All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To Viking66:  "They are the current big 1. That's not to say they will win any more in the next 45 years but I've a feeling they won't be waiting that long."
For a very long time certain countys had no plan, resources, foresight, development structures and for the most part unless they got a very good group were going through the motions. Tipp kilkenny Cork always kept standards up. Nowadays every county has the structures in place to succeed. A lot of AIs will be shared around over the next 20 years. Kilkenny Tipp Cork have no divine right to walk back to the top table. They'll have to scrap like the rest of us.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 19/06/2023 13:38:04    2487323

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "yeah 2 games in PUC would be daft, seems like Cork County Board are the only party who want it, I think it should be either a double header in Croker, or have Tipp Galway in Limerick and your game in Portloaise or Thurles."
Croke Park be almost just as bad. There's no Hill factor or DJs blasting out songs associated with the massively successful of the Dublin hurlers, so probably suit everyone too :-)

Hope hope not though. We don't get many chances to be part of a packed stadium for hurling at this level.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3551 - 19/06/2023 13:47:16    2487330

Hearing that it will be Limerick double header for quarter finals. Looking forward to this!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3551 - 19/06/2023 14:09:11    2487345

Replying To Viking66:  "That would be like saying Wexford were the best team of the 50s because they dominated in 55 and 56. That's nonsense."
Thought someone with over 8000 posts would do better than this! Fair play to you, you'll no doubt hit 10k soon.. a record? .Wexford won in 1955 and 1956 but never dished out the hammerings in finals that Tipperary did in '64/65. Tipp beat a good Kilkenny team in 1965 by 5-14 to 2-8 with an awesome display of hurling. To dominate the 1960's like Tipp did, takes some doing!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 532 - 19/06/2023 14:24:12    2487354

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Hearing that it will be Limerick double header for quarter finals. Looking forward to this!"
Clare will be delighted :)

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 61 - 19/06/2023 14:29:42    2487357

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Thought someone with over 8000 posts would do better than this! Fair play to you, you'll no doubt hit 10k soon.. a record? .Wexford won in 1955 and 1956 but never dished out the hammerings in finals that Tipperary did in '64/65. Tipp beat a good Kilkenny team in 1965 by 5-14 to 2-8 with an awesome display of hurling. To dominate the 1960's like Tipp did, takes some doing!"
Correction! 1964 they beat Kilkenny by 5-14 to 2-8. Kilkenny defending champions at the time. In 1965 they beat Wexford 2-16 to 0-10. Truly a great team!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 532 - 19/06/2023 14:53:06    2487377

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Thought someone with over 8000 posts would do better than this! Fair play to you, you'll no doubt hit 10k soon.. a record? .Wexford won in 1955 and 1956 but never dished out the hammerings in finals that Tipperary did in '64/65. Tipp beat a good Kilkenny team in 1965 by 5-14 to 2-8 with an awesome display of hurling. To dominate the 1960's like Tipp did, takes some doing!"
Be a few years yet I'd guess. There's lads posting on this with over 20000 posts I really don't think number of posts matters. If you read the post I was answering you would read that that Tipp team deserved to be considered among the greatest of all time because they won in 64 and 65.
"They peaked in 1964/65 and the total dominance they exercised in those 2 years, would suggest that they are up with the very best. Give credit where credit is due!"
I think the competition was weaker in the mid 60s. Our team was aging. Kilkennys was coming but not quite at their peak yet. Offaly hadn't arrived and Dublin had weakened. Munster as another Munster poster pointed out was also weak at the time. Galway were in the doldrums.
I'm not anti Tipp at all. Currently both our club and county managers are Tipp men, and I've numerous friends in Tipp. The only thing I find annoying about some Tipp people is their insufferable, and in terms of the last 50 years unjustified, arrogance when it comes to hurling. Tiobraid being a very obvious exception!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15833 - 19/06/2023 15:06:42    2487388

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Hearing that it will be Limerick double header for quarter finals. Looking forward to this!"
Another tickets scramble!

Would have preferred Croker to be honest.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/06/2023 15:17:50    2487391

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well KK have twenty 21 All Irelands while ye have won 7."
KK have 36 we have 28

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:18:30    2487393

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Oh no ref ever gave ye a break- more of your nonsense- poor old persecuted Tipp. In '71 Frank Murphy surely gave ye every thing that was going in '71, falling to give advantage for two Limerick goals and allowing Donie Nealon to change the sliotar before a twenty one yards free, in the Munster Final and Paul Codd probably the most accurate Long range striker of his generation was lining up a shot, all alone Fifty yards to win the game, when my countyman Pat O'Connor blew the Whistle. As regards your remark that that Tipp would win more All Irelands it is years ago that John Doyle said he would be lost in the Modern Game and he also bemoaned the introduction of the Back Door System."
ref gave ye everything in 73 when it wasent a 70 as the ball went wide off Paudie Fitzmaurice

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:19:30    2487394

Replying To Viking66:  "Be a few years yet I'd guess. There's lads posting on this with over 20000 posts I really don't think number of posts matters. If you read the post I was answering you would read that that Tipp team deserved to be considered among the greatest of all time because they won in 64 and 65.
"They peaked in 1964/65 and the total dominance they exercised in those 2 years, would suggest that they are up with the very best. Give credit where credit is due!"
I think the competition was weaker in the mid 60s. Our team was aging. Kilkennys was coming but not quite at their peak yet. Offaly hadn't arrived and Dublin had weakened. Munster as another Munster poster pointed out was also weak at the time. Galway were in the doldrums.
I'm not anti Tipp at all. Currently both our club and county managers are Tipp men, and I've numerous friends in Tipp. The only thing I find annoying about some Tipp people is their insufferable, and in terms of the last 50 years unjustified, arrogance when it comes to hurling. Tiobraid being a very obvious exception!!!"
Never had an issues with Tipp supporters, and usually they are very informed, and not arrogant. In 1964, Tipp introduced newcomers Mick Roche, and Babs Keating. They were unstoppable in those 2 years, and I believe the prevailing opinion within the GAA is that Tipp team will go down as one of the greatest ever! They were certainly tough but with players like Jimmy Doyle , Babs, Tony Wall and Donie Nealon, lots of pure hurling! Kilkenny won in 1963 but had no answer to the Tipp 1964 team!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 532 - 19/06/2023 15:19:53    2487395

Replying To slayer:  "Another tickets scramble!

Would have preferred Croker to be honest."
Be big crowd but hardly more than 30 - 35,000? No one in Clare going to think they'll be beat and we have 1,000 very most.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3551 - 19/06/2023 15:20:33    2487396

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Oh no ref ever gave ye a break- more of your nonsense- poor old persecuted Tipp. In '71 Frank Murphy surely gave ye every thing that was going in '71, falling to give advantage for two Limerick goals and allowing Donie Nealon to change the sliotar before a twenty one yards free, in the Munster Final and Paul Codd probably the most accurate Long range striker of his generation was lining up a shot, all alone Fifty yards to win the game, when my countyman Pat O'Connor blew the Whistle. As regards your remark that that Tipp would win more All Irelands it is years ago that John Doyle said he would be lost in the Modern Game and he also bemoaned the introduction of the Back Door System."
Mackey Ring Doyle Rackard would all be excellent in the modern game as they would have all the current training methods

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:21:09    2487398

Replying To Oldtourman:  "He is hanging to the coattails of the Cats yet again. The fact is in the past twenty five Years KK have won 11 All Irelands, Tipp and Limerick four each, Cork three, Clare , Galway and Offaly one each. The day of the Big three is gone. There is only one big one."
Limerick have 11 All Irelands Cork have 30 Tipp have 28 and Kikenny have 36
Limerick had only 7 until recently in the history of hurling so big three reign supreme

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:23:00    2487399

Be a few years yet I'd guess. There's lads posting on this with over 20000 posts I really don't think number of posts matters. If you read the post I was answering you would read that that Tipp team deserved to be considered among the greatest of all time because they won in 64 and 65.
I'm not anti Tipp at all. Currently both our club and county managers are Tipp men, and I've numerous friends in Tipp. The only thing I find annoying about some Tipp people is their insufferable, and in terms of the last 50 years unjustified, arrogance when it comes to hurling. Tiobraid being a very obvious exception!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15833 - 19/06/2023 15:23:45    2487400

Replying To daveboy:  "Wow the last 5 years must have been tough viewing for you. You should try and enjoy a great team when you see one and not drop infantile statements every chance you get. Then you wonder why certain folks have a dislike for Tipp. Tipp have won 6 AIs in the last 50 years. Limerick have 5 in that time and who knows what's around the corner. I love the history of hurling and I also respect those whove won AIs and loved watching the great teams over the years from the fence."
ye have a long way to go Daveboy to catch 28 a lot of lads will be shoving up daisies I wonder how many Tipp will have when ye reach that figure

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:24:48    2487402

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "U only beat KK One time between 06 And 14. The record in champion meeting is KK 5 tipp 1 in that time."
KK have not beaten Tipp since 14
we won in 16 and 19

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:25:32    2487403

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "U only beat KK One time between 06 And 14. The record in champion meeting is KK 5 tipp 1 in that time."
Look at 14 to 2019
Tipp 2 KK 0

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:26:31    2487405

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes but your fellow Tipp poster is implying that stat means you are still part of the big 3 that ruled the hurling world pre 1970. Your record since I was born in 71 is way behind Corks and Kilkennys. And your record since I moved to Wexford in the early 90s is comparable to Clares, Limericks and Corks. Which is a long way behind Kilkennys."
Viking
28 and 30 and 36 is the big three
the nearest is Limerick on 11 and Tipp have more than Limerick/Clare/Wexford/Waterford/ all put together
so Tipp are in the big three always

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:28:58    2487408

Replying To Viking66:  "With your superiority in playing numbers especially back in the day you should have far more won relative to us."
we have won far more relative to ye we have 28 All Irelands and possibly 29 on the horizon

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 19/06/2023 15:30:23    2487411