Monaghan GAA thread

Brutal stuff in first 15 mins. Our fringe players are mediocre

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 10/01/2024 19:45:20    2519472

No surprise when the Scotstown lads came on the game changes

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 10/01/2024 20:45:54    2519483

Not an impressive performance, should of been expected to win that group easily. Gonna need to bring bigger names in for semis.

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 11/01/2024 08:06:34    2519526

Bit of a mixed bag of a performance against Fermanagh. The first 15 minutes were awful. But they showed some resilience and some drive to go on and win. Hopefully the injuries to Irwin and McCarron aren't too bad. Irwin's looked like a broken nose injury and McCarron was concussion after a very late hit. Over the hour, Monaghan were the more likely team to score a goal with some quick moving of the ball through the hands. The panel was limited due to lads involved with Sigerson action so no Garland, McPhillips, Jones etc

McBennett was again positive in what he tried and worth getting a few games during the league. He had a couple of bad misses in first half but took his score well and did good work for setting up another point. O'Hanlon was top class and often the player making the break or overlap to create the chances. Contibret's Hughes once again failed to seize the opportunity. Walker was jittery in his first start. McDonnell in goals did well and with Beggan gone for some of the league, McDonnell will get his chance. Loughran was solid defensively but looked hesitant in position closer to opposition goal. The modern game needs defenders who are very comfortable on the ball and not just recycling backwards/sidewards all the time.

Overall I'd imagine Vinny will be happy that some new players for the league will be emerging.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 178 - 11/01/2024 08:46:38    2519534

Replying To veterngaa:  "No surprise when the Scotstown lads came on the game changes"
I don't know what game you were watching, bar McCarthy who is pure quality the other scotstown/currin lads had no impact on the game….

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 570 - 11/01/2024 08:57:10    2519535

Replying To mick2007:  "I don't know what game you were watching, bar McCarthy who is pure quality the other scotstown/currin lads had no impact on the game…."
McCarville was good when he came on .. better than Francis hughes who should never be on the panel. McCarron won the free at the end.

Just stop with your childish remarks. Everyone on here is cringing with your scotstown/currin remarks

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 11/01/2024 10:43:16    2519563

Replying To veterngaa:  "McCarville was good when he came on .. better than Francis hughes who should never be on the panel. McCarron won the free at the end.

Just stop with your childish remarks. Everyone on here is cringing with your scotstown/currin remarks"
I find the Currin jibes quite funny. Mainly, I find it funny that they appear to rattle you every time he mentions it.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 11/01/2024 11:09:16    2519569

Replying To veterngaa:  "McCarville was good when he came on .. better than Francis hughes who should never be on the panel. McCarron won the free at the end.

Just stop with your childish remarks. Everyone on here is cringing with your scotstown/currin remarks"
Harsh thing to say about any player who has been dogging it out in a cold Cloghan this last number of weeks/months.

Good McKenna cup campaign for Monaghan. Good game time into some legs. Good to see new faces. McNulty, Walker, Mooney.

McBennett been good in both games along with Mooney, Loughran, Lavelle and McDonnell in goals. Kicked a great point from play last night.
I see O Connell and D Hughes have signed up for another year. I believe Carey is gone due to traveling.

Any word on K Hughes, McManus, Boyle, Wylie?

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 289 - 11/01/2024 11:17:22    2519570

Thought McBennet has been impressive in the 2 games, he puts himself about and can score from distance

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 44 - 11/01/2024 11:53:53    2519575

Replying To countymonaghan:  "Harsh thing to say about any player who has been dogging it out in a cold Cloghan this last number of weeks/months.

Good McKenna cup campaign for Monaghan. Good game time into some legs. Good to see new faces. McNulty, Walker, Mooney.

McBennett been good in both games along with Mooney, Loughran, Lavelle and McDonnell in goals. Kicked a great point from play last night.
I see O Connell and D Hughes have signed up for another year. I believe Carey is gone due to traveling.

Any word on K Hughes, McManus, Boyle, Wylie?"
Not really , county football isn't about that. You are good enough or not.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 11/01/2024 12:00:22    2519578

Replying To HB245:  "I find the Currin jibes quite funny. Mainly, I find it funny that they appear to rattle you every time he mentions it."
It's high stool chat really. This is a grown man giving jibes because he is bitter. Everyone else has moved on

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 11/01/2024 12:01:15    2519580

Replying To Farney2022:  "Thought McBennet has been impressive in the 2 games, he puts himself about and can score from distance"
Are you from doohamlet? He's scored a point in 2 games..

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 11/01/2024 12:52:45    2519590

Replying To veterngaa:  "Are you from doohamlet? He's scored a point in 2 games.."
forgot its a bad thing when a player scores

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 289 - 11/01/2024 13:11:24    2519599

Replying To veterngaa:  "It's high stool chat really. This is a grown man giving jibes because he is bitter. Everyone else has moved on"
You would know all bout a high stool in moynas….I'm far from bitter believe me thankfully I've enough going on in life that hoganstand and moynas isn't my life unlike some…what currin or scotstown do is of zero relevance to me…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 570 - 11/01/2024 13:26:49    2519604

Replying To countymonaghan:  "forgot its a bad thing when a player scores"
I take it you weren't at either of the games.

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 44 - 11/01/2024 13:29:07    2519605

Replying To veterngaa:  "Are you from doohamlet? He's scored a point in 2 games.."
He has been ok, nothing to write home about, hes been here before and fell off. He will be given a chance in the league probably but dont know if he is Div 1 standard. He missed 2 easy scores last night too that in Div 1 you have to be getting, that could be the difference in him making it or not.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 410 - 11/01/2024 13:41:33    2519610

Replying To monaghanmad:  "He has been ok, nothing to write home about, hes been here before and fell off. He will be given a chance in the league probably but dont know if he is Div 1 standard. He missed 2 easy scores last night too that in Div 1 you have to be getting, that could be the difference in him making it or not."
Exactly. Too many men here refreshing Twitter and making opinions

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 11/01/2024 15:24:29    2519644

Replying To mick2007:  "You would know all bout a high stool in moynas….I'm far from bitter believe me thankfully I've enough going on in life that hoganstand and moynas isn't my life unlike some…what currin or scotstown do is of zero relevance to me…"
I don't live there so I wouldn't know tbh. Your posts suggest otherwise,

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 750 - 11/01/2024 15:25:04    2519645

Mc Carron is ok this time of the year but when the ground gets hard and the game is more about speed he never turns up.

Monaghan2011 (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 11/01/2024 17:03:18    2519667

Replying To veterngaa:  "I don't live there so I wouldn't know tbh. Your posts suggest otherwise,"
My feelings on the matter are in sync with the general feeling around the county outside of the deluded scotstown folk like yourself.. it still couldn't bring yous an ulster but then again what's another year……as far away as ever….

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 570 - 11/01/2024 18:28:35    2519683