Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Any word on call ups to the squads for next year? Ian Carthy got a well deserved call from the Senior management I really hope he seizes the opportunity with both hands and that management get a good look at what he can do. A really skillful hurler!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/10/2022 11:56:25    2444596

Replying To Viking66:  "Any word on call ups to the squads for next year? Ian Carthy got a well deserved call from the Senior management I really hope he seizes the opportunity with both hands and that management get a good look at what he can do. A really skillful hurler!"
Haven't heard anything Viking but that's really good news, a lad I really rate it's a call up about 4 years overdue. If I was picking out anyone from the club championship not already in the panel it was him and Kyle Firman, I imagine a good lot of this year's u20s will either be interrogated and those of that age group already in the panel will see more game time.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 19/10/2022 12:14:07    2444599

I suppose the early bird catches the worm. Ye yellow-belies are far fast of the mark, though. Wishing Wexford the very best of luck for 2023, in all grades and codes. Still, I hope to have a bit of craic and banter on here with youse on here during the coming year (and the 2 months or so of what's left of this one).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 19/10/2022 12:50:15    2444606

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I suppose the early bird catches the worm. Ye yellow-belies are far fast of the mark, though. Wishing Wexford the very best of luck for 2023, in all grades and codes. Still, I hope to have a bit of craic and banter on here with youse on here during the coming year (and the 2 months or so of what's left of this one)."
Ah yes Mr Young! Can you influence the powers that be to move the AIHF to March so we can take advantage of the lovely weather we have now!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/10/2022 17:27:31    2444650

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Haven't heard anything Viking but that's really good news, a lad I really rate it's a call up about 4 years overdue. If I was picking out anyone from the club championship not already in the panel it was him and Kyle Firman, I imagine a good lot of this year's u20s will either be interrogated and those of that age group already in the panel will see more game time."
Kyle Firman was player of the Senior Championship for me this year. Wonder would his size go against him at intercounty? He should definitely be given a chance though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/10/2022 17:29:55    2444652

Replying To Viking66:  "Kyle Firman was player of the Senior Championship for me this year. Wonder would his size go against him at intercounty? He should definitely be given a chance though."
Yeah it would be a worry but his form with the Martins this year definitely merits him getting a chance, player of the club championship for me was either him, Liam Og or Chin.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 19/10/2022 21:06:26    2444678

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Haven't heard anything Viking but that's really good news, a lad I really rate it's a call up about 4 years overdue. If I was picking out anyone from the club championship not already in the panel it was him and Kyle Firman, I imagine a good lot of this year's u20s will either be interrogated and those of that age group already in the panel will see more game time."
And with a bit of luck, some of them will be integrated as well as interrogated. :)

Sorry. Couldn't help it!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 19/10/2022 21:41:24    2444684

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Yeah it would be a worry but his form with the Martins this year definitely merits him getting a chance, player of the club championship for me was either him, Liam Og or Chin."
I'd have him ahead of Lee Chin in this year's championship. Mogie was outstanding granted.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 20/10/2022 09:10:09    2444695

Replying To Pikeman96:  "And with a bit of luck, some of them will be integrated as well as interrogated. :)

Sorry. Couldn't help it!"
No bothers I deserve it :) yes I meant to say integrated, think watching Ultimate Hell Week has effected my physche :)

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 20/10/2022 09:19:37    2444696

Hopefully a few of the u20s can make step up, was probably the best u20/21 team since the 2018 one, didn't get too may from that team. Remember at the team talking to galway people who were saying it was a poor u21 team but they had 8 of that starting team starting or playing big roles for galway this year and Wexford should've beaten them that day. Came close to eventual all Ireland Champs this year so they're should definitely be a strong cohert brought in for some league game tim and development at the least. Think Egan will trial a lot more than Davy and already showed that last year. Here's hoping for a bright future.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 20/10/2022 11:59:54    2444739

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Hopefully a few of the u20s can make step up, was probably the best u20/21 team since the 2018 one, didn't get too may from that team. Remember at the team talking to galway people who were saying it was a poor u21 team but they had 8 of that starting team starting or playing big roles for galway this year and Wexford should've beaten them that day. Came close to eventual all Ireland Champs this year so they're should definitely be a strong cohert brought in for some league game tim and development at the least. Think Egan will trial a lot more than Davy and already showed that last year. Here's hoping for a bright future."
I think we got a bit from that side in 2018 found the team from the Leinster final

Jack Cushe

Shane Reck
Darren Byrne
Damien Reck

Aaron Maddock
Ian Carty
Gary Molloy

Rowan White
Conor Firman

Joe O'Connor
Rory O'Connor
Liam Stafford

Rory Higgins
Stephen O'Gorman
Seamus Casey

Subs- James Henebery, David Clarke, Jody Donohoe, Eoin Molloy, Mikey Dwyer, Oisin Foley, Darren Codd, Quinn Saunders, Jack Cullen.

Connal Flood was that age group too but done his ACL at the time, Conor Hearne is that age too but don't know why he wasn't involved.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1724 - 20/10/2022 13:09:51    2444757

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Hopefully a few of the u20s can make step up, was probably the best u20/21 team since the 2018 one, didn't get too may from that team. Remember at the team talking to galway people who were saying it was a poor u21 team but they had 8 of that starting team starting or playing big roles for galway this year and Wexford should've beaten them that day. Came close to eventual all Ireland Champs this year so they're should definitely be a strong cohert brought in for some league game tim and development at the least. Think Egan will trial a lot more than Davy and already showed that last year. Here's hoping for a bright future."
Off that 2018 team Damien and Shane Reck, Oisin Foley and ROC have become regular starters, Seamus Casey, Rory Higgins and Mikie Dwyer are on the matchday panel and have started Senior intercounty games, Joe O Connor started championship games before going travelling, Conor Firman played some Senior games, Darren Byrne had a few starts before disappearing, and Ian Carthy has just been called up to the panel for the 1st time. Rowan White and Gary Molloy are still hurling very well for their clubs also. Think Aaron Maddock, who played very well on that u21 team, has been travelling on and off also. So there are at least 8 on the panel currently and another 3 who have played Senior intercounty.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 20/10/2022 13:39:13    2444764

Off that 2018 team Damien and Shane Reck, Oisin Foley and ROC have become regular starters, Seamus Casey, Rory Higgins and Mikie Dwyer are on the matchday panel and have started Senior intercounty games, Joe O Connor started championship games before going travelling, Conor Firman played some Senior games, Darren Byrne had a few starts before disappearing, and Ian Carthy has just been called up to the panel for the 1st time. Rowan White and Gary Molloy are still hurling very well for their clubs also. Think Aaron Maddock, who played very well on that u21 team, has been travelling on and off also. So there are at least 8 on the panel currently and another 3 who have played Senior intercounty.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 20/10/2022 13:39:44    2444765

Stephen O Gorman still hurling well for the club also. Jack Cullen was on the panel start of this this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 20/10/2022 13:46:43    2444767

Forgot about David Clarke he's on the panel also

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 20/10/2022 13:50:57    2444770

Wexford a bit like us. The stars have to line up. Once it was having 15 top players. Now it is 25 or more. The Dan, Ken era about 12 top players. Not going to get you over the line. At present probably more than ever but a lot of very similiar good type players. Great ???. Referring to us only in the context that Wexford can be similar getting more to arrive at the same time needs some luck. I will say history and the big picture Wexford have enjoyed more success. No begrudary here. Good luck going forward.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 23/10/2022 17:58:52    2445143

Replying To Canuck:  "Wexford a bit like us. The stars have to line up. Once it was having 15 top players. Now it is 25 or more. The Dan, Ken era about 12 top players. Not going to get you over the line. At present probably more than ever but a lot of very similiar good type players. Great ???. Referring to us only in the context that Wexford can be similar getting more to arrive at the same time needs some luck. I will say history and the big picture Wexford have enjoyed more success. No begrudary here. Good luck going forward."
And the obsession with more and more intercounty games puts even more pressure on the counties with less top players Canuck.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 23/10/2022 20:12:04    2445176

Replying To Canuck:  "Wexford a bit like us. The stars have to line up. Once it was having 15 top players. Now it is 25 or more. The Dan, Ken era about 12 top players. Not going to get you over the line. At present probably more than ever but a lot of very similiar good type players. Great ???. Referring to us only in the context that Wexford can be similar getting more to arrive at the same time needs some luck. I will say history and the big picture Wexford have enjoyed more success. No begrudary here. Good luck going forward."
Think Limerck have proven its better to have 20 good lads who play to a great plan than having 5/6 absolutely unbelievable lads who you hope do enough to get the other 9/10 lads over the line. I really do admire Limerick and they've put everything into line to max out the group of lads who've all came at the right time and probably aren't finished collecting silverware for another few years. They've also arrived at a good junction in hurling where Tipp, Kilkenny, Galway are probably not as strong as they were around the mid 2010s and busy rebuilding teams. Not taking away at all from Limerick and they probably would have all Ireland's against those teams as well but maybe not as much. Maybe that's just me clutching at straws watching the hoover up all Ireland's. Do think gap closed a lot this year from watching their games against Clare, Galway and Kilkenny so maybe next year it'll be even tighter.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 24/10/2022 10:22:53    2445214

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Think Limerck have proven its better to have 20 good lads who play to a great plan than having 5/6 absolutely unbelievable lads who you hope do enough to get the other 9/10 lads over the line. I really do admire Limerick and they've put everything into line to max out the group of lads who've all came at the right time and probably aren't finished collecting silverware for another few years. They've also arrived at a good junction in hurling where Tipp, Kilkenny, Galway are probably not as strong as they were around the mid 2010s and busy rebuilding teams. Not taking away at all from Limerick and they probably would have all Ireland's against those teams as well but maybe not as much. Maybe that's just me clutching at straws watching the hoover up all Ireland's. Do think gap closed a lot this year from watching their games against Clare, Galway and Kilkenny so maybe next year it'll be even tighter."
I still think Limerick will be the team to beat. The big 3 obviously won't be too far away in years to come, as all have won AI U20 titles in the recent past, although I think next year might be too soon for them. Clare will be looking to kick on after a good season last year. Galway probably have one of the older 1st 15s so it's hard to know just how good they will be. Waterford are as usual completely unpredictable. I think they fall into your really good 5 or 6 lads category. Hard to know exactlywhere Dublin are at but I'm sure Donoghue will have them well organised.
Most importantly I'd like to see us give more game time to some of the fringe lads during the League. Hopefully Mogie, Dee, MOH and Chin will all be back and if so I'd nearly give them all most of the League off. In the medium term we need to find replacements for these lads. Midfield, Half forwards and more cover in the backs in particular but in general everywhere.
I'd like to see lads who haven't had the chance to play many Senior games put their hands up in training and be given starts in the League, especially the lads that haven't really broken onto the Senior intercounty championship team from the good u21 team in 2018 and a few from the teams before and after. Lads like Mcguckin, Higgins, Clarke, Carthy, Casey, Banville, Dunbar, Dwyer, Billy Dunne, David Dunne, Clancy etc. If lads like Gary Molloy, Kyle Firman, Conor Firman, Jack Cullen, Joe O Connor commit and do well in training then them too.
I think it's a bit optimistic to expect any of last years u20 team to become championship starters next year but if they are good enough they are old enough. They should definitely be given a run in the League if they are physically up to it and doing well enough in training.
I know that's alot of lads but not all will commit, and not all will make it. But if 8 or 10 or so could get at least 2 or 3 starts each in the League, more again for the lads who impress in those starts, and the more established older lads get filtered back into the team for last 1 or 2 League games we should have a better panel for next year's Championship. And in a game like the Clare game we will have better options off the bench like they did.
Even if that meant we only won 1 or 2 League games I'd certainly take that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 24/10/2022 11:11:44    2445231

Replying To Viking66:  "I still think Limerick will be the team to beat. The big 3 obviously won't be too far away in years to come, as all have won AI U20 titles in the recent past, although I think next year might be too soon for them. Clare will be looking to kick on after a good season last year. Galway probably have one of the older 1st 15s so it's hard to know just how good they will be. Waterford are as usual completely unpredictable. I think they fall into your really good 5 or 6 lads category. Hard to know exactlywhere Dublin are at but I'm sure Donoghue will have them well organised.
Most importantly I'd like to see us give more game time to some of the fringe lads during the League. Hopefully Mogie, Dee, MOH and Chin will all be back and if so I'd nearly give them all most of the League off. In the medium term we need to find replacements for these lads. Midfield, Half forwards and more cover in the backs in particular but in general everywhere.
I'd like to see lads who haven't had the chance to play many Senior games put their hands up in training and be given starts in the League, especially the lads that haven't really broken onto the Senior intercounty championship team from the good u21 team in 2018 and a few from the teams before and after. Lads like Mcguckin, Higgins, Clarke, Carthy, Casey, Banville, Dunbar, Dwyer, Billy Dunne, David Dunne, Clancy etc. If lads like Gary Molloy, Kyle Firman, Conor Firman, Jack Cullen, Joe O Connor commit and do well in training then them too.
I think it's a bit optimistic to expect any of last years u20 team to become championship starters next year but if they are good enough they are old enough. They should definitely be given a run in the League if they are physically up to it and doing well enough in training.
I know that's alot of lads but not all will commit, and not all will make it. But if 8 or 10 or so could get at least 2 or 3 starts each in the League, more again for the lads who impress in those starts, and the more established older lads get filtered back into the team for last 1 or 2 League games we should have a better panel for next year's Championship. And in a game like the Clare game we will have better options off the bench like they did.
Even if that meant we only won 1 or 2 League games I'd certainly take that."
Ya, hard to know. This year's u20s might be ready but even if you had some to bring on when a game has opened up would increase the options from the bench. No doubt Lee Chin will be reliable and Moggie too. Dee looked good in club championship but he has a serious amount of miles in the legs just out of the way he plays, very tough to keep that going. Guess we'll know next year for sure, here's hoping another year or two in him. I still think Limerick are the team to beat but last years all Ireland was easily their hardest since 2018. Cork it's just impossible to tell how they'll go, they kinda remind me of Galway in the 00s, could hammer you one day and then just not show up at all the next. Just lack something, too easy to say theyre soft or something like that but they definitely lack a real cutting edge to them. Kilkenny will always be close no matter what (well under Cody anyways) interesting to see how they go and hopefully the corner we've turned against them in recent years continues. TJ looked very good last year and sure he's not scoring from play as much but if he's setting up as much as was this year and winning puckouts, high balls he'll always be a serious threat. Galway were quite good at times last year bar the Leinster Final which was a terrible game all round. Probably were the closest to beating Limerck last year out of everyone. Wouldn't say theyre an old team, 8/9 of starting 15 is 25 or younger, with Conor Whelan, Cathal Mannion 26 then and will always have plenty of underage talent to call on whether they develop them or not is always a question for them. David Burke probably the only close to going but he was outstanding agaisnt Limeirck last year. Tipp are probably the hardest one to call, probably left the blooding of those u21/20 winners 2/3 years too late. They got the 2019 all Ireland out of the old guard but probably cost them down the line with player development and progression with current crop. Clare seemed very good in Munster but were very poor outside of it, Wexford shouldve beaten them and Kilkenny murdered them. Waterford are actually too hard to read, I think they might have missed the boat and have been poor underage the last few years so don't have too much coming through. Dublin have a great management team but the losses of players, Chris Crummy especially are the Last thing they need. Never kick on after big wins as well. 2019, 2021, 2022 are exampls of that.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 24/10/2022 11:52:45    2445238