Replying To daveboy: "A lot of fair points there Larry. I agree Limerick fouled too much and the likes of WoD and Tom Morrisey need to modify their tackle technique as the refs are just not allowing them to tackle the way they are. I felt the ref lost a bit of control of the game and was very card happy for my liking. There were only 2 incidents that frustrated me and both were late on in the 1st half. One was a drag back on Flanagan when making a run in on goal and the other a trip on hayes. Bar that I felt most of the calls were technically right.
I was bemused how the officials let Barry Nolan take so much time on the puckouts in both halves. Of the 39.5 minutes played in the first half only 14 minutes were played with the ball in play. A masterclass from Davy but disappointing the officials facilitated it.
Hannon tweaked a groin and wanted to stay on but the management felt the depth was there to take a chance and take him off which ultimately will hasten his return.
Next Saturday will be extremely physical and intense. It will not be for the faint hearted. I just hope the ref appointed will appreciate the type of match it will be for both teams." I noticed the issue also with the time allowed at the end of the first half; at least another two and a half minutes should have been played. Waterford done a lot of time wasting, especially in the First Half. Larry is on above that Gleeson's kicked point should not have been disallowed and been situated well up the field in the Old Stand I wondered the same myself. However, in the SG last night, Tom Barron was clearly shown charging into Nicky Quaid and making no attempt what so ever to go for a ball. Liam Gordon rightly gave a free out. They also showed where Kyle Hayes and Tom Morrissey were wrongly penalised for frees that resulted in Waterford points and where Sheamus Flanagan wrongly got a free in when it should have been a free out in the first half. To add insult to injury the Waterford player was yellow carded in that incident. The fact is not every decision may be right but overall LG did a good job.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 24/04/2023 14:23:59
Spare a thought for the Clare keeper. Every thing possible went again him on one of those days. He was not at fault for all the goals but 2-2 of the score hurts. I just still don't see the merit in short puck outs. Too many turned over. The goalie hits it out to an unmarked player who hesitates looking around to who he can hit it to. Now there are 14 players available to get ready and cover off 13. The goalie could have hit it there in the first place. The player who got the short puck out 9 times out of 10 when turned over is taken out of the play. Maybe if you are going to run it but if turned over it is an automatic demoralizing score. Not too sure either about the running game either but the way it is played now. The shortest way between too points is a straight line and the fastest. The goalie has the option of varying his puck out. Short should be to midfield. Medium to the half forwards line and long to inside forwards. You need to develop ball winners who move to give the goalie a target. I would like to see the stats on how many puck outs Frank Cummins did not win.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 24/04/2023 14:49:12
Replying To Oldtourman: "I noticed the issue also with the time allowed at the end of the first half; at least another two and a half minutes should have been played. Waterford done a lot of time wasting, especially in the First Half. Larry is on above that Gleeson's kicked point should not have been disallowed and been situated well up the field in the Old Stand I wondered the same myself. However, in the SG last night, Tom Barron was clearly shown charging into Nicky Quaid and making no attempt what so ever to go for a ball. Liam Gordon rightly gave a free out. They also showed where Kyle Hayes and Tom Morrissey were wrongly penalised for frees that resulted in Waterford points and where Sheamus Flanagan wrongly got a free in when it should have been a free out in the first half. To add insult to injury the Waterford player was yellow carded in that incident. The fact is not every decision may be right but overall LG did a good job." Oldtourman the result very seldom is wrong. Limerick the better team won. Too much over analysis of ever little incident that even out general over the game. We hit way too many wides from distance that Limerick can score from. Worse still to me a forward is expected to score. Montgomery 0% from his shots. Kiely nothing either. Bennett having to come back into the half back line to gain possession and hit it were he needed to be. Flanagan should have got red but if he is suspended now it will just show again the selectiveness of this process. Either you review every game or a missed call is just that. In fairness our games are no worse than any sport for missed calls.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 24/04/2023 15:02:57
Replying To Canuck: "Oldtourman the result very seldom is wrong. Limerick the better team won. Too much over analysis of ever little incident that even out general over the game. We hit way too many wides from distance that Limerick can score from. Worse still to me a forward is expected to score. Montgomery 0% from his shots. Kiely nothing either. Bennett having to come back into the half back line to gain possession and hit it were he needed to be. Flanagan should have got red but if he is suspended now it will just show again the selectiveness of this process. Either you review every game or a missed call is just that. In fairness our games are no worse than any sport for missed calls." Under John Kiely Limerick have played Waterford 7 times in championship & one NHL final. I believe this covers 4 Waterford Managers, but the record is 8-0 Limerick. Smallest victory yesterday (2) biggest 2019 (20). Average winning margin 9 points.
Statistically Waterford are getting closer. Dowling's analysis of Davy's tactics last night was interesting, but the long ball option seemed an opportunity lost for Waterford. When they run the ball, they look very dangerous.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6634 - 24/04/2023 16:57:43
Replying To Canuck: "Oldtourman the result very seldom is wrong. Limerick the better team won. Too much over analysis of ever little incident that even out general over the game. We hit way too many wides from distance that Limerick can score from. Worse still to me a forward is expected to score. Montgomery 0% from his shots. Kiely nothing either. Bennett having to come back into the half back line to gain possession and hit it were he needed to be. Flanagan should have got red but if he is suspended now it will just show again the selectiveness of this process. Either you review every game or a missed call is just that. In fairness our games are no worse than any sport for missed calls." Tipp will take down Limerick
Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 24/04/2023 17:07:55
I was at the Waterford v Limerick Match yesterday and I don't think anybody can argue that Gearoid Hegarty shouldn't have got the road. He got a silly yellow for mouthing off and then going in hard on the side-line when the ball was already out of play was plain stupid.
People roaring that Seamus Flanagan should have been sent off I disagree with. The speed and intensity of the Munster Hurling Championship means there is bound to be mistimed tackles. Players have a split second to make a call as regards shouldering a player (who himself is moving at speed) or not. Slow motion replays on Television can put a totally different spin on what happens in a match. In slow motion if looks like Flanagan had about 5 seconds to line up Bennett and turned looked at him prior to hitting him shoulder to the head. In reality Peter Casey had shouldered Bennett from one side and Flanagan tried to shoulder him from the other it happened in a split second it was not a dirty deliberate attempt to hit him hard. For Liam Sheedy and Anthony Daly to comment on them from all the way up in Dr Hyde Park over 100 miles away is madness
Its a similar situation to players trying to flick a ball away and disrupt and opposition player on a solo run. If you time the swing perfectly and knock the ball away its brilliant skill, but inevitably if you miss or mistime a tackle you could end up striking a player on the arm or side of the helmet or something. When I was at the match I thought a lot of the frees given were soft, however watching it back on TV I can see why they might be given. (i.e. mistimed tackle or hurley high etc.).
I think the match yesterday will stand to Limerick massively when they play Clare next week. Brian Lohan, Peter Duggan David McInerney and Rory Hayes will try and being the same chaos and street smarts that Waterford brought yesterday. Now we have plenty of work on before next weekend
LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 297 - 24/04/2023 17:28:42
Everyone agrees flanagan a very lucky man but how many people knew it was his hit at the time..I actually thought it was the peter Casey tackle first until I watched last night,I didn't see Flanagan,I'd followed flight of ball..also heard skehill and Paul Murphy saying they were the same way..so I can see how Liam Gordon missed the incident..think clare have reason for complaint at end over foul on Shanaher as it looked like a goal scoring opportunity..I feel there will be a lot more controversy before hurling finishes in July..
CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2715 - 24/04/2023 17:34:30
Replying To Premier28: "Tipp will take down Limerick" Massively improved since league semi so
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 24/04/2023 17:49:20
Replying To LimerickandProud: "I was at the Waterford v Limerick Match yesterday and I don't think anybody can argue that Gearoid Hegarty shouldn't have got the road. He got a silly yellow for mouthing off and then going in hard on the side-line when the ball was already out of play was plain stupid.
People roaring that Seamus Flanagan should have been sent off I disagree with. The speed and intensity of the Munster Hurling Championship means there is bound to be mistimed tackles. Players have a split second to make a call as regards shouldering a player (who himself is moving at speed) or not. Slow motion replays on Television can put a totally different spin on what happens in a match. In slow motion if looks like Flanagan had about 5 seconds to line up Bennett and turned looked at him prior to hitting him shoulder to the head. In reality Peter Casey had shouldered Bennett from one side and Flanagan tried to shoulder him from the other it happened in a split second it was not a dirty deliberate attempt to hit him hard. For Liam Sheedy and Anthony Daly to comment on them from all the way up in Dr Hyde Park over 100 miles away is madness
Its a similar situation to players trying to flick a ball away and disrupt and opposition player on a solo run. If you time the swing perfectly and knock the ball away its brilliant skill, but inevitably if you miss or mistime a tackle you could end up striking a player on the arm or side of the helmet or something. When I was at the match I thought a lot of the frees given were soft, however watching it back on TV I can see why they might be given. (i.e. mistimed tackle or hurley high etc.).
I think the match yesterday will stand to Limerick massively when they play Clare next week. Brian Lohan, Peter Duggan David McInerney and Rory Hayes will try and being the same chaos and street smarts that Waterford brought yesterday. Now we have plenty of work on before next weekend" Yeah, the fact they were 100 miles away watching TV footage, rather than down the square in Thurles a mile away from the action looking at the exact same TV footage, is really relevant!!
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4908 - 24/04/2023 18:07:43
Replying To CTGAA10: "Everyone agrees flanagan a very lucky man but how many people knew it was his hit at the time..I actually thought it was the peter Casey tackle first until I watched last night,I didn't see Flanagan,I'd followed flight of ball..also heard skehill and Paul Murphy saying they were the same way..so I can see how Liam Gordon missed the incident..think clare have reason for complaint at end over foul on Shanaher as it looked like a goal scoring opportunity..I feel there will be a lot more controversy before hurling finishes in July.." If you think yesterday was chaos CTGAA10 wait until you see next Saturday night, long odds on finishing with 15 v 15.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 963 - 24/04/2023 18:52:40
Replying To daveboy: "Ya Hegarty will respond. It was an ill disciplined second yellow l. No need for it. Lot of hard hits in that match. The one that still makes me laugh was the nasty pull across the knees by Hutchinson on Finn. No ball there. It was a clwsr striking action of thr hurley and he was very lucky to just get a yellow. The funny part of it was Finn didn't even notice he had hit him as he was giving out to the forwards for their lack of movement.. That just might be the difference between this Limerick team and the rest. The trainings are savage" I hope your not suggesting that Limerick might be practicing hitting people in training !
UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 156 - 24/04/2023 19:23:38
Replying To CTGAA10: "Everyone agrees flanagan a very lucky man but how many people knew it was his hit at the time..I actually thought it was the peter Casey tackle first until I watched last night,I didn't see Flanagan,I'd followed flight of ball..also heard skehill and Paul Murphy saying they were the same way..so I can see how Liam Gordon missed the incident..think clare have reason for complaint at end over foul on Shanaher as it looked like a goal scoring opportunity..I feel there will be a lot more controversy before hurling finishes in July.." All I have to say it was missed. The other aspect of it is these are big strong athletes playing a game that is really high speed. I don't want the tackle to go out because players are afraid to go in or what I saw last year in the league a player (Foran sent off)) going down to take a high tackle. Deliberating going for the head yes send off. Replaying in slow motion by the t.v. pundits is just wrong and the NHL don't do that anymore. It is very easy to say Hegarty new when he launched his challenge he knew the ball was going out of play. The foul was hitting the head. People on here had nothing much to say about the butt ends, stamping, kicking etc. in this years league. This is the lousy, cowardly, cheating, bullying stuff in our game. Did you notice that throwing is off the flavour of the day over the weekend. Look all I am saying players will get hit high for many reasons that happen after it is initiated. It does not make the hitter a dirty player. Lets not throw out the baby with the bath water.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 24/04/2023 19:59:55
Replying To Canuck: "All I have to say it was missed. The other aspect of it is these are big strong athletes playing a game that is really high speed. I don't want the tackle to go out because players are afraid to go in or what I saw last year in the league a player (Foran sent off)) going down to take a high tackle. Deliberating going for the head yes send off. Replaying in slow motion by the t.v. pundits is just wrong and the NHL don't do that anymore. It is very easy to say Hegarty new when he launched his challenge he knew the ball was going out of play. The foul was hitting the head. People on here had nothing much to say about the butt ends, stamping, kicking etc. in this years league. This is the lousy, cowardly, cheating, bullying stuff in our game. Did you notice that throwing is off the flavour of the day over the weekend. Look all I am saying players will get hit high for many reasons that happen after it is initiated. It does not make the hitter a dirty player. Lets not throw out the baby with the bath water." Good post Canuck
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 24/04/2023 20:31:22
Replying To UtahBlaine: "I hope your not suggesting that Limerick might be practicing hitting people in training !" Knocking lumps out of each other every night and driving each other on. Greatest team to play the game. Enjoy them. They won't be around forever.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 24/04/2023 20:35:26
Replying To UtahBlaine: "I hope your not suggesting that Limerick might be practicing hitting people in training !" Hurling is still a contact sport. Of course they hit off each other in training as every other county team does.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 24/04/2023 20:58:45
Replying To Premier28: "Tipp will take down Limerick" Well it would be time for them after losing to them in five Munster Championships in a row.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 24/04/2023 21:01:55
Replying To Canuck: "All I have to say it was missed. The other aspect of it is these are big strong athletes playing a game that is really high speed. I don't want the tackle to go out because players are afraid to go in or what I saw last year in the league a player (Foran sent off)) going down to take a high tackle. Deliberating going for the head yes send off. Replaying in slow motion by the t.v. pundits is just wrong and the NHL don't do that anymore. It is very easy to say Hegarty new when he launched his challenge he knew the ball was going out of play. The foul was hitting the head. People on here had nothing much to say about the butt ends, stamping, kicking etc. in this years league. This is the lousy, cowardly, cheating, bullying stuff in our game. Did you notice that throwing is off the flavour of the day over the weekend. Look all I am saying players will get hit high for many reasons that happen after it is initiated. It does not make the hitter a dirty player. Lets not throw out the baby with the bath water." Spot on as usual.
cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 24/04/2023 21:26:30
No RTE coverage of Limerick and Clare on Saturday, I think we can all agree this is shocking stuff from the national broadcaster , there must be a women's rugby match on. Bring back SKY.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 963 - 24/04/2023 22:00:55
Replying To updwell: "Were you at the game? If you were you would have seen the pulling and dragging at the puckouts. I'm not knocking Waterford for that-it's up to officials to stamp it out. The ref was weak and out of his depth booking players on both sides needlessly at the end of the first half only put more and more pressure on himself and his umpires waving a Limerick point wide which was 2 yards inside the post and giving Limerick a point which was wide didn't inspire confidence in the officials." Firstly I was too busy in Ennis watching a goal fest. Pulling and dragging is done in almost every hurling match by all teams. Limericks whole game plan is built around restarts and I'm sorry but Waterford stopped that they used every possible tactic they could and it worked and it just shows when teams get in Limericks face some lads lose their cool as they weren't used to getting the easy ball that Quaid delivers bang on. As you said its the officials job to call foul and if he had blew a few on Waterford early on if that was the case that tactic would have went out the window. I still can't phantom how Limerick won that match. Leaving the pub in Ennis to head to the ground it was like everyone looked dissapointed. Almost like Limerick had beaten Clare not Waterford it was that type of subdued atmosphere. Big game Sat for both teams looking forward to a big reaction from both teams. Is Limericks cage rattled or will the banner bite back. Shud be a cracker looking forward to it.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/04/2023 22:07:39
Replying To LarryOBrother: "Anybody have a slow motion footage of Hegartys shoulder? It looked filthy and a bit cowardly to me to be honest. It was effort to hurt the Waterford player, who wasn't looking which in my opinion should be a straight red. The Waterford mentor acting the eejit just deflected from the actual tackle which was lucky for him.
Overall it was very hard to assess the Limerick performance. I think they seemed to be almost a bit too reliable on the short passing game which broke down quite a lot and stymied their play. They also fouled way too much and i would urge posters giving out about the referee to view the game and pick out how many frees were given that weren't actually frees. I would honestly say you got the rub of the green off the ref to be honest, he missed the Flanagan shoulder and gave a free out for Austin Gleesons kicked point which baffled me. Finally what happened Declan Hannon? The bear has been poked as they say but there were aspects of the performance that would worry me if i was a Limerick supporter.
Waterford looked like a team who found self belief as the game progressed. They were very poor in the first 15 mins and reminded me a bit of Wexford under Davy trying to be too perfect and gifting scores to Limerick. I hope they kick on and use this as a template for the next few games as they will be hard to beat with their tails up." Not filthy nor cowardly in any way. It was a card because the ball wasn't there but it had only barely gone out of play. It appeared worse than it was because Hegarty is a big strong man and the Waterford fella looked very small in comparison; not Hegarty's fault. It was a shoulder, an off-the-ball shoulder, but the ball wasn't 10 miles away. So are we now going to brand all shoulders as being filthy and cowardly? When you compare what Hegarty did with some of the stuff the likes of Liam Dunne, Eamon Cleary, Damien Byrne of Waterford, Sylvie Linnane, The Hopper McGrath, Kevin Dunne, and John Doyle of Tipperary dished out back in the day, you will quickly realize that Hegarty's act was quite tame indeed. It deserved a yellow which is what he got for it. But two yellows combined=red. It would not have been a red card offence on its own, so let's not be making a mountain out of a molehill.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 24/04/2023 22:08:52