Advertisement

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Everyone agrees flanagan a very lucky man but how many people knew it was his hit at the time..I actually thought it was the peter Casey tackle first until I watched last night,I didn't see Flanagan,I'd followed flight of ball..also heard skehill and Paul Murphy saying they were the same way..so I can see how Liam Gordon missed the incident..think clare have reason for complaint at end over foul on Shanaher as it looked like a goal scoring opportunity..I feel there will be a lot more controversy before hurling finishes in July.."
The free was only given for a throw ball by WOD directly after that. The ref clearly indicated a throwing action.
He can't see everything to be fair

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/04/2023 06:21:08    2473528

Replying To updwell:  "No RTE coverage of Limerick and Clare on Saturday, I think we can all agree this is shocking stuff from the national broadcaster , there must be a women's rugby match on. Bring back SKY."
Well said. Not showing the All Ireland champions in either sport on first day while 5 hours of a tiny minority sports that 4/500 people bother to attend even for their "big days."

Not getting into the whole debate again, but Dara Ó Cinnéide said yesterday that while he agrees with "split season" that the cultural place of the championship has taken a huge hit due to what the host described ás Béarla as a "stir fry." Too much happening all at once, and over within weeks.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 25/04/2023 08:32:01    2473541

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Hurling is still a contact sport. Of course they hit off each other in training as every other county team does."
Alot of our injuries this year occurred in training

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 25/04/2023 09:11:41    2473553

Replying To WildPundit:  "Firstly I was too busy in Ennis watching a goal fest. Pulling and dragging is done in almost every hurling match by all teams. Limericks whole game plan is built around restarts and I'm sorry but Waterford stopped that they used every possible tactic they could and it worked and it just shows when teams get in Limericks face some lads lose their cool as they weren't used to getting the easy ball that Quaid delivers bang on. As you said its the officials job to call foul and if he had blew a few on Waterford early on if that was the case that tactic would have went out the window. I still can't phantom how Limerick won that match. Leaving the pub in Ennis to head to the ground it was like everyone looked dissapointed. Almost like Limerick had beaten Clare not Waterford it was that type of subdued atmosphere. Big game Sat for both teams looking forward to a big reaction from both teams. Is Limericks cage rattled or will the banner bite back. Shud be a cracker looking forward to it."
Of course ye were disappointed, Limerick had played poorly and won and in fairness all neutrals always want to see the Champions dethroned. You talk of a goal fest. In fairness if a goalie and Full Back line conspire to play as poorly as Clares did why would there not be a goal fest. Cork made two less obvious mistakes below in the Park last year and Guillane and Hayes buried them. Game over. Apart from all that if I was a Tipp Fan I would be worried that your back conceded three goals and a penalty should also have been given against them. Good Tipp teams of the past would would have absolutely buried Clare if they got the lead they got in the first half.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 25/04/2023 10:02:02    2473574

Replying To Canuck:  "All I have to say it was missed. The other aspect of it is these are big strong athletes playing a game that is really high speed. I don't want the tackle to go out because players are afraid to go in or what I saw last year in the league a player (Foran sent off)) going down to take a high tackle. Deliberating going for the head yes send off. Replaying in slow motion by the t.v. pundits is just wrong and the NHL don't do that anymore. It is very easy to say Hegarty new when he launched his challenge he knew the ball was going out of play. The foul was hitting the head. People on here had nothing much to say about the butt ends, stamping, kicking etc. in this years league. This is the lousy, cowardly, cheating, bullying stuff in our game. Did you notice that throwing is off the flavour of the day over the weekend.
Look all I am saying players will get hit high for many reasons that happen after it is initiated. It does not make the hitter a dirty player. Lets not throw out the baby with the bath water."
Sensible Post Canuck. As Davy said to an Irish Examiner Reporter when asked about the Hegarty incident. 'What of it, its the Munster Championship- we didn't come here to say Hello'

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 25/04/2023 10:05:42    2473577

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Not filthy nor cowardly in any way. It was a card because the ball wasn't there but it had only barely gone out of play. It appeared worse than it was because Hegarty is a big strong man and the Waterford fella looked very small in comparison; not Hegarty's fault. It was a shoulder, an off-the-ball shoulder, but the ball wasn't 10 miles away. So are we now going to brand all shoulders as being filthy and cowardly? When you compare what Hegarty did with some of the stuff the likes of Liam Dunne, Eamon Cleary, Damien Byrne of Waterford, Sylvie Linnane, The Hopper McGrath, Kevin Dunne, and John Doyle of Tipperary dished out back in the day, you will quickly realize that Hegarty's act was quite tame indeed. It deserved a yellow which is what he got for it. But two yellows combined=red. It would not have been a red card offence on its own, so let's not be making a mountain out of a molehill."
I cant take this post seriously. Hegarty saw his opportunity, lined him up and floored him with a shoulder to the head /neck area. The size of either player is a nonsense defence. You even said yourself the ball was gone and the Waterford player had no clue the hit was coming. It was a cheap cheap shot. Hegarty had a choice to make - try play the ball like the Waterford player was doing or take a shot at a relatively defenceless player and he chose the latter, no excuses in my book.

Serious question for Limerick posters here - At any stage does John Kiely consider leaving off Hegarty if he becomes a liability or do you continue to have trust in him? I understand its drastic to be leaving off such a good hurler but there is enough cover in the likes of O'Neill and Reidy to consider it. I'm saying this from the point of view that i believe bar being reduced to 14 men i think Limerick would win every game this year. Is the risk worth the reward if you can't trust a player to behave himself.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 25/04/2023 10:14:41    2473579

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I cant take this post seriously. Hegarty saw his opportunity, lined him up and floored him with a shoulder to the head /neck area. The size of either player is a nonsense defence. You even said yourself the ball was gone and the Waterford player had no clue the hit was coming. It was a cheap cheap shot. Hegarty had a choice to make - try play the ball like the Waterford player was doing or take a shot at a relatively defenceless player and he chose the latter, no excuses in my book.

Serious question for Limerick posters here - At any stage does John Kiely consider leaving off Hegarty if he becomes a liability or do you continue to have trust in him? I understand its drastic to be leaving off such a good hurler but there is enough cover in the likes of O'Neill and Reidy to consider it. I'm saying this from the point of view that i believe bar being reduced to 14 men i think Limerick would win every game this year. Is the risk worth the reward if you can't trust a player to behave himself."
Not a hope in hell is John Kiely going to drop Hegarty or Gillane no matter what they do on or off the pitch.

Two players who produce the goods on All Ireland final day.

No manager in his right mind drops them type of performers.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 1041 - 25/04/2023 10:27:53    2473590

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Not filthy nor cowardly in any way. It was a card because the ball wasn't there but it had only barely gone out of play. It appeared worse than it was because Hegarty is a big strong man and the Waterford fella looked very small in comparison; not Hegarty's fault. It was a shoulder, an off-the-ball shoulder, but the ball wasn't 10 miles away. So are we now going to brand all shoulders as being filthy and cowardly? When you compare what Hegarty did with some of the stuff the likes of Liam Dunne, Eamon Cleary, Damien Byrne of Waterford, Sylvie Linnane, The Hopper McGrath, Kevin Dunne, and John Doyle of Tipperary dished out back in the day, you will quickly realize that Hegarty's act was quite tame indeed. It deserved a yellow which is what he got for it. But two yellows combined=red. It would not have been a red card offence on its own, so let's not be making a mountain out of a molehill."
Hopper McGrath? You can't be serious. Just because he was once sent off in an All-Ireland semi-final! A very skillful and clean player. By the way, who's Kevin Dunne?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 649 - 25/04/2023 10:28:49    2473591

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Of course ye were disappointed, Limerick had played poorly and won and in fairness all neutrals always want to see the Champions dethroned. You talk of a goal fest. In fairness if a goalie and Full Back line conspire to play as poorly as Clares did why would there not be a goal fest. Cork made two less obvious mistakes below in the Park last year and Guillane and Hayes buried them. Game over. Apart from all that if I was a Tipp Fan I would be worried that your back conceded three goals and a penalty should also have been given against them. Good Tipp teams of the past would would have absolutely buried Clare if they got the lead they got in the first half."
Doesn't matter a goal is a goal and 8 were scored. Not often seen now a day's in the modern game. I wasn't overly happy with Tipps performance 3.23 would win you any game of hurling. Tipp will tighten up I'm sure it was a good lesson. Clare are not a bad team we got a headstart and I felt while we controlled the game I never felt like it was won at any point something that many Tipp teams have done in the past so to come through that game especially in Ennis will now give Tipp some much needed confidence and a boost. We won't be winning Munster or appearing on the final day in August just yet but year over year its a better painted picture and we're in with a shout of exiting the group stages in the top 3. We all know Munster hurling though it's cut throat and one result turns the whole thing upside down. Really looking forward to the two games at the weekend again. The picture will evolve come half 5 Sunday evening.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 25/04/2023 10:39:11    2473597

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Yeah, the fact they were 100 miles away watching TV footage, rather than down the square in Thurles a mile away from the action looking at the exact same TV footage, is really relevant!!"
I was at the match and It happened 40 yards form where I was sitting. All I am saying is TV footage slowed down doesn't do the incident justice.

Peter Casey had shouldered Bennett who was already falling before Flanagan's attempted Shoulder. If you watch it at full speed you would see Bennett was already falling away from Flanagan and the contact was minimal.

The Slow motion and still pictures designed to implicate something more sinister.

Remember hurling is still a contact sport last time I checked

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 297 - 25/04/2023 10:42:53    2473598

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I cant take this post seriously. Hegarty saw his opportunity, lined him up and floored him with a shoulder to the head /neck area. The size of either player is a nonsense defence. You even said yourself the ball was gone and the Waterford player had no clue the hit was coming. It was a cheap cheap shot. Hegarty had a choice to make - try play the ball like the Waterford player was doing or take a shot at a relatively defenceless player and he chose the latter, no excuses in my book.

Serious question for Limerick posters here - At any stage does John Kiely consider leaving off Hegarty if he becomes a liability or do you continue to have trust in him? I understand its drastic to be leaving off such a good hurler but there is enough cover in the likes of O'Neill and Reidy to consider it. I'm saying this from the point of view that i believe bar being reduced to 14 men i think Limerick would win every game this year. Is the risk worth the reward if you can't trust a player to behave himself."
I honestly would have taken Hegarty off as soon as he got the first Yellow. He is certainly gets targeted by other teams and he has a history of reacting to provocation. Cathal O'Neill and David Reidy are two top quality replacements when required.

I would consider starting Cathal O'Neill against Clare in Place of Hegarty for this very reason.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 297 - 25/04/2023 10:51:48    2473604

Imagine leaving Hegarty off for playing on the edge......
I'm not saying he shouldn't have been sent off at the weekend, but where do teams want players to play?
This is a dog-eat-dog game at any level, let alone inter county.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1635 - 25/04/2023 10:59:49    2473613

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Imagine leaving Hegarty off for playing on the edge......
I'm not saying he shouldn't have been sent off at the weekend, but where do teams want players to play?
This is a dog-eat-dog game at any level, let alone inter county."
100%.
Some posters here wondering why they're not competing for top honours. It's a physical war of attrition from April to August both on Sundays and Tuesdays and Fridays. There will be moments in every match where players go over the top. Management ask players to put their bodies on the line every day. It's a hugely physical sport at this level and you're going to get bad challenges. Accept the punishment move on. But one thing you don't do is change what made you who you are no matter what anyone else says. Temper it, control it in better moments but never ever change or you're done

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 25/04/2023 11:17:22    2473624

John kiely has full faith in Hegarty to be a force of nature driving a highly motivated, competitive and successful group of men. If you ever want to really try and understand hegartys mindset I suggest you watch "The Last Dance" on netflix. Some athletes are single minded on winning. At times to not everyone's liking even within their own circle. But they are born leaders and winners and when you have them you play them.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 25/04/2023 11:25:10    2473627

Hegarty has being the best player in the country over the last 3-4 years in my view, would be lunacy to leave him out.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/04/2023 11:44:35    2473636

Replying To daveboy:  "John kiely has full faith in Hegarty to be a force of nature driving a highly motivated, competitive and successful group of men. If you ever want to really try and understand hegartys mindset I suggest you watch "The Last Dance" on netflix. Some athletes are single minded on winning. At times to not everyone's liking even within their own circle. But they are born leaders and winners and when you have them you play them."
That's fair enough but I wouldn't put his red card on Sunday in that bracket, his 1st yellow was silly and needless and his 2nd was stupidity as he was already on a yellow, interesting to see if Sunday will be a line in the sand moment on this, I think Limerick did have a reset like this between the league and championship last year where there was a couple of silly red cards in the league but that seemed to be sorted out by championship.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/04/2023 11:48:55    2473641

Replying To WildPundit:  "Doesn't matter a goal is a goal and 8 were scored. Not often seen now a day's in the modern game. I wasn't overly happy with Tipps performance 3.23 would win you any game of hurling. Tipp will tighten up I'm sure it was a good lesson. Clare are not a bad team we got a headstart and I felt while we controlled the game I never felt like it was won at any point something that many Tipp teams have done in the past so to come through that game especially in Ennis will now give Tipp some much needed confidence and a boost. We won't be winning Munster or appearing on the final day in August just yet but year over year its a better painted picture and we're in with a shout of exiting the group stages in the top 3. We all know Munster hurling though it's cut throat and one result turns the whole thing upside down. Really looking forward to the two games at the weekend again. The picture will evolve come half 5 Sunday evening."
Tipp are coming along nicely. They had plenty of chances to fold in Ennis against Clare and didn't. Clare fought back to level it early and got the crowd back into it and Tipp always had an answer. Yes they have things to fix but so does every other team. Very valuable road win.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2631 - 25/04/2023 11:59:14    2473650

Replying To daveboy:  "John kiely has full faith in Hegarty to be a force of nature driving a highly motivated, competitive and successful group of men. If you ever want to really try and understand hegartys mindset I suggest you watch "The Last Dance" on netflix. Some athletes are single minded on winning. At times to not everyone's liking even within their own circle. But they are born leaders and winners and when you have them you play them."
Are you comparing Gearoid Hegarty to Michael Jordan????????? :)
Also there is a difference between doing what it takes to win and risking the result of a match for the purpose of taking a free shot at a player. What he did on Sunday was the exact opposite of what good leaders do.
Tom Morrissey showed more of the correct winning attitude than Hegarty on Sunday. And most of the very top hurlers ever have exemplary discipline records - Can't recall TJ, Henry, Joe Canning or Cian Lynch having discipline issues at all.
Hegarty is starting to fall into the Mario Ballotelli "why always me" mindset at this stage.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 25/04/2023 12:07:43    2473653

Replying To Shocs07:  "Massively improved since league semi so"
yes we pulled up at half time this is championship not the league

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 12:07:46    2473654

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well it would be time for them after losing to them in five Munster Championships in a row."
wrong
Tipp beat them in round robin 2019

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 25/04/2023 12:09:01    2473657