National Hurling League 2022

I think I can speak safely that Wexico doesn't represent the thoughts of most Wexford people. Carrying on as if no Wexford man ever done anything wrong. Talk about biased.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 796 - 21/02/2022 13:50:22    2401595

Replying To Bon:  "He didn't help himself either though."
He played hurling the way he wanted to. I'm sure he doesnt have too many regrets.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15796 - 21/02/2022 14:44:11    2401618

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Correct.

99 was an Oscar winning performance from John troy.

00 was an opportunistic theatrical debut for one Martin comerford.

01 was silly, and perfectly justified.

He already had a reputation by then and it was easy to send him off."
Be handy if you got the years right, Martin Comerford was 2002. And was an absolute red card. Dirty stroke again.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 796 - 21/02/2022 15:26:10    2401640

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You made a reasoned and detailed points about Limerick hurlers in 2021, from your point of view.
Which by the way, I have no real opinion on, as I didn't see most of these matches.

But, what gets me is the response from all the Limerick supporters on here, it's like a cavalry charge.
Not one of them addressed the issues you raised, instead they ranted whataboutery.
You're wasting your time trying to reason with them.
They are in my opinion, barring the odd one, the most arrogant and obnoxious bunch from any county I've come across in the years I've been on here."
You forget that Limerick supporters have to return to Limerick, even after winning all Ireland. How can they be content?

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 21/02/2022 15:35:50    2401646

In fairness, I think the 2001 sending off, along with Tipp's Brian O'Meara, was a bit harsh on both players. What they were at was very common at the time and most players got away with a warning. O'Meara missed the All-Ireland final as a result and never got to play in one.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 604 - 21/02/2022 15:59:27    2401659

Replying To Rockies:  "You forget that Limerick supporters have to return to Limerick, even after winning all Ireland. How can they be content?"
Huh? Please explain Rocky

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 21/02/2022 16:05:56    2401667

Replying To Shocs07:  "Huh? Please explain Rocky"
If Putin invades, he'll take one look at Limerick and retreat!!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 21/02/2022 16:14:28    2401669

Replying To Rockies:  "You forget that Limerick supporters have to return to Limerick, even after winning all Ireland. How can they be content?"
Well it is good enough for a Blacktock man, who won an All Ireland in your famous '66 side, to be his abode for well over fifty years. I do hope I am not getting a bit too near the bone there.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4493 - 21/02/2022 16:15:50    2401670

Well it is good enough for a Blacktock man, who won an All Ireland in your famous '66 side, to be his abode for well over fifty years. I do hope I am not getting a bit too near the bone there. He actually lives in Monaleen, the next club to famed Ahane the club that won 11 All Ireland Medals on one day.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4493 - 21/02/2022 16:18:30    2401674

Replying To Rockies:  "If Putin invades, he'll take one look at Limerick and retreat!!"
Then again, might remind him of Siberia! He'll establish a few "gulags" and stick the Limerick supporters in there!! Ha ha. Joking of course!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 21/02/2022 16:22:29    2401676

Replying To countyman2022:  "I think I can speak safely that Wexico doesn't represent the thoughts of most Wexford people. Carrying on as if no Wexford man ever done anything wrong. Talk about biased."
Thanks countyman. My wife is from Wecford and I am going there for well over forty years and I know well your attitude is way more yypical of that of the vast majority of Model County men's than Viking's.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4493 - 21/02/2022 16:25:52    2401679

You hit the nail on the head, Doyler. Give a fellow a bad name and he will get put off for SFA

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4493 - 21/02/2022 16:32:15    2401682

Replying To wexico15:  "I don't think he was trying to discredit ye, if i remember rightly he mentioned how impressive ye have been and rightly so, i think the difference was Cooney didn't use their hurl like Hegarty, didn't like the Mannion incident either and thats getting too widespread across the board."
Well Cooney took his own team mate, Joe Canning, clean out of the 2020 All Ireland Final with a wild and reckless tackle. When was the last time a Limerick player put somebody in a Casualty Department?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4493 - 21/02/2022 16:38:42    2401685

Replying To countyman2022:  "Be handy if you got the years right, Martin Comerford was 2002. And was an absolute red card. Dirty stroke again."
Sound for that.

I am relying on memory alone which isn't always perfect.

His team made took the brunt of the blow and he was grand after it

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3592 - 21/02/2022 16:38:59    2401686

Replying To midlands:  "In fairness, I think the 2001 sending off, along with Tipp's Brian O'Meara, was a bit harsh on both players. What they were at was very common at the time and most players got away with a warning. O'Meara missed the All-Ireland final as a result and never got to play in one."
That's very true.

The fact it was happening all over the field and the ref had totally lost control meant he really had no option

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3592 - 21/02/2022 16:40:07    2401687

Replying To Rockies:  "Then again, might remind him of Siberia! He'll establish a few "gulags" and stick the Limerick supporters in there!! Ha ha. Joking of course!"
We'll see how quick your lads retreat at the weekend. Although saying that, JK might use the match as a chance for squad members to get a run!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 21/02/2022 16:47:33    2401690

Replying To baire:  "I remember listening to John Power on Radio 1 a good few years ago now. It was an enjoyable programme and he spoke well. He was asked at one stage who was his toughest opponent. He said that it was Liam Dunne. "Some of the stuff that went on between us wouldn't have been seen in the Congo", he said!"
John Power himself was at times reckless with hurley

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 987 - 21/02/2022 16:53:01    2401693

Its obvious a quiet week. Things should heat up again about hurling around Thursday. In the mean time lets try and keep our eye on the ball. Hypothetically. "Up the caman wielding men of Ireland".

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3046 - 21/02/2022 17:13:59    2401696

Replying To Rockies:  "If Putin invades, he'll take one look at Limerick and retreat!!"
Well neither Cromwell nor William of Orange were men enough to. go there before. He would be in good company with two other mighty despots

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4493 - 21/02/2022 17:45:56    2401704

Here come on now...? Limerick looks like a city. Its pretty. Cork is a fine county but the city looks awful. Looks like a huge Midlands town.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 21/02/2022 17:51:35    2401706