Clare and Kilkenny are not Galway.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 08/07/2023 21:01:26 2493208 Link 1 |
Yes, whichever team makes it, the final will be a battle to the death; no throwing in the towel like Galway did early in that second-half. While I'd love to see a Clare-Limk final, I just can't see Clare beating Kilkenny tomorrow. And when KK get to finals, they've a great history of knowing how to win them.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2347 - 08/07/2023 21:14:57 2493211 Link 0 |
Clare and Limerick final by my reckoning. Kilkenny made hard work of beating a Galway team that was truly shown up today. Should be an absolute belter of a game. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 08/07/2023 21:27:51 2493220 Link 1 |
Well spotted.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2441 - 08/07/2023 21:53:40 2493227 Link 4 |
They do, but Kilkenny have lost their last 3 All-Ireland finals and haven't won in 8 years. Hard to call tomorrow's game. I'd like to see Clare atone for last year's no-show, but wouldn't be surprised which ever way it goes. Congrats to Limerick on today's win. They were streets ahead of us once they kicked into gear and we had no answer. Very poor stuff on our part. Faded out of the game badly and went out with a whimper. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2430 - 08/07/2023 22:05:22 2493231 Link 0 |
Kilkenny know how to lose All Ireland finals as well. They've won 36 Finals but they've lost 28 which is more wins and losses than any other county. I do think that whoever wins tomorrow will be a lot closer to Limerick than Galway were today. Very poor second half from the tribesmen. Not in it at all. The Leinster final defeat and the manner of it ruined their season really. I'd have given Galway a reasonable chance against Clare tomorrow. Galway are going nowhere under Shefflin. Would a different Manager make a difference. Hard to know if the players are there.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2538 - 08/07/2023 22:06:30 2493234 Link 1 |
Is Henry the right man for the job?
KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 08/07/2023 22:09:02 2493237 Link 1 |
I think he should get next year anyway. Our problems run a lot deeper than anything a change of manager could solve. Unfortunately we have struggled to develop talented minors into top U20 and senior players. We're bearing the fruits of that now. Of the players who have come into the team after 2018, none are real standouts. It needs a serious review at county board level, as there's something amiss. I've no doubt all involved are working very hard, but it's clear that we're failing to bring players through to compete at the highest level. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2430 - 08/07/2023 22:45:44 2493244 Link 1 |
Two goals, one each, bizarrely clare seemed to fall off after both of them, their no. 4 will be kicking himself after their goal concession. Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 09/07/2023 17:41:10 2493361 Link 1 |
Super second half. Feel for Clare. Would have been a great final if they made it. They seem to be the only team to have the measure of Limerick Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 09/07/2023 17:47:17 2493364 Link 0 |
Agree and disagree. Yes the problems are deeper than him, but what has he learned from how to play Limerick?. We know they will concede a short puck out, thus giving you a set play and our continued response to it is to play it to the FB, back to the GK and puck it long. We also know Limerick will leave two players inside your 45, hold central and when a player around MF gets the ball, he'll play it into space for them. What was our response again?.. to leave it 2v2 inside, exactly what they want. Imagine you set two screeners around the 45 to play in front of that space, what will they do then?. Who knows as we didn't even ask the question and we let them play a game they're very good at while we have lads pelting balls 60-70 metres without even looking. Stone age stuff that might work against the other teams but not against Limerick as they won't be playing those kinds of balls so will grind you down. Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 80 - 09/07/2023 18:03:53 2493370 Link 0 |
The Moon Behind the Hill - sung by Michael O'Dwyer Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 09/07/2023 18:04:24 2493372 Link 0 |
Fair play to the cats - you can never underestimate them or take them for granted even when they are underdogs as in the last 2 AI semifinals. They will need to up it big time to take down Limerick but they were not too far off them last year. I knew this match would be a lot closer than last year but I still fancied KK to get over the line. tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 09/07/2023 18:05:13 2493373 Link 1 |
Kilkenny do not loose all irelands to the same opposition 2 years in a row... It just doesn't happen!! TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 09/07/2023 18:06:24 2493375 Link 1 |
Kilkenny will be very dangerous opponents for Limerick in the Final. They'll be ferociously determined to stop Limerick matching their 4 in a row team.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2538 - 09/07/2023 18:09:55 2493376 Link 1 |
I apologise on behalf of the whole of Kilkenny, and Leinster, for robbing you of a 'great final'. The GAA need to do something about us upstarts from Leinster, upsetting the Premier League of Munster.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 09/07/2023 18:12:43 2493378 Link 5 |
Ye lucky to be there so a bit of humility might not go astray.
Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 529 - 09/07/2023 18:18:06 2493379 Link 6 |
I know yeah.. its just not fair... what with Munster being so superior.. in fact any of the top 4 teams in Munster would win Leinster every year...
TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 09/07/2023 18:22:54 2493380 Link 2 |
I did say after the Munster Final that the Clare corner backs and Tony Kelly seemed to be able to get away with a lof of dragging and off the ball shite.. didn't get away with it today.. but I will say that Goal should've stood... Clare had advantage but Colm Lyons thought Kilkenny were in position and blew back for the free... big mistake..... 100% a clare goal... all day long TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 09/07/2023 18:25:43 2493382 Link 4 |
Outside of Kilkenny who will always be competitive and dangerous, what does Leinster have though. Galway hammered yesterday and Wexford lost to Westmeath. That game today was there for Clare but they weren't able to get over the line. Might have been different if the game was played in Thurles . Clare will have plenty of regrets tonight but Lyons did them no favours over the course of the match.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2538 - 09/07/2023 18:33:43 2493383 Link 4 |