That Tyrone/Armagh Row

Replying To daytona11:  "Yes it should be without a doubt. Head high tackles should be red."
I would have no problem with that but once again it's back to the old problem - a complete lack of consistency.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 545 - 08/02/2022 17:18:08    2399377

Replying To Saynothing:  "O'Rourke, the clock in oul Dublin has less faces, depending on who it is in O'Rourke's eyes they are either punching and brawling or just getting to know each other."
Totally agree… what he said and his defence of Gough made no sense…. He should have at least sent the same number of players off from both sides… He even picked out one player for a yellow…mind boggling stuff……

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 08/02/2022 17:31:14    2399384

What Row !! Ffs catch yerself on !

UnRepentant (Fermanagh) - Posts: 9 - 08/02/2022 18:09:58    2399389

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "How will you achieve as much pushing and shoving? What did they achieve..they embarrassed themselves and a few got sent off. That's all they achieved."
That's exactly my point. They achieved f**k all, which is the same as punching a lad in the head would achieve, but at least avoided the collateral damage of a long term suspension and potentially breaking someone's jaw or nose.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 08/02/2022 19:24:47    2399414

Choke holds/head locks or anything applying pressure on the neck should be a red.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1835 - 08/02/2022 20:39:47    2399428

Replying To PK57:  "I love how the referee is being defended over this because it's in the rules but does anyone think in a big championship game he is going to throw around red cards and ruin the game? He did this because it's the league and it was at the end of the game so he made it about him. It's similar to the application of the black card, in any given game there will be far more black card worthy challenges that happen but will not be given by the referee because he does not want to ruin the game. The only positive from yesterday's farce was it happened at the end so the game didn't get ruined by the referee."
Ruin the game? Imagine that football were a bit more normal, scraps like that one were rare, and everyone who was involved would have been shown the line. Then people would be talking about how the scrappers and not the referee ruined the game. Look at this soccer story from seven years ago (I admit I ain't seen the video myself) and tell me did the players or the referee ruin the game.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1042 - 08/02/2022 21:40:27    2399432

Replying To Mayonman:  "Choke holds/head locks or anything applying pressure on the neck should be a red."
Totally agree, if you grab your opponents head gear (helmet) in hurling your off, what's the difference same end result

Blitzkrig (Fermanagh) - Posts: 39 - 09/02/2022 07:47:38    2399440

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's exactly my point. They achieved f**k all, which is the same as punching a lad in the head would achieve, but at least avoided the collateral damage of a long term suspension and potentially breaking someone's jaw or nose."
is that not why you'd run the length of a pitch? To give someone a good thump? Otherwise, why bother?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 09/02/2022 09:47:01    2399452

Replying To UnRepentant:  "What Row !! Ffs catch yerself on !"
Agree 10000%..I've seen more shufflin on d way out from mass years ago

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 09/02/2022 10:25:17    2399465

Replying To Zucker:  "Agree 10000%..I've seen more shufflin on d way out from mass years ago"
Maybe if they don't punish thae headlocking and that craic players will be doing it more often and know they'll get away with it! And posters saying ref made it all about himself, in what world would any ref want to make a match about themselves, come on now!

Stamp it out in the league early and it won't happen in championship as much.. i agree that it was a nothing row, but i imagine that's what gaa/refs are thinking.

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 09/02/2022 12:06:12    2399489

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "is that not why you'd run the length of a pitch? To give someone a good thump? Otherwise, why bother?"
If they were to run the length of the pitch, I'd prefer they didn't punch someone in the head. It'd be better if they didn't run the length of the pitch to get involved at all, but hitting someone in the jaw at the end of it would definitely be worse.
Why would you want lads punching each other in the head on a GAA pitch?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 09/02/2022 13:25:41    2399506

Find two players from opposite teams not involved in the pulling and dragging, bring the ball away 30 years away from it and throw up it between them, play on. Stop the time wasting. And on a similar note if a goalie wants to take a free kick then he has 20 seconds to do it, otherwise the ball is thrown up.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 09/02/2022 15:04:15    2399536

Replying To WanPintWin:  "If they were to run the length of the pitch, I'd prefer they didn't punch someone in the head. It'd be better if they didn't run the length of the pitch to get involved at all, but hitting someone in the jaw at the end of it would definitely be worse.
Why would you want lads punching each other in the head on a GAA pitch?"
Why get involved in a melee or a row if you're not going to lay a lad down. Maybe their intentions were to embarrass themselves and bring some femininity to the game but I don't see the point. Go back to when rows used to be worth watching.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 09/02/2022 15:07:23    2399538

Replying To WanPintWin:  "If they were to run the length of the pitch, I'd prefer they didn't punch someone in the head. It'd be better if they didn't run the length of the pitch to get involved at all, but hitting someone in the jaw at the end of it would definitely be worse.
Why would you want lads punching each other in the head on a GAA pitch?"
Agree completely with this. People wanting to see people punched in the head on a GAA pitch should consider watching other sports. This "hard man" attitude should have no place in the GAA. A club mate of my own once missed 8 weeks of work because some cowboy decided to blindside him with a punch in a match. If the likes of these lads are so manly & brave let them step inside a boxing ring instead for all to see and not be throwing digs on a football/hurling field to prove what a warrior they are.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 09/02/2022 15:32:48    2399546

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "Why get involved in a melee or a row if you're not going to lay a lad down. Maybe their intentions were to embarrass themselves and bring some femininity to the game but I don't see the point. Go back to when rows used to be worth watching."
Lay a lad down? What are you on about?
The reason they didn't do it, is because it's incredibly stupid, can be dangerous and lead to serious injury, a very long suspension and even a civil case. We've had court cases in Galway due to incidents like that.
Punching lads in the head has no place on a GAA pitch. There's nothing 'manly' about it. It's usually a cowardly act with the victim being hit unawares.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 09/02/2022 17:41:10    2399573

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Agree completely with this. People wanting to see people punched in the head on a GAA pitch should consider watching other sports. This "hard man" attitude should have no place in the GAA. A club mate of my own once missed 8 weeks of work because some cowboy decided to blindside him with a punch in a match. If the likes of these lads are so manly & brave let them step inside a boxing ring instead for all to see and not be throwing digs on a football/hurling field to prove what a warrior they are."
Small frays on a football field usually have a snowball effect. 2 men squaring up to each other, a team mate from whatever team tries to break it up but the next man in doesn't help to break it up , he usually goes for the original peacemaker. Not all men in the middle of a row are wading in.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 09/02/2022 19:25:35    2399591

Replying To Saynothing:  "Small frays on a football field usually have a snowball effect. 2 men squaring up to each other, a team mate from whatever team tries to break it up but the next man in doesn't help to break it up , he usually goes for the original peacemaker. Not all men in the middle of a row are wading in."
Oh I know. I've been in that situation myself on the field. Trying to separate two lads and ending up on the ground myself in a headlock. Waking up the next day feeling like I've suffered whiplash from a car accident.

You can be a "hard" player without having to resort to wrestling or worse throwing digs on the football field.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 10/02/2022 09:27:58    2399611

Replying To Zucker:  "Agree 10000%..I've seen more shufflin on d way out from mass years ago"
The best post here by a mile classic.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 10/02/2022 10:08:49    2399617

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Lay a lad down? What are you on about?
The reason they didn't do it, is because it's incredibly stupid, can be dangerous and lead to serious injury, a very long suspension and even a civil case. We've had court cases in Galway due to incidents like that.
Punching lads in the head has no place on a GAA pitch. There's nothing 'manly' about it. It's usually a cowardly act with the victim being hit unawares."
Totally agree with that…..and then clubs standing steadfastly behind these thugs when asked to name them if caught on camera or if brought to court… Anybody who hits someone unawares and off the ball is nothing but a coward and a club should be ashamed to have him/her as a member….!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1950 - 10/02/2022 10:15:07    2399619

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "Why get involved in a melee or a row if you're not going to lay a lad down. Maybe their intentions were to embarrass themselves and bring some femininity to the game but I don't see the point. Go back to when rows used to be worth watching."
rows used to be worth it back before lads spent all their time in the gym working on mirror muscles and focusing on their jersey pulling and pushing techniques.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 10/02/2022 10:32:07    2399622