2021 Rankings So Far

Replying To greatpoint:  "Losing by 10 points against Dublin in 2019 is certainly a hammering too."
The best team we have seen. Yes we faded 2nd half but it was hardly on the cards at half time. Kerry aside in one game nobody has laid a glove on them in 8 years. Yes Mayo never got over the line and if you ever read my posts I never made excuses for them but the sneering at them from some quarters is hilarious considering even in transition we still got to the final last year. Maybe it's time for the other supporters to stop chatting until their team actually gets close to beating them.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 21/06/2021 13:05:03    2352354

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The best team we have seen. Yes we faded 2nd half but it was hardly on the cards at half time. Kerry aside in one game nobody has laid a glove on them in 8 years. Yes Mayo never got over the line and if you ever read my posts I never made excuses for them but the sneering at them from some quarters is hilarious considering even in transition we still got to the final last year. Maybe it's time for the other supporters to stop chatting until their team actually gets close to beating them."
A 10 point loss is a hammering, regardless of how you frame it.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 21/06/2021 13:11:56    2352359

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The best team we have seen. Yes we faded 2nd half but it was hardly on the cards at half time. Kerry aside in one game nobody has laid a glove on them in 8 years. Yes Mayo never got over the line and if you ever read my posts I never made excuses for them but the sneering at them from some quarters is hilarious considering even in transition we still got to the final last year. Maybe it's time for the other supporters to stop chatting until their team actually gets close to beating them."
Well, you're certainly making excuses now. And a transitioning team making the AI final isn't bad but considering who Mayo had played to get to that AI final has made them the most over rated team in Ireland now at this stage. Let's not forget Mayo were rightly relegated to Division 2, in the same year, simply because they weren't good enough to be there. It's not sneering, it's calling a spade a spade that I wouldn't be getting too over pumped about this Mayo side.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 21/06/2021 13:22:13    2352362

Replying To greatpoint:  "Losing by 10 points against Dublin in 2019 is certainly a hammering too."
A sound beating in the end, no doubt, but Mayo were hardly steamrolled. Mayo were up 2 points at halftime having dominated possession in the first half and should have had a bigger lead. Cons goal in the 3rd quarter was a killer and the team didn't have the fight of previous years left in it. The Dubs went for the jugular and were as ruthless as they were excellent.

The 2012 final was no hammering, but Donegal were very much in control, so oddly even though there was just 4 points in it at the end it had a certain inevitability about it with Donegal so good defensively at the time. A genuine hammering did happen the following year in the quarter-final though: Mayo 4-17 Donegal 1-10, with Mayo dominant from start to finish.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 21/06/2021 13:55:56    2352379

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Well, you're certainly making excuses now. And a transitioning team making the AI final isn't bad but considering who Mayo had played to get to that AI final has made them the most over rated team in Ireland now at this stage. Let's not forget Mayo were rightly relegated to Division 2, in the same year, simply because they weren't good enough to be there. It's not sneering, it's calling a spade a spade that I wouldn't be getting too over pumped about this Mayo side."
Straight back out of Division 2. Mayo beat the best sides in Connacht. Hardly their fault that Tipp made the semi final. My point is once again that posters seem to have a pop when their own teams can't even get to a final. Same craic on Twitter. Mayo have been the 2nd best team in the last 10 years, not the best and didn't have the bench in 16 and 17 to make that difference. But maybe time to start asking questions about why other teams can't make the breakthrough to challenge?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 21/06/2021 14:21:34    2352392

Replying To MurphBalls:  "It seems that people point that out once they know they have been rightly called out. What has me having multiple accounts got to do with you making stuff up by saying Mayo never get hammered. Truth is they were hammed by Kerry a couple of years ago and whether you like it or not they were beat after 10 minutes in the 2012 final. In saying that, I do feel sorry for you Flaker. You may never see Sam on Mayo soil in your lifetime unless the Dubs go on a nationwide trip around Ireland hitting all the counties that never get the opportunity to bring Sam to the county."
Your last sentence is just pathetic, juvenile trolling. Why do some grown adults carry on like this? You don't have to like Mayo and you are fully entitled to think that Mayo are over rated or hold whatever opinion you want and express that view, it is a free country. I just don't understand the need that some people have (and there is plenty of Mayo people carry on in the same way) to belittle, insult and wind up others. As I say, utterly pathetic. Grow up.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/06/2021 14:53:08    2352397

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Well, you're certainly making excuses now. And a transitioning team making the AI final isn't bad but considering who Mayo had played to get to that AI final has made them the most over rated team in Ireland now at this stage. Let's not forget Mayo were rightly relegated to Division 2, in the same year, simply because they weren't good enough to be there. It's not sneering, it's calling a spade a spade that I wouldn't be getting too over pumped about this Mayo side."
It's funny, I'd have thought Donegal were probably the most over rated team in the country at present. Consistently talked about as being a team capable of toppling the Dubs yet haven't been past the All Ireland Quarter Finals in 7 years and managed to get well beat last year by a team who now find themselves in Division 4. I don't get it but to each their own I suppose.

You are correct though to say that Mayo took a hammering against both Dublin in the 2019 semi final and Kerry in Killarney. Facts are facts and for Mayo lads to try and suggest otherwise is just silly. To say you haven't been sneering is beyond laughable though.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/06/2021 15:01:26    2352402

Replying To the_walls:  "It's funny, I'd have thought Donegal were probably the most over rated team in the country at present. Consistently talked about as being a team capable of toppling the Dubs yet haven't been past the All Ireland Quarter Finals in 7 years and managed to get well beat last year by a team who now find themselves in Division 4. I don't get it but to each their own I suppose.

You are correct though to say that Mayo took a hammering against both Dublin in the 2019 semi final and Kerry in Killarney. Facts are facts and for Mayo lads to try and suggest otherwise is just silly. To say you haven't been sneering is beyond laughable though."
Did you get your knickers in a twist today? I agree with you on Donegal. You couldn't have said a truer sentence. But the fact of the matter is that you may not see Sam set foot on Mayo soil in our lifetime. I'm happy enough. I've saw it twice in Donegal.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 21/06/2021 15:22:59    2352409

Replying To the_walls:  "It's funny, I'd have thought Donegal were probably the most over rated team in the country at present. Consistently talked about as being a team capable of toppling the Dubs yet haven't been past the All Ireland Quarter Finals in 7 years and managed to get well beat last year by a team who now find themselves in Division 4. I don't get it but to each their own I suppose.

You are correct though to say that Mayo took a hammering against both Dublin in the 2019 semi final and Kerry in Killarney. Facts are facts and for Mayo lads to try and suggest otherwise is just silly. To say you haven't been sneering is beyond laughable though."
I'd characterise a hammering the_walls as a thorough beating all the way through a game more so than by the margin. Mayo were in the Dubs game till Con burst our bubble in the second half and the scoring burst they had around that goal was most of the difference. However I don't believe it's silly, it's just my view of things and other posters will certainly see it differently which I don't see as silly either. I agree the Kerry game was closer to my definition of a hammering, so will take that.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 21/06/2021 15:46:32    2352417

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Did you get your knickers in a twist today? I agree with you on Donegal. You couldn't have said a truer sentence. But the fact of the matter is that you may not see Sam set foot on Mayo soil in our lifetime. I'm happy enough. I've saw it twice in Donegal."
You're right, it may not happen for Mayo in my lifetime but look at the way you are presenting it again. It's just mean spirited, nasty one upmanship, making the point that you are happy, you've seen in twice for your county and taking delight in the fact that it hasn't ever happened for most people in Mayo. And while on the face of it you could deny this by saying that you are simply calling "a spade a spade", that argument doesn't hold any water as whether people in Mayo get to see Sam in their lifetime (as opposed to you who has seen it twice) has absolutely nothing to do with what was under discussion. Even if it did, pointing out that you have got to see it happen twice for Donegal in contrast to Mayo fans never seeing it and most likely never getting to, serves no purpose other than an attempt to rub salt into wounds. You know exactly what you are doing and to try and suggest otherwise is completely disingenuous. As I say, it's utterly pathetic. I'm also not sure how pointing out childish trolling is somehow getting my "knickers in a twist"?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/06/2021 16:04:11    2352426

Replying To the_walls:  "You're right, it may not happen for Mayo in my lifetime but look at the way you are presenting it again. It's just mean spirited, nasty one upmanship, making the point that you are happy, you've seen in twice for your county and taking delight in the fact that it hasn't ever happened for most people in Mayo. And while on the face of it you could deny this by saying that you are simply calling "a spade a spade", that argument doesn't hold any water as whether people in Mayo get to see Sam in their lifetime (as opposed to you who has seen it twice) has absolutely nothing to do with what was under discussion. Even if it did, pointing out that you have got to see it happen twice for Donegal in contrast to Mayo fans never seeing it and most likely never getting to, serves no purpose other than an attempt to rub salt into wounds. You know exactly what you are doing and to try and suggest otherwise is completely disingenuous. As I say, it's utterly pathetic. I'm also not sure how pointing out childish trolling is somehow getting my "knickers in a twist"?"
Jees lad will you calm down. If you can't handle light banter then stay off the internet. A discussion about football. And you call me childish. Dun Na nGall Abu!!

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 21/06/2021 16:09:11    2352427

Replying To Pericles:  "I'd characterise a hammering the_walls as a thorough beating all the way through a game more so than by the margin. Mayo were in the Dubs game till Con burst our bubble in the second half and the scoring burst they had around that goal was most of the difference. However I don't believe it's silly, it's just my view of things and other posters will certainly see it differently which I don't see as silly either. I agree the Kerry game was closer to my definition of a hammering, so will take that."
I get where you are coming from and I agree that a scoreline doesn't always reflect how close or one sided a particular game might be. I'd look at the 2015 semi final replay against Dublin where we lost by 7 which was a mad difference considering how tight the game had been right up until the very end. The same would have been true for the Dublin Kerry in 2013, they were never 7 point games. I understand the logic that for the first half we were right in it and all of us were fully believing that we could do it. However we got absolutely destroyed in the second half by a brilliant Dublin performance and they fully deserved their 10 point victory. 10 points on the face of it is a hammering and when you agree that the opposition deserved to win by that (and to be fair I don't know if you do agree or not) then I'd say that it is fair to say it was a hammering.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/06/2021 16:12:06    2352428

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Jees lad will you calm down. If you can't handle light banter then stay off the internet. A discussion about football. And you call me childish. Dun Na nGall Abu!!"
I'm not sure why you think I'm not calm or why I can't "handle" what you're saying. I'm also at a total loss as to how me pointing out your trolling (which you've essentially admitted to) makes me childish? Top "bants" though, fair play.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/06/2021 16:19:23    2352430

Replying To the_walls:  "I'm not sure why you think I'm not calm or why I can't "handle" what you're saying. I'm also at a total loss as to how me pointing out your trolling (which you've essentially admitted to) makes me childish? Top "bants" though, fair play."
You clearly aren't handling it too well are you haha?

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 21/06/2021 16:33:19    2352432

Replying To the_walls:  "I get where you are coming from and I agree that a scoreline doesn't always reflect how close or one sided a particular game might be. I'd look at the 2015 semi final replay against Dublin where we lost by 7 which was a mad difference considering how tight the game had been right up until the very end. The same would have been true for the Dublin Kerry in 2013, they were never 7 point games. I understand the logic that for the first half we were right in it and all of us were fully believing that we could do it. However we got absolutely destroyed in the second half by a brilliant Dublin performance and they fully deserved their 10 point victory. 10 points on the face of it is a hammering and when you agree that the opposition deserved to win by that (and to be fair I don't know if you do agree or not) then I'd say that it is fair to say it was a hammering."
I get your logic too the_walls. I suppose I'm starting from a different perspective, but I think we're both ok with different conclusions.

What started this was the ridiculous statement that whenever Mayo are favourites they get a hammering. Mayo are often favourites and don't often get hammerings no matter how they're defined. Statement debunked!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 21/06/2021 16:49:24    2352437

Replying To Pericles:  "I get your logic too the_walls. I suppose I'm starting from a different perspective, but I think we're both ok with different conclusions.

What started this was the ridiculous statement that whenever Mayo are favourites they get a hammering. Mayo are often favourites and don't often get hammerings no matter how they're defined. Statement debunked!"
I hear ya and of course it is demonstrable nonsense to say that Mayo take a hammering whenever they are favourites. You'd actually be embarrassed for someone coming out with crazy stuff like that. Mayo are 1/100 to win on Saturday. Lump the mortgage on Sligo!!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/06/2021 18:35:46    2352451

Replying To MurphBalls:  "You clearly aren't handling it too well are you haha?"
Clearly not? In what way am I not handling it too well? I'm not quite sure how pointing out someone, in my view, is behaving like a childish troll is the same as "not handling it too well"? If it's clear you shouldn't have any issue explaining. Or you could double down some more on your nonsense. Either way, up to you.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/06/2021 18:42:51    2352452

I'd suggest my fellow Mayo posters to just ignore and let it slide. We are always going to be the source of mocking and sneering until we win the All Ireland....that's a fact and there is no point dwelling to much on it.

There are no trophies for being 2nd or being the 2nd best. I cringe at the national media "oh aren't they great, they were the 2nd beat team" blah blah blah.

I want to be hated by every county, I want the entire country fed up of us winning every year...now that's never going to happen but to win just once....yes absolutely to see Mayo win Sam once would be enough. I firmly believe we will win it though someday in the not too distant future. Keep the faith.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 21/06/2021 21:28:31    2352481

Replying To yew_tree:  "I'd suggest my fellow Mayo posters to just ignore and let it slide. We are always going to be the source of mocking and sneering until we win the All Ireland....that's a fact and there is no point dwelling to much on it.

There are no trophies for being 2nd or being the 2nd best. I cringe at the national media "oh aren't they great, they were the 2nd beat team" blah blah blah.

I want to be hated by every county, I want the entire country fed up of us winning every year...now that's never going to happen but to win just once....yes absolutely to see Mayo win Sam once would be enough. I firmly believe we will win it though someday in the not too distant future. Keep the faith."
I have a lot of admiration and respect for Mayo. I hate being beaten by them, and enjoyed every victory we had over them, but that's purely down to the fact that I feared them. 2006 still haunts me to this day, that and those Meath ******* in 1991 :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 21/06/2021 22:36:38    2352500

Replying To yew_tree:  "I'd suggest my fellow Mayo posters to just ignore and let it slide. We are always going to be the source of mocking and sneering until we win the All Ireland....that's a fact and there is no point dwelling to much on it.

I want to be hated by every county, I want the entire country fed up of us winning every year...now that's never going to happen but to win just once....yes absolutely to see Mayo win Sam once would be enough. I firmly believe we will win it though someday in the not too distant future. Keep the faith."
Mayo are a serious team, havnt been out of the top 5/6 in years, I've yet to have a conversation with anyone that sneers at them.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 22/06/2021 08:19:28    2352523