Limerick V Kilkenny

Cody is the master of papering over any weaknesses and enhancing any strengths. He knows this Kilkenny fullback line isnt vintage. At their best they are better than functional and that's enough. If they dont get completely roasted then he ll feel they have done enough. I do think Kilkenny need goals and they can get them. The Limerick fullback line is seriously aggressive and they got the cool temperament of Casey in the middle. However when the ball pings in there for a few seconds and they miss it the first time then they become rash . Horgan found a way through them a few times this year already.
If Kilkenny are ahead with ten minutes to go they will win. If they are behind with ten to go then its curtains.. so basically I cant call it. A draw maybe

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 27/07/2019 10:38:35    2217022

Replying To tiobraid:  "Now now you can do better than that....don't be living in the past"
Says the lad who brought up last years final, You threw dirt in my direction but I caught it and threw it right back in your face! Beat ye twice without even scoring a goal......you don't need goals to win a Semi Final!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 27/07/2019 13:52:25    2217087

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Maybe it is that attitude to 'timber' hurling that has lost Galway twenty out of twenty five All Ireland Hurling Finals. If Kilkenny win on Sunday they will do it as always with class hurling. It is an approach to the game that has served them well. May the best team win. I feel it will be Limerick, but only just. Wexford get a hesitant vote to win on Sunday."
No Limerick man that was the problem we didn't use enough timber in those beaten finals. Wrong attitudes and not the correct mind set cost us.... don't mind your skill just pure determination will get you along way!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 27/07/2019 13:59:40    2217090

Replying To katser:  "Says the lad who brought up last years final, You threw dirt in my direction but I caught it and threw it right back in your face! Beat ye twice without even scoring a goal......you don't need goals to win a Semi Final!!"
Yer great lads altogether. Are ye still going on about doing back to backs and calling tipp the one in a row team up there?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/07/2019 15:44:08    2217116

Great game and if Limerick were in shooting form they'd be ahead but Kk are giving them all they can handle of it. You'd have to fancy the winner to go on and take the AI.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/07/2019 19:08:38    2217173

Hoping Limerick win,haven't played well enough but they are still there.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 27/07/2019 19:27:52    2217176

Replying To catch22:  "Great game and if Limerick were in shooting form they'd be ahead but Kk are giving them all they can handle of it. You'd have to fancy the winner to go on and take the AI."
Now where is the All Ireland Champions??????????????????? Karma is a terrible thing....what goes around comes around...allright Limerick kiddddddd!!!!!!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 27/07/2019 19:39:35    2217177

Jaysus me heart

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 27/07/2019 19:44:48    2217178

Savage intensity in that game. Plenty of mistakes but the frenzied pace had a part in that. Thoroughly enjoyable. Kilkenny slightly better team and would make them favourites now for the All Ireland because today they were ravenous.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 27/07/2019 19:46:13    2217179

Great finish. Last sideline was a 65..hit the defenders Hurley clear as day

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 27/07/2019 19:47:52    2217180

Oh what a way to win,.... I'm absolutely delighted, Thank God they are gone... Yahoooooooooooooo!!!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 27/07/2019 19:48:15    2217181

Replying To katser:  "Now where is the All Ireland Champions??????????????????? Karma is a terrible thing....what goes around comes around...allright Limerick kiddddddd!!!!!!!!"
What is wrong with you?

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 27/07/2019 19:50:46    2217183

Really didn't see that coming. Fair play to kk and you have to congratulate them on that. After about 90 seconds I changed my prediction....you could see kk weren't going to be beaten today. Limerick have been great champions but back to backs are almost impossible to win if you aren't from kk.
Impossible to pick out a man of the match on that kk team. Everyone played their part. For a team that are supposed to be carried by one or two players, I think that can be put to bed now. Cody has developed a panel without some of us even realizing!!
I haven't always been their biggest fans but hard not to admit that was a serious performance. Special mention to Richie hogan. Might have missed a few chances but I thought he had a huge impact on the game. Not sure how himself and Buckley with the troubles they have had can come back in and play at 200 miles an hour!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/07/2019 19:54:49    2217184

Kilkenny were the better side, no doubt. Limerick were sloppy. The last sideline was a 65 ,took a deflection off a Kilkenny hurley. But over the 70..Kilkenny were way more economical

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 27/07/2019 19:55:41    2217185

Replying To ballydalane:  "Jaysus me heart"
That has to be up their with some of kks biggest wins? You're defined by silverware maybe in kk but that one has to be one of the most satisfying?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/07/2019 19:56:08    2217186

Mickey mouse officiating cost limerick a chance to draw level, unbelievable stuff at this level of competition. What has to happen for the GAA to start officiating games with some level of professionalism. Time and time again we're seeing this farcical carry on. Enough is enough.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1905 - 27/07/2019 19:57:55    2217189

Savage win for KK, well done lads! What a game. And well done to your minors too; a good day out for the Cats!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 27/07/2019 19:58:21    2217190

Great game. Kilkenny deserved it for the intensity they brought.

Limerick will be back stronger for it.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 27/07/2019 19:58:57    2217192

KK were fantastic today. Better shooting, fielding, attacking the ball, hounding, blocking and passing.

Proud of Limerick too. League and Munster is still better tahn mast years as a Limk fan and as a great Galway team showed its hard to put back to back these days.

Good luck to the 3 left and with no bitterness I will be shouting for out fellow underdogs Wexford

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 27/07/2019 20:00:21    2217193

Congratulations Kilkenny.
The wides killed us...cant hit so many poor shots and hope to go through. Didn't play to our potential at all.
Still proud of our team, this time last year never would have thought I'd see them win an All ireland. League and munster final in the same year.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1060 - 27/07/2019 20:02:48    2217196