Replying To avonali: "From what I can see Barney, you're right Covid is here to stay. But mass vaccination reduces its transmissibility and consequently slows down the rate of mutation of the which is what they are so worried about. The thing is: will we ever see a fully packed Croke Park in the next few years?? Long Covid with young people is a real problem too. I think the GAA need to accommodate Tyrone properly and postpone the fixture." I'm not arguing one way or other about vaccination. That's a person's own choice, or ought to be.
More that in context of sport and GAA obviously, that the danger is vastly exaggerated. Of course vulnerable people should be protected - and remember majority of elderly who died were in the legal care of the state or other medics! - but we can't shut society down for ever.
Which is what some people want it seems. There are also those who have an ideological antipathy to certain activities and ways of life and see all of this as a rationale for restricting them.
There is no reason to stop people who only find out they are "sick" when they are tested from playing sport. None.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 08/08/2021 13:27:52
Replying To CiarraiMick: "I would nt like to get a walkover. Louth won all ireland in 1910 v Kerry by walkover. Kerry refused to player over some railway dispute" True indeed, Mick. In 1909, Kerry and Louth also reached the final. Kerry won by 6 points. At the time, you had only 7,870 motor cars in Ireland, so traveling by 'motor' wasn't a choice, not just for the players, but also for the players. So, in 1909, the Kerry county board saw to it that their players wanted for nothing (even back then), and the players were granted first-class travel arrangements on board a Great Southern Railway train.
However, in 1910, things were not replicated. The Great Southern Railway Company wanted more money. Kerry refused it, and didn't travel. Kerry were very indignant about the situation, it appears. A quote from the Kerryman newspaper at the times, stated that "the boys of the Kingdom would not be men if they followed any other course than the one they have adopted. The Great Southern Railway have affronted the Kerry team in a manner which could not be lightly passed over." The Kerryman also accused the company of treating the players as "a species of human doormat on which they could wipe their boots with impunity".
Had it been Dublin, their players could have walked to the game at the time. Those Dubs have always had the advantage (LOL).
COVID, in my opinion, is a far more serious affair than one of not willing, or not being able, to pay more money.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 08/08/2021 13:35:06
Even if all the players and management have been vaccinated it doesn't necessarily mean that they are "fully vaccinated" and there is a big difference.
We already had this argument a few weeks ago when I was able to show that the Government through the media were peddling misleading information by producing figures relating to those who were vaccinated which would obviously be higher that those who were "fully vaccinated" and if you are not fully vaccinated then you are not fully protected.
So we could have a situation where "All the Tyrone squad have been vaccinated" but at the same time "None of the Tyrone squad have been fully vaccinated" and while both statements are true, it's the last one which matters.
The issue isn't that the players who have tested positive are going to be too ill to play, it's that they and their close contacts must remain in self-isolation and therefore unable to prepare for the game or travel.
Eventually things will get back to normal but we aren't there yet.
If the GAA can delay a hurling semi-final because a few bales of hay fell off a truck then the least they can do is reschedule the Tyrone v Kerry game if necessary.
AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/08/2021 13:36:01
Replying To CiarraiMick: "I would nt like to get a walkover. Louth won all ireland in 1910 v Kerry by walkover. Kerry refused to player over some railway dispute" Were Kerry afraid to put their 1909 title "on the line" Mick??
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 08/08/2021 13:47:19
Replying To AfricanGael: "Even if all the players and management have been vaccinated it doesn't necessarily mean that they are "fully vaccinated" and there is a big difference.
We already had this argument a few weeks ago when I was able to show that the Government through the media were peddling misleading information by producing figures relating to those who were vaccinated which would obviously be higher that those who were "fully vaccinated" and if you are not fully vaccinated then you are not fully protected.
So we could have a situation where "All the Tyrone squad have been vaccinated" but at the same time "None of the Tyrone squad have been fully vaccinated" and while both statements are true, it's the last one which matters.
The issue isn't that the players who have tested positive are going to be too ill to play, it's that they and their close contacts must remain in self-isolation and therefore unable to prepare for the game or travel.
Eventually things will get back to normal but we aren't there yet.
If the GAA can delay a hurling semi-final because a few bales of hay fell off a truck then the least they can do is reschedule the Tyrone v Kerry game if necessary." For sure AG. These arent ordinary times.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20687 - 08/08/2021 14:24:32
Replying To avonali: "Were Kerry afraid to put their 1909 title "on the line" Mick??" I was nt around then Avon lol. I think it was to do with train ticket prices or something silly like that.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 08/08/2021 14:35:10
Replying To foreveryoung: "True indeed, Mick. In 1909, Kerry and Louth also reached the final. Kerry won by 6 points. At the time, you had only 7,870 motor cars in Ireland, so traveling by 'motor' wasn't a choice, not just for the players, but also for the players. So, in 1909, the Kerry county board saw to it that their players wanted for nothing (even back then), and the players were granted first-class travel arrangements on board a Great Southern Railway train.
However, in 1910, things were not replicated. The Great Southern Railway Company wanted more money. Kerry refused it, and didn't travel. Kerry were very indignant about the situation, it appears. A quote from the Kerryman newspaper at the times, stated that "the boys of the Kingdom would not be men if they followed any other course than the one they have adopted. The Great Southern Railway have affronted the Kerry team in a manner which could not be lightly passed over." The Kerryman also accused the company of treating the players as "a species of human doormat on which they could wipe their boots with impunity".
Had it been Dublin, their players could have walked to the game at the time. Those Dubs have always had the advantage (LOL).
COVID, in my opinion, is a far more serious affair than one of not willing, or not being able, to pay more money." Ah thanks for that forever. I did nt know the full story. You ré a great man for the gaa history Thanks again.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4243 - 08/08/2021 14:37:57
Replying To KingdomBoy1: "It won't be a Kerry decision Galway9801, it's got nothing to do with us except we're the team down to play Tyrone.
Does the fact that Sligo weren't given the opportunity to play ye in the Connacht semifinal due to Covid put Mayos Connacht championship win asterisk and also dublins allireland win aterisk?
Saying all that I do hope the gaa do the right thing here and give Tyrone the time they need unlike what they did to Sligo last year." Oh I know that man, I've no doubt that kerry, or any team for that matter, would much prefer to win something on the field rather than in a boardroom.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 08/08/2021 15:04:58
Replying To BarneyGrant: "There is no "silver bullet."
It is a relatively harmless virus that has become less virulent and is mostly likely going to be endemic, like the flu which has also survived vaccines and regularly mutates to become briefly more virulent.
We are going to have to live with it. Like the flu it overwhelmingly affects the very elderly and has minimal impact on anyone under the age of 60. I'm not a kick in the arse away from 60 myself so I'm not dismissing us, but elderly people get sick. Fact of life. Used to be flu, now it's Covid.
It is quite frankly absurd that entire societies be placed in what you are probably right about being another of a potentially unending series of restrictions.
Vast majority of sports people across the globe have only been tested positive as a consequence of contact tracing. In other words, they don't even know they have it! As anyone who has played even moderate club in past 20 years knows, there is no way anyone could train the way players do now with even a mild flu.
Getting to be farcical." You kinda have to admire our leaders though. Even a basic examination of the stats and statements we've been subjected to would lead any sane person to conclude that the threat is being greatly exaggerated, but not only have the government, with the the help of our insipid media, convinced people not to question what they're bring told but they've also convinced them that anyone who does question the narrative is a lunatic.
Way I see it it could be a good thing , if people are that dumb they probably need to be tightly controlled for their own good.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 08/08/2021 15:39:15
There's no way the GAA will not reschedule this game if needs be, they need the revenue and that's what it will come down to, money.
AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/08/2021 19:05:07
Replying To Galway9801: "Oh I know that man, I've no doubt that kerry, or any team for that matter, would much prefer to win something on the field rather than in a boardroom." 100%, let's play the game when Tyrone are fit and ready and not before and if we're good enough we'll win it and if we're not then best of luck to Tyrone in the final.
Let's hope the gaa do the right thing.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2021 19:09:29
Replying To foreveryoung: "True indeed, Mick. In 1909, Kerry and Louth also reached the final. Kerry won by 6 points. At the time, you had only 7,870 motor cars in Ireland, so traveling by 'motor' wasn't a choice, not just for the players, but also for the players. So, in 1909, the Kerry county board saw to it that their players wanted for nothing (even back then), and the players were granted first-class travel arrangements on board a Great Southern Railway train.
COVID, in my opinion, is a far more serious affair than one of not willing, or not being able, to pay more money." You never mentioned how the dublin county board tried to get Kerry kicked out of the allireland competition for 5 years only for our great neighbours from the Rebel County threatening to boycott the championship if that happened.
Also congratulations to the Cork hurlers today, a savage performance and I hope they go on to win the allireland now.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2021 19:20:57
Replying To KingdomBoy1: "100%, let's play the game when Tyrone are fit and ready and not before and if we're good enough we'll win it and if we're not then best of luck to Tyrone in the final.
Let's hope the gaa do the right thing." It's times like these that you see the GAA community coming together, slagging and stuff goes out the window when things get serious.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2947 - 08/08/2021 19:30:19
Replying To Saynothing: "It's times like these that you see the GAA community coming together, slagging and stuff goes out the window when things get serious." "the least they can do is reschedule the Tyrone v Kerry game if necessary"
I wish to retract this and say that I think Tyrone should be thrown out of the Championship ! :-).
AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/08/2021 21:15:36
Replying To Saynothing: "It's times like these that you see the GAA community coming together, slagging and stuff goes out the window when things get serious." It's tough on the Tyrone players and management and supporters Saynothing, it's less than ideal preparation for an allireland semifinal.
Anyway best of luck and I hope it's not as bad as first feared.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2021 21:57:16
Replying To Saynothing: "It's times like these that you see the GAA community coming together, slagging and stuff goes out the window when things get serious." Hopefully it all works out ok, it's going to affect the preparation though now regardless, you need everything to go right to win this game, I think I'd make Kerry the favs to win Sam this year at the minute, we'll know more after we see how the Dubs are v Mayo, that could go either way too, Wishing the Tyrone team all the best anyway.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3826 - 08/08/2021 22:07:36
Replying To KingdomBoy1: "You never mentioned how the dublin county board tried to get Kerry kicked out of the allireland competition for 5 years only for our great neighbours from the Rebel County threatening to boycott the championship if that happened.
Also congratulations to the Cork hurlers today, a savage performance and I hope they go on to win the allireland now." I never mentioned it, because I've never heard about that. Sources, please.
But yes, I know I'm good. And yes, I know you recognize that. But no! I don't know everything, or even everything else.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 09/08/2021 01:44:53
Replying To Saynothing: "Little enough football to watch and was looking forward to this. Hope it can be sorted. Think I can mind Tyrone losing out on a semi final of league the time of the mad cow stuff." I think that was 2001 when Tyrone couldn't play because of the Foot and Mouth. The four league semi finalists were Connacht teams.
tommy58 (Dublin) - Posts: 171 - 09/08/2021 09:38:51
Replying To KingdomBoy1: "You never mentioned how the dublin county board tried to get Kerry kicked out of the allireland competition for 5 years only for our great neighbours from the Rebel County threatening to boycott the championship if that happened.
Also congratulations to the Cork hurlers today, a savage performance and I hope they go on to win the allireland now." Feckin' dirty Dubs. I bet you the British Govt were giving them loads of money too, just to keep GAA strong within The Pale. Ohh you wouldn't be up to them.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 09/08/2021 10:14:46
Replying To foreveryoung: "I never mentioned it, because I've never heard about that. Sources, please.
But yes, I know I'm good. And yes, I know you recognize that. But no! I don't know everything, or even everything else." I read all about the 1910 allireland years ago and I was having a hop ball with 1 of the Louth lads on here about it a few months back.
But yes the dublin county board pushed really hard to have us banned from the allireland competition for 5 years, but like you said yourself they're players could walk to crokepark so they obviously couldn't understand even back then what a long and expensive journey it was for Kerry and other country folk.
But fair play to Cork they stood shoulder to shoulder with us and its shows if enough teams stand together we're stronger than dublin/gaa.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/08/2021 10:33:41