All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Scrap provincials, no balance

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1226 - 22/05/2023 10:06:54    2480331

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Scrap provincials, no balance"
You need to give us your suggested alternative structure. We can all say, scrap this and scrap that.
Mix the two groups with teams from both provinces? How many teams would be in it? How would relegation/promotion work? Give us your thoughts.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2321 - 22/05/2023 10:27:39    2480350

Limerick are just not making the ball stick enough in the forward line. In the last few years, not only was the ball won first time, it was transferred to another player before the opposition could blink & son on & so forth, killing the opposition. Now we are struggling to win the first ball in so everything is laboured. Still, in JK we trust. 19 scores v Waterford, 22 v Clare, 25 v Tipperary. If/when we get back to hitting 30+ in a game, the real Limerick will be back. Tom Morrissey and Cathal O'Neill were warriors for us yesterday. Their contribution was the difference between defeat & draw.

If we are not good enough to beat Cork next week so be it. Cork are improving with a new impetus under Pat Ryan and Declan Dalton is a fine forward. But if Limerick can get to Croker by any means I still think we would be very dangerous if/when there. It has been a wonderful run in Munster but there is a bigger picture to all of this. Do or die next week, looking forward to the GG being a sea of colour.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/05/2023 10:38:04    2480365

The worst thing Limerick done this year was winning the league. Now in saying that they looked like a machine in the league but now very ordinary in the championship. I didn't sense at any stage during the match yesterday Limerick would win but yet they found themselves in a winning position at the end. Tom Morrisey is a class class class act unreal player. Only for him Limerick were bate home and similar Cathal O Neill. Tipp just about enough to take a share of the spoils and perhaps all this talk about refs been bad and everything a draw I'd have taken. We remain unbeaten for now I feel if we lost yesterday while not fatal could have derailed our season. Knowing that either Cork and Limerick will have to beat each other makes Tipp v Waterford that bit easy but I think this Tipp team needs a Munster Final as a stepping stone to developing. Clare will be favourites no matter whom they play and rightly so if they hadn't leaked easy goals in the 1st game they would have 4 wins from 4. Limetick to advance for me as I think Cork are leaving it late to stage come backs got it against Tipp cudnt do it versus Cork and well Limerick if they get a run on this Cork team it's goodbye. Limericks shooting needs to improve seems like they are taking awful shots and this is something we are not used to normally they wait for the right moment but this year something is not right. But I'm sure they will get that right and blitz all before them again!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 22/05/2023 10:39:03    2480366

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well a loss of form for the top scorer in three All Ireland Finals in a row and in a twice HOTY would surely come near. Anyway what did Forde do in '21, when the heat came on, or last year against Limerick. He is a fine player, but I think you are over egging it here. As, your own county man, Liam Sheehy said last night Jake Morris got five points play off Mike Casey, but he was held scoreless in the League game by Sean Finn."
Not going back over this again with you oldtourman. We both know the problems Forde causes Limerick when Tipp are in a game. Tipp had three forwards playing yesterday with only a few starts betwwen them and Bonner who hasnt started chsip in 3 years - thats hardly over egging it!

If his backs and midfield cant win a ball then Forde cant do much. Morris caused Finn problems in the past too and scored 3 points off him. Also Morris didnt score 5 points directly off Casey.
It'll be interesting to see who starts for Lk the next day

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/05/2023 10:51:59    2480378

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Scrap provincials, no balance"
I think the risk to hurling is too great if you scrap Munster. Leinster championship supporters just don't turn out or travel in anyway near the same numbers as Munster. Why didn't KK supporters turn out to support their team over the weekend. If there was 25000+ at the KK v Galway game i'm sure the teams would have fed off the atmosphere and the game would have been more intense, supporters and a sense of occasion often drives these intense games. There is a big risk if the likes of Cork are playing Galway the Galway supporters will not travel to it or if Dublin are playing Limerick or KK against Waterford the crowds will be small and all of a sudden the game is in huge trouble. I accept the premise of what you are saying but i think the risk in doing so would be massive to our game. The teams who do emerge from Munster will be more fatigued having had to fight tooth an nail in every match and the Leinster teams will be fresher but I personally would still not sacrifice the Munster championship in favour of an open draw.

On the Limerick v Tipp game, it was a great game to watch. I thought we showed great fight and spirit in the second half and for a while at least looked like the Limerick of old. Cathal O'Neill, Tom Morrissey and WOD were exceptional, Gillane looked sharp when we could get the ball into him. Mulcahy had some appearance off the bench too, was very lively when he came on.
Hegartys form is obviously just not there at the moment but we all live in hope that he can find a spark to reignite himself and get his season going again. No better game than the Cork match to get things going again. Good to see Kiely giving him the pat on the back when coming off, its support the guy needs I think he has done more than enough for Limerick hurling to date. Cian seems to have not fully recovered from his injuries.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 434 - 22/05/2023 10:55:08    2480380

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well Cathal Barrett should have seen a straight red for a start, as not alone did he pull across Flanagan but he clearly dragged his helmet also. A yellow should have been given at least for a rash and high tackle on Byrnes. The fact is there was bad calls on both sides"
Wow! Theres always one who comes up with something. I was going to joke here that Byrnes should have been sent off for a head butt on Bonner (clearly accidental from Byrnes) but you some how seen it as a bad foul by Bonner!
There was plenty of small things which you will always get but I def wasnt shouting for Nash to go or a red card for the hit to the head on Barrett. Its hurling and these things happen

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/05/2023 10:56:15    2480382

Replying To WanPintWin:  "You need to give us your suggested alternative structure. We can all say, scrap this and scrap that.
Mix the two groups with teams from both provinces? How many teams would be in it? How would relegation/promotion work? Give us your thoughts."
https://hoganstand.com/Forum/Details/112113?County=National&PageNumber=0&TopicID=112113

Proposal on this.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1340 - 22/05/2023 11:00:03    2480384

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Tiobraid, it might be the case that Limerick would have a softer path via quarter final - be Dublin/Offaly /Carlow, but they will have to earn that on the pitch next week.

Some people were questioning Cork's alleged "soft centre," well they've proven in all their games so far that they are far from being soft and well capable of beating Limerick on form to date.

That's the game of the week and i reckon myself and not a few Dublin hurling supporters will be retiring to the bar to watch that instead of our footballers after we beat Galway in the first game :-)"
I was thinking about this this morning and I'm not jumping the gun and claiming Tipp will beat Waterford but should Limerick finish third they could find themselves playing the Leinster runners up after a game against a Joe Mac team - that would be a tasty affair.

You're spot on tho. I def questioned Cork as having a soft centre and lack of steel but they may start to be changing my mind and Lk are unlikely to have it easy on current form. Theres still some questions there tho. There was a number of times Clare half backs got ball with no Cork forward bursting a gut to tackle him. There was one in particular that Conlon drove wide - he had 3-4 Cork lads within 10 yards and he turned about 3 times and no one came to him so he ended up shooting. Having said all that, theyre def a difference there this year and Joyce is top class in particular. Not getting out of Munster will be a disaster for them

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/05/2023 11:08:55    2480394

The Munster Championship is tough but carries no real threat of relegation. The Leinster championship is less intense but carries a more real danger of relegation. On balance it is fair.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8787 - 22/05/2023 11:10:41    2480397

I think you can look at the Limerick tipp game in two ways. Firstly tipp have improved no end. They've always had the hurlers but the workrate is off the charts. They'll go far this year. But Limerick got to terms with it and certainly some muscle memory of form is returning.

First half Limerick leggy, getting huddled and harried and poor stick work. Tipp flying very sharp. Second half Limerick thundered back into it. If we had 15 men for the last 5 mins we'd have won it i think. Got off a lot of shots but radar is off. Didn't win but we needed a result v cork either way. After the second half I think we've a decent hope. The fire is still there at least. These lads owe us nothing !!

Selecting for cork will be interesting. Cian isn't right and we may get a better 20 mins from his brain and intelligence. Bench impact is what will get us over the line.

Sugary_tae (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 22/05/2023 11:19:35    2480406

Replying To clooney:  "Please back this up with some facts once last year V Limerick in Ennis which was well called out by Clare Fans

In 10 years of Senior hurling TK has never been known for this he gave away a free when he got up took a belt to head far too much of this now in Rugby which is professional you would have been red carded.

Magnificent afternoon of hurling if that's all you can take from it but i would not expect anything else from this poster"
Clooney I can think of some more examples if your looking for them:

1. Peter Duggan in the Munster final last year when he felt a brush on his back and dropped to the ground holding his head..... In fairness then the crowd started laughing and he realised it was the referee that brushed him he was up again quick as a flash.

2. Rory Hayes against Waterford this year diving to the ground holding his head when the Shane Bennett and himself were going for a 50/50 ball with only minimal shoulder to shoulder contact no where near the head.

3. Shane O Donnell every time he gets the ball constantly aiming his head into opposing tacklers underarm area if he he doesn't barrel through first time, waving both hands appealing for a free

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 145 - 22/05/2023 12:24:29    2480451

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "Clooney I can think of some more examples if your looking for them:

1. Peter Duggan in the Munster final last year when he felt a brush on his back and dropped to the ground holding his head..... In fairness then the crowd started laughing and he realised it was the referee that brushed him he was up again quick as a flash.

2. Rory Hayes against Waterford this year diving to the ground holding his head when the Shane Bennett and himself were going for a 50/50 ball with only minimal shoulder to shoulder contact no where near the head.

3. Shane O Donnell every time he gets the ball constantly aiming his head into opposing tacklers underarm area if he he doesn't barrel through first time, waving both hands appealing for a free"
Also noticed yesterday O'Donnell fouls an awful lot as well. I seriously wish though he would stop the flailing of the arms every time there's any contact. It reminds me alot of the final scene in the film Platoon when Willem Defoe is getting peppered by bullets coming out of the jungle

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 22/05/2023 12:54:37    2480474

Counties that can still win the Liam MacCarthy Cup:

Clare
Tipperary
Cork
Limerick
Galway
Kilkenny
Dublin
Offaly
Carlow

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 254 - 22/05/2023 13:36:52    2480500

Replying To Shocs07:  "Also noticed yesterday O'Donnell fouls an awful lot as well. I seriously wish though he would stop the flailing of the arms every time there's any contact. It reminds me alot of the final scene in the film Platoon when Willem Defoe is getting peppered by bullets coming out of the jungle"
He has a unique way of coming out of the contact and in fairness for a small guy he mixes it well. His technique from what i have seen is he rolls his man while throwing up his two hands and then almost falls into the direction he wants to go and then takes off again. If the players so much as touches him he will get flattened but it will be a free. I think he is an honest but clever player who maximises what he has.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 434 - 22/05/2023 13:39:51    2480504

Replying To Fitzy01:  "He has a unique way of coming out of the contact and in fairness for a small guy he mixes it well. His technique from what i have seen is he rolls his man while throwing up his two hands and then almost falls into the direction he wants to go and then takes off again. If the players so much as touches him he will get flattened but it will be a free. I think he is an honest but clever player who maximises what he has."
Thank you Fitz01 and may I wish ye the best on Sunday next v Cork even though ye have been a nightmare for other teams these last 5 years hurling would be poorer if ye were out of this championship

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 985 - 22/05/2023 13:50:55    2480508

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "Clooney I can think of some more examples if your looking for them:

3. Shane O Donnell every time he gets the ball constantly aiming his head into opposing tacklers underarm area if he he doesn't barrel through first time, waving both hands appealing for a free"
Aaron Fitzgerald was the worst one getting hego sent off in last years round Robin Rewarded by his manager with a starting role the week after v Waterford. Lohan isn't discouraging it clearly. Refs cop onto this stuff eventually and you will find it backfires in time

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 22/05/2023 13:57:18    2480509

Replying To daveboy:  "Aaron Fitzgerald was the worst one getting hego sent off in last years round Robin Rewarded by his manager with a starting role the week after v Waterford. Lohan isn't discouraging it clearly. Refs cop onto this stuff eventually and you will find it backfires in time"
Lets get this straight if ye want to go down this line, Hegarty (as Hegarty does) was loose with his hurley against Fitzgerald and Fitzgerald wrongly took advantage of his. Fitz was a disgrace granted. But Limerick lads are quick to forget Diarmiud Byrnes in 2018 in Ennis when a gust of air made him hit the ground resulting in David Reidy and his own team mate Tom Condon being sent off.

Watch the match again yesterday especially 73.40 on the clock and low and behold Byrnes is at it again with his own rendition of swan lake and the nutcracker to try and buy a free to win the match that the ref didnt buy. Neymar would have been proud of the attempt.

Dont try and vilify another team like this. You would want your own house to be in top order before you do so.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 23/05/2023 09:12:44    2480747

Shane O Donnell is probably the most fouled hurler in Ireland and sometimes cant buy a free. To suggest the way he plays the game hints of any sort of cheating says more about your understanding of the game than anything else.

That lad, takes timber every match and never whines but simply gets on with it and continues to produce the goods for Clare. Unlike Hegarty who some lads here would want to believe that he is "broken" because of the media reporting on him. hahahahaha

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 23/05/2023 09:15:57    2480749

If results go as per the bookies suggest this weekend then Wexford play Joe Max next year.
While I have no issue with anyone getting relegated and I don't think Tipp last year having lost all their games should have been allowed to stay up either, I do have a major issue with Wexford arguably having a far easier path to the all Ireland series next year through getting to the Joe Mc final.
I think finally people are going to realise this is a ridiculous rule if it comes to pass that Wexford are relegated.
Had Tipp been relegated last year there'd have been uproar they got to avoid the Munster cship and possibly get a far easier run to the AI series via the Joe Mc cup.
For arguments sake Wexford have a chance at winning both intermediate and senior cups next season. You couldn't make it up!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/05/2023 10:16:42    2480774