Advertisement

National Hurling League 2022

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""if we were divers"

If? So are you saying that Limerick players do not dive?"
Every team has players that go down trying to con the ref but I don't think Limerick are the worst offenders. Limerick as we are all told consistently are a physical team and physical teams usually play the game with little diving. As a KK fan your great team had the same dirty and over physical BS thrown at it and were well able for the physical stuff. Tommy was dirty and Jackie(my favourite hurler at the time) was worse, was that true or just plain jealousy?

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 963 - 13/02/2022 20:06:12    2400197

Replying To Rolo2010:  "That the result could have been even worse if Waterford had their full contingent. Don't think I could have said it clearer."
You need to spell it out for some people.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2684 - 13/02/2022 20:28:21    2400201

Replying To katser:  "Great result for Galway Saturday I'm absolutely delighted we won "that" game even though We hadn't our full team out!
Huge game next in two weeks v Wexford....they looked fantastic today in the soft wet conditions in Ennis!! We will have to be at our best to beat them!!"
Yea

PatKeyes73 (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 13/02/2022 20:40:37    2400202

Replying To bloodyban:  "I'd rate Hegarty very highly indeed. He's unbelievably skillfull for a 6'5 inch man. Iv seen him all the way up, he's improved every year . He has alot of hurling to compliment his size ,aggression and power. I ll point out that he's a big game player scoring 0-7 and 2.02 in the last 2 all Ireland finals from play. The great Joe Canning never came close to those stats in All Ireland finals. Hegarty is a great player and I don't like the insinuating going on here. Its sad stuff.
Galway were good yesterday. Its not unusual for Galway to be extremely good and slick early season but then calve as the season goes on. That's Galway."
Calve as the season goes on? Calving season is much earlier in the year out in these parts.
There's plenty beef in both teams, but we both also have players capable of milking a free, as do most other counties. Time to moo-ve on from yesterday's game.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 3050 - 13/02/2022 20:43:40    2400203

Replying To Viking66:  "Dont think he was good enough in general play for the way you play the running and passing game 2 or 3 years ago."
Agree he made some direful passes yesterday.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 13/02/2022 21:10:33    2400212

Replying To Waveitwide:  "Ye calved for 40 odd years, don't rate Hegarty in the same league as Joe Canning, he did what he did at 15 years of age. You are on the crest of a wave at the moment and fair play to you,but like the Dublin footballers it won't last forever, enjoy it while it lasts."
Ah come on. Ye have lost out 20 out of 25 All Ireland Senior Finals finals. For a county with a very substantial hurling population, at least twice that of Limerick, and some really great under age and club teams nobody does 'calving' like ye.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 13/02/2022 21:32:29    2400216

Replying To tommy k:  "Galway are not going to calve anytime soon lol. Again you are one of those annoying Limerick fans that think 2018 was the year that hurling was invented but were very quiet for 45 years before that (and the odd 40 years before that) - a lot of "calving" there don't you think?"
Yerra come on Tommy Limerick have won All Irealnds in 8 different decades, and three different centuries. The county has produced three different teams that won more than won All Ireland, while Galway, with at least twice our population, have only had one really great side- that fine eighties team. Every one of what I would call the chasing pack have had their famines. We had one All Ireland in 78 seasons, but ye had one in 93 years. We sure as hell did not start hurling in 2018. And yes we will be down again- so what even Cork and Tipp had famines of their own. The 'most annoying' in what I said here is that it is the facts.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 13/02/2022 21:58:02    2400223

Replying To updwell:  "Every team has players that go down trying to con the ref but I don't think Limerick are the worst offenders. Limerick as we are all told consistently are a physical team and physical teams usually play the game with little diving. As a KK fan your great team had the same dirty and over physical BS thrown at it and were well able for the physical stuff. Tommy was dirty and Jackie(my favourite hurler at the time) was worse, was that true or just plain jealousy?"
Cut the BS and whataboutery.

I asked you a simple question to a remark you made about Limerick hurlers:

"if we [Limerick] were divers"

The 'if' implies that you are saying Limerick hurlers don't dive, is that true?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2961 - 13/02/2022 21:58:17    2400224

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Cut the BS and whataboutery.

"if we [Limerick
were divers"

The 'if' implies that you are saying Limerick hurlers don't dive, is that true?"]No Limerick don't dive, if they did Hegarty would have went down when Cooney barged into him before he got sent off and English could have went down when Mannion hit him before Mannion dived himself.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 963 - 14/02/2022 09:00:19    2400231

I doubt that it is a general feeling rather than one you see on social media, but the irrational hatred some county men have for Limerick is rather strange. They never seemed to really mind getting beaten year after year by those they consider - subconsciously maybe - to be their superiors.

When they lose to Limerick or Clare or god forbid Dublin it's like the roof has fallen in.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 14/02/2022 09:02:33    2400233

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yerra come on Tommy Limerick have won All Irealnds in 8 different decades, and three different centuries. The county has produced three different teams that won more than won All Ireland, while Galway, with at least twice our population, have only had one really great side- that fine eighties team. Every one of what I would call the chasing pack have had their famines. We had one All Ireland in 78 seasons, but ye had one in 93 years. We sure as hell did not start hurling in 2018. And yes we will be down again- so what even Cork and Tipp had famines of their own. The 'most annoying' in what I said here is that it is the facts."
Limerick city alone has a fair size of a population i.e. about 100,000 and in total with the county included has approx 220,000 (Galway has about 260,000) so this thing that ye are a small county is untrue hence the number of AI's ye have won is rather paltry. I am not saying Galway has a large number of AI's either and should have won a lot more I agree but we don't go around saying that we "calve" in especially when other county fans like Limerick say! When Galway hurlers were not going strong we had the footballers to fall back on including the great 3 in a row team of the 1960's - something Limerick don't have to worry too much about! Of course Galway has also loads of club hurling AI's i.e 11 (including 10 in over a 22 year period between 1992 and 2014) and 6 club football titles as well. Galway has also won 14 minor hurling titles since 1983 and 6 football titles as well as 10 U20/21 titles and 6 football titles. I think even with similar populations there is no doubt about who has been the most successful GAA county.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 14/02/2022 09:54:01    2400243

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Calve as the season goes on? Calving season is much earlier in the year out in these parts.
There's plenty beef in both teams, but we both also have players capable of milking a free, as do most other counties. Time to moo-ve on from yesterday's game."
Ah here ....most cows in the west wait there's a bit of grass to eat and that's probably mid April onwards!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 14/02/2022 09:56:20    2400244

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Cut the BS and whataboutery.

"if we [Limerick
were divers"

The 'if' implies that you are saying Limerick hurlers don't dive, is that true?"]Let it go, this is a non issue. No this Limerick team are not divers. Like everything else in sport and life there are exceptions and few absolutes.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 508 - 14/02/2022 10:09:44    2400249

Barneygrant I agree with you..the hatred for limerick in past few years is unbelievable..it seems it's all right for the likes of ourselves Clare,Offaly and Galway to win 1 all ireland in maybe 10/15 years but if it goes beyond that the knives are out..highlights programme again last night and Joanne cantwell talking about limerick possibly going over the edge physically..it was great to hear davy and Derek mc grath saying limerick shouldn't change..Barney ye in Dublin are facing the same,a lot hoping ye go away and don't come back..I don't agree with any of this..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2715 - 14/02/2022 10:12:11    2400251

Replying To updwell:  "The great JC dished out plenty in his hurling career and you can't argue with that and I'm someone who rate Canning above Shefflin all say."
I never saw JC strike a player with a hurley, never. I couldn't say the same about GH.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 14/02/2022 10:16:16    2400253

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I doubt that it is a general feeling rather than one you see on social media, but the irrational hatred some county men have for Limerick is rather strange. They never seemed to really mind getting beaten year after year by those they consider - subconsciously maybe - to be their superiors.

When they lose to Limerick or Clare or god forbid Dublin it's like the roof has fallen in."
Agree 100%. I'd always support any other county against 1 of the big 3. Even the Dubs; )

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20656 - 14/02/2022 10:18:40    2400255

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Tell me another wing forward who has scored 2.9 from play in two All Ireland finals and each against quality opposition. Every body is getting away with steps now and have been with years. I saw DJC take nine steps with the ball in his hand, in Croke Park about 30 years ago and then bury the ball in the back of the Wexford net. For years the rules are not applied and savvy players will always use that to their own advantage. Over forty years ago Christy Ring was telling his Cork charges that they would get away 'with more steps' with Leinster Refs. In the GAA the rules have always been there to be broken."
My initial response was to a poster who wrote this:
"Hegarty's luck ran out last night. A supremely talented hurler but the red mist descends too often and Donal Og summed it up well on the tv"
I replied: "I wouldn't rate Hegarty that highly" - meaning that I didn't think Hegarty was "a supremely talented hurler".
I would rate Cian Lynch a supremely talented hurler, in other words a special talent.
Hegarty is obviously a talented hurler but not a special talent imo. To put it simply I'd travel across the country to watch Cian Lynch or Joe Canning play but not Hegarty. Obviously Limerick supporters have a different view and that's understandable.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 14/02/2022 10:21:08    2400257

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Ah come on. Ye have lost out 20 out of 25 All Ireland Senior Finals finals. For a county with a very substantial hurling population, at least twice that of Limerick, and some really great under age and club teams nobody does 'calving' like ye."
Are you for real.You lost a league match on Saturday night,got a man sent off which he derserved,and now you are kniving Galway about all.As the finals they have lost.Hurling is a man's game ,take your beating like a man and stop talking rubbish.Here are some facts for you about folding in all Ireland finals,you lost every final from 73 to 2018 you were in,1994 you buckled like a chocolate girder in 10 minutes against Offaly,1996 you couldn't beat 14 man Wexford and you go on about us.Any final we lost was because we weren't good enough.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 14/02/2022 11:16:50    2400270

Replying To baire:  "I never saw JC strike a player with a hurley, never. I couldn't say the same about GH."
Are you sure about that one :) Ask David Dempsey.

It happens sometimes, build a bridge.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 508 - 14/02/2022 11:19:09    2400272

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Barneygrant I agree with you..the hatred for limerick in past few years is unbelievable..it seems it's all right for the likes of ourselves Clare,Offaly and Galway to win 1 all ireland in maybe 10/15 years but if it goes beyond that the knives are out..highlights programme again last night and Joanne cantwell talking about limerick possibly going over the edge physically..it was great to hear davy and Derek mc grath saying limerick shouldn't change..Barney ye in Dublin are facing the same,a lot hoping ye go away and don't come back..I don't agree with any of this.."
Kiely and the panel don't need much to give them a little extra edge this year to help the motivation but this will help nicely. When you are the dominant force in any sport finding certain factors to help give the team an extra bite is always good.

I think richie power summed it up very nicely on social media yesterday that anyone who knows or has played the game would agree with him 100% and let rte poke away. We all have seem what happens when the bear is poked.

Drumming up a bit of spice through certain narratives is what the media is all about and that's their job so you take what they give you and use it.

Interesting start to the league but the real stiff is still 9 weeks away.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 14/02/2022 11:19:26    2400273