Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Farney:  "Some of yous are all digging the grave for this team but It's not dead yet.. We had a good run in Ulster last year and only for a few moments of madness at the end of the match we could have beaten Tyrone.. the current all-ireland champions.. While most of ye loud voices here don't like Banty, he has done a lot for this team and each and everyone of the players have his support in all matters.. We have had two poor performances against Kildare and Mayo.. The Kerry game was down to the Fly goalkeeper getting caught out by a team that targeted that. The team performed against Armagh, Donegal and Tyrone and I believe they will put a big performance in against Dublin as they always do.. Keep the faith and up the Farney.."
Have to say you give me a good laugh with that post…players walking of panels and he has all their support you say..plus bringing in a scotstown player who never did goals in his life as sub keeper just because of a family connection..kicked a paltry tally of 10 pts against Armagh & 9pts against Tyrone yet you think the team performed…fact of the matter is fist pumps for the camera and the usual spin/garbage for the media aren't gunna win games..6 wins out of 20 league and championship games speaks volumes…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 25/03/2022 17:20:15    2407088

Replying To Farney:  "Some of yous are all digging the grave for this team but It's not dead yet.. We had a good run in Ulster last year and only for a few moments of madness at the end of the match we could have beaten Tyrone.. the current all-ireland champions.. While most of ye loud voices here don't like Banty, he has done a lot for this team and each and everyone of the players have his support in all matters.. We have had two poor performances against Kildare and Mayo.. The Kerry game was down to the Fly goalkeeper getting caught out by a team that targeted that. The team performed against Armagh, Donegal and Tyrone and I believe they will put a big performance in against Dublin as they always do.. Keep the faith and up the Farney.."
I 110% agree with this post. An article done by the Irish News said "To rob a line from Pulp Fiction, this ain't the first time Monaghan have had a gun pointed at them. Across their eight-year run in Division One, this will be their fifth go at staying up on the final day. They have survived in every way possible, not to mention some that ought not to have been." We've been in this situation with M.O.R and not a shed of light has been shun on it. But because of a certain big name who 90% of people on this forum don't like, they want to rip him to shreds. It's all finger pointing and name calling from these so called supporters. Yes the performances in the league have been poor this year ( probably a time when div1 is most competitive and open) and also last year(got to ulster final and lost to current A.I champs) however in the past 2 years how many new players were found and given a chance? Some have taken it to their full ability others let it slip. Personally I don't like this idea of going to Div2 to rebuild. Why can't a team rebuild in Div1 to be the best you've to play against the best. I would also love to know how so many people know about a "toxic" atmosphere that is being created and spread around the changing room when if u ask any of the players they'll completely disagree and afterall it'll come down to the players whether they want banty to stay on (if he wants to is another thing) or will he get the boot. They were given the decision last year and choose to keep him but what do the players know, "supporters" on this forum know it all.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 26/03/2022 12:35:13    2407156

Replying To MonaghanBoi:  "I 110% agree with this post. An article done by the Irish News said "To rob a line from Pulp Fiction, this ain't the first time Monaghan have had a gun pointed at them. Across their eight-year run in Division One, this will be their fifth go at staying up on the final day. They have survived in every way possible, not to mention some that ought not to have been." We've been in this situation with M.O.R and not a shed of light has been shun on it. But because of a certain big name who 90% of people on this forum don't like, they want to rip him to shreds. It's all finger pointing and name calling from these so called supporters. Yes the performances in the league have been poor this year ( probably a time when div1 is most competitive and open) and also last year(got to ulster final and lost to current A.I champs) however in the past 2 years how many new players were found and given a chance? Some have taken it to their full ability others let it slip. Personally I don't like this idea of going to Div2 to rebuild. Why can't a team rebuild in Div1 to be the best you've to play against the best. I would also love to know how so many people know about a "toxic" atmosphere that is being created and spread around the changing room when if u ask any of the players they'll completely disagree and afterall it'll come down to the players whether they want banty to stay on (if he wants to is another thing) or will he get the boot. They were given the decision last year and choose to keep him but what do the players know, "supporters" on this forum know it all."
There is so much negativity in many of the posts on this forum . Being involved with football for years you always have unhappiness, as players are going to be disappointed and frustrated at times . I'd nearly guarantee every team is faced with this at some stage no matter who they are or who their manager is. If players read some posts on this forum which I would hope they didn't , I could imagine their disappointment. They turn from heroes to villains depending on results etc. Supporters need to stop and think how their negativity can impact on the players and the team. They need our support more than ever and no matter what or who is over this team the players will always have my support

Positivity (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 26/03/2022 16:44:44    2407214

Replying To MonaghanBoi:  "I 110% agree with this post. An article done by the Irish News said "To rob a line from Pulp Fiction, this ain't the first time Monaghan have had a gun pointed at them. Across their eight-year run in Division One, this will be their fifth go at staying up on the final day. They have survived in every way possible, not to mention some that ought not to have been." We've been in this situation with M.O.R and not a shed of light has been shun on it. But because of a certain big name who 90% of people on this forum don't like, they want to rip him to shreds. It's all finger pointing and name calling from these so called supporters. Yes the performances in the league have been poor this year ( probably a time when div1 is most competitive and open) and also last year(got to ulster final and lost to current A.I champs) however in the past 2 years how many new players were found and given a chance? Some have taken it to their full ability others let it slip. Personally I don't like this idea of going to Div2 to rebuild. Why can't a team rebuild in Div1 to be the best you've to play against the best. I would also love to know how so many people know about a "toxic" atmosphere that is being created and spread around the changing room when if u ask any of the players they'll completely disagree and afterall it'll come down to the players whether they want banty to stay on (if he wants to is another thing) or will he get the boot. They were given the decision last year and choose to keep him but what do the players know, "supporters" on this forum know it all."
What a strange post.
First of all who are you to qualify a person's support, it seems to be that to be a true supporter is conditional on whether they support Mc Enaney or not.
If a person or indeed a majority of people don't like him, that's up to them, it's none of your business, you can't make someone like him, you should concern yourself as to why a lot of people don't like him. I suspect that you know. It seems to me that most fair minded Monaghan supporters, the real supporters, are asking who does Mc Enaney think he is "taking" control when they see no obvious progress or success previous and currently. Especially at a time when there is talent there.

Your argument equating MOR division 1 tenure to McEnaneys is a false narrative. MOR took us to and kept us in Div1 for 5 of the 8 years you're talking about, he finished 3rd twice and 4th once, apart from his last year it was quite a comfortable stay. McEnaney has never took us out of that relegation position, that's just a fact. By the way no player has ever stated, then or since, that they wanted MOR to go, they let him down rather than the other way around.

I do agree with you regarding us staying in division 1 being the best possible place to develop new talent, and hope they win tomorrow for that to happen. But to question whether McEneaney is the right man to take the team forward does not re-define me or anyone else as a "so called supporter" just because you can't accept that a lot of Monaghan gaels don't like him.
To Rob a line from Catherine Tate "how very dare you"

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 26/03/2022 17:06:23    2407217

Was on my travels this morning again to support our Co.Minors.

The only disappointment of the journey was the lack of support these lads are getting. With all the doom & gloom surrounding the seniors atm these boys are a breath of fresh air.

Game was all but over at half time with Monaghan dominating all over the pitch. Some of the defending was outstanding, with players comfortable and confident enough to go man v man. The physicality of this team is Phenomenal, blew Down away with their work rate. I was beside the Down management and they couldn't get over the intensity we were able to maintain.

Young Mallon from Scotstown looks a real talent. And the two big men inside always looked so so dangerous.

Let's get out and support these boys, some brilliant football to be had.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 26/03/2022 17:12:58    2407219

I don't think too many posters on here have been negative about the players. Some have just pointed out that Walsh is not an intercounty forward and McCarthy is not an intercounty defender. This is just stating the obvious. McAnespie and Ward are two the obvious players who can operate both in defence and attack. Walsh an all-star corner back in the forwards and McCarthy, on his day a top class forward, in defence, that's not going to work long term and as it turned out, short term either. Apparently this is obvious to everyone but the management. I wonder what Mulligan feels about his limited game time in these circumstances? These sort of tricks and surprises don't fool anyone but are typical of the current approach. Top teams are not fooled by these type of antics.

It's almost the end of the league, and after six games I still have no idea what the championship team will look like.
I would guess, injuries allowing, that the likely starters will be:

1 Beggan
2 Duffy
3 Boyle
4 Wylie
11 Bannigan
12 Carey
15 McManus

other than that I have no idea of who will play where.

For Dublin tomorrow surely Lavelle and Kearns must start in midfield. This is a huge game for Monaghan. They have to go toe to toe with Dublin and put their top team (whatever management thinks that is - anyone's guess) out
from the start. They are backed into a corner now and victory is the only credible way out. Moral victories are no good at this stage, this is crunch time with championship is around the corner.

I don't blame the players for the current prediciment but hopefully they can pull themselves out of it.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 26/03/2022 19:57:03    2407247

Just heard we're down a few with for tomorrow's game against Dubs. Hope its not so but informed by a reliable source....disaster.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 26/03/2022 20:11:15    2407251

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Just heard we're down a few with for tomorrow's game against Dubs. Hope its not so but informed by a reliable source....disaster."
With Covid I meant to add

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 26/03/2022 20:26:44    2407255

Best of luck to team and management today. No matter what division we are in its has been a privilege to watch the county side play the last 15 or so years. Effort and dedication second to none. And I am sure no matter the result this afternoon that will continue to be the case.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 27/03/2022 09:50:09    2407289

The pressure is on Dublin today big time, be of no doubt about that. Its been very quite from the Capital all week. This is a free shot for us, as nobody expects us to win. Traditionally a scenario that suits us.
I believe this squad, if set up correctly, are good enough to trouble Dublin, but we need to go for it and keep the pressure on them throughout. Dublin are not where they want to be yet either

There is a scenario where a draw will do both of us, if Tyrone and Donegal (by more than 2) lose.

A draw will do Dublin if Tyrone lose. Kerry won't want to be doing Tyrone any favours, so an interesting day lies ahead.

Leave a your opinions at the gate and get behind them, you'd never know

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/03/2022 11:45:18    2407305

Dare I say it, the absentees from Covid are doing us no harm at all so far. Big half coming up.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 27/03/2022 14:30:02    2407325

Well done Banty.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 847 - 27/03/2022 15:29:53    2407335

Well played Monaghan, good game!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 27/03/2022 15:32:17    2407336

Good match. That big Monaghan full forward with the 1980s mullet should shave his head. He seemed to be falling over his hair most of that second half.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 27/03/2022 15:43:17    2407343

Monaghon the great survivors once again
They allways find a way to stay up
We in Galway renember last year well
A certain Jack mc Carron was involved then too

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 27/03/2022 15:43:50    2407344

Great result. Well don Monaghan

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 27/03/2022 15:51:58    2407346

Well played Monaghan, you deserved that. Best of luck in Ulster.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 27/03/2022 15:59:55    2407350

Good on ye Monaghan, the best result of the day. Gives us all a lift.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 27/03/2022 16:03:09    2407353

Judging by the posts over the last few weeks there'll be a lot of disappointed Monaghan posters after that result.

Well done the Monaghan team.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 27/03/2022 16:12:01    2407356

2nd year in a row that Jack McCarron has saved our bacon. When he's on his game, he's one of the classiest forwards around, his performance today was incredible. Nerves of steel to want that last minute free too. Jack was obviously the stand out today, but Gary Mohan deserves a shout I think. He's still a bit raw and could have done better with a couple of chances in the 2nd half, but he's a big lump of a lad and always seems to cause havoc in the air and when he runs at defences. Find of the league for me, and he should feature heavily for us this summer imo.

Only had ourselves to blame for bit starting off the league with more points, but even in this game, we really shouldn't have been letting it go to the wire today. Feck me, following Monaghan isn't good for the heart.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 27/03/2022 16:13:50    2407358