Advertisement

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm not getting involved in any stuff with posters who start slagging one another off..we didn't play well and possibly only 3 or 4 players were up to normal standards..today showed that on a given day any team can beat another..I expect Flanagan to miss next Saturday as he was very fortunate not to receive a red..gearoid was silly but again the first yellow was problem.the official from Waterford should never again be involved with any team as no one outside of field of play should interfere with players or officials.rest of championship is nicely shaping up..if clare and Waterford lose next week they'll find it very hard to recover and qualify.a lot of twists and turns to come.."
I would agree with you about the official. We are trying to stop supporters from doing bad stuff and this is no better. Just someone of your county men came on here mouthing about what Waterford got away with while ignoring other incidents. Limerick out muscled us time and time again. They are a strong big team and I would be the first to say that dangerous contact will happen. This to me is not dirty play but the rules are there for everyone.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 23/04/2023 22:43:23    2473001

Limerick expected this type of game I think they were prepared for it mentally but Flanagan and Hegarty are constantly getting away with those high challenges like it or love it they make their presence known physically which is what you want to see but they go OTT at times. Look at Tom Morrissey a lad that gets hefty hits in a game but rarely if ever loses his head. Some lad blurping on ere about Limerick lads being pulled and dragged on puck outs shud watch the game again. The only pulling and dragging was that Waterford pulled and dragged them out of position. Limerick showed mettle today and will take some team to stop them but I'm not worried about stopping them this time of the year. It's too soon for that talk. Tipp v Clare was a strange game Tipps ability to punish Clare was the reason we won. Happy with the win but its only 1 game and I never believed we had that game won till the whistle blew. Going to Cork with a bit of confidence Waterford will put it upto them I'm sure Tipp have a 2 week break cud be fresher and work in their favour but Cork are a different animal this year I think they cud suprise a few. Anyway it's only round 1 can't wait to see what next weekend throws up already. Big games for Clare and Waterford probably season defining.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 23/04/2023 23:41:17    2473011

I haven't seen an MVP named for the Limk/Waterford game. For me, it'd be between Dara O'Donovan and Calum Lyons. Lyons played really well on Cian Lynch, so I'd probably give it to him, even though it is rare that the losing team gets the MVP award.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 24/04/2023 04:23:56    2473023

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I forgot to wish tadgh de burca the very best and hope he makes a very good recovery..horrible to see it happen to any player."
For sure. How unlucky can 1 man be? I'm gutted for him.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 24/04/2023 07:48:38    2473036

Replying To Bon:  "Whilst I agree with you , no doubt Trial by Sunday game will get them done."
That's wrong too Bon. Some of the TSG lads have an inflated opinion of themselves.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20668 - 24/04/2023 07:51:15    2473038

When the game was there for the taking with 2-3 points in it, a major difference between the sides was Limerick's calmness and willingness to keep passing. Dan Morrissey, Sean Finn, Barry Nash kept finding each other to work the ball out. Mike Casey made a number of runs out of defence running down the clock and keeping the ball. There was just that little bit of composure that made the difference and it was a relief to get over the line.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6634 - 24/04/2023 08:15:53    2473042

Replying To daveboy:  "Waterford fans i feel will be a bit aggrieved and short changed from their sideline leaving thurles today. Limerick had an uncharacteristically poor day at the office. One of those games where an awful lot didn't go right for them. Losing hannon, missed penalty, red card, 2 guilt edge goal chances squandered and only registering 1-18. Waterford slowee the game down, manipulated the officials brilliantly and used all the tricks they should to keep any flow or rhythm out of the match.

However, it was truly remarkable to watch a team with a spare man for 35 mins just lump ball after ball after ball on top of the Limerick square when they had the game to win by being patient and calculated. Several times I saw Davy instructing lads to launch it down. At times there were men free in the middle of the pitch.

Limerick got that out of their system, took no chances with hannon and will come to the gaelic grounds next Saturday with a huge marker to lay down imo. AIs are never handed to anyone. You gotta fight and grasp for every inch. Limerick if they didn't think that way they will now.

Bear poked."
Tiobraid Arann 29

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 24/04/2023 08:54:49    2473053

Anybody have a slow motion footage of Hegartys shoulder? It looked filthy and a bit cowardly to me to be honest. It was effort to hurt the Waterford player, who wasn't looking which in my opinion should be a straight red. The Waterford mentor acting the eejit just deflected from the actual tackle which was lucky for him.

Overall it was very hard to assess the Limerick performance. I think they seemed to be almost a bit too reliable on the short passing game which broke down quite a lot and stymied their play. They also fouled way too much and i would urge posters giving out about the referee to view the game and pick out how many frees were given that weren't actually frees. I would honestly say you got the rub of the green off the ref to be honest, he missed the Flanagan shoulder and gave a free out for Austin Gleesons kicked point which baffled me. Finally what happened Declan Hannon? The bear has been poked as they say but there were aspects of the performance that would worry me if i was a Limerick supporter.

Waterford looked like a team who found self belief as the game progressed. They were very poor in the first 15 mins and reminded me a bit of Wexford under Davy trying to be too perfect and gifting scores to Limerick. I hope they kick on and use this as a template for the next few games as they will be hard to beat with their tails up.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 24/04/2023 10:11:34    2473095

Replying To WildPundit:  "Limerick expected this type of game I think they were prepared for it mentally but Flanagan and Hegarty are constantly getting away with those high challenges like it or love it they make their presence known physically which is what you want to see but they go OTT at times. Look at Tom Morrissey a lad that gets hefty hits in a game but rarely if ever loses his head. Some lad blurping on ere about Limerick lads being pulled and dragged on puck outs shud watch the game again. The only pulling and dragging was that Waterford pulled and dragged them out of position. Limerick showed mettle today and will take some team to stop them but I'm not worried about stopping them this time of the year. It's too soon for that talk. Tipp v Clare was a strange game Tipps ability to punish Clare was the reason we won. Happy with the win but its only 1 game and I never believed we had that game won till the whistle blew. Going to Cork with a bit of confidence Waterford will put it upto them I'm sure Tipp have a 2 week break cud be fresher and work in their favour but Cork are a different animal this year I think they cud suprise a few. Anyway it's only round 1 can't wait to see what next weekend throws up already. Big games for Clare and Waterford probably season defining."
It was a strange game we gifted 3 goals played a rookie corner back instead of Rory Hayes who was an all star elect every year bar last left Peter Duggan on for 70 Minutes when Aaron Shanagher came on made huge difference so did Shane Meehan. TK Man marked out of it again.

Our management poor again yesterday I thought

We had 3 players with Hamstrings I believe also big loss especially David Reidy Our best 2 Players yesterday were Aidan McCarthy & Ryan Taylor O Donnell tried hard too

We Need a result in Limerick will be mighty task

On a non GAA note the service for food & indeed drink in the Pubs/Restaurants around the Ground was simply appalling yesterday one Pub was only selling bottles as the lines were down wait an hour for food the nearest Chip Shop only opened at 3 only 1 man in there wouldn't take any more food orders did nobody tell them there would be 20,000 people in Ennis.

I heard that they were looking for the Football Final in Ennis they should not get it IMO

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 1009 - 24/04/2023 10:34:04    2473110

Tiobraid Arann 29

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 24/04/2023 10:58:47    2473127

Replying To WildPundit:  "Limerick expected this type of game I think they were prepared for it mentally but Flanagan and Hegarty are constantly getting away with those high challenges like it or love it they make their presence known physically which is what you want to see but they go OTT at times. Look at Tom Morrissey a lad that gets hefty hits in a game but rarely if ever loses his head. Some lad blurping on ere about Limerick lads being pulled and dragged on puck outs shud watch the game again. The only pulling and dragging was that Waterford pulled and dragged them out of position. Limerick showed mettle today and will take some team to stop them but I'm not worried about stopping them this time of the year. It's too soon for that talk. Tipp v Clare was a strange game Tipps ability to punish Clare was the reason we won. Happy with the win but its only 1 game and I never believed we had that game won till the whistle blew. Going to Cork with a bit of confidence Waterford will put it upto them I'm sure Tipp have a 2 week break cud be fresher and work in their favour but Cork are a different animal this year I think they cud suprise a few. Anyway it's only round 1 can't wait to see what next weekend throws up already. Big games for Clare and Waterford probably season defining."
Were you at the game? If you were you would have seen the pulling and dragging at the puckouts. I'm not knocking Waterford for that-it's up to officials to stamp it out. The ref was weak and out of his depth booking players on both sides needlessly at the end of the first half only put more and more pressure on himself and his umpires waving a Limerick point wide which was 2 yards inside the post and giving Limerick a point which was wide didn't inspire confidence in the officials.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 963 - 24/04/2023 11:00:39    2473132

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Anybody have a slow motion footage of Hegartys shoulder? It looked filthy and a bit cowardly to me to be honest. It was effort to hurt the Waterford player, who wasn't looking which in my opinion should be a straight red. The Waterford mentor acting the eejit just deflected from the actual tackle which was lucky for him.

Overall it was very hard to assess the Limerick performance. I think they seemed to be almost a bit too reliable on the short passing game which broke down quite a lot and stymied their play. They also fouled way too much and i would urge posters giving out about the referee to view the game and pick out how many frees were given that weren't actually frees. I would honestly say you got the rub of the green off the ref to be honest, he missed the Flanagan shoulder and gave a free out for Austin Gleesons kicked point which baffled me. Finally what happened Declan Hannon? The bear has been poked as they say but there were aspects of the performance that would worry me if i was a Limerick supporter.

Waterford looked like a team who found self belief as the game progressed. They were very poor in the first 15 mins and reminded me a bit of Wexford under Davy trying to be too perfect and gifting scores to Limerick. I hope they kick on and use this as a template for the next few games as they will be hard to beat with their tails up."
Larry, here is a clip of the incident: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65ACNlpB1u0

I don't think anyone from Limerick is here defending this? Hegarty hit the Waterford player very hard, but cowardly? I think that's over the top.

Did you watch the game on TV or at the ground? I ask only because being at the ground, I do agree with my fellow supporters to a point that the ref could have done better. I wouldn't say he lost control of it, but if any team thinks that the opposition are being let away with things, they take the law into their own hands. Peter Casey in the first half for example, was on the end of one of the Waterford player's hands around his neck. He was given advantage and got the point, but a sense of frustration can build if the fouling player is not at least spoken to. There was holding and blocking of runs, all part of the game, but if the ref doesn't stop that early it can lead to flash points.

The ref has an extremely difficult job and 'shoulder to shoulder' is becoming more difficult to referee given the agility of players and their body shape when trying to gain possession.

I don't have any problem with anything Waterford did yesterday. What are they meant to do, sit by and let Limerick steamroll them? It is championship hurling and whatever suspensions come Limerick's way I'm sure John Kiely will have a plan for them. I give himself and Davy Fitzgerald a lot of credit for their post match interviews. Either could have poured petrol on the flames, neither did. Good luck to Waterford, we may meet again who knows.

It is an absolute privilege to watch this Limerick team in action. No team is unbeatable but we are enjoying what we have with a gifted group of management & players.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6634 - 24/04/2023 11:07:17    2473137

Replying To Canuck:  "Okay lets go along with the analysis put forward here that " the ref was out of his dept" Could I ask a question ? Was he out of his dept when he did not call red on Flanagan but walked to two other players and gave yellows for innocuous stuff. In fact Flanagan got nothing. What do you think the result on a one score the match might have been if ye had 13 on the field. Say a little prayer to night for the ref tonight who did Limerick no disfavours and go on to your next game. " It was the worst I've seen for Off the ball fouling " That is the greatest nonsense I have seen posted on these pages and there has been some duzzies. I tell you what, I will give you a couple of these imaginary off the balls to play 13 coming down the stretch but not the one you think on Flanagan who should not have been on the field to get fouled.
The game was not the biggest loss to Waterford but the injury to Tadgh who has gone through so much. Or not wish it on any player from any county.
Incidentally on this occasions the ref did not cause us to lose or stop ye from winning it twice if that is what you want. Move on and don't be making Limerick look bad and I will be supporting you if we cannot do any thing."
Once again Canuck you are talking a lot of common sense. It's all too easy to criticise the referee, who in the modern game has an almost impossible job. I thought Liam Gordon did OK in the circumstances as no referee in any sport can get every call correct. Likewise I thought the Waterford referee did a decent job in Ennis. Overall I thought both referees were fair and those being critical might be asked to name what better referees are out there. Off the ball pulling and dragging has been going on as long as I've been watching matches in both hurling and football, and I don't believe any county can claim to be innocent in this regard. I agree with you about Tadhg de Burca - it's must be heart-breaking for this fine player to be again sidelined with what looks like another serious injury.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 649 - 24/04/2023 11:13:11    2473147

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Anybody have a slow motion footage of Hegartys shoulder? It looked filthy and a bit cowardly to me to be honest. It was effort to hurt the Waterford player, who wasn't looking which in my opinion should be a straight red. The Waterford mentor acting the eejit just deflected from the actual tackle which was lucky for him.

Waterford looked like a team who found self belief as the game progressed. They were very poor in the first 15 mins and reminded me a bit of Wexford under Davy trying to be too perfect and gifting scores to Limerick. I hope they kick on and use this as a template for the next few games as they will be hard to beat with their tails up."
A lot of fair points there Larry. I agree Limerick fouled too much and the likes of WoD and Tom Morrisey need to modify their tackle technique as the refs are just not allowing them to tackle the way they are. I felt the ref lost a bit of control of the game and was very card happy for my liking. There were only 2 incidents that frustrated me and both were late on in the 1st half. One was a drag back on Flanagan when making a run in on goal and the other a trip on hayes. Bar that I felt most of the calls were technically right.

I was bemused how the officials let Barry Nolan take so much time on the puckouts in both halves. Of the 39.5 minutes played in the first half only 14 minutes were played with the ball in play. A masterclass from Davy but disappointing the officials facilitated it.

Hannon tweaked a groin and wanted to stay on but the management felt the depth was there to take a chance and take him off which ultimately will hasten his return.

Next Saturday will be extremely physical and intense. It will not be for the faint hearted. I just hope the ref appointed will appreciate the type of match it will be for both teams.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 24/04/2023 11:21:24    2473153

Replying To clooney:  "It was a strange game we gifted 3 goals played a rookie corner back instead of Rory Hayes who was an all star elect every year bar last left Peter Duggan on for 70 Minutes when Aaron Shanagher came on made huge difference so did Shane Meehan. TK Man marked out of it again.

Our management poor again yesterday I thought

We had 3 players with Hamstrings I believe also big loss especially David Reidy Our best 2 Players yesterday were Aidan McCarthy & Ryan Taylor O Donnell tried hard too

We Need a result in Limerick will be mighty task

On a non GAA note the service for food & indeed drink in the Pubs/Restaurants around the Ground was simply appalling yesterday one Pub was only selling bottles as the lines were down wait an hour for food the nearest Chip Shop only opened at 3 only 1 man in there wouldn't take any more food orders did nobody tell them there would be 20,000 people in Ennis.

I heard that they were looking for the Football Final in Ennis they should not get it IMO"
Yip I do think yer management lost it I don't believe this Clare team has regressed as people are suggesting. I'm not overly happy with Tipps win but anyday you come out of Ennis with a point not alone two is a good day. Even as good as Limerick are they have not beaten Clare there in the two games. Just a note on the food went to Knoxes as usual for pre match grub and the market restaurant afterwards. Top quality and I hope Clare do get home advantage for the football.its a tight pitch and the atmosphere would be fantastic plus the Clare supporters would come out in force. If its an away day in Limerick or Cork then less supporters would travel I would think.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/04/2023 11:34:46    2473160

Replying To slayer:  "Larry, here is a clip of the incident: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65ACNlpB1u0

I don't think anyone from Limerick is here defending this? Hegarty hit the Waterford player very hard, but cowardly? I think that's over the top.

Did you watch the game on TV or at the ground? I ask only because being at the ground, I do agree with my fellow supporters to a point that the ref could have done better. I wouldn't say he lost control of it, but if any team thinks that the opposition are being let away with things, they take the law into their own hands. Peter Casey in the first half for example, was on the end of one of the Waterford player's hands around his neck. He was given advantage and got the point, but a sense of frustration can build if the fouling player is not at least spoken to. There was holding and blocking of runs, all part of the game, but if the ref doesn't stop that early it can lead to flash points.

The ref has an extremely difficult job and 'shoulder to shoulder' is becoming more difficult to referee given the agility of players and their body shape when trying to gain possession.

I don't have any problem with anything Waterford did yesterday. What are they meant to do, sit by and let Limerick steamroll them? It is championship hurling and whatever suspensions come Limerick's way I'm sure John Kiely will have a plan for them. I give himself and Davy Fitzgerald a lot of credit for their post match interviews. Either could have poured petrol on the flames, neither did. Good luck to Waterford, we may meet again who knows.

It is an absolute privilege to watch this Limerick team in action. No team is unbeatable but we are enjoying what we have with a gifted group of management & players."
I'm sorry that clip just confirms what i thought about the hit - Purposely shouldering the Waterford player to the head who didn't see him coming. Furthest thing from manly or 'hard munster hurling' as you can get in my opinion.
He knew exactly what he was doing and thats the difference here between say bad tackles like De Burcas or Gillanes slap down on the Waterford Keepers head - both are dangerous but not an intentional effort to hurt the player
Can't excuse that for me hopefully he gets a decent ban.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 24/04/2023 11:51:58    2473176

Replying To daveboy:  "A lot of fair points there Larry. I agree Limerick fouled too much and the likes of WoD and Tom Morrisey need to modify their tackle technique as the refs are just not allowing them to tackle the way they are. I felt the ref lost a bit of control of the game and was very card happy for my liking. There were only 2 incidents that frustrated me and both were late on in the 1st half. One was a drag back on Flanagan when making a run in on goal and the other a trip on hayes. Bar that I felt most of the calls were technically right.

I was bemused how the officials let Barry Nolan take so much time on the puckouts in both halves. Of the 39.5 minutes played in the first half only 14 minutes were played with the ball in play. A masterclass from Davy but disappointing the officials facilitated it.

Hannon tweaked a groin and wanted to stay on but the management felt the depth was there to take a chance and take him off which ultimately will hasten his return.

Next Saturday will be extremely physical and intense. It will not be for the faint hearted. I just hope the ref appointed will appreciate the type of match it will be for both teams."
Would agree with all of this. However as a Limerick man howling from the stands I fully accept there's far far too much for a ref to control beyond putting timekeeping on him. About Time we introduced a buzzer. Hard game for Liam Gordon to ref. Hegarty gains a soft yellow in a lot of games early on which catches up with him when it gets ferocious. He's responded well to adversity in the past. I expect a big game from him Saturday. Certainly Gordon could have given Flanagan a red or a number of other warranted frees to Limerick for Waterford taking the runner but over a championship it levels out.

Limerick Clare will be ferocious. Limerick managed a long time with 14 so jk will need to be clever with selection. Massive pressure on Clare now.

Sugary_tae (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 24/04/2023 11:57:28    2473180

Get well Tadgh De Burca. Sigh.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2631 - 24/04/2023 12:21:39    2473199

Replying To Sugary_tae:  "Would agree with all of this. However as a Limerick man howling from the stands I fully accept there's far far too much for a ref to control beyond putting timekeeping on him. About Time we introduced a buzzer. Hard game for Liam Gordon to ref. Hegarty gains a soft yellow in a lot of games early on which catches up with him when it gets ferocious. He's responded well to adversity in the past. I expect a big game from him Saturday. Certainly Gordon could have given Flanagan a red or a number of other warranted frees to Limerick for Waterford taking the runner but over a championship it levels out.

Limerick Clare will be ferocious. Limerick managed a long time with 14 so jk will need to be clever with selection. Massive pressure on Clare now."
Ya Hegarty will respond. It was an ill disciplined second yellow l. No need for it. Lot of hard hits in that match. The one that still makes me laugh was the nasty pull across the knees by Hutchinson on Finn. No ball there. It was a clwsr striking action of thr hurley and he was very lucky to just get a yellow. The funny part of it was Finn didn't even notice he had hit him as he was giving out to the forwards for their lack of movement.. That just might be the difference between this Limerick team and the rest. The trainings are savage

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 24/04/2023 13:46:36    2473253

Replying To Trump2020:  "Get well Tadgh De Burca. Sigh."
Ver tough on him.Like everybody else I hope his injury is not as serious as it looked.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 24/04/2023 14:05:47    2473266