He has a point about the theatrics to be fair.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2320 - 14/05/2023 00:48:29 2478209 Link 1 |
Clare, Galway, and Cork are great at falling down and overreacting when slightly hit. Kilkenny, Tipp, and Limerick, fortunately still take the belts and hits like men in the way hurlers of the past always did. So, keep your fkn red helmet firmly fixed Lohan, or at least be a man and stand up when you're hit! Fkc your faking!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2224 - 14/05/2023 00:50:51 2478210 Link 2 |
The munster championship just got incredibly interesting. Limerick will be fully focused now on 2 wins and nothing else. Of course there is thr chance they could be gone next Sunday but I think the 3 week break and the video analysis of how this years championship is being played out tactically will be an enormous benefit right in the middle of it. I think they'll come looking for a statement v Tipp. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 14/05/2023 07:50:37 2478213 Link 0 |
Agreed the 2 are different topics. Only simulation I saw was Rory Hayes's dive onto the floor hokding his head after a second delay and equally as quick return to his feet after the brush on the helmet but I only saw it because I was watching it on GAAGO.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 14/05/2023 08:26:40 2478217 Link 0 |
They can hardly claim at this stage to be on a much different level to the bottom two teams in Leinster in fairness. Guaranteed status hardly going to make them any better.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3524 - 14/05/2023 09:17:42 2478229 Link 0 |
If ye beat Limerick in the early throw in next week, we are through to the All Ireland series and have a crack at Cork for Munster final. If you told me at the start of the championship that Clare would have Cork at home to get to Munster final I would have taken that. Game is a sell out already and I can see a savage atmosphere in Ennis LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 14/05/2023 09:17:54 2478230 Link 0 |
I actually forgot the runners up of the Joe Mac final alls get a free pass into the AI series. So you could have the runners up of the intermediate championship winning the senior and not there's nothing I can see whereby they aren't in the Joe Max next year again despite holding Liam Mc Of course it's not going to happen but for me it's one of the stupidest things I've ever come across in the GAA tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/05/2023 10:09:33 2478243 Link 0 |
It sounds like they are set up to 'try not to lose' rather than 'try to win'. Just like my soccer team Spurs.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2774 - 14/05/2023 10:42:43 2478247 Link 0 |
It's a tough one Canuck. The best thing Waterford can do is to move on, put it down as a bad year, change the management set up and get everyone on board. Ye have the players, both skilful and strong, to compete at the highest level.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 14/05/2023 10:54:21 2478249 Link 0 |
I couldn't agree more.
MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 323 - 14/05/2023 11:22:11 2478255 Link 0 |
Do you think hegarty took the push from the Waterford backroom team member like a man?
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1468 - 14/05/2023 12:02:00 2478267 Link 3 |
The idea is to promote the sport in the middle tier counties. Laois beat Dublin, and Antrim gave Cork plenty of it last year and Kerry went toe to toe with us the first 40 minutes, so it's maybe not that stupid tbh.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 14/05/2023 12:28:52 2478287 Link 0 |
There was an example of that at the KK v Galway Leinster Minor final on Friday evening. Galway no6 took a 'belt' as you describe!!, and fell down claiming all sorts of nonsense, that he didn't know where he was etc. There was no such thing as concussion in my day, but then the human being is evolving, and getting smarter all the time we're told. There will be exceptions and outliers of course. Tremendous achievement for the young Tribesmen to catch Meath in the Leinster Minor hurling 'order of merit', after their very first season in the grade. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4137 - 14/05/2023 12:36:17 2478290 Link 0 |
Clare v cork is first up. Loser could be gone if limerick win last 2
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 14/05/2023 12:51:14 2478294 Link 0 |
I think your subtlety of language may be lost forever on the young PB. That was one of the worst 'hits' to the head that I have seen in a long time. How are parents of under-17 supposed to react to such violence, seeing their son concussed in that manner and the perpetrator getting off with a yellow card?
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 14/05/2023 12:57:03 2478296 Link 0 |
The misnomer that some counties takes belts like men is complete rubbish. I have seen players from every county getting a tap on the helmet and going down holding their head. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1340 - 14/05/2023 13:05:45 2478300 Link 0 |
Yes it's the first up. I agree….that's a do or die for both teams. Tipp without Jason Forde is a scary prospect going into facing this Limerick team. I'd be very worried about the kind of score Limerick is going to put up against us. However who would have thought after 3 games in Munster that Tipp might have the chance to knock Limerikc out (if Cork beat Clare in the earlier game). Any complacency that may have been in Limerick is gone now for the rest of the year…unfortunately for the rest!
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/05/2023 13:53:50 2478319 Link 0 |
You missed a lot Viking is all I can say but look all the decisions in the world would not change the result. Clare 15 beat our 14 off the field and are a fine team. You should not put yourself in this position to begin with. Punishment for a similar and worse offence did not occur. The refs will miss things that is for sure but if you are standing watching it that is hard to take. Again like a blatant trip last week. We will go away and lick our wounds but quiet honestly the future is bleak. This group has shot its bolt. Clare were worthy winners playing in 3rd gear and now good contenders for silverware. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3044 - 14/05/2023 14:33:33 2478326 Link 0 |
I'm talking about what happens on the field of play. That punch to the ribs, not a shove as you deem it, didn't happen on the field of play. Backroom team members hitting players has no part in any sport whatsoever. But by referencing it, your implication is that it is relevant.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2224 - 14/05/2023 14:40:02 2478329 Link 1 |
What's worrying for Waterford hurling is the lack of minor and u20 success Canuck. By that I mean not winning many games, let alone provincial or national titles. You would have to worry that Waterford could go the same way as Offaly for a while if things don't get better at underage in the next few years. Would make you wonder is Ballygunnars success affecting the county teams, as more and more lads choose to play for them than other clubs in the East Waterford area where they could be playing for 1st teams against better opponents all the way up from u10.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 14/05/2023 15:23:42 2478342 Link 0 |