All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To Canuck:  "Bon as far as I am concerned all the mercenary managers can walk. Do you think Liam Cahill or Davy Fitzgerald give a damn about Waterford hurling in the future. Actually Cahill showed his hand in the league what he thought about the Waterford players who played for him despite all the artificial plaudits he dished about them. Fooling no one. I predicted at the start of the season where we would be going into the last game. Waterford out and Tipp needing the win. I predict now that league game will cost Tipp. Look out Breen and company.
Viking It is time for Waterford to look in the mirror. Tony Browne, Paul Flynn , John Mullane, Dan Shannahan, Stephen Molumphy and others get in there and put their shoulder to the wheel. We have men who know hurling as good as anyone else. I have said it before any success we ever had was with Waterford men in charge. Justin and Gerald McCarthy righted the ship for us but they were a different breed than the money making mercenary managers now on the circuit."
Bennett is a good manager also Canuck. As regards outside managers Egan has put alot of effort into younger and newer players this year in fairness to him, lads whose peak years will likely be after his term here is finished.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 15/05/2023 16:03:15    2478733

Replying To munsterchamps:  "is that what ye did in clare look over the border too see to win things....)))))"
No that's what ye did, it really worked too congratulations

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 15/05/2023 16:27:24    2478748

Replying To munsterchamps:  "is that what ye did in clare look over the border too see to win things....)))))"
No that's what ye did it worked very well too

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 15/05/2023 16:37:23    2478753

Replying To Canuck:  "Bon as far as I am concerned all the mercenary managers can walk. Do you think Liam Cahill or Davy Fitzgerald give a damn about Waterford hurling in the future. Actually Cahill showed his hand in the league what he thought about the Waterford players who played for him despite all the artificial plaudits he dished about them. Fooling no one. I predicted at the start of the season where we would be going into the last game. Waterford out and Tipp needing the win. I predict now that league game will cost Tipp. Look out Breen and company.
Viking It is time for Waterford to look in the mirror. Tony Browne, Paul Flynn , John Mullane, Dan Shannahan, Stephen Molumphy and others get in there and put their shoulder to the wheel. We have men who know hurling as good as anyone else. I have said it before any success we ever had was with Waterford men in charge. Justin and Gerald McCarthy righted the ship for us but they were a different breed than the money making mercenary managers now on the circuit."
Get your manager from within. Last outside manager to win the AI was 25 years ago. Many have come and gone since.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 15/05/2023 17:02:16    2478768

Replying To clooney:  "No that's what ye did it worked very well too"
There must be an echo here somewhere!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 15/05/2023 17:03:10    2478769

Replying To Viking66:  "Bennett is a good manager also Canuck. As regards outside managers Egan has put alot of effort into younger and newer players this year in fairness to him, lads whose peak years will likely be after his term here is finished."
But Viking he will leave also and not remember where Wexford is and won't remember their names. That is all for his glory. The people who contributed to bringing these kids up in the clubs and under age structure will be there forever. It is a false dawn and the facts are there to prove it that outside managers bring very little success. Then move on and forget they were ever there. Cahill was supposedly a great Waterford man last year. You think ? After the way he sent out his team to play us in an old stupid league match.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 15/05/2023 18:31:18    2478796

I know it's not the right forum but what a cracking Munster under 20.great to sit back as a neutral watching it..cork probably the better team and if they'd taken points instead of going for goals,,would have won a bit easier..a few questions,is there any black card at under 20,cork goal scoring chance stopped by cynical foul in first half..cork number 2 booked for what looked like a fair pull at end of first half..cork number 6 not even booked for using his head..why are there no semis like there is at minor for all Ireland series??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 15/05/2023 21:12:22    2478828

Canuck you're like a broken record. Still going on about a meaningless league game. It's always someone elses fault.

I'd be certainly worried about that game but I'd be disgusted if I was from Waterford and they came out all guns blazing against Tipp when the team has lied down for the last 5-6 championship matches. Imagine thats what motivates you....getting one over on your last manager but you lie down on the field in all the other games. If Waterford even bother showing up to training between now and then I'd be surprised. Whats the point?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/05/2023 09:28:01    2478851

Replying To tiobraid:  "Canuck you're like a broken record. Still going on about a meaningless league game. It's always someone elses fault.

I'd be certainly worried about that game but I'd be disgusted if I was from Waterford and they came out all guns blazing against Tipp when the team has lied down for the last 5-6 championship matches. Imagine thats what motivates you....getting one over on your last manager but you lie down on the field in all the other games. If Waterford even bother showing up to training between now and then I'd be surprised. Whats the point?"
Hold on Tiobraid. Why should Waterford sit down and make no effort next Sunday and give an unfair advantage to Tipp, in the score difference stakes. Kiely was rightly criticised in '19 for putting out a team against Tipp, that had four of his best players off, even though they were not injured. I always felt that was grossly unfair to other teams in the competition and for Waterford to come out and do something similar on Sunday would be also wrong. I hope there is still some semblance of self respect left in that Waterford team. Why would they not come out all giuns blazing on Sunday? Are you saying Tipp have a God given right to a soft run through to the Munster Final?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 16/05/2023 10:05:39    2478864

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I know it's not the right forum but what a cracking Munster under 20.great to sit back as a neutral watching it..cork probably the better team and if they'd taken points instead of going for goals,,would have won a bit easier..a few questions,is there any black card at under 20,cork goal scoring chance stopped by cynical foul in first half..cork number 2 booked for what looked like a fair pull at end of first half..cork number 6 not even booked for using his head..why are there no semis like there is at minor for all Ireland series??"
Very proud Clare man after watching us battle last night. Fair play to Cork though they were worthy winners in the end. They had more gas in the tank. That Ben Cunningham, looks a fine prospect as does the no 6 (cant remember his name).

Very proud at the way our lads represented us. We have to remember this team has many of the Clare minor team from 2 years ago that lost to Cork by 40 points. The turnaround is remarkable.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2472 - 16/05/2023 10:12:20    2478870

I don't think Waterford will come to Thurles and lie down. Its not in them and certainly not in Davy either. He will have them pumped to go out on a high. I remember Waterford in a similar situation few years back and they gave Cork a good rattle. They won't fear Tipp and will do everything they can to stop us from winning. I'd prefer we still beat Limerick Sunday though and get job done out the gap rather than relying on to beat Waterford and potentially other results to qualify.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 16/05/2023 10:55:11    2478892

I think this is the real start of the hurling championship form here on in.

MUNSTER

Cork v Clare will be very tight. I'm not convinced on Cork but the have their tails up and are hard to beat in fairness to them. Clares 4th games before Tipp and Limerick have 3 played. Will that take a toll and will they be tired? Aidan McCarthy is big loss and will be needed if they qualify. A draw here wouldn't surprise me.

Tipp v Limerick - I think this will be the game of the year to date. Forde is a massive loss but Tipp showed great resolve and that they have the firepower needed to push on without him. Limerick have wilted in the Championship to date. Will Kiely have them back purring after a break or is that little bit of spark just gone from great champions. I thought they'd bounce back v Clare but they didn't so we will really see on Sunday the health and strength of the panel.

If Cork and Tipp win Limerick are eliminated which is mad to think.

LEINSTER

Galway and Wexford games will go to plan you'd imagine without any shocks. Dublin v Kilkenny will be tighter but it is hard to look past Kilkenny. I wasn't overly impressed with the Dubs in their victory over Wexford but they might have gained confidence to be able have a good crack at this and cement their place in the AI Series.
Speaking with my Wexford hat on i hope Dublin beat KK as it will put Wexford future back in their own hands and set up a knockout game v Kilkenny in Wexford park next week.

The U 20 is a great championship. Its pure hurling and a throwback in many ways. Also all credit to TG4 for the coverage they provide, its exceptional. Hoping for a Cork Wexford All Ireland final but Offaly will have something to say about that. Pity there is no AI Semi Finals as Clare were very good last night and it would be a further opportunity to pit the best in Leinster against the best in Munster.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 16/05/2023 11:20:56    2478907

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Very proud Clare man after watching us battle last night. Fair play to Cork though they were worthy winners in the end. They had more gas in the tank. That Ben Cunningham, looks a fine prospect as does the no 6 (cant remember his name).

Very proud at the way our lads represented us. We have to remember this team has many of the Clare minor team from 2 years ago that lost to Cork by 40 points. The turnaround is remarkable."
Clare People have every reason to be very proud of that teams effort. I feel first half wides, when wind, assisted, made a major difference here. All Clare Hurling teams teams are very impressive at the moment.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 16/05/2023 11:25:52    2478910

Replying To Canuck:  "But Viking he will leave also and not remember where Wexford is and won't remember their names. That is all for his glory. The people who contributed to bringing these kids up in the clubs and under age structure will be there forever. It is a false dawn and the facts are there to prove it that outside managers bring very little success. Then move on and forget they were ever there. Cahill was supposedly a great Waterford man last year. You think ? After the way he sent out his team to play us in an old stupid league match."
Many of the lads Egan has put alot of effort into this year, Jack Doran, Tucker Kinsella, and others like them, are very unlikely to be regular starters on the Senior team for at least 2, if not more, years. And he would know this himself. If Davy had of done the same we wouldn't be in the position we are in now.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 16/05/2023 12:14:24    2478936

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Very proud Clare man after watching us battle last night. Fair play to Cork though they were worthy winners in the end. They had more gas in the tank. That Ben Cunningham, looks a fine prospect as does the no 6 (cant remember his name).

Very proud at the way our lads represented us. We have to remember this team has many of the Clare minor team from 2 years ago that lost to Cork by 40 points. The turnaround is remarkable."
You should be proud too. A good few potential Senior intercounty players in that team.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 16/05/2023 12:16:25    2478937

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Hold on Tiobraid. Why should Waterford sit down and make no effort next Sunday and give an unfair advantage to Tipp, in the score difference stakes. Kiely was rightly criticised in '19 for putting out a team against Tipp, that had four of his best players off, even though they were not injured. I always felt that was grossly unfair to other teams in the competition and for Waterford to come out and do something similar on Sunday would be also wrong. I hope there is still some semblance of self respect left in that Waterford team. Why would they not come out all giuns blazing on Sunday? Are you saying Tipp have a God given right to a soft run through to the Munster Final?"
The post had nothing to do with Tipp having a god given right - what are you on about? Not sure where you got that from. I dont see it coming to score difference and I clearly stated I'd be very worried about the game.

My point is Waterford lied down in the last two games very clearly so if I was a Waterford person and they came out all guns blazing against Tipp just because its Cahill on the sideline then I'd be disgusted as a Waterford supporter. I'm not going to expand on that as I think its very clear what I'm saying.

Why would Waterford at this stage care about any other county in terms of fairness? Their year is done and if I was them I'm most certainly be giving players game time and try get something positive out of it for next year. Playing the same team and tactics gives them absolutely nothing.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/05/2023 12:25:09    2478941

Replying To WildPundit:  "I don't think Waterford will come to Thurles and lie down. Its not in them and certainly not in Davy either. He will have them pumped to go out on a high. I remember Waterford in a similar situation few years back and they gave Cork a good rattle. They won't fear Tipp and will do everything they can to stop us from winning. I'd prefer we still beat Limerick Sunday though and get job done out the gap rather than relying on to beat Waterford and potentially other results to qualify."
I agree with most of that post apart from the fact they lied down in 3 of their last 4 cship games as bad as I have seen anyone. Tipp done similarly against Cork last year in the second half

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/05/2023 12:26:43    2478942

Replying To WildPundit:  "I don't think Waterford will come to Thurles and lie down. Its not in them and certainly not in Davy either. He will have them pumped to go out on a high. I remember Waterford in a similar situation few years back and they gave Cork a good rattle. They won't fear Tipp and will do everything they can to stop us from winning. I'd prefer we still beat Limerick Sunday though and get job done out the gap rather than relying on to beat Waterford and potentially other results to qualify."
Doubt it will come to relying on other results for Tipp to get through. They beat Waterford and they reach the AI series - they lose both and theyre gone. Straightforward enough. I'd be very worried though what damage a potential big loss could do this weekend for a young team without the experience of Forde and his free taking. His loss cant be understated. Him, TK and TJ are out on their own in terms of how much one players influence on a team. Maybe sometimes its a good things as it forces others to stand up and be counted.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/05/2023 12:31:35    2478945

Replying To tiobraid:  "I agree with most of that post apart from the fact they lied down in 3 of their last 4 cship games as bad as I have seen anyone. Tipp done similarly against Cork last year in the second half"
Yeah but once Clare were hammering Waterford at half time and that was announced over the public speaker system the Cork crowd knew they were in a good position to nail Tipp and they duly done so. Mad to think Tipp still had a sniff at that point but Clare beating Waterford home by half time ended any hope. It was a horrible 2nd half to watch.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 16/05/2023 13:14:21    2478955

Replying To tiobraid:  "The post had nothing to do with Tipp having a god given right - what are you on about? Not sure where you got that from. I dont see it coming to score difference and I clearly stated I'd be very worried about the game.

My point is Waterford lied down in the last two games very clearly so if I was a Waterford person and they came out all guns blazing against Tipp just because its Cahill on the sideline then I'd be disgusted as a Waterford supporter. I'm not going to expand on that as I think its very clear what I'm saying.

Why would Waterford at this stage care about any other county in terms of fairness? Their year is done and if I was them I'm most certainly be giving players game time and try get something positive out of it for next year. Playing the same team and tactics gives them absolutely nothing."
How did they lie down against Limerick. They gave us one of our toughest games of the last four years

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 16/05/2023 13:18:25    2478960