National Hurling League 2022

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You made a reasoned and detailed points about Limerick hurlers in 2021, from your point of view.
Which by the way, I have no real opinion on, as I didn't see most of these matches.

But, what gets me is the response from all the Limerick supporters on here, it's like a cavalry charge.
Not one of them addressed the issues you raised, instead they ranted whataboutery.
You're wasting your time trying to reason with them.
They are in my opinion, barring the odd one, the most arrogant and obnoxious bunch from any county I've come across in the years I've been on here."
I'd have to disagree. I think Limerick supporters are very open and honest. They love physicality in their hurling and rugby. It's how they like the games played. Kilkenny supporters in general are extremely insular and backward. And by backwards I mean in 2014 when kilkenny won that great match in the rain..there were 2 middle aged men ,drunk and rowdy behind us. They had no teeth....in 2014!

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 21/02/2022 17:54:57    2401707

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You made a reasoned and detailed points about Limerick hurlers in 2021, from your point of view.
Which by the way, I have no real opinion on, as I didn't see most of these matches.

But, what gets me is the response from all the Limerick supporters on here, it's like a cavalry charge.
Not one of them addressed the issues you raised, instead they ranted whataboutery.
They are in my opinion, barring the odd one, the most arrogant and obnoxious bunch from any county I've come across in the years I've been on here."
It takes 1 to know 1.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 21/02/2022 18:18:35    2401716

Replying To countyman2022:  "I think I can speak safely that Wexico doesn't represent the thoughts of most Wexford people. Carrying on as if no Wexford man ever done anything wrong. Talk about biased."
fair play county man ...i'm seldom on here but when i read bk on the posts the one thing that strikes me is that there are a few wexford posters on here that dont work because to me all they do is spend the day on here posting messages......and to my fellow limerick supporters take no notice of the posters on here having a go at some limerick players ......i'm sure they would give anything to have a gillane hego or lynch playing for there own county.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1141 - 21/02/2022 20:02:46    2401727

Replying To Rockies:  "If Putin invades, he'll take one look at Limerick and retreat!!"
Well he wont run away from the Corkmen. Not much Rebel left in the Rebel county these days unfortunately!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15806 - 21/02/2022 20:27:28    2401730

Nasty individual with nasty comments.as usual

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 21/02/2022 21:06:27    2401737

Replying To Rockies:  "If Putin invades, he'll take one look at Limerick and retreat!!"
Like your boys in AI last year!

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 21/02/2022 21:07:18    2401739

I've never seen a cork team so feeble as the one that contested last year's final

PatKeyes73 (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 21/02/2022 22:02:50    2401750

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Thanks countyman. My wife is from Wecford and I am going there for well over forty years and I know well your attitude is way more yypical of that of the vast majority of Model County men's than Viking's."
What are you talking about OTM? Think you are confusing me with other posters read the the thread back again.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15806 - 22/02/2022 08:50:30    2401759

Replying To Viking66:  "What are you talking about OTM? Think you are confusing me with other posters read the the thread back again."
think this is a case of mistaken identity alright.. Your posts are very fair, especially when placed up against some of the drivel on here..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1106 - 22/02/2022 09:36:31    2401769

You, my friend, are a typing contradiction.

We are a lot of things in Limerick but obnoxious and arrogant are most definitely not one of them, there are exceptions of course, but the masses are the most down-to-earth, unpretentious group of people you are ever likely to meet and your own post is both extremely arrogant and obnoxious in itself.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 437 - 22/02/2022 10:21:09    2401788

Totally agree . Kilkenny people in my experience are a good bunch but extremely insular like the New Zealanders. Bot one sport places. Limerick people like lots of sports and I don't come across arrogance at all...once in a blue moon and its not liked . If some counties won 3 in 4 years...(no names mentioned...tipp..shush ) then we'd never hear the end of it

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 22/02/2022 10:46:22    2401800

Replying To bloodyban:  "Totally agree . Kilkenny people in my experience are a good bunch but extremely insular like the New Zealanders. Bot one sport places. Limerick people like lots of sports and I don't come across arrogance at all...once in a blue moon and its not liked . If some counties won 3 in 4 years...(no names mentioned...tipp..shush ) then we'd never hear the end of it"
Glass houses comes to mind....
Given we havent done this since the 60's you must be quite old to remember it! You havent been to the Tipp-Limerick games last season I assume? or maybe you're slightly hard of hearing?! :-D

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/02/2022 12:34:04    2401838

Replying To Fitzy01:  "You, my friend, are a typing contradiction.

We are a lot of things in Limerick but obnoxious and arrogant are most definitely not one of them, there are exceptions of course, but the masses are the most down-to-earth, unpretentious group of people you are ever likely to meet and your own post is both extremely arrogant and obnoxious in itself."
Had the pleasure of living down in limerick and found limerick people in general to be neither obnoxious or arrogant. That original post just stinks of plain old fashioned begrudgery.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2325 - 22/02/2022 13:42:37    2401868

Getting back to the league lads who wants to and who needs to win it The final is 2 weeks before championship and do teams want to be in it or would a win give a big boost to certain teams. Limerick and Clare look out of it with 2 defeats, Tipp and KK are trying to evolve and find their teams but can they do that and keep winning while Dublin, Waterford and Wexford would love to win it and are playing well. Do Galway push on for it and do Cork need silverware to help get over AI. I think I'd back Waterford with the fresh blood they have to add to the regulars.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 22/02/2022 13:52:04    2401876

Replying To updwell:  "Getting back to the league lads who wants to and who needs to win it The final is 2 weeks before championship and do teams want to be in it or would a win give a big boost to certain teams. Limerick and Clare look out of it with 2 defeats, Tipp and KK are trying to evolve and find their teams but can they do that and keep winning while Dublin, Waterford and Wexford would love to win it and are playing well. Do Galway push on for it and do Cork need silverware to help get over AI. I think I'd back Waterford with the fresh blood they have to add to the regulars."
I think any team must have some toughness to win. Viking66 referenced this also. Limerick certainly have the skill and did add steel like the great Kilkenny team. When that happens they are often given labels that are not correct. We used have the odd guy who would pull a bad stroke on someone but that is not toughness. Too often being the nice guys and finishing second or third. Maybe we have addressed that now and I am sure will be called names soon also. A lot has to go right for us to get over the line. Time will tell but there is great champions out there and a hungary bunch of others.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3046 - 22/02/2022 15:00:03    2401900

Upthewell I was thinking wins in league final would be very welcome for cork and wexford..I feel limerick,Galway and Waterford are looking to get themselves right for first round of championship..killkenny and tipp,probably just to blood more players but get to a league final,don't think they'd be bothered..I really don't know where Clare stand,if they get Kelly,Duggan and a few more back they'll be s tough but in ennis..please forgive me for not including Offaly,Laois and Antrim,if they get one win in league they'd probably be happy..the dubs I really don't know..everyone knows in Parnell very hard to beat and look to have a decent panel..might find it hard to keep it going all the way to April/May..I'll go for cork/Wexford league final..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2513 - 22/02/2022 15:17:43    2401911

Replying To bloodyban:  "I'd have to disagree. I think Limerick supporters are very open and honest. They love physicality in their hurling and rugby. It's how they like the games played. Kilkenny supporters in general are extremely insular and backward. And by backwards I mean in 2014 when kilkenny won that great match in the rain..there were 2 middle aged men ,drunk and rowdy behind us. They had no teeth....in 2014!"
Well, I wouldn't go as far as to call KK supporters 'backwards', because of one poster and 64 missing teeth. But I do find them boring. I've had craic and banter with fans from every county in the pub before or after a game; Cork are indeed a great crowd as has already been mentioned on this forum. I also find Kerry and Dublin supporters to be great fun and very witty. But you'd never see a KK man in a pub before or after a game in Croke Park. Especially not after a game. It's straight on the road home, win, lose or draw. Why is that? Is it the relatively short distance down the road? Or are they in general socially introverted?

That same lack of fun and passion can be seen in their players. People complain that Cluxton's victory speeches are mundane (I don't by the way). The KK man has been at that for years before Cluxton. Don't get me wrong. I love the way KK hurl. The way it should be played. Fan Larkin, Eddie Keher, Frank Cummins, Joe Hennessy and Tommy, JJ and Henry of a later generation, if there were any better in any other county, they are few and far between. Of course, the jury is still out on certain current Limerick players. I judge players on the totality of their careers, i.e., after retirement, and not while they're still playing. Some great players over the years, but overall, a very boring, lifeless lot; you'd knock more life outta that Fr. Stone in Fr. Ted than you would out of a KK fan.

As for Limerick, and I'm biased of course, since it is my father's county of birth, the Limerick supporters are a fine, noble, sporting crowd. It's a great county for sports, overall; horse-racing, greyhound racing, hurling, Gaelic football, rugby, rowing, and soccer. You name it. The Limerick people are mad into their sport and know their sports. And they have developed great facilities within the city and around the county for all of these sports that I mention, and even more… I'll forgive 'em that they seem to have done nothing for baseball (the finest of all sports). I must get on the bleeper to JP about that.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2230 - 22/02/2022 17:28:11    2401958

Waterford are getting players from a few different sources with Ballygunner lads top of the world, a top 10 hurler in de Burca coming back, the 2 Dalys will contribute something and Kiely with UL. That's possible 5 or 6 hurers who weren't there last year and they were probably the number 2 team in 2021. Cahill strikes me as a lad who has a team giving everything in every match and winning a league and then playing Tipp at home 2 weeks later could set them up for the year. Would Galway or Wexford like to be in a final 2 weeks before they clash in Wexford Park? Cork surely have to go all out for everything this year and playing weaker teams or being too smart like they were against Limerick in the league last year will only undermine their confidence even more.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 22/02/2022 17:35:51    2401961

Replying To updwell:  "Waterford are getting players from a few different sources with Ballygunner lads top of the world, a top 10 hurler in de Burca coming back, the 2 Dalys will contribute something and Kiely with UL. That's possible 5 or 6 hurers who weren't there last year and they were probably the number 2 team in 2021. Cahill strikes me as a lad who has a team giving everything in every match and winning a league and then playing Tipp at home 2 weeks later could set them up for the year. Would Galway or Wexford like to be in a final 2 weeks before they clash in Wexford Park? Cork surely have to go all out for everything this year and playing weaker teams or being too smart like they were against Limerick in the league last year will only undermine their confidence even more."
I have felt for the last few years we are a bit weak in the full back line. Now there are choices. Iarliath Daly will be back there and in today's game you have to have skilled hurlers who can move forward quickly. Callum Lyons has not played this year yet and will have to fight for a place. You are going to have Kenny, McNulty, Kieran Bennett, Conor Gleeson and maybe Catharach Daly and some others fighting for one or two spots. I am not Liam Cahill but would be trying Tadgh full back at this time of year in case Prunty gets hurt. Injuries will be a big factor for all the teams when the games start to come back to back. We are in with a shout but no bigger than anyone else chasing this Limerick machine. Incidentally I want to beat Limerick but put my fingers in my ears when I hear complaining about ye.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3046 - 22/02/2022 18:12:56    2401969

The only team Waterford have struggled with in champioship hurling over the last two seasons is Limerick. I dont think they have been good enough to beat them in any of the games but Cahill made big mistakes in all these games particualrly with the positioning of Callum Lyons - played at number 5 he'd put even Tom Morrissey on the back foot for a lot of the game. For me theres no one close to Waterford in terms of being the second best team around. They may not conquer Limerick this year but i think they might close that gap. As a Tipp man I feel we could beat other teams but i dont think we have the players to beat either Limerick or Waterford and i think the other counties are in the same boat. I actually think Waterford may have a stronger 25 than Limerick - albeit not a stronger 1-15, if that makes any sense!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/02/2022 15:26:03    2402090