Advertisement

National Hurling League 2022

Replying To daveboy:  "Kiely and the panel don't need much to give them a little extra edge this year to help the motivation but this will help nicely. When you are the dominant force in any sport finding certain factors to help give the team an extra bite is always good.

I think richie power summed it up very nicely on social media yesterday that anyone who knows or has played the game would agree with him 100% and let rte poke away. We all have seem what happens when the bear is poked.

Drumming up a bit of spice through certain narratives is what the media is all about and that's their job so you take what they give you and use it.

Interesting start to the league but the real stiff is still 9 weeks away."
I'd disagree with Richie Power, what makes Hegarty a brillant player is his skill, athleticism, physicality and savage workrate, that red was a long time coming for him, the fact he was shaking his head afterwards as if he did nothing wrong was comical, he was aggravated with the pushing and shoving but to retaliate with a hurl to the face was braindead.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 14/02/2022 11:32:54    2400274

Replying To Shocs07:  "Ah here ....most cows in the west wait there's a bit of grass to eat and that's probably mid April onwards!"
I only wish that was true Shocs - my lawn is full of grass now and it needs a mower lol!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 14/02/2022 11:33:53    2400275

Replying To baire:  "I never saw JC strike a player with a hurley, never. I couldn't say the same about GH."
Not criticising JC but he did live on the edge a lot and he did get involved in plenty of incidents especially prior to 2017 and just like Hegarty and Gillane he got plenty of attention of the ball.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 963 - 14/02/2022 12:34:00    2400284

Replying To tommy k:  "Limerick city alone has a fair size of a population i.e. about 100,000 and in total with the county included has approx 220,000 (Galway has about 260,000) so this thing that ye are a small county is untrue hence the number of AI's ye have won is rather paltry. I am not saying Galway has a large number of AI's either and should have won a lot more I agree but we don't go around saying that we "calve" in especially when other county fans like Limerick say! When Galway hurlers were not going strong we had the footballers to fall back on including the great 3 in a row team of the 1960's - something Limerick don't have to worry too much about! Of course Galway has also loads of club hurling AI's i.e 11 (including 10 in over a 22 year period between 1992 and 2014) and 6 club football titles as well. Galway has also won 14 minor hurling titles since 1983 and 6 football titles as well as 10 U20/21 titles and 6 football titles. I think even with similar populations there is no doubt about who has been the most successful GAA county."
I can guarantee you Tommy that you have twice more people playing hurling than Limerick have and for the number of fine underage and club success your return at senior level is small. You talk about your footballers but we have a massive competitor in rugby. When the B and I lions team travelled about fifteen years ago there was 42 players in the party from a catchment area of about 70,000,000, Limerick with a population of less than 200,000 had five players in the party- a fair indication of what we are up against when trying to promote hurling in the county.
As regards Under age success we have five Under 20/21 since 2,000, more than any other county and five National National Leagues in a row and 14 in all, which is not that bad. But remember National Leagues and Under age successes do not matter if they are not turned into Senior wins, as Galway friends of mine have often said.
You can forget Limerick City as regards GAA, it is practically non existant there and hurling is not the main game in any major town in the county.
Have said all that Tommy I wish ye nothing but good luck in the future. The more chasing pack teams that win All Ireands the better.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 14/02/2022 13:10:21    2400291

Replying To tommy k:  "Limerick city alone has a fair size of a population i.e. about 100,000 and in total with the county included has approx 220,000 (Galway has about 260,000) so this thing that ye are a small county is untrue hence the number of AI's ye have won is rather paltry. I am not saying Galway has a large number of AI's either and should have won a lot more I agree but we don't go around saying that we "calve" in especially when other county fans like Limerick say! When Galway hurlers were not going strong we had the footballers to fall back on including the great 3 in a row team of the 1960's - something Limerick don't have to worry too much about! Of course Galway has also loads of club hurling AI's i.e 11 (including 10 in over a 22 year period between 1992 and 2014) and 6 club football titles as well. Galway has also won 14 minor hurling titles since 1983 and 6 football titles as well as 10 U20/21 titles and 6 football titles. I think even with similar populations there is no doubt about who has been the most successful GAA county."
I will summarise your long post for you Tommy K, Limerick are 4th in the hurling role of honour. Simple as.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 14/02/2022 13:31:35    2400298

Replying To baire:  "I never saw JC strike a player with a hurley, never. I couldn't say the same about GH."
Ah come on now! You're surely being sarcastic here?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/02/2022 13:49:18    2400304

Replying To Clubgaa:  "I will summarise your long post for you Tommy K, Limerick are 4th in the hurling role of honour. Simple as."
A long way off the top 3 and absolutely nowhere in football. I grew up in the 80's and 90's and we had our hurlers in the 80's and footballers in the 90's to entertain us winning AI's etc. in both county and club. I would hate to have been a Limerick fan with nothing to look forward to but continuous failure in both codes e.g. the 5 minute AI in 1994 when the might of Offaly came back from 5 points down to win by 6 - the best example of "calving" in the history of the GAA! Absolutely shocking that Limerick with a very big population have never even won 1 Club AI in either code.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 14/02/2022 14:08:44    2400308

Replying To tommy k:  "A long way off the top 3 and absolutely nowhere in football. I grew up in the 80's and 90's and we had our hurlers in the 80's and footballers in the 90's to entertain us winning AI's etc. in both county and club. I would hate to have been a Limerick fan with nothing to look forward to but continuous failure in both codes e.g. the 5 minute AI in 1994 when the might of Offaly came back from 5 points down to win by 6 - the best example of "calving" in the history of the GAA! Absolutely shocking that Limerick with a very big population have never even won 1 Club AI in either code."
If you're going to be a troll generally getting your facts right helps.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 14/02/2022 14:36:30    2400312

Replying To tommy k:  "A long way off the top 3 and absolutely nowhere in football. I grew up in the 80's and 90's and we had our hurlers in the 80's and footballers in the 90's to entertain us winning AI's etc. in both county and club. I would hate to have been a Limerick fan with nothing to look forward to but continuous failure in both codes e.g. the 5 minute AI in 1994 when the might of Offaly came back from 5 points down to win by 6 - the best example of "calving" in the history of the GAA! Absolutely shocking that Limerick with a very big population have never even won 1 Club AI in either code."
Na Piarsaigh Tommy

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 14/02/2022 14:50:27    2400316

You sure about the club all Ireland's.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 14/02/2022 15:30:18    2400324

Tommy I think any of us from non top 3 counties having a meaningless row over who got the most of the scraps that fell off the table is a bit laughable tbh. This millenium yourselves Limerick and Clare have had fine underage teams who have won AIs on the way to senior AIs. Ourselves, Waterford and Dublin and everybody else outside the top 3 havent won a senior all Ireland this millenium at all. Be happy for what you have and be happy for those similar stature hurling counties that have had success also. I was delighted to see Clare win in 2013, ye win in 2017 and have been delighted to see Limerick having their recent success too. Obviously I wouldnt be as delighted for anyone if they beat us in a final but other than that I am.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20659 - 14/02/2022 15:52:52    2400329

Well in '94 Kilkenny the then All Ireland Championships, were eight points up on that Offaly team, in the first half, and in ten minutes Offaly were up about eight on them. The Cats had about 40 minutes to recover and Offaly beat them anyway, as they did Galway, narrowly beaten finalists the year before and they also beat a fine Wexford team, so they richly deserved their All Ireland victory. I am just a little baffled that with half the hurling population of the Tribesmen and as you so readily so little success at underage and club level we have twice the number of All Irelands they have. Despite the fact that Galway won the 1980. All Ireland hurling did not start that year.
By the way we do have two All Irelands in Football and were the first team to beat Dublin in an All Ireland football Final. And we had reasonably good football teams from time In the the forties, sixties, nineties, oughties and even at the start of the last decade we gave the Kerry Aristocrats plenty of it- we are not like KK' who give no support whatsoever to Football.
Of course we are well off the big three in hurling. Cork have five times our hurling population and Kilkenny play absolutely no other game. Tipp is a truly mighty hurling county of course.
Limerick clubs have won All titles in both codes in at All Ireland Club level with NIHE winning the Football back in '78 and Na Piarsaigh the hurling in '16. No harm to check facts every now and again.
Anyway what does club titles matter if All Irelands at Senior Level are scant in the ground.
Well may you mention Offaly. Our Two counties have a stunning record in Finals against the tiny Midland County- a 100% failure.
I have never seen an East Galway man, and I know a good few of them, that would prefer to see Galway win Football titles before hurling ones. And yes Galway do perform well in football and I for one would never belittle their achievements by saying 'Ah Shure they are well off the big two'. You have to take into account that special circumstances make it easier for at least four of the' big five' to win All Irelands and even more significantly always has.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 14/02/2022 16:07:14    2400336

As a Limerick man in the 90s I was also very much entertained following our lads around the country and the colour and atmosphere of the Munster championship is forever etched in my mind. I have great memories of the 90s, our hearts were broken and we suffered but we enjoyed the highs and lows along the way which is why there has always been massive Limerick support come what may.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 508 - 14/02/2022 16:09:04    2400338

Replying To Fitzy01:  "As a Limerick man in the 90s I was also very much entertained following our lads around the country and the colour and atmosphere of the Munster championship is forever etched in my mind. I have great memories of the 90s, our hearts were broken and we suffered but we enjoyed the highs and lows along the way which is why there has always been massive Limerick support come what may."
Same as following Wexford. Every year is the anticipation and buildup. The excitement. Then we lose eventually. Except in 96 in my time. But when you do win something, even an underage title, you get a massive lift. Probably much more of a lift than you would if you followed a team that often won. As always at this time of year I'm hoping, not expecting, for us to win something. Cant wait to see if we do!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20659 - 14/02/2022 16:56:56    2400351

Lads as a limerick man can we just all agree to disagree and concentrate on the actual subject on the forum..we are now in 2022,let's look forward and try and keep the big three down..who have Galway in their next game??i know we have cork and this is one where a lot of markers might be put down..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2715 - 14/02/2022 17:08:13    2400353

Replying To Fitzy01:  "As a Limerick man in the 90s I was also very much entertained following our lads around the country and the colour and atmosphere of the Munster championship is forever etched in my mind. I have great memories of the 90s, our hearts were broken and we suffered but we enjoyed the highs and lows along the way which is why there has always been massive Limerick support come what may."
I have seen my county lose three all Ireland's, crying after the 90's finals, following hurling and football,2001 coming back up from cork was excellent, nearly getting the Munster football,beating Kerry in the league football, beating Meath,seeing limerick footballers in croke park,semi final in 2007 against Waterford,so many great, brilliant,sad, disappointing days,2018 afraid to watch canning free,as limerick fans,yes we are a little cocky but this team has given us so much joy,we are going to milk as much as we can,it won't last but as a long suffering limerick man,we will enjoy it and we will support through the bad times when they come again,the hate of limerick I can't understand,I was delighted to see Offaly, Wexford,Clare, Galway win, seeing Dublin win a Leinster was brilliant,like the Dublin footballers,let's just enjoy amazing team until the next county comes along.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 14/02/2022 17:08:42    2400354

Replying To updwell:  "Every team has players that go down trying to con the ref but I don't think Limerick are the worst offenders. Limerick as we are all told consistently are a physical team and physical teams usually play the game with little diving. As a KK fan your great team had the same dirty and over physical BS thrown at it and were well able for the physical stuff. Tommy was dirty and Jackie(my favourite hurler at the time) was worse, was that true or just plain jealousy?"
I've said this last year here that all the BS and guff about Limerick is plain begrudgery. It was the same when Kilkenny were at the top of their game for so long, then it was the same carry on when Dublin were winning. Now the same thing applies to Limerick. Whinging and whining from followers of the chasing pack.
We are such a nation of begrudgers, its a horrible trait.
As Brian Cody has said on many occasions The best team wins the All Ireland. Its that simple.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2684 - 14/02/2022 17:38:52    2400365

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree 100%. I'd always support any other county against 1 of the big 3. Even the Dubs; )"
Very often when teams form the 'next layer' come and win one they are welcomed to the top table, with open arms, however if they 'lose the run of themselves' and hang around, like a bad smell for the Aristocrats, and win a few more their name is mudd. We are the bad guys at the moment, even one of our own, who ran off to play with Tipp and has a nephew on the Limerick panel, cant stop writing to newspapers and cribbing about Limerick, at least according to him, getting away with a few illegal hand passes. As if a few throws our boys may have got away with, if punished, would have reversed the All Ireland Final result. What may be really ******* this buck off is that his own county has lowered the Blue and Gold four years in a row and six times in the last nine years.
I remember A Daly saying that when Clare won two in three years they were certain people who wished they' would **** off back to Doolin and their traditional music'. They also felt very hard done by Central Council in '98 as Galway did, after their treatment in '89, having had the cheek to win three All Irelands in the '80s
Then we had Spillane on accusing Tyrone of puke football, just because Kerry could not beat team. We had a number of games in the oughties in which our boys went to toe with them. Our experience from those days proved to us that Kerry condemning people for cynical play is pure and utter hypocrisy. The same applies to Meath and their bucking of the trends, especially when they beat Cork in two finals and when they were handing the Dubs their ***** on platters, and of course Offaly footballers when they made the breakthrough and had the audacity to disrupt the five in a row. Both these counties went on to win more than the requisite number of titles and the Landlords were not best pleased.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 14/02/2022 17:53:36    2400368

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Are you sure about that one :) Ask David Dempsey.

It happens sometimes, build a bridge."
Exactly-I was there in Thurles in '13, on that wet evening.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 14/02/2022 17:55:25    2400369

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Are you sure about that one :) Ask David Dempsey.

It happens sometimes, build a bridge."
Exactly-I was there in Thurles in '13, on that wet evening. Anyway Joe got a lot a bigger blackguarding from the Loughrea boys in his first county Final that he ever got from lads from other counties. Joe's family were incensed and with good reason, especially at the way the matter was dealt with by the Galway County Board.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 14/02/2022 17:59:02    2400371