I agree its scandalous same as Tipp v Clare game last Sunday
Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 12:11:09 2473658 Link 0 |
John Doyle was part of the greatest team of all time with no back door system so he gave as good as he got from opponents
Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 12:13:49 2473660 Link 1 |
I think they should leave him off, in fact i think they should drop him! I think then Hegarty should not take that well, he should leave the panel as a result of being dropped, in fact i dont think just leaving the panel would be enough, he should leave Limerick altogether, he looks like a fella that would benefit from a bit more vitamin D in his life without leaving the country, surely then the logical move form him would be to a part of the country that gets more sunshine than anywhere else!! I even know a decent dual club that would be more than capable of looking after him!! Come to think of it that Sean Finn fella plays a bit on the edge too, O Donoghue, Byrnes and Lynch similar, pasty looking fellas that could do with a bit of sun and strawberries, only solution i feel. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1697 - 25/04/2023 12:14:56 2473661 Link 2 |
we could bury ye yet Oldtourman
Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 12:15:21 2473663 Link 0 |
dont be too sure you wont see us in August Wildpundit I would tend to suspect that you will
Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 12:16:51 2473664 Link 0 |
The man is a class hurler and I accept it would be drastic but i'm looking at it from a purely practical point of view - Are Limerick good enough to win without him if replaced by O'Neill? I would say they probably are. Are they good enough to win an All Ireland Final playing with 14 for some of the game? Probably not i'd say. That's the only basis i'd have for doing it. And i know you can't script a player being sent off but does the risk justify the reward? LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 25/04/2023 12:27:09 2473668 Link 0 |
Are you lads meeting in your club championship then?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 25/04/2023 12:49:54 2473678 Link 1 |
Ye might have pulled the handbrake in the league this year, we didn't even start the car that day in 2019.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 963 - 25/04/2023 13:02:29 2473686 Link 0 |
That doesn't really answer the question.....
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2686 - 25/04/2023 13:17:36 2473692 Link 1 |
An absolute farce. The GAA seem to think everybody has just more and more to pay them for their games. If I had gone to Galway or Belfast last weekend, I'd have had hardly any change out of 200 euro (absolute!) minimum. Then they put Clare Tipp behind a pay wall, want another €10 for it, and another €10 for Limerick Clare for a match which COULD (I stress could) be a white-wash. I get the €80 season ticket is value but again, another €80 for an organisation I have probably spent 300-400 euro on already this year on some AWFUL spectacles. Then, there's Clubber wanting a tenner for an underage match without a commentary or to buffer for 5 minutes. It all adds up and when I thought about it last weekend when I debated buying the season ticket last weekend, I said I'm not spending any more on it and bought no PPV game at all last weekend and won't this year. Have to draw the line somewhere. The only thing they are turning off is the neutral. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1635 - 25/04/2023 13:34:12 2473698 Link 1 |
1 interesting thing from the weekend with all the talk of home advantage every round robin game between Tipp and Clare has been won by the away team, Ennis would have a fortress feel to it too but Thurles less so its such a regular netural venue everyone is used to it. TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/04/2023 13:56:03 2473713 Link 1 |
Lets not even go there when it comes to John Doyle.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 25/04/2023 14:23:27 2473724 Link 0 |
It's about a winning mentality. Elite athletes are selfish hungry animals within their sports. At times they go over the top. At times they do things they regret but it's the essence of the man that allows them to be who they are on the field. Hegarty has 4 AIs HOTY two time AI final MOTM multiple all stars. He is who he is. Hegarty is a different personalty to those you've listed. He's not the same type but he's equally as good a hurler as those you've mentioned. I'm not comparing two people I'm comparing how they approach their job on the pitch from a mental perspective. It's kill or be killed. If you don't get that at this stage you really don't know what it takes to win and succeed at the elite level. Tipp in 09 got very close to kk. They went to a physicality and let's call it "filth" on the field they probably never thought they could. They went there because that's what it took at the time to beat that great kk team. Those finals in 09 10 11 were brutal. They were physically beyond anything anyone had seen in 40 years. If you watch them again and I have you'd be very surprised to see what was allowed only a decade ago. If anyone wants to take Limerick down they need to look at what Tip did in league final 09 onwards . This was the template kiely has put down with this Limerick team. They didn't lick it off the ground. The more posters concentrate in creating the noise the more they miss the point. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 25/04/2023 14:52:45 2473740 Link 1 |
You're deflecting from the point. Discipline is the only thing that will let this Limerick team down i think. That nonsense about kill or be killed is only an excuse to condone thuggish behaviour. The real issue is that Limerick played with 14 men for 25 mins against a team they were fancied to beat by 9 points or more and almost lost because one of their leaders let himself and the team down and it should have been 13. This has been a brilliant limerick team but they have got the rub of the green on red card decisions numerous times and i've said it before its the only thing that could stop them. I hope they are accountable for their actions in training this week rather than justify the incidents as all being part of being in a 'warzone' 'heat of the battle' 'tough Munster Hurling' BS. LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 25/04/2023 16:02:00 2473768 Link 1 |
8 All Ireland titles no back door system or would probably have won in 1963 for the 5 in a row probably would have ended up with about 12 All Ireland medals to go with his 11 national league titles Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 16:02:18 2473769 Link 0 |
who won the All Ireland that year?
Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 16:03:23 2473770 Link 0 |
well we wont see Wexford anyway methinks
Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 16:04:47 2473771 Link 0 |
There's no back door now if you lose an AISF or AIF.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 25/04/2023 16:17:45 2473775 Link 1 |
Ive tried several times Larry to explain this to you over the last few years. At this stage we will just agree to disagree. You call it deflection, whataboutery. Its the furthest thing from what I'm actually trying to say. I welcome openly the physicality the likes of hayes Flanagan hegarty gillane bring. I embrace it. Within that physicality and modern media you will get flash points where they go over the top and its highlighted. You call it thuggish. It's about physically and mentally dominating the opposition before during and after the match. Its what makes a dynasty. If you want to talk about thuggish behaviour just go and watch any decent standard hurling match anywhere in the country and you'll find it easy enough. Hegsrty will go down in time as one of if not the greatest wing forwards of all time. Unstoppable. Unmarkable. They'll say he played on the edge and will be celebrated for it. You don't like it Larry. That's your cross to bear. Gearoid will just go out the next day and hurl the same way collecting an odd medal/award on the way
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 25/04/2023 16:36:19 2473782 Link 1 |
Daveboy, do you seriously believe that Tipp used "filth" to try to get the better of that great Kilkenny team? All they had to do was look at what Davy Fitz tried with Waterford in 2008, and they would have realised that nobody would beat KK by "filth". Tipp knew they had to try to match KK physically, and they managed to win in 2010 by doing that but also by playing some very good hurling. To describe the finals in 09, 10 and 11 as brutal is ridiculous. They were tough physical games but some great skill on display as well. The 09 final in particular was a brilliant game. In those three finals there was one (deserved) sending off but apart from that I didn't see any filth from either team. Kilkenny set the standard from 2006 onwards. Like Limerick they often "played on the edge" but I would argue that they were more disciplined than Limerick are now. Limerick are a super team but occasionally a small number of their players step over the edge.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 649 - 25/04/2023 16:40:55 2473785 Link 2 |