Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Shocking post!

Pure delusion, I just hope for Monaghan's sake you don't hold a position of substance at club or county level..

As for this "we almost beat Tyrone, the all Ireland champions" that can be said for 99% of ulster championship games over the past decade! If my granny had wheels she'd be a bike."
Well the only shocking thing about my post last week was the derision it seemed to attract.. This team can show a raw display of power and skill on their day, and while we have bad days the team can pull together and give us amazing days like yesterday. Fair dues to the Management on yesterdays display, they got a lot of calls right.. McCarthy was outstanding and was only rivalled by Drew on the impact they had on the defence which was a brave call after the previous weeks display. To win that game without so many of the strongest players was sensational. I saw a team play for each other and put everything on the line. I would have questioned why a few of the older guys were still on the panel but you saw the impact they had when we lost so many starting players, This was a team united unlike what we have been told here by others.. There was some odd calls by the management team but hopefully they will have learned from some of the bad decisions they made. A Special mention has to go to Bomber Mohan, he scared the life out of Dublin, they had 2,3 and even 4 men mark him at one stage.. He was something special, I love his directness and will to take the ball on and go at Dublin. If we can get Sean Jones back on the pitch we will have a serious shot at Ulster this year, What staying in Division One does is that it shows that we can take on and beat any county in the country.. That's why we need to stay there and hopefully we can continue this, but who knows!! Thanks to the team for providing all the Monaghan Mammys the best present they could have had yesterday..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 28/03/2022 13:27:27    2407751

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats on the win yesterday lads fully deserved.

Thanks for the great hospitality down in Clones, great day and always a pleasure."
I have to say fair play to Dubz team and supporters very gracious in defeat and was pleasure sitting among them in the Clones sunshine. You will re group and remain a force to be reckoned with, your summer is not over.. Thanks for the memories we admired ye from afar.

barroboys (Louth) - Posts: 97 - 28/03/2022 13:59:00    2407762

Jaysus lads, some amount of negativity here given we just had a big result. Look, Banty wouldn't have been my first choice when he came back in as manager, but let's leave all that for a day or two at least.

As others said, it was very encouraging for us to pull out that performance and result given the raft of changes we had to make late on. Over the course of the league we had many young lads step up and perform, who were either only onto the panel, or only a year or two in. Mohan, Woods, Lavelle, Jones etc. For McManus to effectively not feature at all, and us able to put up 3-13 and get over some adversity at the end was also encouraging - Jack shows the kind of performance we all know he's capable of, it's just a pity he's been dogged by injury so much.

Like I say, everything is not rosy but there are still positives we can take, and why not focus on those as we go into a very open Ulster championship. It won't be easy, but it's there to be taken by a number of counties who will fancy their chances.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 28/03/2022 14:29:05    2407773

People celebrating and congratulating banty. For what ? Remaining in division 1 by the skin of our teeth and relying on other results to keep us there.
That was a terrible league campaign and very little positives to take from it. Gary Mohan being 1 of them.
That win yesterday was down to the players grit.
Not the Banty.

farney_exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 28/03/2022 18:10:53    2407861

Brilliant performance yesterday from both the players and management. The players were united, determined and displayed great skill throughout. The management got the selection and the substitutions right. The fact that we went through the campaign without losing to any of the Ulster teams gives me hope for the championship. My main concern is that we sail so close to the wind all the time. We're so often within a 1 point margin of a result. And ultimately that can go against you, as it did against Tyrone in the Ulster final last year. That's for another day though. For now we should enjoy what was a memorable day in Clones. Hon the Farney.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 28/03/2022 20:52:25    2407898

Replying To farney_exile:  "People celebrating and congratulating banty. For what ? Remaining in division 1 by the skin of our teeth and relying on other results to keep us there.
That was a terrible league campaign and very little positives to take from it. Gary Mohan being 1 of them.
Not the Banty."
Couldn't agree more , yesterday was the players showing grit , Vinny probably the only one on the line that would have any effect on what the players are doing . McEneaney hasn't a clue . Great to see what the players done yesterday .Gary Mohan is getting there .

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 28/03/2022 21:50:12    2407912

Replying To farney_exile:  "People celebrating and congratulating banty. For what ? Remaining in division 1 by the skin of our teeth and relying on other results to keep us there.
Not the Banty."
Why is it that when supporters are happy with the teams performance posters here have to always bring Banty into it . This really shows the animosity towards him by many . People's opinions towards him are varied and people are entitled to their opinions either ways . And just to say he may not have been my choice . But what I don't get is when the team performs bad it's all Banty's fault and when they do perform well some can't just accept a good team performance without having to bring Banty into it again and try to bring negativity into what should be something positive . Management is what it is . We just need to get behind the team I'm sure there's people who don't rate certain players on the panel and feel they shouldn't be there and that other players should . But that's life . We all differ and see things from different perspectives. Can we not just get behind this team 100% and cast whatever differences we have aside . If we need to criticise, do it constructively and not just do it because of our dislike towards individuals . No matter who the manager is, not everyone is going to be happy and that goes for players and supporters . But as I keep saying we should just try to be more positive as negativity breeds negativity . Sunday was a good day . And let's just hope there'll be many more

Positivity (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 29/03/2022 09:36:49    2407937

Anyone want to have a go at a starting 15 for championship assuming full fitness? Are we any clearer after 7 league games?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 29/03/2022 09:40:21    2407943

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Anyone want to have a go at a starting 15 for championship assuming full fitness? Are we any clearer after 7 league games?"
Sunday has definitely made this a tough one after seeing some of the older lads put in such a good shift.
1. Beggan
2. Duffy
3. Boyle
4. R Wylie
5. Mc Anespie
6. Ward
7. Lavelle
8. Kearns
9. D Hughes
10. Mc Carthy
11. Bannigan
12. K Hughes
13. McCarron
14. Mohan
15. McManus

Think this is he best I can put together given league form. Jones, Woods, O'Connell, D Wylie and Mulligan be my choice of subs to use depending on the situation.

Lets see everyone else choices.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 29/03/2022 10:09:17    2407961

Beggan
D wylie
C boyle
K duffy
Mcanespie
Ward
Lavelle
Kierans
D hughes
A Woods
M bannigan
Mcarthy
Mohan
K hughes
Mccarron

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 29/03/2022 10:43:49    2407989

Replying To stoneygrey:  "Couldn't agree more , yesterday was the players showing grit , Vinny probably the only one on the line that would have any effect on what the players are doing . McEneaney hasn't a clue . Great to see what the players done yesterday .Gary Mohan is getting there ."
That's the best one yet by a country mile ….

If we lose, it's Banty fault and he's the worst in the world . If we win it's the Vinny effect " MCEneaney hasn't a clue"

You couldn't make it up, its embarrassing when posters from other counties have to praise MEENEANEY as he's now called and they also point out some of the silly comments that are made.

Like him or not - their is not a more passionate Monaghan then Banty - He's put together a brilliant backroom team - so let's all get behind him and the lads and keep the non football dislike of the man off the comments.

We have a big game against Down and then hopefully we will face the Ulster and AL championship who are finding form at the right time - after beating Mayo & Kerry, in there last 2 games.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 112 - 29/03/2022 11:25:39    2408019

Most likely team v down

Beggan
Wylie
Boyle
Duffy
Mc anespie
Ward
Mc carthy
Kearns
Darren
Kieran hughes
Woods
Bannigan
Jack
Mohan
Carey

Its either Carey or mc manus for the right frees. Probably be Carey and he'll drift and work for a good 40 mins. People forget conor mc carthy played the whole game v Dublin at wing half back and at a time was in corner back so there's no doubt he will be there come championship. Woods has probably been one of our best players of the year so far and missed Dublin game due to illness, he will start.

That leaves a bench of lavelle,mulligan, walshe, drew, mc manus, hanratty, Kelly, Karl. Not a bad bench given walshe, Kelly, karl and drew can play anywhere from 12 back.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 29/03/2022 12:56:31    2408063

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Most likely team v down

Beggan
Wylie
Boyle
Duffy
Mc anespie
Ward
Mc carthy
Kearns
Darren
Kieran hughes
Woods
Bannigan
Jack
Mohan
Carey

Its either Carey or mc manus for the right frees. Probably be Carey and he'll drift and work for a good 40 mins. People forget conor mc carthy played the whole game v Dublin at wing half back and at a time was in corner back so there's no doubt he will be there come championship. Woods has probably been one of our best players of the year so far and missed Dublin game due to illness, he will start.

That leaves a bench of lavelle,mulligan, walshe, drew, mc manus, hanratty, Kelly, Karl. Not a bad bench given walshe, Kelly, karl and drew can play anywhere from 12 back."
Conor McManus on the bench? Are you mad? Can we have him in Louth please?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 29/03/2022 15:41:52    2408141

Replying To patmouse:  "That's the best one yet by a country mile ….

If we lose, it's Banty fault and he's the worst in the world . If we win it's the Vinny effect " MCEneaney hasn't a clue"

You couldn't make it up, its embarrassing when posters from other counties have to praise MEENEANEY as he's now called and they also point out some of the silly comments that are made.

Like him or not - their is not a more passionate Monaghan then Banty - He's put together a brilliant backroom team - so let's all get behind him and the lads and keep the non football dislike of the man off the comments.

We have a big game against Down and then hopefully we will face the Ulster and AL championship who are finding form at the right time - after beating Mayo & Kerry, in there last 2 games."
Thankfully everyone here is entitled to their own views , I don't rate him at all as a manager, has won nothing at inter county so far with all the counties he has been with over a period of 15 odd years , yes I would say Vinny has had a bigger impact on the team this year , some one who has been outstanding for the county for years and would have endless knowledge and experience . Facts are hard to argue , All the players were outstanding on Sunday and have the capability to go far in the championship and no reason why they won't .

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 29/03/2022 19:27:05    2408225

Monaghan football and all involved are a credit to the county. A population, half the size of Dublin 15, consistently in the top 6 teams in the country.

Time will tell what this management and team will achieve. So far they have maintained Monaghan in the top 6 counties in Ireland.

Criticism is part of top level sport but some of the comments on this forum are going too far - constantly repeating negative comments about certain individuals, wild speculation about how the management team is getting on based on where coaches are standing before a match starts, and forever assuming that people lack the capacity to develop and improve and that high preforming teams can not overcome weakness of a specific individual.

Lord help us if Monaghan were in fact relegated to Division 4 like Cavan. Did the current Cavan manager not preside over a fall from Division 1 in 2019 to Division 4 in 2022 and still retain his job? I fear the abuse if Monaghan even had one relegation.

A few random stats:

1) Monaghan v Dublin since 2018 - W3 D1 L0 in Monaghan's favour.
2) In league and championship matches since 2020 against Donegal, Tyrone and Armagh, the record is W3, D4, L3.
3) Monaghan regularly part of the most entertaining games of the year (Monaghan Armagh 2021, Monaghan Galway 2021, Monaghan Dublin 2022).

Credit to the manager, the coaching staff, the players, their families and all the mentors and coaches across Monaghan. No one will ever know how to attribute credit (or blame) between coaches or players. Anyone who regularly claims they know exactly how to do this is clearly delusional.

Monaghan GAA is the best thing about Monaghan, and credit to all involved maintaining the team in the top 6 in the country, and this achievement despite the constant talk from the national media of a team about to implode as household names get older.

turnip12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 29/03/2022 19:50:10    2408230

Replying To Greengrass:  "Conor McManus on the bench? Are you mad? Can we have him in Louth please?"
Him and Mulroy be some combo upfront alright. Credit must be give to Louth and Mickey Harte back to back promotions. Similar to what monaghan completed and success came from it.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 30/03/2022 09:44:18    2408253

Had a cold look at Sunday's match this evening to see how Monaghan managed to (yet again) put themselves in a perilous position having been comfortably ahead.
At 64 mins it was 3.12 to 0.16 and Dublin were out on their feet
64 mins foul by Conor McCarthy off the ball on 45m. Taken short by Dublin
65 wide by Lee gannon. Long kick out lost by Monaghan
66 mins Brian Howard point from 25 with adv after foul 0.17
short kick out won by D Ward
67 mins long ball to McCarron should have been marked, pass to Mohan wide from 20
68 mins foul by Conor boyle after short kick out to Dublin, taken short
69 mins point by Rock from 20m after foul by K Hughes
70 mins kick out won, posession lost by Walshe, penalty from next play
70 penalty scored 1.18 Dublin
72 Kick out won, resulting shot by D Wylie dropped short
73 Wide by Gannon, kick out and we know the rest.

In the last 10 mins Monaghan managed 3 shots (1 wide, 1 short, 1 point from free)
They coughed up 1.2 and 2 more easy chances to Dublin, and fouled 4 times

The old failing of not being able to comfortably see it home from a winning position continues.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 30/03/2022 22:02:23    2408519

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Most likely team v down

Beggan
Wylie
Boyle
Duffy
Mc anespie
Ward
Mc carthy
Kearns
Darren
Kieran hughes
Woods
Bannigan
Jack
Mohan
Carey

That leaves a bench of lavelle,mulligan, walshe, drew, mc manus, hanratty, Kelly, Karl. Not a bad bench given walshe, Kelly, karl and drew can play anywhere from 12 back."
Anyone know if Conor Leonard will be back for Championship or is he gone for the season ?

TommyBowe (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 31/03/2022 08:36:27    2408524

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Had a cold look at Sunday's match this evening to see how Monaghan managed to (yet again) put themselves in a perilous position having been comfortably ahead.
At 64 mins it was 3.12 to 0.16 and Dublin were out on their feet
64 mins foul by Conor McCarthy off the ball on 45m. Taken short by Dublin
65 wide by Lee gannon. Long kick out lost by Monaghan
66 mins Brian Howard point from 25 with adv after foul 0.17
short kick out won by D Ward
67 mins long ball to McCarron should have been marked, pass to Mohan wide from 20
68 mins foul by Conor boyle after short kick out to Dublin, taken short
69 mins point by Rock from 20m after foul by K Hughes
70 mins kick out won, posession lost by Walshe, penalty from next play
70 penalty scored 1.18 Dublin
72 Kick out won, resulting shot by D Wylie dropped short
73 Wide by Gannon, kick out and we know the rest.

In the last 10 mins Monaghan managed 3 shots (1 wide, 1 short, 1 point from free)
They coughed up 1.2 and 2 more easy chances to Dublin, and fouled 4 times

The old failing of not being able to comfortably see it home from a winning position continues."
Good post did likewise and it felt like watching the last 10 mins of Kerry 2018 all over again. Just needed a little bit of composure to put it to bed take the mark at 67 and was game over but silly unforced errors and bad shot selection almost let Dublin back into it. Also watching back the game couldn't believe how poor Dublin were on the day defensively but our last 10 mins almost gifted them a way back. Its an age old problem going back to O rourke and not easily solved as happens so often.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 31/03/2022 11:27:52    2408592

Sunday was a brilliant result and a credit to the players for lifting it and getting over the line just.

A sequence of events fell in Monaghan's favour at the weekend.
Luck would have it that injures to McManus and Bannigan meant that Jack and Sean Jones started. Between the two of them they managed to score 3-6 (15 points out of 22).
It was also a day that for the first time in the league we didn't miss a free.

Drew Wylie being brilliant at the expense of a Kieran Duffy injury, even though you would expect Duffy to do just as good a job on Rock.

Monaghan got their highest score of the season and they needed it.

The management's hand was forced to a certain extent and the team as a whole benefitted.

Kelly and Wylie getting game time when they have been thrown aside in the past few seasons, Niall Kearns coming and showing us what a top class midfield and athlete he is.

Like mentioned before, Monaghan failed to hold a lead and nearly snatched defeat from the jaws of Victory.

Dublin key players were terrible, Fenton,Rock,Kilkenny, Fitzsimmons, Cooper McCarthy etc.

Luck went our way and we will take that, hopefully the team can build momentum in the first round and beat Tyrone in the semi.

Its great to stay in division 1 but ultimately success will be judged on winning ulster.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 31/03/2022 21:58:41    2408776