That Tyrone/Armagh Row

Replying To greatpoint:  "Hampsey was red carded for what happened afterwards"
What happened afterwards? The video shows him pushing and shoving but nothing to warrant a red.

I do find it funny that mcgeeney had a dig at tyrone right after the game regarding an appeal, he said something like "I am sure they will have their lawyers on it". Turns out Armagh are now appealing their red card tonight, hes some neck on him.

Be interesting to see if the Armagh lad gets off with it.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 16/02/2022 13:13:49    2400677

Replying To kevin03:  "What happened afterwards? The video shows him pushing and shoving but nothing to warrant a red.

I do find it funny that mcgeeney had a dig at tyrone right after the game regarding an appeal, he said something like "I am sure they will have their lawyers on it". Turns out Armagh are now appealing their red card tonight, hes some neck on him.

Be interesting to see if the Armagh lad gets off with it."
Kind of hoping Armagh are successful just to show what kind of a farce it is.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 16/02/2022 13:31:31    2400685

Replying To kevin03:  "What happened afterwards? The video shows him pushing and shoving but nothing to warrant a red.

Be interesting to see if the Armagh lad gets off with it."
Tyrone appeal everything because they never think they are at fault. Harte could go up to a player on a pitch, drop kick them and receive a red card. Tyrone will still appeal it and blame someone else for the incident. If I remember correctly Logan more or less pointed the blame at Armagh which has been shown not to be the case.

McGo72 (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 16/02/2022 14:53:19    2400709

Replying To McGo72:  "Tyrone appeal everything because they never think they are at fault. Harte could go up to a player on a pitch, drop kick them and receive a red card. Tyrone will still appeal it and blame someone else for the incident. If I remember correctly Logan more or less pointed the blame at Armagh which has been shown not to be the case."
Saint 31 counties.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 16/02/2022 15:42:30    2400722

Replying To McGo72:  "Tyrone appeal everything because they never think they are at fault. Harte could go up to a player on a pitch, drop kick them and receive a red card. Tyrone will still appeal it and blame someone else for the incident. If I remember correctly Logan more or less pointed the blame at Armagh which has been shown not to be the case."
Harte deserved to be sent off. But again, Hamspey never head locked anyone or hit out so why was he red carded.

If a Donegal player was sent off for a head lock I am sure you would want it appealed as it has never been given before. Especially since the game the previous day had a melee with no red cards never mind 5. Issue with all these appeals is refs implementing the rules differently and teams are obviously going to use this as evidence. There will be minor differences between the refs but the basic rules around what warrants a black, yellow and red should be consistent between them.

Don't think any tyrone fan has an issue with the red cards sticking if they know that will be the case for all games but everyone knows it simply wont be.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 16/02/2022 15:47:23    2400726

Looking towards Kildare game now.
https://unofficialtyrone.wordpress.com/2022/02/16/depleted-tyrone-face-uphill-battle-against-kildare/

DasRoteHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 17 - 16/02/2022 16:42:30    2400741

Replying To kevin03:  "Harte deserved to be sent off. But again, Hamspey never head locked anyone or hit out so why was he red carded.

If a Donegal player was sent off for a head lock I am sure you would want it appealed as it has never been given before. Especially since the game the previous day had a melee with no red cards never mind 5. Issue with all these appeals is refs implementing the rules differently and teams are obviously going to use this as evidence. There will be minor differences between the refs but the basic rules around what warrants a black, yellow and red should be consistent between them.

Don't think any tyrone fan has an issue with the red cards sticking if they know that will be the case for all games but everyone knows it simply wont be."
Harte and McGeary definitely deserved their red cards. The Armagh player had his arm around the Tyrone player up against the barricade should have been punished more severely but sitting on the fence it was not the most extreme incident. The rest of the red cards I could not see any justification for but Tyrone didn't single out whose red card should stand they tried to get all four players off.

McGo72 (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 16/02/2022 18:53:25    2400772

Many people have been complimenting Gough for having the courage to send off five players, but I'm not sure what courage has to do with it. There were about 20 players contributing to the melee and how he picked out the five players is a mystery to me. The other mystery is the case of the Armagh player who got the yellow card. What was he guilty of? If he wasn't part of the melee what was he doing there? The referee's job is to apply the rules but he must apply them fairly, and I didn't see much fairness in selecting the five players. As for courage, if Gough is in charge the next time Kerry and Dublin have one of their famous "melees" (sorry, handbags) then we'll see how brave he is.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 545 - 16/02/2022 21:49:04    2400799

Replying To Saynothing:  "Saint 31 counties."
We all know Tyrone are the real saints....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/02/2022 09:08:35    2400803

Replying To midlands:  "Many people have been complimenting Gough for having the courage to send off five players, but I'm not sure what courage has to do with it. There were about 20 players contributing to the melee and how he picked out the five players is a mystery to me. The other mystery is the case of the Armagh player who got the yellow card. What was he guilty of? If he wasn't part of the melee what was he doing there? The referee's job is to apply the rules but he must apply them fairly, and I didn't see much fairness in selecting the five players. As for courage, if Gough is in charge the next time Kerry and Dublin have one of their famous "melees" (sorry, handbags) then we'll see how brave he is."
How did he pick out the five players ? He stood back from the melee and then consulted with his officials.
The usual thing would have been to send off one from each team and be done with it but it was gutsy to identify five and send them off.
It hopefully will help to stop these free for all melees that have no part in our games.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 17/02/2022 11:40:08    2400829

The row between Tyrone and Dublin in 2020 looked worse. Before Covid, they had a rumble in the tunnel.at half time.
Was it even investigated

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 17/02/2022 12:13:21    2400837

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I hope we trounce ye"
So do the other 6 teams in Div1, especially Monaghan - for obvious reasons. Relegation battle will be fairly interesting.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 17/02/2022 12:15:55    2400838

Replying To timmyhogan:  "So do the other 6 teams in Div1, especially Monaghan - for obvious reasons. Relegation battle will be fairly interesting."
I can't imagine Monaghan want us picking up points for the same reason I don't want them picking up points. The team that joins Dublin in relegation to division 2 could well be decided in that round 6 fixture in Newbridge.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 17/02/2022 12:40:12    2400841

Replying To carlovia:  "How did he pick out the five players ? He stood back from the melee and then consulted with his officials.
The usual thing would have been to send off one from each team and be done with it but it was gutsy to identify five and send them off.
It hopefully will help to stop these free for all melees that have no part in our games."
So you'll be patting the ref on the back all season for removing 5 players from every game that has a bit of pushing and shoving? Contest out the window is fine so long as we don't see players clashing in any way shape or form? Some can't wait to turn the GAA into the Rose of Tralee and forget what the tension out on the pitch in front of fans can be like. Lads have been training all year all for a few matches and of course it can boil over a bit at times, that's life, lads are human. So long as nobody is swinging punches or trying to injure another player then we don't need to see draconian measures taken that will ruin a game far quicker than a bit of argy bargy that can be defused by booking one or two players and having a brief word with the main culprits. It will get to the stage that some players will become disillusioned by putting in the hard yards at training and having to put up with overzealous officials who don't understand the nature of competition.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 17/02/2022 13:20:08    2400849

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I can't imagine Monaghan want us picking up points for the same reason I don't want them picking up points. The team that joins Dublin in relegation to division 2 could well be decided in that round 6 fixture in Newbridge."
Dublin will be grand,

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 17/02/2022 13:26:31    2400851

Replying To carlovia:  "How did he pick out the five players ? He stood back from the melee and then consulted with his officials.
It hopefully will help to stop these free for all melees that have no part in our games."
After watching the video several times I don't understand how those five players were singled out. It doesn't take guts to apply the rules but it must be done fairly, and nobody can claim that those five players were the only ones "contributing to a melee". I agree these melees have no part in our game but they won't be stamped out unless all referees, including Gough, apply the rules fairly and consistently. Making an example out of one county might delight some pundits but it's not the way to go.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 545 - 17/02/2022 13:53:58    2400854

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I can't imagine Monaghan want us picking up points for the same reason I don't want them picking up points. The team that joins Dublin in relegation to division 2 could well be decided in that round 6 fixture in Newbridge."

I like your prediction but come the end of the league Monahan's chances staying up (& that of the likes of Donegal & Mayo) will be better IF Kildare can take something off Tyrone. The 2 points have to go somewhere. 2 teams are going to be relegated - Dublin & Tyrone would suit most of us just fine but ..... Kildare & Mon will do the job also.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 18/02/2022 12:05:13    2400970

Replying To Saynothing:  "Dublin will be grand,"
Di you have some conspiracy thorey for this?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 18/02/2022 13:32:04    2400983

Replying To oneoff:  "Di you have some conspiracy thorey for this?"
Aye, to good to go down.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 18/02/2022 17:50:57    2401018

Replying To Saynothing:  "Aye, to good to go down."
I didn't really say it in seriousness, but what a delight it would be if it came about :D

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 18/02/2022 19:45:52    2401032