Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Anyone catch either of the sending off on the telly? He was so inconsistent, Offaly got away with so many pulls and high tackles that we got penalised for. Still could have won it, terrible wide by Simon at the end.

I don't know why we seemed to take Offaly for granted for most of the game. We only really started playing after Jacko was sent off."
High ball. Offaly player had a hold of Jack's face guard. Pulled straps off. Jack pulled more the top of his man's helmet. Crazy decision.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 169 - 10/02/2024 19:02:49    2525360

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "High ball. Offaly player had a hold of Jack's face guard. Pulled straps off. Jack pulled more the top of his man's helmet. Crazy decision."
Yeah watched it back in TG4 when I got home. Offaly was definitely the aggressor and it look like Jacko couldn't see. His hand came down on the Offaly lad's helmet. The Offaly lad throws his head back.

IMO it looks like Jacko brushes off the Offaly lads' helmet as his arm is coming down because he can't see, he isn't pulling the at the helmet.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 279 - 10/02/2024 19:21:59    2525363

Just watched it back there Jack didn't even pull his helmet ffs. Offaly lad grabs the face guard pulls it and Jack's hand comes down on his helmet. Absolutely terrible decision.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 304 - 10/02/2024 19:40:26    2525366

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I thought o Connor sending off was awful..if he went then Offaly man should have gone aswell..great interview with rossiter,he said he had no problem with sending off,did interfere with helmet..however Offaly player had a more obvious hold on helmet..I thought ref was very harsh on Wexford and were penalised way more in course of the game..ended up being a good point gained by ye and the last chance should have been scored..against that Offaly had some shocking wides and if they had a reliable free taker would have won.."
It's very nice to hear that from a neutral.

Ultimately we have to take responsibility though. We still had a sitter missed in the last minute.

Great teams find ways to win even when everything is against you

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4377 - 10/02/2024 20:01:09    2525369

Replying To Timbertony:  "Blatant throw alright, no idea how the ref missed it. Donohue going for his score at the end with the free man inside cost us the win. Some good spirit shown on a difficult night. Seamus Casey, Chin, Kevin Foley and the Recks were very good. But big problems nearly everywhere else."
Watched the game on TG4 and missing the throw ball for the offaly goal was perhaps the worst decision of all!

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 200 - 10/02/2024 20:03:19    2525370

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Just home now. I hate blaming referees. We were very poor first half and really should have won it at the end but to be fair down to 13 men they showed a lot of fight. Bad miss by Simon to win it at the death he looked very dissapointed in himself."
In fairness to Simon, as a defender he is usually fairly accurate with his point taking.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 1028 - 10/02/2024 20:11:47    2525372

Lads i completely understand the sending off of O Connor was wrong and with harsh conditions and 13 men the odds were stacked against ye. But from a neutral looking in if wexford have any intention of going far in 2024 offaly should have been sent home by half time. Alot of hurling to be done yet of course but offaly are a very poor team

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 157 - 10/02/2024 20:22:06    2525373

Replying To Doylerwex:  "It's very nice to hear that from a neutral.

Ultimately we have to take responsibility though. We still had a sitter missed in the last minute.

Great teams find ways to win even when everything is against you"
I believe he had the option of a player in a better position too before he let fly. Poor decision making, but given the circumstances a draw isn't a bad result.

No wins in two now!

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1530 - 10/02/2024 20:24:26    2525375

Firstly, we were atrocious in the first half. The full back line we solid all through with s reck wexford man of the match.d reck is to lose and physically to small for centre back for me, great hurler but not a centre back. Molloy was OK, Charlie was very poor. Chin, Byrne, Dunbar and casey had moments. All in all we played better when we went down to 14 then 13 men.
But I be worried how light we look physically tonight but I suppose it was a very young team.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1190 - 10/02/2024 20:25:10    2525376

Seen it on TG4, the Offaly man grabbed the Wexford man's faceguard and then the Wexford man lost his stick and caught the top of Offaly man's helmet at the joint of the front part and the top of the helmet. Harsh decision.

'

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1131 - 10/02/2024 20:29:05    2525377

We can point the finger all we want and I agree the ref struggled, but that performance was a hard watch. Over carrying out of the backs, passing to a marked player when other players were free, fumbling the ball, taking an age to release the ball, it was just poor. We talk about why we're not held to the high standards other counties are, and as I said earlier in the week, it's lack of consistency. That game should have been won and won well.

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 176 - 10/02/2024 20:46:26    2525380

Replying To Galway456:  "Lads i completely understand the sending off of O Connor was wrong and with harsh conditions and 13 men the odds were stacked against ye. But from a neutral looking in if wexford have any intention of going far in 2024 offaly should have been sent home by half time. Alot of hurling to be done yet of course but offaly are a very poor team"
Have to agree. We have to be winning these games and there is no excusing that first half performance. To be fair to offaly they took their chances well.

Just watched the jack sending off again what a mad decision. Is the rule interference with the face guard or the helmet??

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 304 - 10/02/2024 20:58:44    2525381

First 20 minutes were terrible, played with no intensity at all whereas Offaly were all guns blazing. Conditions were the same for both sides but they played them a lot better than us in the first half, I felt like we handed them a lot of opportunities off turnovers in possession, very hard to build from the back in conditions like that. I think we also did a bad job tracking runners at times, I felt like they were able to get a lot of soft scores on us, our backs were on top whenever it was 1v1, Shane Reck had Adam Screeney locked down bar the first five/ten minutes (Which is to be expected given how light Screeney is). Their starting six forwards scored 1-04 from play across the 70 minutes and the goal was a throw, I think our starting six backs were solid enough, it's just that we gave them too many soft scores out the field.

I think a big worry for us is that we struggled physically in the conditions, Offaly were bigger and physically stronger than us and were much the better in terms of winning primary possession and dirty balls in the first half. From about the 20-minute mark until the 45-minute mark, we had got a handle on the game and am fairly sure we would have pulled away barring the red card. There's no point talking about it because literally everyone agrees on the incident. Offaly should have been further ahead at half-time but at the same time, where would we have been had some refereeing decisions been different?

I feel like it's hard to evaluate our performance from there on in as playing a man down in those conditions made getting anything from the game a hard task.

Offaly hit hard as did Kilkenny last week yet the free-counts were fairly one-sided both times, I'd like to know what it is that we're doing illegally that other teams are doing legally?

I know some will say that Offaly are poor but I thought they were very good and should take a huge amount of beating in the Joe McDonagh, I'd probably have them ahead of Carlow, Antrim, and Westmeath at this stage and they're only going in one direction. They may have lost by 12 points to Waterford last week but there was only 3 in it late on.

It would concern me a little that we only seem to bring our best against Kilkenny for all that I think we probably would have pulled away and won by 5/6 points had it been 15v15 or 14v14.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1013 - 10/02/2024 21:03:55    2525383

Replying To Galway456:  "Lads i completely understand the sending off of O Connor was wrong and with harsh conditions and 13 men the odds were stacked against ye. But from a neutral looking in if wexford have any intention of going far in 2024 offaly should have been sent home by half time. Alot of hurling to be done yet of course but offaly are a very poor team"
I have to agree with your post above Galway456

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1190 - 10/02/2024 21:09:48    2525384

This getting into trouble with short handpassing and passing short to marked players needs to stop. We don't need to play like limerick or any other team. Let the ball forward and quick into the forwards

Rosscountrt (Wexford) - Posts: 7 - 10/02/2024 21:42:47    2525387

Would have to feel we left a point behind us especially after not been at the races for the first twenty mins. Soft ground suited Offaly and they were physical enough a big worry for us going forward is all out newcomers are very small especially online the forwards hopefully as the ground hardens it will suit them a bit better. Seamus Casey was probably out best performer took his scores well, Chin came in patches , thought Conor Hearne done a lot through the middle. Brian Duignan had plenty of wides aswell even though he played well which could have had Offaly out of sight. Soft ground didn't suit Screeney either and Reck done well on him. Kilkenny beating Cork tonight aswell they looked a different level tonight compared to last week all to play for now but we will have to take points somewhere hopefully some of the older lads are introduced soo we rager than later.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 344 - 10/02/2024 21:54:29    2525389

Replying To beano:  "I believe he had the option of a player in a better position too before he let fly. Poor decision making, but given the circumstances a draw isn't a bad result.

No wins in two now!"
No defeat in 2 now.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 10/02/2024 22:16:11    2525392

There is something to this turning it on against Kilkenny but not having the same intensity against others at this stage.

The thing is our recent record against Kilkenny is mitigated by the fact they are on their longest dry spell from an All-Ireland title since the 1984-1991 period, but at the same time have won more cups and appeared on the biggest stage of all more times than us during this fallow spell (imagine how busy the streets of Gorey would be if we even got to an All Ireland final if the 2019 Leinster final celebrations are a barometer). They are far from a vintage KK team, and we have invariably been fighting for championship survival/continuation in our recent meetings.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1530 - 10/02/2024 22:19:06    2525393

Offally played some nice hurling tonight at times but i thought wexford were atrocious and the old failings will be hard to get rid of. Drawing with offally tonight at home is a very poor result and it can be buttered up all it wants. Id be shocked if thwy beat or draw with any of the other 3 teams. Wexfords all ireland seems to be kk. You look at kk tonight they go to cork and beat them. Without chin tonight wexford would have being bet and i do worry the day he retires who will step up. Discipline was very poor last week and although jacko red was very harsh,the 2 should have went if he was going to do it.. Its going to be hard get points from the 3 munster teams. Its very very disappointing draw with kk and a week later snatch a draw agsinst a joe macdonagh team.

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 73 - 10/02/2024 22:37:17    2525398

Replying To beano:  "There is something to this turning it on against Kilkenny but not having the same intensity against others at this stage.

The thing is our recent record against Kilkenny is mitigated by the fact they are on their longest dry spell from an All-Ireland title since the 1984-1991 period, but at the same time have won more cups and appeared on the biggest stage of all more times than us during this fallow spell (imagine how busy the streets of Gorey would be if we even got to an All Ireland final if the 2019 Leinster final celebrations are a barometer). They are far from a vintage KK team, and we have invariably been fighting for championship survival/continuation in our recent meetings."
Dublin referees & Wexford. Maybe a conspiracy but I feel we always on the wrong side of Dublin officials in Hurling at all ages/levels. Anyone any good at spotting trends??

Poor performance tonight, was due with it being 5th game on the trot with mostly same players. 2 weeks now to Waterford & hopefully some of the missing 6 or 7 will be back. Matt, Jippo, Dee, Liam Og, Rory, Conor Mc, Micky Dwyer will be huge help to the match day squad.

HurlingMan80 (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 10/02/2024 22:38:15    2525399