I do get that, and Parnell is no longer an advantage because none of the top teams are going to be physically gotten the better of on a tight pitch as might have happened a few years back, nor intimidated by the crowd. In fairness, it is a dreadful hurling surface. As someone said the only difference between Parnell in Summer and the rest of the year is that you are playing on dry lumps and hollows instead of wet ones. I also think Donoghue has a plan based on pace and touch, and is picking lads with those attributes. Tomorrow, weather allowing, will be the first proper test of that. Anyway, no-one has any great expectations of them this year so he has a few years to make it work. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 05/05/2023 11:26:01 2475865 Link 0 |
Galway went into Munster because of bad administrative decisions by the GAA in the 1950s. In 1955 and 1958 Galway received byes directly into the All-Ireland final and were well beaten in both partly because they came in cold so to speak. It was in order to get more competitive games that Galway went into Munster.
KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 05/05/2023 11:42:52 2475871 Link 0 |
Oh, we are were aware of our marginality in comparison to the big ballers! Proud of it even :-)
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 05/05/2023 11:44:18 2475872 Link 0 |
I live in Cork and I have to say I admire their fans for following their teams. I'm not too sure about numbers travelling but any of them I'd bump into are stone mad about hurling. When Limerick beat Cork last year a good few I met were genuinely hurt about how Limerick physically dominated Cork. But it didn't dampen their enthusiasm for the game. When they got to the NHL final in 2022 there was huge excitement. Most begrudgingly admire Limerick but they do give us credit and fair play to them. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6634 - 05/05/2023 11:46:59 2475873 Link 0 |
Tipperary v Clare Munster final Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 05/05/2023 13:47:55 2475912 Link 0 |
Has he picked a team with pace and touch Barney?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20669 - 05/05/2023 16:53:24 2475962 Link 0 |
For this Weekend I will go with Galway, Kilkenny, Cork and Wexford all to win. katser (Galway) - Posts: 2943 - 05/05/2023 20:46:49 2475994 Link 0 |
Havent had much time to post here the past couple of weeks. Delighted to see the Munster Leinster drivel has started again... tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/05/2023 00:45:55 2476013 Link 0 |
Hopefully! Dara Purcell - who non Dubs might recall from the Crokes game against Ballyhale - would be in there from start if that was main focus. He might be perhaps. Certainly there's a couple of lads on last chance I'd say. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 06/05/2023 10:53:57 2476030 Link 0 |
I'd say neither team will line out as named Barney
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20669 - 06/05/2023 12:04:13 2476050 Link 0 |
More competitive games in a knock-out championship! Lose the first and you were gone for the year!
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 06/05/2023 12:41:22 2476064 Link 1 |
I think tiobrad it shows how difficult it is to advance and how easy to have a poor record. One defeat after a good win or good performance and a loss makes the next game is an elimination. No time to right the ship like the qualifiers. Someone as well as Waterford will be out shortly. If it was Limerick (which it won't be ) would refer to them as a bad team. This system as much as we applaud it will deter players from the commitment to county duty if potentially out in space of two weeks.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 06/05/2023 14:08:20 2476082 Link 0 |
Wow! And they actually had to play the final in those years? Sure why not hand them the McCarthy Cup altogether, directly without even having to play any game at all?? Because of their 'unique situation'! I'm sure that'd even make the likes Tommy K, Baire, Katser and the Pope even more knowledgeable about hurling than they already are: the BIG 4! Just like in golf with the non-playing captain, Galway "AI non-playing champions''. They wouldn't even need to be spending all that money from SuperMac's on Henry anymore. They could funnel it into their football team. It is a footballing county after all. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 06/05/2023 14:12:42 2476085 Link 1 |
I'm not ruling out Waterford yet…not by a long shot. Last year after 15 mins of the final round Tipp we're going through despite having lost all their first 3 games. (However we know the hammering Cork gave them in the end) People are saying you need 3 wins and it's entirely possible that the three to go through this year will have 3 wins but if Waterford win their last two then they've still a great chance. Ye are having a tough year across all codes and grades so a big bounce issue and will surely come. I was against the current format and despite tipps record in it I think it's been a success. I can take or leave some of the league games but literally it's a feast of hurling this time of the year. There's always talking points and a few controversies but that all adds to it tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/05/2023 15:00:45 2476098 Link 1 |
Limerick handed Galway the All-Ireland in 1980 ...... !!!!!!
KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 06/05/2023 16:00:15 2476108 Link 0 |
That's the end of Wexford now.....they can enjoy their Summer Holidays! katser (Galway) - Posts: 2943 - 06/05/2023 18:42:36 2476138 Link 1 |
Mercenary managers no use to anyone only themselves. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 06/05/2023 19:16:32 2476162 Link 0 |
We handed ye one in 18!
ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 06/05/2023 22:03:04 2476210 Link 3 |
Like the Clare, Limerick game last week, the Cork v Tipp game was another classic which the majority of the country missed out on, incredible game. Tipperary were slightly better with Cork very wasteful and sloppy in possession. Cork showed good fight to comeback though and could have robbed it at the end. Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 66 - 06/05/2023 23:00:05 2476237 Link 0 |
Poor result today. I thought Cork were woeful for a large chunk of the game. Conceding a ridiculous amount of goal chances in the championship. Hard to know where the result leaves us. I'd imagine the likes of Clare and Waterford will be delighted with that result. tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/05/2023 23:32:48 2476246 Link 0 |