Wexford Hurling Championship 2022

Replying To Onfor15:  "First and second teams playing together in a double header is horrible for players and team managements."
I can understand that but as a supporter, I would be happier with waiting 1/2 an hour for the 2nd game rather than going again to some other venue or again the next day.
I get your point though

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1436 - 13/07/2022 10:15:32    2431798

Replying To tearintom:  "Interesting to hear the county chairman talk about the current championship structure and how it came about, saying it was actually just a 2 vote majority in the end yet according to some on here they claimed it was a big majority voted for it!

Comprehensive review coming up apparently"
A bit like the football review tom, make sure you get your voice heard in your club. This is not the forum that matters

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1436 - 13/07/2022 10:17:32    2431799

A long way away yet, but I see the Leinster club hurling draw was made, and the Wexford winners will be away to the Carlow champions first. Whoever prevails from that will then have a home semi-final vs. Dublin/Laois. The intermediate and junior championships has seen Wexford potentially avoid the KK reps until the final too.

Great chance of a deep run for someone, and it'll be interesting to see the approach taken to the football by the hurling winner. For example, current in-form team Naomh Eanna might eye a Leinster final appearance over a Intermediate football promotion push, but a dual senior club might find that a bit more difficult.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 13/07/2022 11:03:49    2431812

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "A bit like the football review tom, make sure you get your voice heard in your club. This is not the forum that matters"
It's a box ticking exercise that will never happen. Review was announced ages ago, no action since

FootballRising (Wexford) - Posts: 29 - 13/07/2022 12:07:39    2431829

Replying To FootballRising:  "It's a box ticking exercise that will never happen. Review was announced ages ago, no action since"
Did you say to your club rep for an update?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1436 - 13/07/2022 15:21:24    2431897

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Did you say to your club rep for an update?"
No one in any of the management teams has been contacted, its typical of our county board, announce a review and then brush it under the carpet, I'll be shocked if it ever sees the light of day

FootballRising (Wexford) - Posts: 29 - 13/07/2022 15:40:43    2431902

I'll give the predictions another go for the craic!

Senior

Glynn
Gorey
Anne's
Ferns
Rathnure
Martins

Intermediate

Fethard
Askamore
Bunclody
Oulart
Taghmon
Blackwater

Don't be rushing down the bookies with these after me getting around half of them wrong the last couple of weeks!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 13/07/2022 18:43:35    2431937

Replying To Viking66:  "I'll give the predictions another go for the craic!

Senior

Glynn
Gorey
Anne's
Ferns
Rathnure
Martins

Intermediate

Fethard
Askamore
Bunclody
Oulart
Taghmon
Blackwater

Don't be rushing down the bookies with these after me getting around half of them wrong the last couple of weeks!"
It's going to tough weather conditions this weekend according to the weather reports, so the panel will come into play.

I'm afraid we're struggling for bodies so we will be under massive pressure to get a result against Rathnure.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 546 - 13/07/2022 19:41:45    2431946

Replying To tearintom:  "Interesting to hear the county chairman talk about the current championship structure and how it came about, saying it was actually just a 2 vote majority in the end yet according to some on here they claimed it was a big majority voted for it!

Comprehensive review coming up apparently"
I bloody hope that the split season is scrapped. Ridiculous situation where if you win your county title, it's another 7 weeks till your provincial championship. In between you'll be kicking football and most likely be leaving the hurls to the side. Once you get out of the county your representing our county. Surely we want to give them the best chance possible. What happens if a club decides that they want to have a serious shot at a Leinster championship and decide that they won't take the football championship as serious. Needs to go back to two weeks football, two weeks hurling. It's ridiculous the current set-up. Plus it's divided the football and hurling fraternity in the county when we need to be all working together.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 13/07/2022 22:05:57    2431961

Replying To FootballRising:  "No one in any of the management teams has been contacted, its typical of our county board, announce a review and then brush it under the carpet, I'll be shocked if it ever sees the light of day"
Sometimes a review takes time to get the terms of reference, parameters, etc together. If they arrived a week after it was announced, it would have been "rushed", or a "box ticking exercise". These things also take time to get the right people lined up, involved, briefed, etc etc.
Do you want it got right or a half baked rushed job? Its not a review of the colour scheme in Wexford Park being done.
I want Wexford football to succeed, and coming from a hurling background in Dublin I know what it is to be the "lesser game" in the county.
You say "our county board", OUR is the word here. It is YOUR county board, with YOUR club having a voice on the board. It is not some fictitious far away organisation which you have no say on. If you ask your Co. Board rep for an update, he should ask at the next co. board meeting. It will be in the minutes from the meeting and if he/she won't raise it they are not doing their job.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1436 - 14/07/2022 09:36:11    2431971

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "I bloody hope that the split season is scrapped. Ridiculous situation where if you win your county title, it's another 7 weeks till your provincial championship. In between you'll be kicking football and most likely be leaving the hurls to the side. Once you get out of the county your representing our county. Surely we want to give them the best chance possible. What happens if a club decides that they want to have a serious shot at a Leinster championship and decide that they won't take the football championship as serious. Needs to go back to two weeks football, two weeks hurling. It's ridiculous the current set-up. Plus it's divided the football and hurling fraternity in the county when we need to be all working together."
Completely agree and to be fair to the chairman and the general gist of the conversation was alluding to the fact it doesnt work and the preference was for alternate between football and hurling.

Its not only the issues like that above but at the moment a fella can train all year and miss the majority of the championship with one moderate hamstring injury.

At the moment we have clubs trying to combine training amongst players who dont hurl as they have practically being abandoned for the summer to go off and twiddle their thumbs, how does that help the game or players? We have a high chance of senior hurling teams in hurling only Clubs like rathnure being finished for the year on the 31st of July having practically hurled for just 1 calendar month all because injuries a lot of which arent serious ruling players out for entire championships!

And to be fair to the Co Board a lot of it comes from Croke Park which has an obsession it seems to just getting championships out of the way asap which is a separate argument but imho its terrible what theyre doing.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1536 - 14/07/2022 09:57:46    2431985

The various comments above are one of the reasons we will never be top of the pile in hurling.

Could you imagine TJ Reid or Aaron Gillane not playing hurling for two weeks because they switch over to football for a fortnight.

In saying all that, I love the fact that Wexford gives club players the chance to play both football and hurling evenly in a championship season.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 14/07/2022 11:07:12    2432001

Despite my 50% strike-rate last week, Shels-Rapps looked like a draw was on until that late goal, and Harriers led in injury-time too. So here it goes:

Rapparees vs St.Martin's: has the potential to be a real doozy. Martin's two wins have come against arguably the two weakest teams in the group (Oylegate's win vs Shels aside), while Rapps win last week had the hallmark of champions in its manner. And just when I had expressed concerns about the form of their forwards, Kevin Ryan and Oisin Pepper really stood up to the mark, and Gooch looked back to himself again too. They consistently have perhaps the best half-back line in the competition, and they'll need to maintain their standards here as Coleman hit five from centre-forward the last day and I can see Jacko drifting out to that sector too even if to get away from Jippo. Both sides can still conceivably finish top depending on results elsewhere, and I can see St.Martin's wanting to make a statement. Draw.

Cloughbawn vs Glynn: vital win for Cloughbawn the last day, and they are gathering momentum. Can hold their own with anyone in a shoot-out, scoring 1-14 from play up front vs Crossabeg. Oisin Foley was the only opposing forward to do any real damage (1-2), although Glynn do have a better overall spread of forwards, with Rowan White surely in the thoughts of the county management after his displays so far. There was a resilience to Glynn's win vs St.Anne's, and one more win should see them through to another quarter-final .I expect Cloughbawn to stay with Glynn with most of the game, but the Killurin men to just shade it for a finish.

Rathnure vs. Oylegate: one mitigating factor in Rathnure's winless campaign so far is that they put up a decent score last day out, and generally know how to find the net. 2-13 from play between Shane Lawlor, Michael and Jack Redmond is good going, and the 2-19 they put up is the highest tally Ferns have conceded to date. It's their leakiness at the other end that's an issue. But even with the two Recks in the opposite corner, I don't think Oylegate have the overall firing power to continue Rathnure's woes, especially with their absences. Rathnure to pick up a vital win here to give themselves a fighting chance against Shels a week later.

Crossabeg vs. Naomh Eanna: Gorey have been the standard-bearers so far, finding a different way to win under some adversity last week despite Mac being kept quiet. Their midfield is probably the best partnership in the championship to date, and they are aided and abetted by the hard-work of McGuckin and Padraig Doyle in the middle third. I fear for Crossabeg in the long-run, that defeat vs Cloughbawn last week is a massive set-back, and it doesn't get any easier with a derby with Glynn in round five. Can't foresee anything other than a comfortable Gorey win in the Sunday morning sun.

Ferns vs. Shelmaliers: a pedestrian start to the campaign for Shels. Had you told their mentors beforehand that they'd only win one of their first three games, they'd have assumed they'd have beaten Oylegate! To further my thoughts earlier in the week, I just think they lack....something.....up front, albeit Ross Banville has been a big loss. Keane-Carroll was back to something approaching his best last day and in fairness Joe Kelly is sparkling, but I don't know if they have the tools to blow any side away. In contrast, Ferns hit 2-17 from play up front vs Rathnure and are full of confidence. They can't afford to rest on their laurels here as top spot isn't yet secured, and wouldn't want to go into the quarter-finals on the back of two losses in either case (should Martin's win in round five). Ferns to continue their winning ways here.

St.Anne's vs. Faythe Harriers: Wexford district derby with both sides looking for a win. Harriers must feel sick at the manner Naomh Eanna came back to beat them the last day, but there was notable improvement in their play and they shouldn't fear St.Anne's. I can see them going with a full-forward line of Lawlor-Chin-Murphy and trying to overwhelm St.Anne's with route-one deliveries. That said, they'll obviously have to keep Mogie and Liam Rochford under wraps at the other end, and Anne's will be typically solid. Think it's scandalous it's on so late on a Sunday evening when 24 hours earlier could have drawn a bigger crowd (Saturday night hurling and all that entails), and I will only be taking a passing interest as a result. Huge game for the townies, and I tip Harriers to just about shade it.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 14/07/2022 11:21:39    2432010

Replying To tearintom:  "Completely agree and to be fair to the chairman and the general gist of the conversation was alluding to the fact it doesnt work and the preference was for alternate between football and hurling.

Its not only the issues like that above but at the moment a fella can train all year and miss the majority of the championship with one moderate hamstring injury.

At the moment we have clubs trying to combine training amongst players who dont hurl as they have practically being abandoned for the summer to go off and twiddle their thumbs, how does that help the game or players? We have a high chance of senior hurling teams in hurling only Clubs like rathnure being finished for the year on the 31st of July having practically hurled for just 1 calendar month all because injuries a lot of which arent serious ruling players out for entire championships!

And to be fair to the Co Board a lot of it comes from Croke Park which has an obsession it seems to just getting championships out of the way asap which is a separate argument but imho its terrible what theyre doing."
Just like we were the first county to complete a senior final during the first covid year, the county board love the attention they garner from being among the first counties to complete the club championships.

Anyway, intermediate:

Adamstown vs. Bunclody: Adamstown are sinking without trace at present (although remarkably have conceded the third-least in the whole championship), Bunclody are defying their absences by sitting atop a competitive group. All form lines point to Bunclody, and I will go along with that.

Oulart vs. Buffers Alley: what a rivalry this is, and despite the cliche, games between the two very often take on a life of their own. Buffers Alley should be stronger with all their young guns back (they are flying in the under-19), but there is no denying they are in a rut at the minute. Oulart to win again and condemn their rivals to possible relegation worries.

Tara Rocks vs. Askamore: the earliest throw-in time I can recall, which has since been explained by the fact that Tara Rocks' manager Gary Laffan is due in Croker for the 1996 Jubilee celebration. I have been told it's been since moved to Gorey to shorten the journey even more (although if it was fixed for Saturday to begin with, the issue would have been entirely avoided). Both sides picked up vital wins last day out, with Askamore's more impressive. Should be a high-scoring Gorey district derby against two sides that haven't played each other that much, and a tough one to call. Askamore to just shade it.

Fethard vs. Gusserane: mouth-watering, probably the stand-out tie across all grades this weekend. Fethard were stunned by Bunclody last day out, and Gusserane were aggrieved in their narrow loss to Askamore. Mini Ryan's cruciate injury will be a huge blow for Gusserane in both codes, but I see this going right down to the wire. Draw.

Taghmon vs. St.James: another district derby. Jimmies gave Oulart a better game than Taghmon did, but that's something of a tallest dwarf contest the way Oulart have breezed past everyone thus far. Both teams are capable of causing a stir in the grade, and I think Taghmon can quietly go deep with attention turned elsewhere. Taghmon by a couple of points here.

Blackwater vs. Ballygarrett:
coastal derby between two sides buoyed by recent wins against Buffers Alley. While a loss here more than likely would see the loser unable to progress to the quarter-finals, by the same token it won't be terminal as they'll still have the head-to-head advantage on the Alley should they lose as expected to Oulart. Ballygarrett have largely been poor though, with Blackwater at least more cohesive in their structure and less inconsistent in their performances. On that basis, I expect a dogged victory for Blackwater.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 14/07/2022 12:39:49    2432036

Rapparees vs St.Martin's: Expect a really close game and as posted, Pepper was much improved from previous games. Martins till not flying on all cylinders with lads away and injured, with Jack O'Connor being their main outlet for scores. I think Rapps should shade it.

Cloughbawn vs Glynn: Cloughbawn secured a vital win last week against a surpingsly poor Ballymrun side, heavily relinant on Oisin Foley to do the scoring. Glynn seem to be there or there about in most of their games so far, expect them to have too much for Crossabeg. I think think themselves Harriers and Cloughbawn could all finish level on points and could come down to score difference.

Rathnure vs. Oylegate: As said above, Rathnure have been scoring plenty but its at the other end there seems to be an issue. Hard to know what gone wrong but they are in a rut and have to win this weekend to stay out of the relegation final if Shels win. Oylegate can play some great hurling on their day but I feel Rathnures need is greatest and this will see them over the line. Rathnure win.

Crossabeg vs. Naomh Eanna: Crossabeg were poor last weekend against Cloughbawn while Gorey made a strong comeback against Harriers. I could see Mac and co doing a lot of damage here and coming out with a number of goals. I expect a good Gorey win, by 8.

Ferns vs. Shelmaliers: Even though Shels have been average at best so far, they still have the players to go far in the championship. Ferns have been brilliant and I would go as far as to say there forwards have been the most impressive so far. Even though Ferns are going so well, I actually fancy the Shels to get the win here.

St.Anne's vs. Faythe Harriers: A expect a real close battle here, as posted previously, expect Chin to be close to the goal. Annes have played some great stuff so far while the last game for Harriers should give them some confidence. They will need to win this to make sure of being in the shake up and not in a relegation battle so I think they might just nick it.

Intermediate

Adamstown v HWH Bunclody
Adamstown are going down without a wimper at the minute and really need to put in a strong performance. There loss last week to Tara Rocks I feel has more or less condemned them to the relegation final so they need to concentrate on putting in better performances. HWH Bunclody with Nolan back will be in the shake up near the end so expect to win here by 7.

Oulart The Ballagh v Buffers Alley
Who would of thought a few years ago these two would be meeting in intermediate but here we are. Oulart seem out to destroy every team in intermediate while the Alley had two worrying results, losing to Ballygarrett and Blackwater. Lose here and its down to the final game against Taghmon to see if they stay out of relegation as they will lose on the head to head with Blackwater and Ballygarrett. On recent form cant see anything other than a Oulart win.

Tara Rocks v Askamore
Such an early start, It was noted above why wasnt the game on Saturday but I have heard one of the Rocks players is getting married on Friday so that might have something to do with it. Fair play to Askamore to agreeing to early start aswell. Tara Rocks got a vital win last week but Askamore have been quietly going about their business well. Expect them to just shade it.

Fethard v Gusserane
The men in red were probably somewhat surprised to lose last week while Gusserane have two good wins. Expect a tight game but think Fethard will have too much experience here, Very tight group so far over all.

Ballygarrett v Blackwater
Blackwater will be hoping they got their inconsistency issues sorted after their surprising victory over Buffers Alley. Ballygarret while beating Alley were very poor last week against Taghmon. Would expect Blackwater to come out on top which would make for a n interesting final weekend.

Taghmon v St. James
Taghmon have two really good wins so far while the Jimmies had a good win against Blackwater. On form you'd have to go with Taghmon.

Inter A
Oulart v Craanford - Oulart
Rosslare v Geraldines - Gers
Cushinstown v Martins - Cushinstown
Shels v Duffry - Shels
Shamrocks v Liam Mellows - Liam Mellows
Monageer v Horeswood - Monageer

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 498 - 14/07/2022 13:52:35    2432057

tearintom, what interview with chairman are you alluding to? Local newspaper or where

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1436 - 14/07/2022 14:21:09    2432063

There is a video posted online on the Wexford GAA social media accounts yesterday. My own preference is for four groups of four.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 498 - 14/07/2022 15:12:08    2432080

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "tearintom, what interview with chairman are you alluding to? Local newspaper or where"
Wexford GAA Tv

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1536 - 14/07/2022 15:21:52    2432083

Replying To alwaysasub:  "There is a video posted online on the Wexford GAA social media accounts yesterday. My own preference is for four groups of four."
Will seriously weaken the standard and less games for teams

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 14/07/2022 21:59:21    2432141

I would tend to agree with you but unfortunately there just isnt enough time with the new schedule, at the minute there is a game every weekend, no break, pick up a small injury and you might be gone for the rest of the championship. Also would it really weaken it that much. Both Fethard and Oulart would certainly not weaken it and maybe Bunclody. You might have one team who might struggle but I think anyone that argues that it would weaken the championship is not a realistic reason.

Certainly the less games would be an issue but unless the Leinster Championship is pushed out and the All ireland clubs moved even into February next year would free up some time. Maybe you could have an extra round where as the bottom of the group plays the top seed in another group, that way you have a guaranteed four matches, just one less than the 5. I would also like to see the return of two weeks football, two weeks hurling.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 498 - 15/07/2022 11:55:16    2432176