Advertisement

Mayo V Dublin

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Absolutely. And it doesn't make any sense cause if you look at their forwards (right now) compared to ours not one of them (apart from Coc) would make our panel never mind our team on paper it shouldn't be even a contest but we all know it will go down to the wire cause of mayo's Defenders keep them in every game , their forwards score from every 1 shot in 4 it's laughable to even think they can beat us but again we all know they can. No one gets under our skin more than this mayo team and supporter's , everything I said there is out of respect for this Mayo side. roll on Saturday evening can't wait it's going to be epic.

By the way people saying a 7 day turnaround is too much for Mayo are taking rubbish Mayo will be flying next weekend with massive momentum they Won't do any heaving training this week and 7 days is more than enough time to get the legs right again. Doherty a big loss obviously."
I'm not sure I buy all this craic about how many of our lads would make Dublin panel , it's impossible to know who'd fit. Carr and mcdonagh will give that Dublin defence a right good rattle .

Dubs will eventually wear us down and when we tire I'm afraid it could get silly , Dublin by ten plus I reckon.

Fiftyone (Mayo) - Posts: 20 - 05/08/2019 19:59:26    2221300

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Small will start he's a guaranteed starter for Dublin now, I think the other position up for grabs is either James McCarthy plays centre back instead of Cian or midfield instead of McCauley which would be harsh cause McCauley has been very good so far this season but McCarthy starts no matter what."
Who does small start ahead of?

Front 6 for me is
Howard
Kilkenny
Scully
Mannion
Con
Rock

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 05/08/2019 20:02:04    2221302

Replying To cluichethar:  "Hoping Dublin start off as bad as they did against Meath. Give us a chance to get a bit of a head start, settle in a wee bit."
So long as we finish it the same way I don't mind what way we start!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/08/2019 20:09:50    2221304

At the moment any for the foreseeable future it could be dublin A vs dublin B in the final nobody will come close over 70mins ..yes some teams are improving but so too are dublin and with full home crowd and getting over the line perfected I hope I'm wrong but this is most polished professional team squad I've seen in my lifetime

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 05/08/2019 20:21:56    2221308

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Who does small start ahead of?

Front 6 for me is
Howard
Kilkenny
Scully
Mannion
Con
Rock"
Cian? It surely has to be Small. James. Jack.

MDM has been reborn this year. You'd have to start him and Fento in the middle. I can't see a place for Cian myself.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4751 - 05/08/2019 20:26:29    2221310

Replying To giveitlong:  "A lot is in Mayo's favor this time. They are able to call on a full squad of players for the first time this year. They are playing with a huge hunger and don't give players a second on the ball, without being tackled. COC is back to his best and fittest first time in 3 years. AOS is fitter than ever.
Dublin have not played a top team since the AI final last year. This time last year Galway had battled hard and played well to win their first 2 games in S8. Already qualified they did not go full tilt or anything like it V Monaghan in the last game, saving themselves for Dublin. They were hammered in the semi and are on the slide since. While Tyrone will likely have 15 different starters the next day V Kerry, the DUBs will have 7 or 8 starters from the dead rubber yesterday. They won the game yes but can they get into the zone by Saturday. This could be close and indeed could be an upset."
Dublin have not played a top team since AI last year? This is like the old chestnut that you can get to Dublin sending high ball in on their backs. Cobblers! They haven't been beaten in Championship football since Donegal in '14. Mayo have been beaten by Roscommon, Galway and Kerry. Donegal let them off hook with a poor conversion rate. Two teams that bring best and worst out in each other. Expecting a dogfight. Dublin will pay them respect they deserve but still expecting a Dublin win.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 05/08/2019 20:28:22    2221312

So many good match ups in this game.

Will mayo start with Seamie o Shea or go back to the Aidan o Shea and Ruane partnership ?

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 05/08/2019 20:32:54    2221316

I hope Mayo can get another big performance out of themselves. It would be a shame to see an aging Mayo take a bad beating, considering how bravely they've performed all decade.

Dublin are a great team. Of the 2 Kerry football teams, Wexford football team and Kilkenny hurlers they look the best equipped to become the first five in a row team. Will their be a twist in the tail next Saturday or in the final.. Hard to see it. Then again, in sport anything is possible.

Don't think Diarmuid Connolly will start but probably be on the bench. As a neutral i'm glad he's back on the Dublin panel.

Defaulter1831 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 40 - 05/08/2019 20:39:11    2221321

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Who does small start ahead of?

Front 6 for me is
Howard
Kilkenny
Scully
Mannion
Con
Rock"
John Small not his brother, the other poster hadn't John In the Dublin team. John is a guaranteed starter now.

Cluxton
Fitzsimon
Copper
McMahon
McCaffrey
O Sullivan/McCarthy
Small
Fenton
McCauley/McCarthy
Scully
Kilkenny
Howard
Mannion
Rock
O Callaghan

That's the team and it's which position McCarthy starts at either centre back or midfield.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2019 20:41:56    2221323

Mayo we're beaten by roscommom and hammered by kerry while been cleaned out in midfield. Donegal had the chances to put mayo away but missed bad scores and on another day would of bet them. Andy Moran is some man but he's 35 and mayo still rely on him too much.

mightydubs (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 05/08/2019 20:57:22    2221329

can not wait to see how this game pans out..since 2015 every game between these 2 ive always thought that dublin would win by 5+ points...but such is the entertainment this mayo team provided in all those games i was way off the mark and thankfully so because to be fair this mayo team have saved the championship time and time again if not for them this fantastic dublin side would have swept through to all irelands virtually untested

as for saturdays game once again i cant see anything other than a dublin victory and also dublin exceeding the handicap of 5 points...but because it is mayo you just never know and that is the absolute beauty of this fixture

buzzing for saturday

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 544 - 05/08/2019 21:06:34    2221333

Replying To Galway2019:  "So many good match ups in this game.

Will mayo start with Seamie o Shea or go back to the Aidan o Shea and Ruane partnership ?"
All 3 will start.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8929 - 05/08/2019 21:32:30    2221338

Replying To mightydubs:  "Mayo we're beaten by roscommom and hammered by kerry while been cleaned out in midfield. Donegal had the chances to put mayo away but missed bad scores and on another day would of bet them. Andy Moran is some man but he's 35 and mayo still rely on him too much."
Mayo kicked the same number of wides as Donegal don't agree

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12262 - 05/08/2019 21:49:10    2221345

Replying To mightydubs:  "Mayo we're beaten by roscommom and hammered by kerry while been cleaned out in midfield. Donegal had the chances to put mayo away but missed bad scores and on another day would of bet them. Andy Moran is some man but he's 35 and mayo still rely on him too much."
Yes but mayo have 4 of their first choice midfielders back since the kerry game. Seamie o he's came on in the second half and evened our midfield. Add Matthew Ruane , Diarmuid o Connor and Tom Parsons to their midfield options now.

Mayo also have their best man marker / attacking half back to pick from. If mayo played kerry in Croke Park this weekend it would be a lot closer.

As far as Andy Moran being 35 and mayo relying on him do you suggest that a team doesn't play someone who can have a big influence on a game cause he's not in the age bracket of 18-35 ?

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 05/08/2019 21:53:35    2221346

Replying To TheFlaker:  "All 3 will start."
Who will ruane come in for ?

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 05/08/2019 21:54:01    2221347

Replying To Galway2019:  "Who will ruane come in for ?"
If Ruane starts will Aidan go to full forward?

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 05/08/2019 22:00:20    2221349

Replying To Fiftyone:  "I'm not sure I buy all this craic about how many of our lads would make Dublin panel , it's impossible to know who'd fit. Carr and mcdonagh will give that Dublin defence a right good rattle .

Dubs will eventually wear us down and when we tire I'm afraid it could get silly , Dublin by ten plus I reckon."
Yeah they will rattle Dublin Mayo always do , I meant what I said with the greatest of respect.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2019 22:06:15    2221352

Replying To gallarus14:  "If Ruane starts will Aidan go to full forward?"
Id imagine if Ruane started he would be on Fenton with SOS on McAuley and Aidan at 11 ?

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 05/08/2019 22:24:10    2221357

Replying To Galway2019:  "Who will ruane come in for ?"
Doherty

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 05/08/2019 22:28:29    2221359

Disagree. If we were given 45 minutes of added time, mayo would still have beaten us. they put our forwards off their game rather than our forwards just having an off day.

I would expect similar intensity this weekend.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3862 - 05/08/2019 22:46:06    2221367