Replying To ExiledInWex: "An absolute farce. The GAA seem to think everybody has just more and more to pay them for their games. If I had gone to Galway or Belfast last weekend, I'd have had hardly any change out of 200 euro (absolute!) minimum.
Then they put Clare Tipp behind a pay wall, want another €10 for it, and another €10 for Limerick Clare for a match which COULD (I stress could) be a white-wash. I get the €80 season ticket is value but again, another €80 for an organisation I have probably spent 300-400 euro on already this year on some AWFUL spectacles.
Then, there's Clubber wanting a tenner for an underage match without a commentary or to buffer for 5 minutes.
It all adds up and when I thought about it last weekend when I debated buying the season ticket last weekend, I said I'm not spending any more on it and bought no PPV game at all last weekend and won't this year.
Have to draw the line somewhere. The only thing they are turning off is the neutral." So if GAA GO wasn't there or sky last year,there be no option to watch it,RTE picked their games, there is more games on free to air TV then ever in the history of the GAA,we just love to moan in this country including myself.
cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 25/04/2023 16:43:04
Replying To tearintom: "I think they should leave him off, in fact i think they should drop him!
I think then Hegarty should not take that well, he should leave the panel as a result of being dropped, in fact i dont think just leaving the panel would be enough, he should leave Limerick altogether, he looks like a fella that would benefit from a bit more vitamin D in his life without leaving the country, surely then the logical move form him would be to a part of the country that gets more sunshine than anywhere else!! I even know a decent dual club that would be more than capable of looking after him!!
Come to think of it that Sean Finn fella plays a bit on the edge too, O Donoghue, Byrnes and Lynch similar, pasty looking fellas that could do with a bit of sun and strawberries, only solution i feel." Brilliant, very good.
cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 25/04/2023 16:45:30
Replying To midlands: "Daveboy, do you seriously believe that Tipp used "filth" to try to get the better of that great Kilkenny team? All they had to do was look at what Davy Fitz tried with Waterford in 2008, and they would have realised that nobody would beat KK by "filth". Tipp knew they had to try to match KK physically, and they managed to win in 2010 by doing that but also by playing some very good hurling. To describe the finals in 09, 10 and 11 as brutal is ridiculous. They were tough physical games but some great skill on display as well. The 09 final in particular was a brilliant game. In those three finals there was one (deserved) sending off but apart from that I didn't see any filth from either team. Kilkenny set the standard from 2006 onwards. Like Limerick they often "played on the edge" but I would argue that they were more disciplined than Limerick are now. Limerick are a super team but occasionally a small number of their players step over the edge." Midlands I should have said the 09 10 11 finals were probably the best I'd ever seen up to then. Of course the hurling in it was incredible as they were two incredible teams.. I suppose my point I was trying to make was the physicality was something I'd never seen before. Tipp had to go to a place they hadn't had to before was my main point. I should have emphasised that more. There were numerous hits in those matches that if scrutinised the way they are now history might have had a different look. I'm not going to name names but there were a few on both sides.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 25/04/2023 16:58:47
Replying To tearintom: "I think they should leave him off, in fact i think they should drop him!
I think then Hegarty should not take that well, he should leave the panel as a result of being dropped, in fact i dont think just leaving the panel would be enough, he should leave Limerick altogether, he looks like a fella that would benefit from a bit more vitamin D in his life without leaving the country, surely then the logical move form him would be to a part of the country that gets more sunshine than anywhere else!! I even know a decent dual club that would be more than capable of looking after him!!
Come to think of it that Sean Finn fella plays a bit on the edge too, O Donoghue, Byrnes and Lynch similar, pasty looking fellas that could do with a bit of sun and strawberries, only solution i feel." This is the best post on here in quite some time. Summed it up perfectly.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 25/04/2023 17:02:21
Replying To Premier28: "well we wont see Wexford anyway methinks" Ah you never know no you might get out of Munster now after Clare gifting you 2 points; )
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 25/04/2023 17:03:31
Replying To midlands: "Daveboy, do you seriously believe that Tipp used "filth" to try to get the better of that great Kilkenny team? All they had to do was look at what Davy Fitz tried with Waterford in 2008, and they would have realised that nobody would beat KK by "filth". Tipp knew they had to try to match KK physically, and they managed to win in 2010 by doing that but also by playing some very good hurling. To describe the finals in 09, 10 and 11 as brutal is ridiculous. They were tough physical games but some great skill on display as well. The 09 final in particular was a brilliant game. In those three finals there was one (deserved) sending off but apart from that I didn't see any filth from either team. Kilkenny set the standard from 2006 onwards. Like Limerick they often "played on the edge" but I would argue that they were more disciplined than Limerick are now. Limerick are a super team but occasionally a small number of their players step over the edge." Watched the 2010 final in Sullivans in Kilsheelan on the way home after a night out in Limerick. What an afternoon! What a game!!! We stopped next in the Thatch for one to break the journey. The whole place was decked out in 5 in a Row stuff! There was just me and the wife, and a barman in the whole bar. I went out to the smoking area for a fag and there was a newly engaged couple having a drink out there. I got talking to them and they were from across the Bridge in Waterford!!!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 25/04/2023 17:09:21
Come to think of it that Sean Finn fella plays a bit on the edge too, O Donoghue, Byrnes and Lynch similar, pasty looking fellas that could do with a bit of sun and strawberries, only solution i feel." I tried that on this thread with Aaron Gillane. Even had a job and a house sorted out for him:-D
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 25/04/2023 17:10:31
Replying To LarryOBrother: "You're deflecting from the point. Discipline is the only thing that will let this Limerick team down i think. That nonsense about kill or be killed is only an excuse to condone thuggish behaviour. The real issue is that Limerick played with 14 men for 25 mins against a team they were fancied to beat by 9 points or more and almost lost because one of their leaders let himself and the team down and it should have been 13. This has been a brilliant limerick team but they have got the rub of the green on red card decisions numerous times and i've said it before its the only thing that could stop them. I hope they are accountable for their actions in training this week rather than justify the incidents as all being part of being in a 'warzone' 'heat of the battle' 'tough Munster Hurling' BS." Never mind what papers or pundits. LK and Waterford is never a predictable feast . Even going back to Mackey's time LK Waterford have never predictable. Larry, you and indeed a few more neutral contributors seem to have a fixation with Limerick. In the recent League Semi Final a man who is an assessor of referees said four and not one should have been put off day. He is a Limerick man and said he was amazed that there was a murmur in the Media or Social Media and YES I do agree Hegarty should have gone on Sunday, but as regards dropping that is pure BS
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 25/04/2023 17:15:18
Replying To LarryOBrother: "The man is a class hurler and I accept it would be drastic but i'm looking at it from a purely practical point of view - Are Limerick good enough to win without him if replaced by O'Neill? I would say they probably are. Are they good enough to win an All Ireland Final playing with 14 for some of the game? Probably not i'd say.
That's the only basis i'd have for doing it. And i know you can't script a player being sent off but does the risk justify the reward?" If Hegarty's shoulder was as bad as you are attempting to paint it, then why wasn't he issued with a straight red card by the ref? Because it was an offense that merited a yellow card, no more no less. So, please stop your nonsensical posts!
Perhaps you never played the game yourself and don't understand the physical nature of hurling! Or perhaps you did play it, but were a small little short fella who got blown out of it by the big boys! That might explain where you are coming from.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 25/04/2023 17:21:04
Replying To Premier28: "8 All Ireland titles no back door system or would probably have won in 1963 for the 5 in a row probably would have ended up with about 12 All Ireland medals to go with his 11 national league titles" Sorry now but Waterford met Tipp in the League, Munster and Oireachtas Finals in63 and beat them fair and square in all three. They also hurled them off the field in 59. In fact as Tipp only struggled past both Dublin And Wexford in ,61 and we're heavily beaten by an ageing Wexford team in 60, the back door system might have worked against them as well. BTW the subcaption in JD Hickey 's (himself a Tipp man) report, in the Independent, the next morning after the 60 Final, was absolutely memorable. It said ' The Assyrian swept down like a wolf on the fold and the colors of his cohorts were a gleaming Purple and Gold,'
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 25/04/2023 17:28:53
Replying To Premier28: "8 All Ireland titles no back door system or would probably have won in 1963 for the 5 in a row probably would have ended up with about 12 All Ireland medals to go with his 11 national league titles" Sorry now but Waterford met Tipp in the League, Munster and Oireachtas Finals in63 and beat them fair and square in all three. They also hurled them off the field in 59. In fact as Tipp only struggled past both Dublin And Wexford in ,61 and we're heavily beaten by an ageing Wexford team in 60, the back door system might have worked against them as well. BTW the subcaption in JD Hickey 's (himself a Tipp man) report, in the Independent, the next morning after the 60 Final, was absolutely memorable. It said ' The Assyrian swept down like a wolf on the fold and the colors of his cohorts were a gleaming Purple and Gold,'
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 25/04/2023 17:31:40
Replying To Oldtourman: "Sorry now but Waterford met Tipp in the League, Munster and Oireachtas Finals in63 and beat them fair and square in all three. They also hurled them off the field in 59. In fact as Tipp only struggled past both Dublin And Wexford in ,61 and we're heavily beaten by an ageing Wexford team in 60, the back door system might have worked against them as well. BTW the subcaption in JD Hickey 's (himself a Tipp man) report, in the Independent, the next morning after the 60 Final, was absolutely memorable. It said ' The Assyrian swept down like a wolf on the fold and the colors of his cohorts were a gleaming Purple and Gold,'" What a great Caption!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 25/04/2023 17:46:29
Replying To daveboy: "Midlands I should have said the 09 10 11 finals were probably the best I'd ever seen up to then. Of course the hurling in it was incredible as they were two incredible teams.. I suppose my point I was trying to make was the physicality was something I'd never seen before. Tipp had to go to a place they hadn't had to before was my main point. I should have emphasised that more. There were numerous hits in those matches that if scrutinised the way they are now history might have had a different look. I'm not going to name names but there were a few on both sides." Fair enough, Daveboy, but I can't really recall any bad hits in those games. Jackie Tyrrell got away with a hefty frontal charge on Callinan in 09 that deserved a yellow card but the ref Kirwan didn't even give a free! Mick Fennelly made a big hit on Shane McGrath in 11 but it was perfectly legitimate, even by today's standards. The only big hit I can remember Tipp dishing out was in the League final in 09 - Callinan on Brian Hogan. Two big men but Callinan had the advantage and Hogan didn't see it coming. Maybe that's why Tyrrell nailed Callinan later that year! You're right, they were incredible games, although the 11 final wasn't as exciting as the other two as KK always looked like winners. The best final of all, I think, came three years later - the drawn 04 final. That game had everything, including last minute drama.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 649 - 25/04/2023 18:13:47
Replying To Oldtourman: "Sorry now but Waterford met Tipp in the League, Munster and Oireachtas Finals in63 and beat them fair and square in all three. They also hurled them off the field in 59. In fact as Tipp only struggled past both Dublin And Wexford in ,61 and we're heavily beaten by an ageing Wexford team in 60, the back door system might have worked against them as well. BTW the subcaption in JD Hickey 's (himself a Tipp man) report, in the Independent, the next morning after the 60 Final, was absolutely memorable. It said ' The Assyrian swept down like a wolf on the fold and the colors of his cohorts were a gleaming Purple and Gold,'" Oldtourman, I recall that report by JDH. I was at that game as a young chap and Wexford were in total command. If I were you, I would ignore the posts from Premier. I suspect he has appeared here before under a different name and seems to enjoy winding up people.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 649 - 25/04/2023 18:17:52
Replying To foreveryoung: "If Hegarty's shoulder was as bad as you are attempting to paint it, then why wasn't he issued with a straight red card by the ref? Because it was an offense that merited a yellow card, no more no less. So, please stop your nonsensical posts!
Perhaps you never played the game yourself and don't understand the physical nature of hurling! Or perhaps you did play it, but were a small little short fella who got blown out of it by the big boys! That might explain where you are coming from." No second guessing where your coming from! Classy post..!
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 25/04/2023 18:26:49
Replying To Premier28: "we could bury ye yet Oldtourman" Of course how have so called 'dead certs' fallen before. anyway there no dead certs in Munster.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 25/04/2023 19:10:58
Replying To foreveryoung: "If Hegarty's shoulder was as bad as you are attempting to paint it, then why wasn't he issued with a straight red card by the ref? Because it was an offense that merited a yellow card, no more no less. So, please stop your nonsensical posts!
Perhaps you never played the game yourself and don't understand the physical nature of hurling! Or perhaps you did play it, but were a small little short fella who got blown out of it by the big boys! That might explain where you are coming from." Haha you obviously don't know this man a former all Ireland winner
Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 396 - 25/04/2023 19:32:12
Replying To Premier28: "8 All Ireland titles no back door system or would probably have won in 1963 for the 5 in a row probably would have ended up with about 12 All Ireland medals to go with his 11 national league titles" I don't care how many medals he won but the disformed hand of the late Franky Walsh R.I.P. is how I judge him. However let the past be the past.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 25/04/2023 19:32:56
Perhaps you never played the game yourself and don't understand the physical nature of hurling! Or perhaps you did play it, but were a small little short fella who got blown out of it by the big boys! That might explain where you are coming from. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1555 - 25/04/2023 17:21:04 2473805
Perhaps you know FA about hurling. There's been plenty of 'small little short' fellas, past and present, who could/can hold their own, and more against the 'big boys. The Young Hurler of the Year for 2022 was Mikey Butler (Kilkenny). This 'small little short fella' stands 5' 6" high, but he rarely gets 'blown out of it by the big boys'.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2962 - 25/04/2023 22:45:17
I see the same with Gleeson now. Yes he deserved sanction when he was pulling helmets but now if he gives a fellow a hard shoulder he is blown if the guy falls down. There was two times this year he was blown for charging while on a solo run and a player went to stop him and fellow off him. He is no angle but the same people are okay when he is getting poked and on one occasion spat on. He is a big strong man like the Limerick lads and if someone don't like how he hits go stick with ludo.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 26/04/2023 01:01:57