Monaghan GAA thread

Albeit not at their usual best, Dublin are looking more settled and seem to have more control in games recently as opposed to the Armagh game were they controlled the pace. Their running game is strong again with McCarthy and McDaid back in there and Howard coming into form along with Fenton. As many others have said the McCarthy experiment shouldn't be tried again, he's a great forward and should be left there, I'd somewhat see why they'd try Woods or someone there who have plenty of size but the match up on Sunday wasn't fair on Mccarthy and can't blame him for that. With Jack out, Conor should never of been in half back.

As aforementioned Dublin coming good again and we can't afford for trials in half back lines anymore. After this our next game will be championship so we should be trying for our championship team so unless O'Connell is injured I want to see him in there or come on earlier. We always play well against the dubs, and even though that promises nothing I think we'll give it a good go, should be a big crowd at the game and I hope we all get behind the team like Kildare fans did in Newbridge. Did Jack make it onto the bench last weekend?

I don't think going down to div2 is the worst thing, of course relegation isn't great but we have great players in Monaghan, with the right management we can bounce back like Galway and as Tyrone and Donegal done in recent years.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 22/03/2022 16:25:44    2406538

Replying To border Gael:  "I feel sorry for our team. The day Banty was taken back was not a good day so what do people expect? Some of the positional switches on Sunday were highly questionable.
Why was Conor Mc Carthy not in the forward lineup?
This set up is going nowhere. Maybe it's better we drop so we get a new fresh management set up. It's badly needed."
Bringing Banty back made zero sense. Surely the county board could have selected a more like for like replacement for O'Rourke whom took on a Div 3 Monaghan team and left them behind as established division 1 team.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 22/03/2022 18:55:43    2406579

Regardless of whether we pull off a miracle on Sunday, the whole thing is going downhill. Zero progress over the last couple of years. We got away with it last year, win one league game to stay up, and an ulster final appearance, the cracks were well and truely papered over.

Too many chiefs….why do we need a 'manager'…2 'big names'…and then 2 more men for good measure? Looks like we're designing a horse and coming up with a camel. Have some balls, tell the mercenaries to stay home, give the whole shebang to Corey. At least we would have zero bs, and an honest approach. Unfortunately there were reasons Banty got the job in the first place, so County board won't dream of dumping him, he will at least get another year.

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 441 - 22/03/2022 21:48:42    2406596

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Let's not forget the supposed "expert" strength & conditioning coach in the set up. This guy was with Tyrone for a year and ran outta the place, but the high profile suited Bantys agenda of style over substance.

What we are left with now is a flat, leggy team struggling with the demands of senior inter county football. When have we ever said a Monaghan teams looks unfit until this year?

Reports I'm hearing out of the camp is players and certain coaches are at logger heads over training volume and player load, this along with the performances on & off the pitch represents a failed set up.

I had hoped it wouldn't take a relegation for our Co. Board to realise money isn't everything but now Ill just be happy to see the back of this set up regardless of the short term cost of losing Div 1 status."
Watching monaghan this year you'd forget they had a strength and conditioning coach they are so far off the pace. Think only reason they are still in a chance of staying up on Sunday is the weather for a lot of the games slowed the games up a bit. Now with the better weather and harder grounds you'd fear for them against hard running sides meaning most top tier outfits.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 23/03/2022 09:42:48    2406606

Backroom team has too many chiefs. Looks like we're designing a horse and ending up with a camel.

Even if by some miracle we win on Sunday, the trajectory is only going down.

Give the whole lot to V. Corey...let him rebuild it in Div2....honest and straightfoward...at least we'd be guaranteed no BS.

Won't happen of course.

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 441 - 23/03/2022 09:57:14    2406613

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Let's not forget the supposed "expert" strength & conditioning coach in the set up. This guy was with Tyrone for a year and ran outta the place, but the high profile suited Bantys agenda of style over substance.

What we are left with now is a flat, leggy team struggling with the demands of senior inter county football. When have we ever said a Monaghan teams looks unfit until this year?

Reports I'm hearing out of the camp is players and certain coaches are at logger heads over training volume and player load, this along with the performances on & off the pitch represents a failed set up.

I had hoped it wouldn't take a relegation for our Co. Board to realise money isn't everything but now Ill just be happy to see the back of this set up regardless of the short term cost of losing Div 1 status."
My only fear of going to Div. 2 is that the Bluffer will be given an extension to rebuild. The word from inside the camp is that the atmosphere is toxic. Some of the young lads ready to walk away and can you blame them.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 23/03/2022 11:45:49    2406646

Replying To Yondu:  "Bringing Banty back made zero sense. Surely the county board could have selected a more like for like replacement for O'Rourke whom took on a Div 3 Monaghan team and left them behind as established division 1 team."
You'd wonder, after Mal getting us to such a high point you think we'd of got a manager who was of similar stature to that to keep us up there and move forward. Bare in mind the tanking we gave Wexford down there in 2018 whom Banty was over. County board somehow saw fit he was there man

As others have he'll probably get another year at the helm..

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 23/03/2022 11:50:02    2406649

Replying To moodoo:  "Backroom team has too many chiefs. Looks like we're designing a horse and ending up with a camel.

Even if by some miracle we win on Sunday, the trajectory is only going down.

Give the whole lot to V. Corey...let him rebuild it in Div2....honest and straightfoward...at least we'd be guaranteed no BS.

Won't happen of course."
I agree with all but the comment on giving Vinny the job. Vinny, just like most needs to blood himself elsewhere before taking the reins at a inter county set up, we would be asking far too much of a good-young-inexperienced coach at this time. Coaching and managing are two very different animals at this level.

Off the top of my head for the role, in no particular order;

Colin McAree - Current Stown manager, has had previous experience in Mals set up

Mark Counihan - Has had experience at club level and going into his 3-4 year in the co minor set up, 1 ulster title and 1 ulster final in his pocket

Andy Callan - last years u20 manager, ulster final under terrible circumstances

All have several things in common,
Monaghan men
Skin in the game at co level
Know the players
Proper role models to the young players
Integrity

I refuse to believe Banty will get/want another year. His gig was up last year only for Co Chairman to back him. Players will vote with the feet of put into the position next Oct/Nov

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 23/03/2022 12:22:16    2406655

Replying To seamusorinn:  "My only fear of going to Div. 2 is that the Bluffer will be given an extension to rebuild. The word from inside the camp is that the atmosphere is toxic. Some of the young lads ready to walk away and can you blame them."
Money talked and continues to talk so you know yourself……I heard Aaron mulligan is the latest to walk of the panel..

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 23/03/2022 13:01:39    2406669

Getting relegated could well be a disaster for Monaghan. I would expect a number of lads to retire which would mean an extensive building period. This leaves the way open for Mc Enaney to put his case forward the he is the man to bring "his" minor team from 2018 forward. "no one knows them better than me, they would go through a brick wall for me" etc etc....... you know yourselves.

This bring us to the CB. A quick look at the CB members is concerning in terms of reaching a logical, objective decision, and, the fact that we would then be in Div 2 would further give credence for them to re-appoint. Division 2 football is nearer to Mc Eneanys level (I said nearer). Perhaps this is why, as some posters say, every match has become such a struggle in Division 1.

Staying in Division 1 would require a manager fit for purpose and pressurise the CB to seek such a manager, a fresh face. I fear if this decision is left to this CB it could limit our potential going forward regardless of retirements or new additions. In essence I don't trust them.
It may well take the clubs to intervene to end this.
We'll have to wait and see

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 23/03/2022 13:09:28    2406670

My own 2 cents worth is that Banty will string it out to the last no matter what happens this year to get an extra year and will leave monaghan in div 3 and the Tailtenn Cup next . We will hear all about the "serious challenge Monaghan face now in a serious Div 2" and the great character in that dressing room. It's all bluff but he knows the buttons to press with the county board who are clearly just yes men to him at this stage. If reports on Mulligan walking are true am not suprised he has barely had a look in for a v promising player few years back. O Hanlon opting out was an early warning sign. Will the players revolt ? I doubt it as banty is canny enough he will keep in with just enough of them to keep the show on the road for one more year when the wheels will really come off in div 2. Monaghan have stagnated last few years and that usually precedes a big decline.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 23/03/2022 15:28:35    2406708

Totally agree he is not up to the job but c mcmanus d hughes c walshe c o connell d wylie f kelly is in there mid 30s so we are in transition which means 1 thing we go to div 2 and go again there is still the bones of a good side in beggan hanratty ward McCarthy mcanespie mulligan kearns lavelle boyle jones woods and a few more exiles that left the current set up ie r o toole 2 carrick lads but this chancer needs to go end ov

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 23/03/2022 16:51:28    2406733

Replying To 222:  "Yet they dumped us out in 2017- and fermanagh in 2018-dont count your chickens before they hatch. Championship is championship.

If dublin dont relegate monaghan next week, I couldn't stomach another killarney 2010 or Galway 2021. Banty taking the plaudits, papering over cracks. This team needs a big rejig like armagh, like kildare have done. Division 2 won't be the worse place in the world to start that, but a new man at the helm is needed and more players needed to be blooded, I'm amazed more of last years u19 team aren't being used.

Colin Walsh won an all star in defence, why not try him there? Can anyone please explain why this isn't happening?

It's still not out of reach that thus team could put together a run in the championship - but a mass is exodus of players you would think is coming next winter. Monaghan football at senior level is entering a rebuild stage."
You realise that 2017 was 5 years ago? That was a decent Down team, this is an appalling Down who got beat at home by Roscommon by 10 points.
I'm not counting chickens, anyone following Monaghan for the last 5 years alone knows that. But the poster put up that this Down team would be infuriated by a comment saying they are terrible. I'm just pointing out that they are terrible. Could still beat us, though, if we show the lack of respect to Down and Fermanagh in 17 and 18. Or the incompetent management v Cavan in 19 and 20.

Colin Walsh isn't fast enough to play in the backs anymore. Simple fact. And he isn't good enough to play in the forwards. So instead of blooding new forwards we continue to shove a square peg in a round hole.

2 things to happen at year end. I'd say at least 3 retirements from the squad, maybe as many as 5. And Banty will replace some of his backroom staff to give the impression it was all their fault.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 23/03/2022 19:46:55    2406761

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Getting relegated could well be a disaster for Monaghan. I would expect a number of lads to retire which would mean an extensive building period. This leaves the way open for Mc Enaney to put his case forward the he is the man to bring "his" minor team from 2018 forward. "no one knows them better than me, they would go through a brick wall for me" etc etc....... you know yourselves.

This bring us to the CB. A quick look at the CB members is concerning in terms of reaching a logical, objective decision, and, the fact that we would then be in Div 2 would further give credence for them to re-appoint. Division 2 football is nearer to Mc Eneanys level (I said nearer). Perhaps this is why, as some posters say, every match has become such a struggle in Division 1.

Staying in Division 1 would require a manager fit for purpose and pressurise the CB to seek such a manager, a fresh face. I fear if this decision is left to this CB it could limit our potential going forward regardless of retirements or new additions. In essence I don't trust them.
It may well take the clubs to intervene to end this.
We'll have to wait and see"
Would it be? Might be no harm to go down, get some of those lads to retire, rejuvenate and develop a wee bit and so on. Division 2 looks strong anyway so you can be challenged while developing. Go down, get a run of wins next year and promotion, and then have a crack at Championship. There's no harm in the odd relegation, and not clinging on to Division 1 by your fingernails yearly in battles with the same lads. I feel sometimes that ye put too much stock in League and being in Division 1. Use the opportunity to rebuild

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 24/03/2022 11:17:42    2406799

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Would it be? Might be no harm to go down, get some of those lads to retire, rejuvenate and develop a wee bit and so on. Division 2 looks strong anyway so you can be challenged while developing. Go down, get a run of wins next year and promotion, and then have a crack at Championship. There's no harm in the odd relegation, and not clinging on to Division 1 by your fingernails yearly in battles with the same lads. I feel sometimes that ye put too much stock in League and being in Division 1. Use the opportunity to rebuild"
V good point there is a huge effort for a county like monaghan to stay in div 1 no resting of lads and heard other day we have used the smallest amount of players in the six matches to date 24 which does take it toll over the season. We had a fairly decent championship last year getting to ulster final probably because the league was short enough lads were fresher. Hard to keep the intensity required up with such a small group. No fan of Banty but similar to malachy he has a core of 15-24 players and he doesn't rate the rest as good enough for inter county football. Bar Bannigan and Lavelle there have been no real additions to the team over the last few years that have made a difference.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 24/03/2022 12:47:53    2406833

Replying To FootblockREF:  "You realise that 2017 was 5 years ago? That was a decent Down team, this is an appalling Down who got beat at home by Roscommon by 10 points.
I'm not counting chickens, anyone following Monaghan for the last 5 years alone knows that. But the poster put up that this Down team would be infuriated by a comment saying they are terrible. I'm just pointing out that they are terrible. Could still beat us, though, if we show the lack of respect to Down and Fermanagh in 17 and 18. Or the incompetent management v Cavan in 19 and 20.

Colin Walsh isn't fast enough to play in the backs anymore. Simple fact. And he isn't good enough to play in the forwards. So instead of blooding new forwards we continue to shove a square peg in a round hole.

2 things to happen at year end. I'd say at least 3 retirements from the squad, maybe as many as 5. And Banty will replace some of his backroom staff to give the impression it was all their fault."
Yea , in all honesty ,this is as poor a Down team as i have seen, and will be shocked if we win that game, unless wee James pulls a few Kilcoo rabbits out of the hat,which i dont see happening, But look ill be in Clones anyway, ive been lucky enough to see some great Down teams over the years , and i intend to stick with them, and hopefully the good days will return sooner rather than later,

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 24/03/2022 21:46:15    2406947

Some of yous are all digging the grave for this team but It's not dead yet.. We had a good run in Ulster last year and only for a few moments of madness at the end of the match we could have beaten Tyrone.. the current all-ireland champions.. While most of ye loud voices here don't like Banty, he has done a lot for this team and each and everyone of the players have his support in all matters.. We have had two poor performances against Kildare and Mayo.. The Kerry game was down to the Fly goalkeeper getting caught out by a team that targeted that. The team performed against Armagh, Donegal and Tyrone and I believe they will put a big performance in against Dublin as they always do.. Keep the faith and up the Farney..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 25/03/2022 10:11:32    2406966

Replying To Farney:  "Some of yous are all digging the grave for this team but It's not dead yet.. We had a good run in Ulster last year and only for a few moments of madness at the end of the match we could have beaten Tyrone.. the current all-ireland champions.. While most of ye loud voices here don't like Banty, he has done a lot for this team and each and everyone of the players have his support in all matters.. We have had two poor performances against Kildare and Mayo.. The Kerry game was down to the Fly goalkeeper getting caught out by a team that targeted that. The team performed against Armagh, Donegal and Tyrone and I believe they will put a big performance in against Dublin as they always do.. Keep the faith and up the Farney.."
" each and everyone of the players have his support in all matters.. ". You're joking, right?

As for the Kerry game, it was lost long long before Rory was caught out. We weren't next nor near them, that game was lost.

We performed OK against a poor enough Donegal team, despite looking like we would do our usual trick of throwing away a big lead. We were lucky to get points against Armagh and Tyrone, only for favourable refereeing decisions both days. we would have got nothing from either of those games.

Against Kildare we were so far off the pace it was shocking. Game was over after 5 minutes. McCarthy getting roasted at half back.

Being bottom of the table is a fair reflection of where we are at. No guarantee we won't be at the wrong end of div 2 this time next year either.

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 441 - 25/03/2022 14:32:40    2407045

Replying To Farney:  "Some of yous are all digging the grave for this team but It's not dead yet.. We had a good run in Ulster last year and only for a few moments of madness at the end of the match we could have beaten Tyrone.. the current all-ireland champions.. While most of ye loud voices here don't like Banty, he has done a lot for this team and each and everyone of the players have his support in all matters.. We have had two poor performances against Kildare and Mayo.. The Kerry game was down to the Fly goalkeeper getting caught out by a team that targeted that. The team performed against Armagh, Donegal and Tyrone and I believe they will put a big performance in against Dublin as they always do.. Keep the faith and up the Farney.."
Shocking post!

Pure delusion, I just hope for Monaghan's sake you don't hold a position of substance at club or county level..

As for this "we almost beat Tyrone, the all Ireland champions" that can be said for 99% of ulster championship games over the past decade! If my granny had wheels she'd be a bike.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 25/03/2022 15:04:22    2407060

Replying To moodoo:  "" each and everyone of the players have his support in all matters.. ". You're joking, right?

As for the Kerry game, it was lost long long before Rory was caught out. We weren't next nor near them, that game was lost.

We performed OK against a poor enough Donegal team, despite looking like we would do our usual trick of throwing away a big lead. We were lucky to get points against Armagh and Tyrone, only for favourable refereeing decisions both days. we would have got nothing from either of those games.

Against Kildare we were so far off the pace it was shocking. Game was over after 5 minutes. McCarthy getting roasted at half back.

Being bottom of the table is a fair reflection of where we are at. No guarantee we won't be at the wrong end of div 2 this time next year either."
1 more win and its fist pumping time again serious team serious squad etc but really it papers over the cracks because we have the same conundrum next year playing 36 37 year old lads in div 1 personally i would rather if we lost clear the decks both sides of the white line and go again

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 25/03/2022 15:48:17    2407074