Only great teams win back to back All Irelands

These Dublin lads are very bitter today, terrible soar losers! Dont worry lads i'll cancel the open top bus for ye!

On another note the title of this thread is "Only GREAT teams win back to back All Irelands" ......... Which Dublin have failed to do this year or in the last 20 years! Kerry have done so ................. Get Over It. This Kerry team will be remembered as a great team, this Dublin team will not :)

That's All!

This is kinda sad really - grow up

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 03/09/2012 21:06:35    1258576

Its all on the day, there is a huge element of luck involved in winning back to back in the modern game. The Cork achievement of 25 years ago or there abouts, is not the modern game. They played 4 or 5 games max each year to win it. They were a great team back then, but its unfair to compare the achievements of Tyrone or Kerry in the past 10 years on a par with them. The game is too tough now, and exhausting to give it max for 2 seasons on the trot. Not impossible, but not far off it.

I have to say I am learning a lot this year. Being in a final, and in the unique position for us as being favorites, I can see how disengenuous posters from some other counties are about the success of others. I heard before the Cork game that they were a better team this year than they ever were, and after the game that they were a spent force, much the same as Tyrone are and Kerry are. If Kerry had beaten us the last day, we probably would be looking at a Mayo Kerry final and all the chat would have been about the great kerry team, rather than the burned out kerry team people are tagging them as now.

In short, I will tip my cap to anyone who makes the final or the later stages of the all ireland in the future. Some have slightly easier routes than others, but it is all very damn difficult indeed to make it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 03/09/2012 21:10:36    1258583

Kerry got to 6 all=ireland finals in a row,which looking back was was staggering. Id say never to be done again. Todays modern game puts a lot of demands on players bodies etc.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 03/09/2012 21:25:43    1258596

Donegalman

No one is listening to your reasoned reasonable points, well said.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4957 - 03/09/2012 21:40:18    1258611

Kerry got to 6 all=ireland finals in a row,which looking back was was staggering. Id say never to be done again. Todays modern game puts a lot of demands on players bodies etc.
kerry74 , 03/09/2012 at 21:25

Agreed there. What they did was a phenomonal and the way the game has gone fitness wise I can see teams only been near the top for a year or two at a time now.

Reagrding your fello Kerry men on this site, would it be possible to try to keep them on a leesh. They realy let themselves and Kerry people down - when everyone knows you are great sporting GAA people in general.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/09/2012 09:21:34    1258668

I never thought I'd see the day: Kerrymen harping back to yesteryear and putting the boot in - classy, very classy.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 04/09/2012 09:54:13    1258681

holy heck these Dubs cant take it at all, by god can they give it and they have been as soon as they are given their cummupance (as dear ole Snuff would say) they dont like it!

Sure it continues to rattle them that Kerry are and always will be far more succesfull than their beloved Dublin.

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 04/09/2012 10:00:24    1258686

Well done Kerry, ye are great, it doesn't rattle me that ye are the greatest ever, why would it? Why do ye even converse with snuf and his/her ilk, thought Kerrymen were cute...?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 04/09/2012 10:33:39    1258724

Would be no harm to shut this one so we can all get back to giving out about those bad boys from Ulster ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 04/09/2012 10:41:13    1258735

Floops

I never thought I'd see the day: Kerrymen harping back to yesteryear and putting the boot in - classy, very classy.

The classic Dublin quote ''putting the boot in'' ye hype yerselfs up and are all talk when ye win but cant take it when you lose and make out everyone is out to get ye, as for putting the boot me ye not too shy about it yerself, but of course its ok for ye to do it...

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/09/2012 11:04:48    1258768

Did you find that quote from yet boo boo or are you going to just keep on shamelessly waffling and making things up.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/09/2012 11:28:24    1258794

Culann

Did you find that quote from yet boo boo or are you going to just keep on shamelessly waffling and making things up.

it hard to find it with all your waffle, why dont you show us how great you are by talking in Irish again or is Google Translate not working today?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/09/2012 11:45:14    1258818

realdub

Well done Kerry, ye are great, it doesn't rattle me that ye are the greatest ever, why would it? Why do ye even converse with snuf and his/her ilk, thought Kerrymen were cute...?

Sure Snuf is just a loveable rogue, he loves us really!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 04/09/2012 11:54:12    1258832

moomoo

1258818 Culann

it hard to find it with all your waffle, why dont you show us how great you are by talking in Irish again or is Google Translate not working today?

Your level of debate is worse than Boscos. You made accusations against me and points, that can clearly be seen in the public domain via Hogan Stand, that were untrue. You now know you are in the wrong so you respond by being a child. Well done.

RReagrding the posts and threads I did as Gaeilge. Hogan Stand decided they were going to limit the amount I put up.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/09/2012 11:56:27    1258834

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CKH,

Theres only one from kerry that I love, the Corca Dhuibhne múinteoir.....the rest of ye I just toy with and can fling around like the rag doll anna! As seen here...its too easy!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/09/2012 13:04:57    1258920

Snufalufagus

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CKH,

Theres only one from kerry that I love, the Corca Dhuibhne múinteoir.....the rest of ye I just toy with and can fling around like the rag doll anna! As seen here...its too easy!

Taught you werent going to comment on this anymore? Then again i suppose you couldnt turn down the chance to talk about Kerry could you?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/09/2012 14:06:03    1259011

Ah & Snuff re-appears again ............... how is that cummupance treating you Snuff?

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 04/09/2012 14:33:16    1259045

Cumuppance is only for those who are arrogant enough to expect to win and then make excuses when they lose!.....ala Kerry last year!
I tipped mayo to win and hence and always make no excuses when we lose as I am not arrogant!......hence cumuppance is never an issue for Dubliners!

Cumuppance!.....that word really gets to you kerry lads!
Try some humility and ye might not be tagged with it anymore!

Snufaluagus....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/09/2012 15:00:45    1259087

Taught you werent going to comment on this anymore?
moomoo
------------

My PR people are trying to pull the strings....I like to keep them in check every now and again by waving their flimsy contract in front of them!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/09/2012 15:11:32    1259102

MooMoo the real reason he continues to comment on it is he is rattled and a terribly soar loser who has been served his cummpance and simply cant take it! I mean who had even seen or read a post of Snuff's until 12 months ago!?!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 04/09/2012 15:16:38    1259108