Advertisement

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Clare really make it hard for themselves.......... silly frees and then ref brings it closer for giving lip! (0-13) conceded from frees. Flanagan definitely square ball and the 2nd goal was a fluke. Clare definitely were 9-10pts better team!!
Kiely and Co are absolutely sickened to the gills!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2943 - 29/04/2023 21:18:09    2474593

Replying To katser:  "Clare really make it hard for themselves.......... silly frees and then ref brings it closer for giving lip! (0-13) conceded from frees. Flanagan definitely square ball and the 2nd goal was a fluke. Clare definitely were 9-10pts better team!!
Kiely and Co are absolutely sickened to the gills!!!"
Ah go handy Kate. We're far from sickened.
Hats off to Clare on a noteworthy win

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 29/04/2023 21:56:51    2474611

The Banner are back

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2698 - 29/04/2023 22:35:05    2474621

Replying To katser:  "Clare really make it hard for themselves.......... silly frees and then ref brings it closer for giving lip! (0-13) conceded from frees. Flanagan definitely square ball and the 2nd goal was a fluke. Clare definitely were 9-10pts better team!!
Congrats to Clare on a fine win and to our own team on a fighting display even if they came up short. A massive game fought out in the best traditions of Munster hurling.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 30/04/2023 00:01:37    2474632

Fair play to Clare. Fully deserved congratulations

3 weeks to plot and ponder. Will need changes and some influx of energy. All the time a man down 6days ago really evident. Played in fits and starts and our wides killed us. That normally improves as seasons progresses.

Ar dheis de for the man who passed away in the uncovered stand tonight. Puts it all in perspective

Sugary_tae (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 30/04/2023 00:42:48    2474634

Huge performance by clare and massive congratulations. Its a huge thing to beat this Limerick team. Now they need to back it up again and again and again or else what's it all for. Limerick will take the 3 weeks to plan the rest of the year. 5 matches. That'll be the approach. There will be some serious questions asked over the next week. It really comes down yo hunger. How hungry are they after all the success. They raised the bar. Teams are reacting. Tipp in Thurles . Can't wait

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 30/04/2023 01:51:43    2474637

If John Kiely is sickened that's good. We need to reply in our next two games.

I didn't see one Limerick supporter sickened last night. The conversations I heard on the way out all praised Clare and mentioned the number of saves Nickie Quaid made.

Zero complaints, hurt but not sickened. The better team won. Well done Clare.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6634 - 30/04/2023 09:34:46    2474654

Replying To baire:  "Scientific paper recommends heavier punishment for hits to head in hurling

It also found impacts to the lateral (side) of the head were 2.7 times more likely to result in visible signs of concussion

A 2023 study into concussion in elite hurling has recommended the GAA take more stringent action against "blind side" hits to the head.

The paper, which was published in the "Irish Journal of Medical Science", proposed heavier sanctions for the dangerous fouls. It also found impacts to the lateral (side) of the head were 2.7 times more likely to result in visible signs of concussion than those to the anteroposterior areas (front and back).

Analysing 82 inter-county hurling games across 2018 and '19, 183 potential concussion events (PCEs) were identified by author Mario Rotundo of Ulster University. Shoulder-to-head impacts produced "visible signs of concussion" in 14 of 37 such cases (37.8%), head-to-head impacts in eight of 23 cases (34.8%) and three of 35 hurley to head cases (8.6%).

Rotundo's study concludes "players appear to be at a higher risk of SRC (sport-related concussions) later in the match or when receiving the sliotar." It adds: "Strikes to the lateral aspect of the head and those involving the shoulder appear to produce severe events. These findings provide initial guidance for the development of targeted player protection strategies."

One of them is to hand down heavy sanctions for the blind blows, when the receiving player has a poor view of the imminent challenge or is not able to anticipate it. "The league (GAA) might consider implementing more severe penalties, especially for "blind-side" hits to the lateral aspect of the head, to encourage players to be more deliberate with their tackles."

Players, coaches and referees all have a part to play, the study advises. "Players should be taught from an early age that hits to the head, especially from the side on an unsuspecting opponent, can cause severe brain injury.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41126191.html"
Baire

If you're quoting the Examiner you should also read one 'journalist' talking about the Limerick v Waterford game and saying a Limerick player was chloroformed in the game.

If a publication is going to print nonsense like that how can they be taken seriously? The Examiner has moved a lot of their old guard on and replaced them with people more at home writing for 'The Sun'.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6634 - 30/04/2023 09:42:34    2474656

Replying To slayer:  "Baire

If you're quoting the Examiner you should also read one 'journalist' talking about the Limerick v Waterford game and saying a Limerick player was chloroformed in the game.

If a publication is going to print nonsense like that how can they be taken seriously? The Examiner has moved a lot of their old guard on and replaced them with people more at home writing for 'The Sun'."
The Limerick Leader is another publication I wouldn't take seriously

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 30/04/2023 12:27:26    2474686

Aww Katie. You finally got a prediction right. Limericks first loss in Championship since July 2019 Congratulations. Your year is made already. Enjoy the win pet.

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 30/04/2023 12:33:57    2474691

Congrats to both teams for serving us up a great game. Nicky Quaid was outstanding. Those big Clare forwards will be a handful for anyone.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 30/04/2023 14:27:27    2474710

Great game between Limerick and Clare. Hope they meet again down the line, preferably AIF rather than Munster final. I think most hurling people worldwide would relish that. Kilkenny vs Galway, quite a good game as well. Referees very good in both games, especially Johnny Murphy in the latter. He was right up with the play on everything.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 30/04/2023 15:53:06    2474722

What is wrong with people? A minutes silence at the hurling match between Cork and Waterford ruined by a shower of yahoos chanting.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4975 - 30/04/2023 16:01:12    2474725

Replying To arock:  "What is wrong with people? A minutes silence at the hurling match between Cork and Waterford ruined by a shower of yahoos chanting."
Who was it?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2698 - 30/04/2023 16:13:26    2474727

I was at the Limerick v Clare match as was on the way back from a wedding in that neck of the woods on Friday.
Great game and atmosphere but the Mackey Stand is as bad a stand as I've sat in. You had to constantly stand up at every passage of play. JP could open the cheque book and build a new stand there.

I saw Clare hammer Wexford earlier this year and thought they looked like a hurt team. Some change from the KK hammering.

One point, I thought the attitude of both sets of supporters to the referee was nothing short of scandalous. Every time a player fell to the ground supporters were yelping like dogs in heat for a free. The worst was with about 10 minutes to go the Limerick player totally fell over the Clare player and Limerick supporters were shouting about a free. The Limerick man in the row behind me couldn't count beyond 2 because after 2 steps he was bellowing for a free for the full match!

Before the referee had got in to talk to the umpires, I had 5 messages that it was a square ball. Could we not tell Colm Lyons and help the fellow out? Do we want the right decision or a "best guess" decision?

I loved Brian Lohan the player and his teams play like him.

Kilkenny Galway draw was fair result for me. They will meet again in Leinster Final and a good handshake today!

Cork Waterford, that's time none of us are getting back. As for the eejits chanting during the minutes silence, well English soccer style drinking and chanting is prominent at Munster hurling matches as last night both sets of fans chanting "Your **** aaaahhhhh" throughout every time keeper pucked out the ball. Ridiculous.

General point, with the amount of diving and feigning injuries now going on, our games are impossible to referee. James Owens didn't fall (no pun intended) for any of it today and every county is at it. It is a blight on our game, half of the frees now given are actual frees and the other half are players leaning in to the player and falling to the ground, grabbing hurls and falling over, finding anything to fall over, pretending hurls being held, grabbing spare arm, and so on. Something has to be done about this.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1635 - 30/04/2023 18:20:13    2474764

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Who was it?"
It wasn't Waterford fans there was only 6 there.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 30/04/2023 18:29:42    2474772

Replying To Canuck:  "It wasn't Waterford fans there was only 6 there."
Sorry ye didn't turn up today Canuck. The intensity levels were way off, ye simply gave Cork too much time and your forwards struggled with the work rate of the Cork defenders. That being said, ye had 3-4 goal chances.

Very hard to read how good Cork are as I just think Waterford didn't show up which is very disappointing.

Davy hasn't done much with Waterford it's clear to see

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2698 - 30/04/2023 18:47:51    2474779

Replying To Canuck:  "It wasn't Waterford fans there was only 6 there."
Well then Cork fans embarrassed themselves today

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2698 - 30/04/2023 19:12:34    2474790

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I was at the Limerick v Clare match as was on the way back from a wedding in that neck of the woods on Friday.
Great game and atmosphere but the Mackey Stand is as bad a stand as I've sat in. You had to constantly stand up at every passage of play. JP could open the cheque book and build a new stand there.

I saw Clare hammer Wexford earlier this year and thought they looked like a hurt team. Some change from the KK hammering.

One point, I thought the attitude of both sets of supporters to the referee was nothing short of scandalous. Every time a player fell to the ground supporters were yelping like dogs in heat for a free. The worst was with about 10 minutes to go the Limerick player totally fell over the Clare player and Limerick supporters were shouting about a free. The Limerick man in the row behind me couldn't count beyond 2 because after 2 steps he was bellowing for a free for the full match!

Before the referee had got in to talk to the umpires, I had 5 messages that it was a square ball. Could we not tell Colm Lyons and help the fellow out? Do we want the right decision or a "best guess" decision?

Kilkenny Galway draw was fair result for me. They will meet again in Leinster Final and a good handshake today!

Cork Waterford, that's time none of us are getting back. As for the eejits chanting during the minutes silence, well English soccer style drinking and chanting is prominent at Munster hurling matches as last night both sets of fans chanting "Your **** aaaahhhhh" throughout every time keeper pucked out the ball. Ridiculous.

General point, with the amount of diving and feigning injuries now going on, our games are impossible to referee. James Owens didn't fall (no pun intended) for any of it today and every county is at it. It is a blight on our game, half of the frees now given are actual frees and the other half are players leaning in to the player and falling to the ground, grabbing hurls and falling over, finding anything to fall over, pretending hurls being held, grabbing spare arm, and so on. Something has to be done about this."
Building a Stadium would be madness if it was the same size or in the same place. Cork have more resources and they got massive Gov grants, substantially more than other county got to rebuild Pairc Ui Caoimh again, and they are multiple millions in debt.. If we want to see Limerick back in the doldrums again, then and only then should we consider building a huge stadium. However if we sell that whole complex for development and built a 25/30.000 new Stadium out near the new Racecourse it might be a consideration. We simply not need four 40,000 plus Stadiums in Munster.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 30/04/2023 19:33:53    2474796

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I was at the Limerick v Clare match as was on the way back from a wedding in that neck of the woods on Friday.

General point, with the amount of diving and feigning injuries now going on, our games are impossible to referee. James Owens didn't fall (no pun intended) for any of it today and every county is at it. It is a blight on our game, half of the frees now given are actual frees and the other half are players leaning in to the player and falling to the ground, grabbing hurls and falling over, finding anything to fall over, pretending hurls being held, grabbing spare arm, and so on. Something has to be done about this."
He would be expected to call blatant trips. We were terrible and Cork gave us a lesson but that was a pivotable point of the first half but then again he is okay with kicking also. I agree with you about hard it is to ref with all this feigning and try to get an opponent sent. These players need to be censored by giving them an un-sportsman like yellow card.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 30/04/2023 19:56:23    2474806