Advertisement

Kerry Vs Tyrone

Replying To avonali:  "Feckin' dirty Dubs. I bet you the British Govt were giving them loads of money too, just to keep GAA strong within The Pale. Ohh you wouldn't be up to them."
Yeah and seemingly Lloyd George wanted to split them in two and he couldn't get it through. You couldn't be up to them feckers.

johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 09/08/2021 11:02:15    2369045

Jaaysiss KIngdom, ye'd have 38 All_irelands now if ye listened to the Dubs!!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 09/08/2021 11:24:53    2369054

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I never mentioned it, because I've never heard about that. Sources, please.

But yes, I know I'm good. And yes, I know you recognize that. But no! I don't know everything, or even everything else."
This link has extracts from the minutes of the Dublin County Board minutes. It lists the year as 1909 strangely enough though.

I think needs to be understood in its correct historical context. It would be easy to read this simplistically as just another another reason to hate the Dubs.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 09/08/2021 11:31:57    2369056

Replying To Saynothing:  "Don't know full story but , is it the rule that if your pinged by the app that you've been in contact with someone with Covid, you have to isolate no matter what. I don't know. There's that many new rules who knows."
the rule is changing on Aug 16th I believe whereby you dont have to anymore. i doubt it was ever a LEGAL requirement either.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 09/08/2021 11:38:42    2369060

will Dublin hurlers look for a replay of their game if Tyrone are granted a postponement?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1754 - 09/08/2021 11:41:39    2369061

Replying To avonali:  "Jaaysiss KIngdom, ye'd have 38 All_irelands now if ye listened to the Dubs!!"
No we'd have only 36 allirelands if the dubs got their way Avon because we'd have been banned for the 1913 and 1914 allireland wins.

Anyway I just wanted to make sure that the history of the Kerry and Louth final of 1910 wasnt being rewritin and what dublin tried to do was being airbrushed over but let's not turn this into a Kerry dub thing.

This is Tyrone V kerry.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/08/2021 12:09:01    2369069

Replying To johnsee:  "Yeah and seemingly Lloyd George wanted to split them in two and he couldn't get it through. You couldn't be up to them feckers."
Yea he even threatened to introduce extra (Auxiliary if you prefer) Cards, Black & Yellow , into the game to bring them to heel. But the Dubs had a shonneen from Laois, called Deegan IIRC, on the inside and they managed to use that to their advantage & it won them an All Ireland. In '16 I think it was.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 291 - 09/08/2021 12:21:20    2369076

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No we'd have only 36 allirelands if the dubs got their way Avon because we'd have been banned for the 1913 and 1914 allireland wins.

Anyway I just wanted to make sure that the history of the Kerry and Louth final of 1910 wasnt being rewritin and what dublin tried to do was being airbrushed over but let's not turn this into a Kerry dub thing.

This is Tyrone V kerry."
No. My point was the Dubs wanted ye to pay the extra fare to the GSWR and come up and defend your title. Kerry were favourites- had ye listened to them, as I said, you'd have another All-Ireland.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 09/08/2021 13:15:46    2369093

Rumours that 21 players have tested positive in Tyrone camp. Disaster

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2105 - 09/08/2021 13:54:17    2369109

Replying To avonali:  "No. My point was the Dubs wanted ye to pay the extra fare to the GSWR and come up and defend your title. Kerry were favourites- had ye listened to them, as I said, you'd have another All-Ireland."
Some things are more important than allirelands Avon, gaa players and supporters were being treated very badly by the great Southern railway, Kerry footballers would often have to stand all the way to dublin for 5/6 hours that's hardly ideal before you play an allireland semifinal or final, supporters and players stuffed into carrages with no facilities and on top of that they were fleecing the supporters and not just from Kerry .

A stand had to be made and was made, ( God I wish our county board today had half the heart of those great men from 1910 ).

We had the full backing of all the munster counties over the issue and Cork threatened to stand down from the allireland championship if dublins plan to ban Kerry for 5 years was to go ahead, the reason dublin county board were peeved was because there was no final which meant the was no money.

We offered Louth the opertunity to play the game when we had sorted the great Southern railway but Louth gaa declined the offer and that was fair enough.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/08/2021 14:21:56    2369122

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Rumours that 21 players have tested positive in Tyrone camp. Disaster"
Hopefully only rumours Fridge. If that was true its a pure disaster for all. This could ruin the championship but first and foremost let's hope all who have the covid will be OK.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 09/08/2021 14:40:36    2369129

Is this what we are reduced to? Debating what happened over 100 years ago. Jesus lads.

Fridge have those Covid cases been confirmed? Desperate if true. Surely the semi will have to be rescheduled if that many people are involved.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/08/2021 14:41:56    2369130

Game officially moved to 21st, source is teamtalk so fairly reliable

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 09/08/2021 15:11:49    2369142

Replying To Jackeen:  "Is this what we are reduced to? Debating what happened over 100 years ago. Jesus lads.

Fridge have those Covid cases been confirmed? Desperate if true. Surely the semi will have to be rescheduled if that many people are involved."
Game re-fixed to Saturday 21st.

Final moved to Saturday 4th September

Rumours only.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2105 - 09/08/2021 15:16:41    2369145

Sligo weren't offered any concession last year.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2582 - 09/08/2021 15:18:58    2369146

Good news, hopefully that's enough time for Tyrone to be as right as they can be.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13850 - 09/08/2021 15:19:07    2369147

Game postponed. Sensible thing to do given the circumstances. Sligo weren't so fortunate last year.

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 118 - 09/08/2021 15:25:08    2369154

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Rumours that 21 players have tested positive in Tyrone camp. Disaster"
Jesus, that is shocking. Must be the Delta variant. I hope all players - those who have symptoms- make a full and speedy recovery. I hope their families and loved ones will be ok too.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 09/08/2021 15:26:43    2369155

Replying To letsgosligo:  "Game postponed. Sensible thing to do given the circumstances. Sligo weren't so fortunate last year."
Yes this was the correct decision to postpone the game and give Tyrone a chance. These are unprecedented times and teams need to be given a chance. It was disgraceful what happened Sligo last year, would never have happened to a div 1 side.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1951 - 09/08/2021 15:32:28    2369159

Replying To Jackeen:  "Is this what we are reduced to? Debating what happened over 100 years ago. Jesus lads.

Fridge have those Covid cases been confirmed? Desperate if true. Surely the semi will have to be rescheduled if that many people are involved."
Does it make you feel uncomfortable knowing that money was more important to the dublin county board than backing up their fellow Gaels against the railway jackeen? A 5 year ban for our footballers for standing up for themselves and our supporters, crazy stuff.

Sure travel doesn't effect dublin footballers or supporters so it doesn't matter.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/08/2021 15:44:12    2369165