All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Interesting comments on Waterford Tipp game. I have Tipp down for at least 5 points and qualifying but maybe it's not a dead cert! I think Munster round Robin is more a mental block for Waterford now. The pressure will be off them so it's a case of how badly they will want it. Still find it hard to see a big enough turnaround to take Tipp but who knows. Rory Mcilroy performs best in Augusta when he's out of contention. Maybe Waterford will be the same? Maybe I'm just clutching..!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1468 - 16/05/2023 13:19:42    2478961

Replying To tiobraid:  "Doubt it will come to relying on other results for Tipp to get through. They beat Waterford and they reach the AI series - they lose both and theyre gone. Straightforward enough. I'd be very worried though what damage a potential big loss could do this weekend for a young team without the experience of Forde and his free taking. His loss cant be understated. Him, TK and TJ are out on their own in terms of how much one players influence on a team. Maybe sometimes its a good things as it forces others to stand up and be counted."
A huge loss. Hopefully they overcome it but it's as bad as a 6 point handicap truth be told.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3524 - 16/05/2023 13:33:32    2478968

Replying To tiobraid:  "Canuck you're like a broken record. Still going on about a meaningless league game. It's always someone elses fault.

I'd be certainly worried about that game but I'd be disgusted if I was from Waterford and they came out all guns blazing against Tipp when the team has lied down for the last 5-6 championship matches. Imagine thats what motivates you....getting one over on your last manager but you lie down on the field in all the other games. If Waterford even bother showing up to training between now and then I'd be surprised. Whats the point?"
So we should throw the game again Tipp and have more negative accolades heaped upon us ? That is the only thing that would disgust me. Next years championship starts against Tipp for Waterford on Sunday week.. Waterford allowed themselves to be bullied in a meaningless league game as you called it rightly. If you find one post from me where I blamed anyone other than our players or management show me. Like everyone of our games I don't know what Waterford team will show up. It probably does not matter if they train or not because its too late as they were not fit enough in any of the games. I said after the Limerick game the reason we could not beat 14 men as we did not have the pace to take advantage. The Limerick team that played Clare would have hammered us.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3044 - 16/05/2023 14:06:05    2478978

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To tiobraid:  "The post had nothing to do with Tipp having a god given right - what are you on about? Not sure where you got that from. I dont see it coming to score difference and I clearly stated I'd be very worried about the game.

My point is Waterford lied down in the last two games very clearly so if I was a Waterford person and they came out all guns blazing against Tipp just because its Cahill on the sideline then I'd be disgusted as a Waterford supporter. I'm not going to expand on that as I think its very clear what I'm saying.

Why would Waterford at this stage care about any other county in terms of fairness? Their year is done and if I was them I'm most certainly be giving players game time and try get something positive out of it for next year. Playing the same team and tactics gives them absolutely nothing."
How did they lie down against Limerick. They gave us one of our toughest games of the last four years"
I said last two games. SMH

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/05/2023 14:10:28    2478979

Replying To Ban:  "Interesting comments on Waterford Tipp game. I have Tipp down for at least 5 points and qualifying but maybe it's not a dead cert! I think Munster round Robin is more a mental block for Waterford now. The pressure will be off them so it's a case of how badly they will want it. Still find it hard to see a big enough turnaround to take Tipp but who knows. Rory Mcilroy performs best in Augusta when he's out of contention. Maybe Waterford will be the same? Maybe I'm just clutching..!"
I'm genuinely a tad worried about what Waterford could do with the pressure off and Davy will have them fired up we all know his passion. He will have them tearing into Tipp.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 16/05/2023 14:20:44    2478983

Replying To WildPundit:  "I'm genuinely a tad worried about what Waterford could do with the pressure off and Davy will have them fired up we all know his passion. He will have them tearing into Tipp."
I'd say that team's days of tearing into anyone are gone. They looked completely demoralised coming off the pitch. I doubt Cahill will be giving them any leeway either!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3524 - 16/05/2023 14:43:56    2478994

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I'd say that team's days of tearing into anyone are gone. They looked completely demoralised coming off the pitch. I doubt Cahill will be giving them any leeway either!"
Hopefully not but I'm sure Davy will have them told everyone is laughing at them haha!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 16/05/2023 14:56:46    2478998

Replying To WildPundit:  "I'm genuinely a tad worried about what Waterford could do with the pressure off and Davy will have them fired up we all know his passion. He will have them tearing into Tipp."
He should have had them tearing into cork and clare when it mattered

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2320 - 16/05/2023 15:04:48    2479000

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Very proud Clare man after watching us battle last night. Fair play to Cork though they were worthy winners in the end. They had more gas in the tank. That Ben Cunningham, looks a fine prospect as does the no 6 (cant remember his name).

Very proud at the way our lads represented us. We have to remember this team has many of the Clare minor team from 2 years ago that lost to Cork by 40 points. The turnaround is remarkable."
"Very proud Clare man" and so you should be. Last night was a cracking game with both teams giving there all. I thought midway through that second half the game was gone from us as Clare were dominating all over the field, but huge credit must go to this Cork team in coming back the way they did. Absolutely delighted with the result, and commiserations to a fantastic Clare team - The future is definitely bright in the Banner county..
We'll call it 1-1 for now with the decider coming up on Sunday!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 377 - 16/05/2023 15:05:29    2479002

Replying To WildPundit:  "Hopefully not but I'm sure Davy will have them told everyone is laughing at them haha!!"
The people of Clare are petrified at the thought of smiling around him.

Some man to deflect

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/05/2023 15:28:14    2479010

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The people of Clare are petrified at the thought of smiling around him.

Some man to deflect"
Nuts haha!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 16/05/2023 15:49:54    2479019

Replying To daveboy:  "Get your manager from within. Last outside manager to win the AI was 25 years ago. Many have come and gone since."
O we will but there will be nothing left only the bones by then and he will be expected to do miracles with nothing to work with.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3044 - 16/05/2023 19:01:02    2479087

Replying To Canuck:  "O we will but there will be nothing left only the bones by then and he will be expected to do miracles with nothing to work with."
Why was Ken mcgrath and Dan Shanahan passed over for the job when they applied last year? Surely they would get a better tune out of those players. I know who I'd rather play for.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 16/05/2023 23:55:15    2479134

Replying To daveboy:  "Why was Ken mcgrath and Dan Shanahan passed over for the job when they applied last year? Surely they would get a better tune out of those players. I know who I'd rather play for."
Daveboy I don't have a clue but I believe it was the U20 they wanted. Also Sean Power was not even given an interview after winning two All-Irelands with this group. I think the county board were chasing the shinny object.
Cahill came in and the first think he did was got rid of an all star corner back Noel Connors at age 29. Could still be playing. Three different players have been tried in that position and not come close. Brian Cody once said Connors is one of the best corner backs he had seen and his reading of play was great. Seemingly the word is Noel introduces himself as the player rep and was told your not on the panel. Maurice Shanahan was coming to the end but had something still to contribute. Cahill lied to him saying that if he had a good club championship he would look at him. Maurice's scoring was off the charts with 11 goals and 69 points that year. He waited for the call training extra on his own and was in peak condition. A real Waterford man. Not a fly by night one like these outside managers.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3044 - 17/05/2023 13:42:24    2479247

2 huge games in Munster,Limerick will be out of cork and tipp win.how many predictions would have that happening?a few big calls made by tipp,new keeper and Maher named corner back..take it he,ll pick up Flanagan..thought Limerick might have move Kyle Hayes further up the field..hoping for a Limerick win but I am worried..an even stranger cork selection,definitely looks like they want Kingston as an end of match finisher..mellerick not starting..hoping Clare get result which would leave a shoot out between Limerick/cork on 28th may..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2510 - 19/05/2023 13:06:09    2479636

Seán Currie and Paul Crummy in for Ronan Hayes and Alex Considine for Dublin tomorrow against Kilkenny.

Hayes is injured and not on bench. Alex I imagine will be sprung at some stage after quiet enough outing last day. Hoping for a big performance compared to last few hammerings against them. They need to show something against Cats and Galway if they are to be deserving of going any further by finishing ahead of Wexford if the last games go as predicted.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3524 - 19/05/2023 16:02:06    2479673

Replying To Canuck:  "Daveboy I don't have a clue but I believe it was the U20 they wanted. Also Sean Power was not even given an interview after winning two All-Irelands with this group. I think the county board were chasing the shinny object.
Cahill came in and the first think he did was got rid of an all star corner back Noel Connors at age 29. Could still be playing. Three different players have been tried in that position and not come close. Brian Cody once said Connors is one of the best corner backs he had seen and his reading of play was great. Seemingly the word is Noel introduces himself as the player rep and was told your not on the panel. Maurice Shanahan was coming to the end but had something still to contribute. Cahill lied to him saying that if he had a good club championship he would look at him. Maurice's scoring was off the charts with 11 goals and 69 points that year. He waited for the call training extra on his own and was in peak condition. A real Waterford man. Not a fly by night one like these outside managers."
Yes, that's something that I wondered about. Cahill on record saying that the door was open to players performing well on the club scene. Shanahan shoots the lights out. What more could a man have done? Yet no call. A lot of lip service out of Cahill imo, and Tipp might be about to realize that too.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2224 - 20/05/2023 02:25:57    2479730

Really looking forward to the 2 Munster matches in particular tomorrow but I feel Clare play risky stuff on the edge, a kind of 80% aggression game which has been going very well so far. But if a referee decides to implement the rules of the game Clare could be in trouble. I do love watching them and in actual fact I'm going to Ennis tomorrow and will be shouting for Clare - I hope the ref let's the game flow and the epic Munster comes continue tomorrow. As for the other match my money would be on Tipp if Forde was playing , a massive loss

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 20/05/2023 13:34:19    2479765

Kilkenny very lethargic here but Dublins touch is letting them down all too often. You'd imagine a Kilkenny goal will come at some stage and get them over the line. Poor stuff so far though

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/05/2023 19:01:16    2479801

Replying To tiobraid:  "Kilkenny very lethargic here but Dublins touch is letting them down all too often. You'd imagine a Kilkenny goal will come at some stage and get them over the line. Poor stuff so far though"
Watched the last 15 or so minutes after our football game it was fairly pedestrian alright Tiobraid.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 20/05/2023 19:52:57    2479821