Monaghan GAA thread

will done monaghan some achievement to keep your status in division one year after year with what seems to be wins in last game each year by narrowest of margins, A great example to all smaller counties of how to compete at the highest level. We will still tigten ye in the championship if out paths cross but well done today

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 27/03/2022 16:29:44    2407367

Cracking result and performance today against all the odds esp with being down a few lads..if only every game was as entertaining as that.. Jack was immense as was the whole team.. drew rolled back the years is well.. being what he is Banty will always have his critics but on this occasion well done to the management team..we will hammer down and 1 big performance we will be in an ulster final again where goes knows our journey could take us as the only 2 teams in the running for Sam are kerry and Mayo…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 27/03/2022 16:35:38    2407369

Massive credit to Banty. No McManus, no Bannigan, no Kieran Duffy, no problem. Banty has kept us in Division 1 twice now and reached an Ulster Final (losing by a point to the eventual All Ireland winners).
No manager in Ireland would have achieved any more with this group of players in that space of time.
Make your apology as loud as the disrespect was.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 27/03/2022 16:42:42    2407374

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Judging by the posts over the last few weeks there'll be a lot of disappointed Monaghan posters after that result.

Well done the Monaghan team."
You'd be surprised, all the belittlers will still find something to give out about. Hon the Farney, but the bigger prize still awaits. Won the game but had a lot of mistakes/sloppy plays. Still need improvement but the fight and the passion is definitely there.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 27/03/2022 16:51:26    2407380

Replying To HB245:  "Massive credit to Banty. No McManus, no Bannigan, no Kieran Duffy, no problem. Banty has kept us in Division 1 twice now and reached an Ulster Final (losing by a point to the eventual All Ireland winners).
No manager in Ireland would have achieved any more with this group of players in that space of time.
Make your apology as loud as the disrespect was."
7 wins out of 21/22 league and championship games in his 2nd coming.. facts are facts.. we have serious talent coming through that needs nurtured and if you think he's the man to bring us forward king term well plz stop the lights…it's the way he got back in with McEntee "suddenly" dropping out of the race that leaves a sour taste in my mouth as it does people who know what I'm referring to…any today is a great day to be a monaghan supporter so no point getting into petty argument today..

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 27/03/2022 17:08:05    2407390

That's the type of performance that has kept Monaghan in Div1 for 9 years, Only Kerry have been there longer than us from next year. Had to get that in.
First off, if any neutral or the powers within the GAA want to see how a referee can positively influence a game they should look at this game. I thought the penalty was harsh, maybe I'm biased there, but his handling of the game was excellent.
He stamped out any off the ball dragging and pulling by both teams early and consistently. Everyone knew they were not going to get away with it, resulting in some great forward play and excellent scores. He also let the game flow whenever possible. Hats off to that Cavan man

Thought Monaghan were 4 or 5 points the better team today and anyone who says division 1 football is not important should have a look at what it meant to the team, management and supporters at the end. For the likes of Mohan, Woods, Lavelle, Mc Elearney, Mulligan and others to get experience at this level is crucial to maintain our top table status at the expense of the so called traditional power houses, just as it has been for those that went before.
Mohan and Mc Carron were an excellent partnership upfront, I certainly wasn't expecting that one, Kearns back to his best, Mc Anespie too was very good, in truth they were all up for it as a team, and it has to be said the structure was good. Play players in their correct positions {please} and we always have a chance and everyone will be on board.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/03/2022 17:11:58    2407394

Replying To Yondu:  "Bringing Banty back made zero sense. Surely the county board could have selected a more like for like replacement for O'Rourke whom took on a Div 3 Monaghan team and left them behind as established division 1 team."
Fair play to Monghan , i suppose its all Bantys fault

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 27/03/2022 17:49:25    2407424

Great win today and well deserved.
In truth though they very nearly let it slip. A self inflicted mistake lead directly to the penalty at a point when Monaghan should have been 4 or 5 up. Overall though Monaghan deserved it today. It was good to see them back on form against a top team.

The players put in a huge shift and having a few big men back in team (Mohan, Kearns) means that Monaghan will be competative in the physical stakes and helps wear the opposition down.

Today, it was all about the players and what they bring. I wouldn't give much credit to Banty for this though but I'm sure he'll take it anyway. The fist pumping to the crowd at end was unedifying. This is a league game to avoid relegation, not a league final or provincial final. It was very important for Monaghan to win, but mainly for the team's morale and how it would set them up for the rest of the season.

As other posters have pointed out the manager's overall record is poor. MOR won an Ulster title in his 1st season and had 2 Ulster titles and an Ulster final in his first 3 years, as well as Monaghan's first championship win at Croke Park etc etc. The current setup will need a time machine to catch that record up. The talent may be there, it needs to be handled properly.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 27/03/2022 17:57:13    2407438

Replying To HB245:  "Massive credit to Banty. No McManus, no Bannigan, no Kieran Duffy, no problem. Banty has kept us in Division 1 twice now and reached an Ulster Final (losing by a point to the eventual All Ireland winners).
Make your apology as loud as the disrespect was."
Massive credit to the players.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 27/03/2022 18:38:45    2407467

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "Great win today and well deserved.
In truth though they very nearly let it slip. A self inflicted mistake lead directly to the penalty at a point when Monaghan should have been 4 or 5 up. Overall though Monaghan deserved it today. It was good to see them back on form against a top team.

The players put in a huge shift and having a few big men back in team (Mohan, Kearns) means that Monaghan will be competative in the physical stakes and helps wear the opposition down.

Today, it was all about the players and what they bring. I wouldn't give much credit to Banty for this though but I'm sure he'll take it anyway. The fist pumping to the crowd at end was unedifying. This is a league game to avoid relegation, not a league final or provincial final. It was very important for Monaghan to win, but mainly for the team's morale and how it would set them up for the rest of the season.

As other posters have pointed out the manager's overall record is poor. MOR won an Ulster title in his 1st season and had 2 Ulster titles and an Ulster final in his first 3 years, as well as Monaghan's first championship win at Croke Park etc etc. The current setup will need a time machine to catch that record up. The talent may be there, it needs to be handled properly."
Not fair to compare MOR and Banty's first couple of years.
MOR had the best forward in the country in his prime, Darren Hughes, Dessie Mone, Vinny, Drew, Jap all at the peak of their powers. All true Monaghan greats. The players Banty has at his disposal right now are not of the quality that MOR had.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 27/03/2022 19:13:28    2407495

Replying To HB245:  "Not fair to compare MOR and Banty's first couple of years.
MOR had the best forward in the country in his prime, Darren Hughes, Dessie Mone, Vinny, Drew, Jap all at the peak of their powers. All true Monaghan greats. The players Banty has at his disposal right now are not of the quality that MOR had."
Monaghan were in division 3 when Malachy O'Rourke started. A lot of those players were relegated under Eamonn McEneaney. They threw away a big lead against Down in a winnable Ulster semi-final in 2012. If he'd continued on I don't think they'd have progressed the way they did. Were they great players under Eamonn McEnaney having gone to division 3? We know they are great players now because of what they went on to achieve. After the bad Ulster final defeat in 2010 (under Banty) the team died a bit and McEneaney could not turn it around. The overall approach under Banty and McEneaney was not fit for the top teams.

A new manager came in, turned the team around, the players responded and they went on to some success. The same players, different manager.

You only know afterwards who the great players are, so you can't know if Banty hasn't the players. But good managers will always improve a team and he did manage a team that had plenty of talent between 2007 and 2010 and the return was disappointing enough. Without a doubt, Banty brought a lot back to Monaghan football and contributed to where the team is now. But I think he has had his day like all managers eventually and I think it's fair enough to point out that some of the sideline decisions have been questionable and that we are in year 3 of this management but it still feels like day one sometimes. Thinking back to Cavan in 2020 freezes my blood.

I'm hoping that Monaghan rip up the ulster championship this year and I'll be more than happy if they do.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 27/03/2022 20:59:21    2407557

Well done Monaghan, a famous win, surprised to see the Dubs go down but they will bounce straight back no doubt.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 27/03/2022 21:21:09    2407575

Huge win for monaghan and credit to banty, he worked his passion today. He can have that one given the players he was missing. Its some record to be in that division from 2015. Monaghan owed the dubs that one from 17 and 20.
Anyway for me, championship matters most. We haven't hit any championship heights since 2018, half a tyrone team sent us packing last year. We will see if this team can dig out an ulster title or is that there lot today like in years gone by. League counts for damn all.
The jury remains still out by all accounts but id be delighted to be proven wrong. Some show by drew Wylie today, a veteran but a warrior of monaghan football.

222 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 27/03/2022 21:29:28    2407579

Amazing performance.
Delighted for Jack, some huge performances across the panel.
Hon the boys.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 27/03/2022 21:48:34    2407590

Great performance
Banty said at start of thr year he wanted to build a squad of 30 men like Tyrone did last year. And yesterday we seen that squad. Missing 4 or 5 starters we were able to take in a few lads with limited game time and they delivered. Karl, finty, drew, Darren realistically only have 35/45 mins in the legs and then its about the young lads coming in to deliver then.

The power of some of your young men like mohan, woods, kearns, ward and lavelle is a testament to the underage S and C.

Unlike 2007 and 2010 where we had small men around the middle, we now have big men who won't get bullied. I would have loved to seen us go route one into mohan and kieran Hughes in the full forward line in one game in the league, its a great option to have.

And finally we seen Rory go long with the kickouts and we reaped the rewards as was seen with the last one to win the game.

We are building to the future and being in division 1 will only cement a successful future. In 5 years time we will have a spine of hanratty, ward, kearns, woods, mohan, mulligan, mc carthy. The longer these men play in division 1 the more likely we are to stay at the top long term.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 28/03/2022 10:50:01    2407662

I think im on the wrong forum ,last week banty was bringing ye dwn to d3 !!ha ha

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 28/03/2022 11:17:00    2407681

Replying To HB245:  "Not fair to compare MOR and Banty's first couple of years.
MOR had the best forward in the country in his prime, Darren Hughes, Dessie Mone, Vinny, Drew, Jap all at the peak of their powers. All true Monaghan greats. The players Banty has at his disposal right now are not of the quality that MOR had."
Banty had all of those players....and more. Several of them at or near prime levels. Conor McManus wasnt at his best under Banty....no question there but he Tommy Freeman in his prime. To say Finlay and Vinny Corey were not at or near their best in 2010 is ridiculous. Corey was our captain then....Finlay was frequently putting in MoM performances....he was called up to the international rules team in 2008.

Banty is lacking tactically, always had been.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 28/03/2022 11:19:49    2407683

Congrats on the win yesterday lads fully deserved.

Thanks for the great hospitality down in Clones, great day and always a pleasure.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/03/2022 11:50:02    2407693

Fantastic performance by Monaghan yesterday, it was a class game to watch and its a credit to the Monaghan players who just never gave up and snatched it at the very end.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 28/03/2022 12:29:24    2407719

Great performance yesterday should won by more. Never doubted the application of this team but were struggling badly for form this year so yesterday was huge shot in arm. McCarron loves playing Dublin and when he is playing like he did yesterday there is noone better. He has just been plagued by injuries so hopefully gets a run now. As for Summer ahead the target has to be to get back to an ulster final and go a step further than last year. Yesterday was in some respects the easy part as team was being written off and traditionally monaghan at their most dangerous in that scenario. When that script is flipped and there is expectation going into a big game is when team doesn't perform. Is the team capable of delivering against a tyrone on the big day. Absolutely but there is a psychological barrier to overcome there and ambition needed to move to the next level. However that is for another day and yesterday was a very satisfying one for Monaghan football.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 28/03/2022 12:30:12    2407720