Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To RHF:  "O Connell back for another year I see along with presumably the other elder lemons. Doubt any are returning to sit on bench. Great servants no doubt but we will hopefully see a few of the younger lads push them hard for starting spots. Wouldn't worry about league it's the summer that will count.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1766 - 12/01/2024 12:13:59

The Monaghan All-Ireland final is normally the last day of the league with wild celebrations and pitch invasions."
What would you know about division 1 football? Only relegation

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 12/01/2024 18:22:02    2519891

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "nonsense"
With all due respects & an excellent poster you are.... Jack had generally a good champioship. Yes, he got his "customary" pts from frees... an art in itself, especially when good "left-footed" free takers are like hen's teeth at times.

He scored some lovely pts from play, laid off good ball. D'ont forget, I think he hit 9 pts v Clare in June in a MoN pedrformance.

Yes, I agree we could be getting more out of him, but he is always tightly marked, especially come championship. While he may lack a yard of pace in summer, he does make up with his "football brain" & his running of the ball, to create space for others, in very tight situations.

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 443 - 12/01/2024 19:37:40    2519901

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Lads and lassies, can one of you come onto the Cavan forum and rescue veterngaa! We're being cringed to death by him. We're no world beaters but we've beaten you lads a few times recently, not that we're claiming superiority over your current squad. Though, it's making our ridiculing of this poster too easy. Anyway, in the words of Tom Smith, can one of your senior posters take him and offer a bit of guidance."
I sympathise with you but suggest it's just better to ignore him.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 408 - 12/01/2024 21:22:28    2519915

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "What would you know about division 1 football? Only relegation"
Come on now. The theory that Monaghan, over the last few decades, have been far superior to Cavan is based purely on league division. In the last 30 years, Monaghan have won two Ulster titles, the same number as Cavan have. Also, despite playing in Division one for lots of years, you have only ever won one league title. Yes, you have a good squad at the moment but don't be throwing lines like the above out there. You've survived in division one on many occasions by the skin of your teeth. The above comment is akin to the likes of Brentford looking down on Leeds because they've survived a few years in the Premier league.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 177 - 12/01/2024 22:15:55    2519926

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "With all due respects & an excellent poster you are.... Jack had generally a good champioship. Yes, he got his "customary" pts from frees... an art in itself, especially when good "left-footed" free takers are like hen's teeth at times.

He scored some lovely pts from play, laid off good ball. D'ont forget, I think he hit 9 pts v Clare in June in a MoN pedrformance.

Yes, I agree we could be getting more out of him, but he is always tightly marked, especially come championship. While he may lack a yard of pace in summer, he does make up with his "football brain" & his running of the ball, to create space for others, in very tight situations."
9 points against Clare? Is that all you have?

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 12/01/2024 22:32:26    2519927

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Come on now. The theory that Monaghan, over the last few decades, have been far superior to Cavan is based purely on league division. In the last 30 years, Monaghan have won two Ulster titles, the same number as Cavan have. Also, despite playing in Division one for lots of years, you have only ever won one league title. Yes, you have a good squad at the moment but don't be throwing lines like the above out there. You've survived in division one on many occasions by the skin of your teeth. The above comment is akin to the likes of Brentford looking down on Leeds because they've survived a few years in the Premier league."
Ye just ignore Monaghan reaching the last 8 of the all Ireland 6 times in the last 10 years. How many times has Cavan gone that deep in that time period?

monman91 (Monaghan) - Posts: 51 - 12/01/2024 22:47:55    2519929

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "What would you know about division 1 football? Only relegation"
You will know all about relegation yourselves in a few months….!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3818 - 12/01/2024 23:38:40    2519936

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Come on now. The theory that Monaghan, over the last few decades, have been far superior to Cavan is based purely on league division. In the last 30 years, Monaghan have won two Ulster titles, the same number as Cavan have. Also, despite playing in Division one for lots of years, you have only ever won one league title. Yes, you have a good squad at the moment but don't be throwing lines like the above out there. You've survived in division one on many occasions by the skin of your teeth. The above comment is akin to the likes of Brentford looking down on Leeds because they've survived a few years in the Premier league."
Pure delusion to think Cavan have been anywhere near Monaghans level recently, we've been a top 8 team the last 10 years while yous have been in division 3 and 4..

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 44 - 13/01/2024 00:20:51    2519938

Replying To monman91:  "Ye just ignore Monaghan reaching the last 8 of the all Ireland 6 times in the last 10 years. How many times has Cavan gone that deep in that time period?"
The last 8, surviving in division 1, moral victories. The simple fact is that neither of us have won much in the last 30 years. In these years, we've both won two Ulster titles and played in two All Ireland semi finals. Beating div 3 and 4 teams to get to the last 8 is nothing to brag about. Titles are what matters. Neither of us are awash with them.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 177 - 13/01/2024 09:13:38    2519950

This argument is embarrassing for both sides. Tyrone folk would have a good laugh at ye.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1201 - 13/01/2024 09:19:01    2519951

Replying To Farney2022:  "Pure delusion to think Cavan have been anywhere near Monaghans level recently, we've been a top 8 team the last 10 years while yous have been in division 3 and 4.."
But still managed to lose to Cavan in the Championship….. Monaghan always feel inferior when they play Cavan…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3818 - 13/01/2024 10:46:17    2519958

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "The last 8, surviving in division 1, moral victories. The simple fact is that neither of us have won much in the last 30 years. In these years, we've both won two Ulster titles and played in two All Ireland semi finals. Beating div 3 and 4 teams to get to the last 8 is nothing to brag about. Titles are what matters. Neither of us are awash with them."
By your rational Leeds have done aswell as Arsenal over the last ten years.
The reality is that over the last ten years 4 or 5 teams have been ahead of everyone else. Monaghan has been in the chasing pack behind these teams. Cavan on the other hand has been a long way off. So much so they didn't even qualify for the Sam Maguire last year.

monman91 (Monaghan) - Posts: 51 - 13/01/2024 11:23:15    2519967

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "This argument is embarrassing for both sides. Tyrone folk would have a good laugh at ye."
Absolutely correct, as I've pointed out above. Neither of us are world beaters. It's great to see that the old flames of rivalry still burn, all the same. Anyway, our incursion onto your page was to ask you lot to collect veterngaa from our own, before he cringes us to death. For some reason, we're living rent free in his house/head. I'm sure we'll be visiting each other before El Classico in three months time.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 177 - 13/01/2024 11:31:51    2519968

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "The last 8, surviving in division 1, moral victories. The simple fact is that neither of us have won much in the last 30 years. In these years, we've both won two Ulster titles and played in two All Ireland semi finals. Beating div 3 and 4 teams to get to the last 8 is nothing to brag about. Titles are what matters. Neither of us are awash with them."
So what is the argument here? That Cavan are better than Monaghan?

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 13/01/2024 12:02:04    2519970

Eh, sorry to butt in on an argument but could anyone tell me if parking is allowed along the N53 during matches in Blaney? And if not, where is recommended? Thanks in advance.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 63 - 13/01/2024 12:49:06    2519975

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Absolutely correct, as I've pointed out above. Neither of us are world beaters. It's great to see that the old flames of rivalry still burn, all the same. Anyway, our incursion onto your page was to ask you lot to collect veterngaa from our own, before he cringes us to death. For some reason, we're living rent free in his house/head. I'm sure we'll be visiting each other before El Classico in three months time."
The same is the case with Bernardo. A Cavan supporter calling himself Monaghan. At this stage we just ignore his postings. Do likewise with veterngaa ! Best of luck in division 2.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 408 - 13/01/2024 16:14:42    2520015

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "The same is the case with Bernardo. A Cavan supporter calling himself Monaghan. At this stage we just ignore his postings. Do likewise with veterngaa ! Best of luck in division 2."
Fair post Shelbourne 1…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3818 - 13/01/2024 18:04:48    2520032

Replying To veterngaa:  "So what is the argument here? That Cavan are better than Monaghan?"
Like two bald men fighting over a comb

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 436 - 13/01/2024 18:09:09    2520033

The fact that McManus and Hughes are committing to the cause again this year is a trophy in itself!

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 14/01/2024 09:36:45    2520085

Replying To greatpoint:  "Like two bald men fighting over a comb"
The most compelling El Classicos have always been when these two have nothing much else to fight for.
Then it's purely about beating the other, with no pretence of any greater ambitions. Throw in a horrible wet day and plenty of bad football and we are all set for the classic nobody else can understand

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1201 - 14/01/2024 12:01:59    2520099