National Hurling League 2022

Replying To daveboy:  "Did you analyse every other team for borderline challenges from last year's championship out of interest or just Limerick?"
Seeing as nobody else is guilty of an obvious pattern like that it's impossible too, also little or nothing of the above was borderline, if Gillane's incident with Barrett was borderline I don't know what planet we're living on, people aren't going out of their way to find these incidents, I was really enjoying your game with Galway last week there was a melee on the sideline and a Limerick player decided to drive his hurl into an opponents face, that's hardly conspiracy theory stuff it's calling it as you see it, the only conspiracy theory I saw was a few Limerick posters claiming the incorrect call yesterday and Donal Og comments were linked.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2022 17:33:27    2401351

Replying To wexico15:  "The 70-80% remark has absolutely nothing to do with envy let's go through the specifics of the 2021 championship.

Munster Semi v Cork- Hegarty should have got a straight red just before half time for a dangerous head high challenge under the old stand in Thurles on Robert Downey.
Munster Final- Gillane and Flanagan should have got straight reds as well flagged at this stage
All ireland semi final- Casey got a debatable red v Waterford
All ireland final- had absolutely no impact on the result as it was long decided but Lynch should have a got red for dumping Tim O'Mahony head 1st on the ground, it unbelievably dangerous might not even be allowed in a MMA cage.

So there's 75% of games where ye should have got reds and 25% where ye got a debatable red.

Do ye expect a blind eye to be turned? Donal Og was 100% right when he said Hegarty is very loose with his hurl it's not a agenda it's the reality, to be fair nobody said he's just a hatchet man, he's a brilliant player in terms of skill, physicality, athleticism and savage workrate and deservedly got HOTY in 2020 so this notion that he needs to play on the edge is nonsense for me, it's the qualities I mentioned above that make him a brilliant player."
The O Mahony challenge on Lynch I think you are talking about Wexico? O Mahoneys momentum took him over Lynch- all Lynch did really was try to duck out of the way.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 20/02/2022 17:41:14    2401355

Replying To Canuck:  ""Kiely the word and Kiely the man " (in UL anyway). They say lightning doesn't strike twice. The Waterford lads have stuck it three times in a few weeks. Then Stephen Bennett blasts thunder five times in two games. I hope it doesn't run out.
On a serious note again these red cards need to be reviewed before issuing. Before anyone says the technology is not always there a guy in the crows nest on a schooner with a brass telescope would have got Cian Lynch's one correct. Also penalties reviewed. I defend refs but they need help. This one is a funny one as to what either of them saw or did not see. What did Horgan ask or tell the lines man. " You are not getting your steak and onions or travelling money if you don't agree with me." Every ref makes a mistake but Horgan has a shopping cart of them. I break into a cold sweat every time he is named to a game."
It couldn't have been any closer to the linesman, along with Nash and his fellow coaches roaring on the sideline at him.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2325 - 20/02/2022 17:42:29    2401356

Replying To daveboy:  "Did you analyse every other team for borderline challenges from last year's championship out of interest or just Limerick?"
only all ireland champions

leftback (Limerick) - Posts: 66 - 20/02/2022 17:54:17    2401363

Replying To wexico15:  "Seeing as nobody else is guilty of an obvious pattern like that it's impossible too, also little or nothing of the above was borderline, if Gillane's incident with Barrett was borderline I don't know what planet we're living on, people aren't going out of their way to find these incidents, I was really enjoying your game with Galway last week there was a melee on the sideline and a Limerick player decided to drive his hurl into an opponents face, that's hardly conspiracy theory stuff it's calling it as you see it, the only conspiracy theory I saw was a few Limerick posters claiming the incorrect call yesterday and Donal Og comments were linked."
Wexicio 15 did you ever analyse Liam Dunnes bordline incidents?

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 20/02/2022 18:09:35    2401365

Replying To wexico15:  "Seeing as nobody else is guilty of an obvious pattern like that it's impossible too, also little or nothing of the above was borderline, if Gillane's incident with Barrett was borderline I don't know what planet we're living on, people aren't going out of their way to find these incidents, I was really enjoying your game with Galway last week there was a melee on the sideline and a Limerick player decided to drive his hurl into an opponents face, that's hardly conspiracy theory stuff it's calling it as you see it, the only conspiracy theory I saw was a few Limerick posters claiming the incorrect call yesterday and Donal Og comments were linked."
We cant wait for the championship I'll leave it there. The rest is noise.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 18:11:52    2401367

Replying To Viking66:  "The O Mahony challenge on Lynch I think you are talking about Wexico? O Mahoneys momentum took him over Lynch- all Lynch did really was try to duck out of the way."
Dead right. Both Wexico and Baire will see never anything wrong with any other team except Limerick regardless of long they are 'analysing' games.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 20/02/2022 18:23:02    2401375

Replying To updwell:  "Just looking back at last year Barron punched Hegarty in AI semi final, Downey chopped down on Lynchs shoulder head area before the O Mahony incident and Dan McCormack got booked for swinging off Lynchs neck when some would get red for that so in 75% of games last year opposition players could have been sent off against us but weren't. If you were to analyse all championship matches you would find 2 or 3 incidents in every game where someone could have been sent off.
Back in 2019 Peter Casey was nearly decapitated by Ronan Maher in Munster final and wasn't sent off and Cillian Buckley committed a terrible head high tackle on Barry Nash without a red again-its the game and some days it goes for you an some days it goes against you."
Good post. If you actually were bothered you'd find it in every game from every county as you say because it's a brilliantly fast paced, physical game and always has been. Everyone loves the physicality of hurling. It's what makes the sport. The few borderline ones are nearly always provoked and some are just ill timed. All countys are at fault at times. Great game. let it be is my wish but when championship starts the refs tend to do the right thing

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 18:39:28    2401380

Jesus more red cards given out on this page than in 10 years of championship hurling.The game is starved of referees, good job the referees course is not ran here.Can you please park the red card, it's getting boring.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 20/02/2022 18:47:17    2401384

All I see is a jealous poster from a very unsuccessfull county with an envy led agenda. You don't address any if the challenges against Limerick players that ither posters pointed out. You basically say this is because Limerick have a pattern of foul play. Total balderdash. Its all irrelevant anyway. Theyve 3 All Irelands in 4 years with plenty more in the tank. They've made their place in history. I just find it disappointing that you've gone down this route. Winners win Wexico..Thats what will be remembered not some nothing challenge by someone at some time on the road to that victory.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 20/02/2022 18:47:54    2401386

Replying To updwell:  "Just looking back at last year Barron punched Hegarty in AI semi final, Downey chopped down on Lynchs shoulder head area before the O Mahony incident and Dan McCormack got booked for swinging off Lynchs neck when some would get red for that so in 75% of games last year opposition players could have been sent off against us but weren't. If you were to analyse all championship matches you would find 2 or 3 incidents in every game where someone could have been sent off.
Back in 2019 Peter Casey was nearly decapitated by Ronan Maher in Munster final and wasn't sent off and Cillian Buckley committed a terrible head high tackle on Barry Nash without a red again-its the game and some days it goes for you an some days it goes against you."
Fair point regards Barron but that's not really a pattern with Waterford for example, it's natural for supporters to defend their own team everyone is guilty of that but some of stuff this week has been crazy, the stuff claiming Donal ogs comments and yesterday's crazy decision were somehow linked were a bit off the spectrum for example, I think a few of ye need to learn to cope better with objective opinions and not be so defensive thinking the world is put to get ye.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2022 18:49:01    2401387

Replying To Viking66:  "The O Mahony challenge on Lynch I think you are talking about Wexico? O Mahoneys momentum took him over Lynch- all Lynch did really was try to duck out of the way."
I wouldn't agree O'Mahony started it alright grabbing Lynch around the neck/ throat but Lynch pulled mahony over him and landed on his neck, could have been very nasty.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2022 18:55:31    2401390

Replying To Clubgaa:  "Wexicio 15 did you ever analyse Liam Dunnes bordline incidents?"
Wexford poster says something about Limerick that isn't positive.

Limerick poster brings up Liam Dunne in response.

The most predictable, tired and boring nonsense that you'll see on this page.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2022 18:58:46    2401391

Replying To daveboy:  "We cant wait for the championship I'll leave it there. The rest is noise."
I agree but alot of posters from your county need to learn the difference between objective opinions and a witchunt, the world isn't out to get ye.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2022 18:59:56    2401395

Replying To Oldtourman:  "How is it when Eddie Brennan jerked be lol hurley into Limericks men's faces there was nobody from 'neutral' counties giving out morning noon and noght and when a few of us who did complaint were to shut and take our beating. CT"
Plenty of us down here knew exactly what that Kilkenny team were OTM. We saw more of them than anyone else. We just werent on forums.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 20/02/2022 19:00:33    2401396

Replying To bloodyban:  "All I see is a jealous poster from a very unsuccessfull county with an envy led agenda. You don't address any if the challenges against Limerick players that ither posters pointed out. You basically say this is because Limerick have a pattern of foul play. Total balderdash. Its all irrelevant anyway. Theyve 3 All Irelands in 4 years with plenty more in the tank. They've made their place in history. I just find it disappointing that you've gone down this route. Winners win Wexico..Thats what will be remembered not some nothing challenge by someone at some time on the road to that victory."
You know what they say, sore winners are as bad as sore losers....

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2022 19:06:47    2401398

Replying To wexico15:  "I wouldn't agree O'Mahony started it alright grabbing Lynch around the neck/ throat but Lynch pulled mahony over him and landed on his neck, could have been very nasty."
Lynch ducked down as I suppose would be an instinctive reaction to being caught around the neck. If Mahoney hadnt been attached to Lynchs neck when he ducked or hadnt been driving in behind him he wouldnt have ended up going over lynch. Theres a fair size difference between the two lads.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 20/02/2022 19:15:20    2401401

Look you can collect incidents of foul play that happened to and were done by all our counties. It is a fast game and at any time a spontaneous action occurs in the heat of competing for the ball. It should be punished but dose not make the player or his team dirty. The ones that I dislike are the cheap shots off the ball or when play is stop or softening up. The opponent is not expecting it and hurts more. Not than many compared to brilliant play. Limerick are no more guilty than anyone else and it is just winning bias often that gets them vilified. Ask Dublin or Kilkenny.
Keep the great game physical, competitive, fair, entertaining while giving us something to banter about and whine about.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3046 - 20/02/2022 19:16:35    2401402

Replying To wexico15:  "Wexford poster says something about Limerick that isn't positive.

Limerick poster brings up Liam Dunne in response.

The most predictable, tired and boring nonsense that you'll see on this page."
I really dont see that Limerick play any closer to the edge than Kilkenny did Wexico. And it's no coincidence that since first Liam then Davy took over our results improved an awful lot. Theres no team won an all Ireland by being nice on the field of play. Time to be nice is over a few pints afterwards.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 20/02/2022 19:23:55    2401406

Replying To Canuck:  "Look you can collect incidents of foul play that happened to and were done by all our counties. It is a fast game and at any time a spontaneous action occurs in the heat of competing for the ball. It should be punished but dose not make the player or his team dirty. The ones that I dislike are the cheap shots off the ball or when play is stop or softening up. The opponent is not expecting it and hurts more. Not than many compared to brilliant play. Limerick are no more guilty than anyone else and it is just winning bias often that gets them vilified. Ask Dublin or Kilkenny.
Keep the great game physical, competitive, fair, entertaining while giving us something to banter about and whine about."
Agree 100%.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 19:28:19    2401410