Replying To Viking66: "Stop posting sense lad the hysterical types on this won't appreciate you putting pins in their bubbles at all at all!!!! Think the u20s should be very good this year was discussing them earlier in this thread. Is Conor Murphy on the team do you know?" Conor Murphy was playing. To earlier query I do not know if Waterford had a full team. Wexford were missing a fe apart from the 3 on senior panel.
wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 191 - 26/02/2023 21:03:31
That was pathetic today but I actually wouldn't be too critical of the managements approach.
They are basically having to do what Davy neglected to do in building a panel and preparing replacements. Davy basically took Liam Dunne's team, got them fitter and played a sweeper. As a result Egan inherited an ageing team with loads of miles on the clock and not enough experience in reserve.
We also have the obvious problem of the poor standard of the younger cohort. There isn't anyone under 25 that you could describe as a certain starter on our best 15.
Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 533 - 26/02/2023 21:17:07
Replying To tonydoranfan: "was at the match as son playing" Kildare beat Wexford Celtic Challenge Team...apparently your son is on the team but you don't know this basic information?? Wexford Celtic challenge team is not a development team it's a celtic challenge team, a competition of its own.
Wexford minors played the mighty Limerick today, 1st time they have had almost 1st 15 out & lost by 3pts. For context, Limerick won the Michael Foley Tournament at a canter last summer.
skillful (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 26/02/2023 21:32:19
Let's flip the angle and consider what if we were missing the same number of players Clare were missing and vice-versa. In that case, we would have been really missing just Mark Fanning, Conor Devitt, and Matthew O'Hanlon. They would have been missing Quilligan, Conor Cleary, Rory Hayes, David McInerney, Diarmuid Ryan, Ryan Taylor, David Fitzgerald, Tony Kelly, Peter Duggan, and. Ian Galvin. I'm fairly sure we would have beaten them comfortably if those players were missing.
Another thing to consider is our recent League record versus Championship record.
2017: Won Division 1B and lost in League SFs; Lost in AI QFs 2018: 3rd in 1A and lost in League SFs; Lost in AI QFs 2019: 2nd in 1A and lost in League QFs; Lost in AI SFs 2020: 2nd in our group; Lost in AI Qualifiers 2021: 2nd in our group; Lost in AI Qualifiers 2022: 1st in our group and lost in League SFs; Lost in AI QFs
We've consistently been a better league team than championship team. Maybe this year Darragh Egan is emphasising the league less and emphasising the championship more?
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 614 - 26/02/2023 21:58:49
Replying To beano: "I haven't perfected the art of being in two places at once yet, so didn't travel, but unfortunately you don't need to physically be there to analyse a 22-point defeat. The fact that the eternal optimist Tom Dempsey was even critical of the tactics and overall display on the radio sums up the day.
Tell me this, why is it that everything surrounding the fortunes of the hurlers is seen as sacred? I mean did we ever concede as big a tally against Cody's legendary team, even when we were in the doldrums? Like fair enough, had we got beaten by single figures but put in a decent display and I was criticising it, that'd be overboard. But there was nothing- no tactics of any note, no cut from the players (apart from the usual Reck and Conor Mac), nothing for the crowd to get excited about. And you didn't need to be in Wexford Park discotheque to notice that.
Now I hope its all part of the grand plan and that we'll click come championship. But we aren't the Limerick green machine or Cody's Cats- this is Wexford. There is no guarantee we'll have improved enough by then. I hope I'm wrong, but when push comes to shove, what's the bet our poor shooting will be our downfall again (ironically it wasn't today)? Dublin is obviously the biggest name on the fixture calendar right now, but they have been a bogey team of ours recently and have upgraded their manager in the interim.
I don't know how you picked out my post amid all the others either. I am far from the biggest critic, and give due praise in victory too. Have actually stood up for some of the players that others have been too quick to write off as well." Also Beano how are Dublin a bogey team of ours recently? They've only beaten us once in the last 6 years championships
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 27/02/2023 07:08:55
Replying To ExiledInWex: "So now that you have proposed the problems, how's about some workable solutions which don't involve less matches for club players? I can bet you one thing, if the hurling wasn't played first the result of that would be a weaker football championship. The club game is squeezed to within an inch of its life but the fixture conundrum is unfixable unless clubs play without county players. It is the same in every county. If you don't think development squads are the answer, you haven't talked to anybody involved with Limerick's academy setup....they are not robbing clubs of their players if they are getting better coaching. I have my doubts about lots in Wexford GAA as I posted, but don't throw the baby out with the bath water." A good friend froom Limerick's son was involved all the way up from u12 til u16 til he got injured. He kept Seamus Flanagan off the team until his intercounty career got ended by bad injury. He told me all those lads go back to their clubs and the benefits of the county set up have filtered back to the clubs on account of this.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 27/02/2023 07:21:27
Replying To wexfordwin: "Conor Murphy was playing. To earlier query I do not know if Waterford had a full team. Wexford were missing a fe apart from the 3 on senior panel." How did he get on? Where is Keith playing him?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 27/02/2023 07:22:11
Replying To Onfor15: "That was pathetic today but I actually wouldn't be too critical of the managements approach.
They are basically having to do what Davy neglected to do in building a panel and preparing replacements. Davy basically took Liam Dunne's team, got them fitter and played a sweeper. As a result Egan inherited an ageing team with loads of miles on the clock and not enough experience in reserve.
We also have the obvious problem of the poor standard of the younger cohort. There isn't anyone under 25 that you could describe as a certain starter on our best 15." How could they be when many haven't even been on the panel and getting games very long except Damien Reck and ROC? Mcguckin isn't too far away in fairness to him. I wouldn't be too worried if lads don't become certain starters until they are 25 anyway.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 27/02/2023 07:26:07
Replying To skillful: "Kildare beat Wexford Celtic Challenge Team...apparently your son is on the team but you don't know this basic information?? Wexford Celtic challenge team is not a development team it's a celtic challenge team, a competition of its own.
Wexford minors played the mighty Limerick today, 1st time they have had almost 1st 15 out & lost by 3pts. For context, Limerick won the Michael Foley Tournament at a canter last summer." Don't forget we reached that Michae Foley final too after beating Waterford along the way!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 27/02/2023 07:29:02
We can dress it up anyway we like but that was simply dreadful yesterday.There are no positives to be got from this farcical game. I have attended most Wexford matches for many years and this must rank as one of the worst. What went wrong? Are we really that bad? Okay it's the league and maybe Egan is showing no interest in it. Most of the team were completely out played and Clare toyed with us throughout. It's obvious that we badly need our top players back and now is the time to get them up to match speed for the championship. Surely we can't be as bad as what we witnessed yesterday. Let's hope that we can restore some pride back and give it everything in the next two league games.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 542 - 27/02/2023 07:54:01
Replying To ElGranSenor: "Let's flip the angle and consider what if we were missing the same number of players Clare were missing and vice-versa. In that case, we would have been really missing just Mark Fanning, Conor Devitt, and Matthew O'Hanlon. They would have been missing Quilligan, Conor Cleary, Rory Hayes, David McInerney, Diarmuid Ryan, Ryan Taylor, David Fitzgerald, Tony Kelly, Peter Duggan, and. Ian Galvin. I'm fairly sure we would have beaten them comfortably if those players were missing.
Another thing to consider is our recent League record versus Championship record.
2017: Won Division 1B and lost in League SFs; Lost in AI QFs 2018: 3rd in 1A and lost in League SFs; Lost in AI QFs 2019: 2nd in 1A and lost in League QFs; Lost in AI SFs 2020: 2nd in our group; Lost in AI Qualifiers 2021: 2nd in our group; Lost in AI Qualifiers 2022: 1st in our group and lost in League SFs; Lost in AI QFs
We've consistently been a better league team than championship team. Maybe this year Darragh Egan is emphasising the league less and emphasising the championship more?" I think that's very apparent from his team selections this year. Alot of the knocks some of the lads have wouldn't have ruled them out this time last year. This year he's not asking anyone to play when even slightly injured as he wants to see how other lads react to the pressure, speed and intensity of Senior intercounty.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 27/02/2023 08:06:39
Can dress it up whatever way we want but that was probably the worst Wexford display I've seen in person since we got hammered and scored 1-5 in a league game v Galway in 2010. At least at the time we were at an awful low ebb and it was half expected to get hammered against anyone with any ambition of having a half decent year. Don't even think prime Kilkenny put as big a number up or beat us as much, not that I can remember (or want to) If Westmeath or Laois took that beating there'd be calls for is this structure of league fit for purpose. Scary bad. It was the lack of fight that was the worst aspect (and there was a lot). I know there's a fair scatter of lads to come back but it's very scary thought for the future when a lot of the older guard move on. The lads that played aren't even that young, its not like it was a bunch of lads, 18/19 straight out of minor. These are lads in their early to mid 20s with the few older lads thrown in too. Like if it was just mistakes that was down to lack of experience or whatever but this was full on implosion stuff and not putting in tackles at all, that has nothing to do with age or experience, that's just unforgivable at that level. There was one ball that broke to a Clare lad and Conor Mac and Rory Higgins were both less than 5/6 yards from him and just walked through without either lad moving. Was so frustrating. It was a glimpse into a future that doesn't look good. I actually think we'll be OK this year and maybe next year when everyone's back but it's the year after and further that I'm most worried about. Our underage has been very poor the last 8 years. There has been the odd encouraging game, 2019 Minor final and 2018 u21 Leinster final (all be it a loss) but the case with both those games was that an all merciful hammering came after both in all Ireland semi finals. People seem to forget that bit. I don't won't to be negative and calling things out but sometimes you just have to be and stop pretending everything is OK, I remember the late 00s starting off like this once the 90s/early 00s lads stared coming towards the end...we were saved by a great crop of lads who probably needed more lads coming after them but never did. Hopefully don't far that low again and that can't be let to happen, it's a finer line than we think. Like I said, I'm actually not too worried about the short term of this year (when everyone is back) I think we'll have enough to ge out of Leinster and give a good account after that but it's what's coming down the line that needs to be worried about.
Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 27/02/2023 09:19:42
Great to see all the support for the lads again. I don't think there is another county with such fickle/bandwagon supporters as Wexford. 10 guys playing yesterday that wont start championship. Just pull easy. He's trying to build a squad, have players that come in off bench in Champ who can make impact. Its February.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 872 - 27/02/2023 09:31:31
Replying To Viking66: "A good friend froom Limerick's son was involved all the way up from u12 til u16 til he got injured. He kept Seamus Flanagan off the team until his intercounty career got ended by bad injury. He told me all those lads go back to their clubs and the benefits of the county set up have filtered back to the clubs on account of this." That was what I was trying to say.
If a player gets better coaching at a development squad, they will be a better hurler in their club. I see this first hand in my own club. Any good coach can turn up to development squad training and see how things are done. Mostly, it is the same training only quicker, faster and at a higher tempo. This will lead to a better club game. Wexford need players exposed to better coaching in hurling and football.
Claiming lads are only involved to get free gear, etc is laughable. This isn't the 80's when a pair of county socks and shorts was a sought after item. Any parent would drive to the O'Neills shop in Dublin and buy them all that gear for 10% of the expense they have had on diesel driving to development squads and their training sessions, matches, and so on all year round.
One other thing I will add. With my alma mater hat on, anyone who believes that Wexford's commercial prowess is a bad thing or something needs to wake up. You can do nothing without money in GAA any more and without the backing of a sugar daddy a la Limerick or huge sponsorship like Dublin and to a lesser extent Cork. Coaches, facilities, even down to hurling balls, it all costs money. And funding both codes makes most expenses hit on the double. Don't kid yourselves that the crowd in Wexford Park and the fireworks were money badly spent. If the place wasn't packed with kids that night, they would have been at home watching Moh Salah and Ronaldo, is that better than the promotion the game got that night?
But there may be trouble ahead for Wexford unless they can find out what is going on with the 19-25 age bracket, very few players in this age group involved is a worry. This age group need to push those older lads out the door but it is not happening. Why isn't it happening? Why are so many top club hurlers not committing? I always thought this was a Dublin problem......
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1452 - 27/02/2023 10:13:43
Replying To Viking66: "I think that's very apparent from his team selections this year. Alot of the knocks some of the lads have wouldn't have ruled them out this time last year. This year he's not asking anyone to play when even slightly injured as he wants to see how other lads react to the pressure, speed and intensity of Senior intercounty." Nobody takes result too serious if you play too many rookies that can happen, in the Munster league V Tipp Clare played too many rookies were well beaten.
If both had there starting 15 for championship doubt there would be much in it. There is very little between all teams bar Limerick but that wont last forever either.
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 999 - 27/02/2023 10:14:12
Replying To Magpie2: "We can dress it up anyway we like but that was simply dreadful yesterday.There are no positives to be got from this farcical game. I have attended most Wexford matches for many years and this must rank as one of the worst. What went wrong? Are we really that bad? Okay it's the league and maybe Egan is showing no interest in it. Most of the team were completely out played and Clare toyed with us throughout. It's obvious that we badly need our top players back and now is the time to get them up to match speed for the championship. Surely we can't be as bad as what we witnessed yesterday. Let's hope that we can restore some pride back and give it everything in the next two league games." Agree we need to get some pride back. But the championship is 2 months away so whether someone plays or doesn't play against Cork is not likely to make any difference to them being match ready for Salthill
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 27/02/2023 10:19:55
Couple of things stood out for me, the lack of atmosphere was strange yesterday, no roar after anthems or at throw in, crowd seemed nervous and it matched the teams performance. We were blown away in 1 on 1 battles, Clare were physically bigger and stronger across the field. Even in Mullingar 2 weeks ago, we looked small compared to Westmeath. Unfortunately there are no magic potions that will add 4 inches and an extra stone on to the lads there yesterday. I don't think it's all doom and gloom though, Egan will have learnt allot from yesterday game, and who is up to this level. In perspective our side of league draw probably includes 3-4 of the best teams in country at moment, and at least we know where we are now and what needs to be done before championship.
Wexaway (Kildare) - Posts: 4 - 27/02/2023 10:28:41
I have been keeping a loose eye on Wexford's league and I saw the highlights of yesterday and the Galway game. Something is not right when young players get their chance, at home, in front of a big crowd, and show the indifference and lack of effort which Wexford showed yesterday and in the second half v Galway. When you get a chance, most players who might lack something in experience or ability tend to lack nothing in effort and bursting a gut and mainly are too fired up. Highlights can be cruel on players and teams but it looked like Wexford players hardly broke a sweat yesterday and Clare ran through them at their ease. The scores came so easy to them. I hated some of my team mates who didn't at least give everything they had and at least empty the tank and make life hard. You don't need to be a top hurler to make life difficult for an opponent. Somebody said that a forward needs to make life hard for the backs, it is so true. As a corner forward you are the first defender. Just letting them out with the ball, is going to cause problems at the other end. A big response v Limerick and Cork is the least Wexford supporters deserve.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1917 - 27/02/2023 10:39:52
Clare did to Wexford what Limerick did to Clare..
The next outing is important for Wexford..
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 27/02/2023 10:44:02
Replying To countyman2022: "Great to see all the support for the lads again. I don't think there is another county with such fickle/bandwagon supporters as Wexford. 10 guys playing yesterday that wont start championship. Just pull easy. He's trying to build a squad, have players that come in off bench in Champ who can make impact. Its February." Spot on good post. And it was the same lads giving out about Egan last year for not trying what he is trying this year, after the loss in the AIQF.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16752 - 27/02/2023 10:48:17