Everyone seems to be blaming the players, county board, development squads, club championship but there is no mention of the manager - Rossiter has to go. I have the greatest respect for him as a player but as a manager the jury is very much out. We were lacking the basics on Saturday - our first touch was atrocious .. we had no game plan .. our puck outs were terrible .. even the basic club teams can implement a decent puck out strategy now. Because he is one of our own, everyone seems to be fearful to be critical of him .. an outside manager would be tore asunder at this stage! MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 183 - 12/05/2025 09:13:58 2608674 Link 0 |
Does anyone have the facts and figures for Hurling 365 uptake and whether this has led to a meaningful increase in the share of children playing hurling with their local club? ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 498 - 12/05/2025 09:18:59 2608676 Link 0 |
I've seen a 365 coach showing kids how to pick up the ball with the toe of the hurl the wrong way. That is where we are at with coaching.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 793 - 12/05/2025 09:54:43 2608692 Link 0 |
Jesus theres an awful lot of "Galway are *****" posts on this forum. We are where are, we're not going to challenge a lot this year but have some good young lads to come though and it will take time. We stayed in 1A, hopefully get to a QF and give lads time to develop positions/roles in the team.....but FFS sake we're not *****! The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 771 - 12/05/2025 10:03:21 2608697 Link 3 |
I think the team should be picked with an eye to the future. So that means moving likes of Fanning, Jacko and Donohue on. Damien Reck should be dropped but won't be. Get the win and avoid relegation battle is all we can hope for. Offaly are very poor but won't lie down for us. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 12/05/2025 10:10:17 2608699 Link 0 |
The 365 is a waste of time. Id go as far as saying it does more harm than good. Id be surprised if rathangan even take part in it. I know murrintown don't and they seem to be playing rathangan in rackard league finals most years.
Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 12/05/2025 10:20:08 2608706 Link 0 |
Agree with a lot of what you're saying but not sure getting rid of the manager now would be the correct thing to do. At the same time management seem to have regressed in their decision making this year rather than improve being a year wiser in the role. I'm surprised at that because there's a lot of experience in the management team. Don't think we have the players but management have got a lot wrong in the last 2 games HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 12/05/2025 10:39:12 2608716 Link 0 |
Very deflated after Saturday. Was our worst championship performance in years devoid of so many of the basics. Our first touch, Passing and overall fight was terrible. Its hard to be positive going into the last two games. We need to win on Saturday to be sure to steer clear of a relegation dog fight. Looking at the table we would then need either a DRAW or Dublin win on Sunday and then us to beat Kilkenny and maybe Galway to beat Dublin aswell? If ourselves Galway and Kilkenny were to finish on 6 we would more than likely have the weakest score difference. Anyway its very hard to see us winning our last 2 games at the moment. We look totally devoid of confidence and I dont know what our overall game plan is. I hope the last 2 games can give us confidence for next year but the last few weeks have been very dissapointing we look to have regressed a lot even since last year where we beat Galway, unlucky against KK and competed with the AI champions Clare until ROC got sent off. Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 12/05/2025 10:39:52 2608717 Link 0 |
Yeah im very suprised with all the comments and posts about galway. When wexford bet us well last year we gave no comments or snipes at wexford, i cant understand all these galway are ***** comments its like wexford are declining but they are trying to pull us down with ye. Lets be honest we didnt play entirely well on Saturday but we have alot more gears to go through
Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 141 - 12/05/2025 10:49:03 2608724 Link 0 |
Fair play for fighting the good fight DOC! I don't think there's that much Galway abuse from Wexford fnas and to be fair the Wexford threads are among the most active on here with a lot of knowledgeable posters it seems. To be fair thouhgt I wouldn't blame Wexford fans if they thought we were S**** based on last year's game and the league game this year. I'm confident we're heading in the right direction though and we can finally break the u20 drought this year so there is plenty to supplement whatever level we get to witht he seniors. (And yes I am aware that has been said about GAlway many times before)
Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 12/05/2025 10:52:25 2608725 Link 0 |
That's a coaching issue though, it's nothing to do with Hurling 365 as a concept itself
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 498 - 12/05/2025 10:59:13 2608727 Link 0 |
Why is it a waste of time? We talk about not having the same culture as KK with lads brining hurls into schools the whole time, how could Hurling 365 do more harm than good? ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 498 - 12/05/2025 11:01:26 2608728 Link 0 |
I would take a one point win Saturday. We will know before the game if we are in a relegation dogfight or not but I expect Galway to best Antrim well. hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1133 - 12/05/2025 11:08:11 2608732 Link 0 |
Ye seem to have had a good year this year viking. I see ye got to a semi final of the roinn B. That the first time in a while I say is it? There must be a bit of work put in down there? hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1133 - 12/05/2025 11:13:58 2608733 Link 0 |
Limerick won at u21 though, which is obviously far better than winning at minor level, in terms of having talent available to the senior pipeline. Didn't happen for the 3 in a row sides 25 years ago, but this current bunch of Limerick players have certainly made up for that. We seemed to get it ****ways in Galway for the last 10-14 years or so, piling emphasis into minor success, and failing to deliver competitive u21 sides with those same minor allireland winners. And if they don't show at u21 level, they usually won't show at senior either.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4137 - 12/05/2025 11:18:09 2608736 Link 0 |
They are a good team. We played them in a Challenge game a couple of weeks ago. Some excellent young lads on it. 365 is a great initiative if you have teachers who play or played to a high level, Ciara and Amanda are both county level ladies players, and club coaches, like Liam at our National school, prepared to put time into it. As regards 365 leading into Rackard League alot also depends on the Principal you have. Willie Cleary has done great work in Taghmon school and he's only there since September. Trevor and Cormac the 2 teachers from Taghmon NS, along with Amanda from Carrowreagh NS, over the Rackard League team there are also good passionate GAA people. Our clubs participation levels are up this year from u12 downwards as a result of the work being put in. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 12/05/2025 11:34:07 2608741 Link 1 |
Yes 1st time in a long time. Lost out to a very good Kilmore team. There is a good bit of work going in. There are very good people involved with both schools now. Great to see! Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 12/05/2025 11:37:21 2608744 Link 0 |
I'm not into running lads down, but I nearly dropped Saturday morning when I heard the team changes. I assumed it was down to injuries but it wasn't. Different lads look at players, and what makes a good player, differently for sure, but the proof is usually in the pudding, which was decidedly undercooked Saturday. I don't have a problem with our gameplan tbh, but I'd question the selection of certain lads to carry it out. I also still think there should be more contact drills in our warmup, from minor to Senior, as it might help our lads avoid the usual slow starts. I know there's an argument that you don't want lads getting injured, but what we are doing the last while doesn't seem so good that way in any case, as several players on our Senior Football and Hurling teams have picked up pretty bad injuries in warmups in the recent past, despite there being no contact. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15731 - 12/05/2025 11:45:46 2608747 Link 0 |
Has anyone a link to the leinster championship score predictor posted here a couple of weeks ago? I know we need a miracle but id love to see the permutations that would see us going through. Looking at the table I think the only way we can go through is if Dublin beat Kilkenny. We would then have to win our two games and hope Galway beat Dublin also given our poor score difference wont be enough if we have a 3 way tie between us KK and Galway. The way we are hurling though its hard to see us winning our final two games Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 12/05/2025 11:58:34 2608755 Link 0 |
Unless schools have dedicated gaa teachers nothing is gained and them schools will be hurling anyway. Iv seen it 1st hand. Glorified play time in alot of schools. Gives the impression that great work is being done and looks great on Facebook or X.
Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 12/05/2025 12:04:11 2608758 Link 0 |