of apathy around it. Most neutrals don't care who wins due to the dominance of both teams. Does anyone really want to listen to another podcast or read a newspaper article about Dublin and Kerry when both counties already dominate the media coverage throughout the entire year. Another episode of Up For The Match regaling stories from past Kerry and Dublin glories. Who outside those counties has the appetite for that and I'd say even the Dubs are at saturation point at this stage. And look it'll be a great battle between two great teams but the reality is it is just not capturing the imagination of the wider audience like if a Derry were in the final.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 28/07/2023 14:25:34    2497460

In Scotland, their soccer competition is deemed dysfunctional due to it generally being dominated by 2 teams.

In the GAA, that's what the vast majority of GAA fans want, and that's what the GAA plans for - long-term football domination by 2 teams.

"What everyone wants is a Dublin-Kerry final", runs the mantra. This is always referred to as a final "for the purists", as if any other team's presence on the big day would constitute some sort of contaminant.

Essentially, with only occasional exceptions, the rest of the country (and I include all Northern counties in that) are natural born losers, absurdly deferential to tradition and to big names. And you don't need to be a rocket scientist to see how that general national mindset affects referees and translates into the big names invariably getting the benefit of any soft calls going, when they're playing any of the upstarts. I still remember a few years ago watching Laois playing Dublin. Poor Laois couldn't have bought a free.

Of course, now that the 2 teacher's pet teams are in the final, the refereeing will be fair enough, as both teams are equally idolised. The orgy of self-praise has started already.

Time to dust off my knee pads, and start genuflecting lol.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 323 - 28/07/2023 14:52:59    2497470

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "In Scotland, their soccer competition is deemed dysfunctional due to it generally being dominated by 2 teams.

In the GAA, that's what the vast majority of GAA fans want, and that's what the GAA plans for - long-term football domination by 2 teams.

"What everyone wants is a Dublin-Kerry final", runs the mantra. This is always referred to as a final "for the purists", as if any other team's presence on the big day would constitute some sort of contaminant.

Essentially, with only occasional exceptions, the rest of the country (and I include all Northern counties in that) are natural born losers, absurdly deferential to tradition and to big names. And you don't need to be a rocket scientist to see how that general national mindset affects referees and translates into the big names invariably getting the benefit of any soft calls going, when they're playing any of the upstarts. I still remember a few years ago watching Laois playing Dublin. Poor Laois couldn't have bought a free.

Of course, now that the 2 teacher's pet teams are in the final, the refereeing will be fair enough, as both teams are equally idolised. The orgy of self-praise has started already.

Time to dust off my knee pads, and start genuflecting lol."
Once you enjoy it. That's the main thing :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 28/07/2023 15:12:10    2497477