Replying To beano: "There is something to this turning it on against Kilkenny but not having the same intensity against others at this stage.
The thing is our recent record against Kilkenny is mitigated by the fact they are on their longest dry spell from an All-Ireland title since the 1984-1991 period, but at the same time have won more cups and appeared on the biggest stage of all more times than us during this fallow spell (imagine how busy the streets of Gorey would be if we even got to an All Ireland final if the 2019 Leinster final celebrations are a barometer). They are far from a vintage KK team, and we have invariably been fighting for championship survival/continuation in our recent meetings." Just a few things of note when we played long in to space our young small forwards were excellent, only problem is that it didn't happen often enough and it needs perfecting. This reminded me of u20 hurling final against Offaly, they crowded it out on their 60 metre line and upset the short passing game numerous times. Our inability to adapt is worrying but do think this side has potential. If you look at Johnny Murphy reffing tonight it was a different ball game. Based on Sean stack ideas cork no 6 should have been sent off for clip on helmet of Walter walshe going through and penalty awarded. I just think the referring was incredibly mixed from referee in Wexford match and Jack o Connor decision was poor. Are we conceding more frees because we are smaller and going in more aggressively for impact? Wex management need to address this with referees or team or whoever.
bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 78 - 10/02/2024 22:53:13
Replying To hunting: "Firstly, we were atrocious in the first half. The full back line we solid all through with s reck wexford man of the match.d reck is to lose and physically to small for centre back for me, great hurler but not a centre back. Molloy was OK, Charlie was very poor. Chin, Byrne, Dunbar and casey had moments. All in all we played better when we went down to 14 then 13 men. But I be worried how light we look physically tonight but I suppose it was a very young team." Not sure about the half back line based on first two games, Paudie Foley is a big loss still. Hearne tries hard but his use of the ball is very mixed. Three balls in a row in second half he made a mess of including a really poor wide. Needs to be a lot sharper on the ball when he gets it.
Physically it's clear some of our lads are still a bit off being able to compete at this level. But our 26 later this year will be stronger for giving these lads game time in tight games in Feb. Age old problem of the lack of a scoring threat still there, we never look like hitting mid to late 20s scores.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 534 - 10/02/2024 22:55:37
Replying To Slowandshortsighted: "Offally played some nice hurling tonight at times but i thought wexford were atrocious and the old failings will be hard to get rid of. Drawing with offally tonight at home is a very poor result and it can be buttered up all it wants. Id be shocked if thwy beat or draw with any of the other 3 teams. Wexfords all ireland seems to be kk. You look at kk tonight they go to cork and beat them. Without chin tonight wexford would have being bet and i do worry the day he retires who will step up. Discipline was very poor last week and although jacko red was very harsh,the 2 should have went if he was going to do it.. Its going to be hard get points from the 3 munster teams. Its very very disappointing draw with kk and a week later snatch a draw agsinst a joe macdonagh team." I don't think Wexford have anything to fear against cork or Waterford.
We'd have a very good record against them
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4377 - 10/02/2024 23:21:05
Replying To HurlingMan80: "Dublin referees & Wexford. Maybe a conspiracy but I feel we always on the wrong side of Dublin officials in Hurling at all ages/levels. Anyone any good at spotting trends??
Poor performance tonight, was due with it being 5th game on the trot with mostly same players. 2 weeks now to Waterford & hopefully some of the missing 6 or 7 will be back. Matt, Jippo, Dee, Liam Og, Rory, Conor Mc, Micky Dwyer will be huge help to the match day squad." Had a different Dublin referee against Westmeath last year too, 5 yellow cards each but 23 frees to them an 8 to us, gave a free against Cathal Dunbar for touching a ball when not 13m from the sideline taker despite the fact he never touched the ball, one of their defenders had a hurl around Rory O'Connor's neck and had the helmet pushed up beyond his nose in the build-up towards their fourth goal
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1013 - 11/02/2024 00:15:03
Was at the game so watched it back on the TG4 Player
Every single time we tried to come out with the ball, Charlie Mitchell would put both of his hands on the hips of our defender and tug, was never called for it though
No idea what Kevin Foley was booked for, looked like he was just planting his foot in a ruck
Sampson a very lucky boy to not be sent off on a straight red for his elbow on Chin, that was not self-protection
King was on a yellow so had to go anyway
Their goal was a throw
The free given against Cian Molloy at the end was for nothing
Offaly exaggerated contact a lot, that's why they won so many frees
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1013 - 11/02/2024 00:20:31
Replying To Galway456: "Lads i completely understand the sending off of O Connor was wrong and with harsh conditions and 13 men the odds were stacked against ye. But from a neutral looking in if wexford have any intention of going far in 2024 offaly should have been sent home by half time. Alot of hurling to be done yet of course but offaly are a very poor team" If I was you if concern myself with Limerick,Tipp,Cork and KK.46 hurling clubs and 4 All Irelands
jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1911 - 11/02/2024 00:27:26
Some of these points made already but -
- very disappointing not to beat offaly at home - they will undoubtedly get hammered by every other team in the division -Stack has shown between last night and the club finals he likes to make big calls and risk being wrong. Jack O certainly didn't deserve a red - Charlie Mc was very foolish to lunge like that when on a yellow , he had to go one way or the other but he probably cant argue against a straight red . In general play the ref let offaly away with a lot of poor tackling - first half from wexford was a throw back to some of the championship performances last year , a lack of aggression and so many balls lost in possession -D Reck is a wing back playing at centre back - not strong enough in the air and doesn't want to hold the middle - when Ryan is back putting Conor F out CB with Reck and C molloy on wings could work. Charlie Mc hasn't carried his club form with him at all and maybe the suspension will give him a few weeks to reset. - Our forward line and MF is where the concerns would really be in my opinion. Rory O C needed back ASAP but unfortunately even with him we are going to struggle- Corey B D did well but is he going to light up the scoreboard ? Richie L seems to be left on regardless of how he is playing and to me he isn't offering anything at the minute. Cian B will be good but he's young. Chin was good in 2nd half but we can't give him a free pass for the 1st half either- Kiely destroyed him. Rossi can only work with what he has and most of the lads he has to come back aren't forwards. K Foley is hurling much better so far this season which is certainly a positive. Credit also to Casey who looks very sharp.
All in all we simply have to start playing against other teams outside of KK and we are all blue in the face saying that.
OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 51 - 11/02/2024 09:56:12
Replying To ElGranSenor: "Was at the game so watched it back on the TG4 Player
Every single time we tried to come out with the ball, Charlie Mitchell would put both of his hands on the hips of our defender and tug, was never called for it though
No idea what Kevin Foley was booked for, looked like he was just planting his foot in a ruck
Sampson a very lucky boy to not be sent off on a straight red for his elbow on Chin, that was not self-protection
King was on a yellow so had to go anyway
Their goal was a throw
The free given against Cian Molloy at the end was for nothing
Offaly exaggerated contact a lot, that's why they won so many frees" Séamus Casey had a point waved wide too
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1013 - 11/02/2024 09:58:08
Replying To ElGranSenor: "Séamus Casey had a point waved wide too" Someone at the game said this to me but I didn't see it on TV.
The cost of last nights draw is now huge. We need two wins against Munster opposition and still hope that results go our way as score difference could beat us.
wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 200 - 11/02/2024 10:28:06
To be fair Rossi has made a great start and is building a new panel which we've all been crying out for.
The honeymoon was always going to end sometime. Yesterday was very disappointing and we needed to win which we should have. We also didn't lead until the 61st minute and could easily have lost. We fought for it and another point on the board is better than nothing.
At the start of the group we probably expected to lose to Kilkenny and beat Offaly. Neither of those happened, but we still have 2 points on the board.
Offaly are not that bad either. They were very good against Waterford for most of the game. If not for a few lapses in concentration might have got something from that game. They were flagging in a similar way last night only for the two man advantage.
For this league to beat success now, we'll have to pick up another 3/4 points. Maybe 2 would do, but better not to leave it to chance.
Waterford in two weeks will be tough, but is a winnable game. Assuming they're highly focused on championship given the pressure Davy is under we can get something from it if we play to our strengths.
Clare are weakened but have our number at the minute and are obviously further down their development road.
That leaves Cork in the park, who are under pressure now too.
Our recent record suggests we've every chance. We should have beaten them last year and we're in a much better place now.
We hammered them in 22 and we all know what happened the following week with Waterford.
Somebody else made the point Kilkenny were a different beast last night, but in fairness Cork didn't play at all for the first 25 minutes a bit like us.
Last night might turn out to be a gift. The silver lining being training this week will be right back down to earth and the lads will know they can't afford to be casual on the pitch.
As time moves on we're bringing back more and more experience which is great. Imagine it was Dee, mogie, Mac or ROC that got the last chance last night.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4377 - 11/02/2024 10:41:37
Replying To wexfordwin: "Someone at the game said this to me but I didn't see it on TV.
The cost of last nights draw is now huge. We need two wins against Munster opposition and still hope that results go our way as score difference could beat us." Not too sure about that. There's a strong possibility Dublin could finish on only 2 points in the other group but we don't want to be relying on that
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4377 - 11/02/2024 10:42:41
Replying To jobber: "If I was you if concern myself with Limerick,Tipp,Cork and KK.46 hurling clubs and 4 All Irelands" The jealous neighbour is ranting again! You wouldn't recognise an All Ireland if it hit you in the face. Galway, a dual county like Westmeath, has won 14 Senior All Ireland titles: 9 football + 5 hurling. 21 Club All Irelands: 14 hurling + 7 football. We won't mention the All Irelands our fine ladies have won. Have a nice day!
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 11/02/2024 10:43:35
Replying To OasisorBlur: "Some of these points made already but -
- very disappointing not to beat offaly at home - they will undoubtedly get hammered by every other team in the division -Stack has shown between last night and the club finals he likes to make big calls and risk being wrong. Jack O certainly didn't deserve a red - Charlie Mc was very foolish to lunge like that when on a yellow , he had to go one way or the other but he probably cant argue against a straight red . In general play the ref let offaly away with a lot of poor tackling - first half from wexford was a throw back to some of the championship performances last year , a lack of aggression and so many balls lost in possession -D Reck is a wing back playing at centre back - not strong enough in the air and doesn't want to hold the middle - when Ryan is back putting Conor F out CB with Reck and C molloy on wings could work. Charlie Mc hasn't carried his club form with him at all and maybe the suspension will give him a few weeks to reset. - Our forward line and MF is where the concerns would really be in my opinion. Rory O C needed back ASAP but unfortunately even with him we are going to struggle- Corey B D did well but is he going to light up the scoreboard ? Richie L seems to be left on regardless of how he is playing and to me he isn't offering anything at the minute. Cian B will be good but he's young. Chin was good in 2nd half but we can't give him a free pass for the 1st half either- Kiely destroyed him. Rossi can only work with what he has and most of the lads he has to come back aren't forwards. K Foley is hurling much better so far this season which is certainly a positive. Credit also to Casey who looks very sharp.
All in all we simply have to start playing against other teams outside of KK and we are all blue in the face saying that." If Foley continues his form, I wonder could we slot Jippo into centre-back? Then look at a starting sextet of:
Murphy/Eoin Ryan C.Foley S.Reck MOH/Molloy L.Ryan D.Reck
I'd rather Ryan's experience and consistency there, in the most important position in modern day, than a relative rookie, especially when you look at the incumbents in the position across the other counties. You get away with being an emerging full-back (Huw Lawlor and Jippo himself were around Foley's age when they locked down 3). But I agree that Reck looks better as a wing-back or disrupter, doesn't have the overall presence at 6.
beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1530 - 11/02/2024 10:47:21
Replying To jobber: "If I was you if concern myself with Limerick,Tipp,Cork and KK.46 hurling clubs and 4 All Irelands" Galway: total number of county and club ALL Irelands at senior level, football and hurling = 35
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 11/02/2024 10:53:45
Replying To baire: "The jealous neighbour is ranting again! You wouldn't recognise an All Ireland if it hit you in the face. Galway, a dual county like Westmeath, has won 14 Senior All Ireland titles: 9 football + 5 hurling. 21 Club All Irelands: 14 hurling + 7 football. We won't mention the All Irelands our fine ladies have won. Have a nice day!" To be fair, your all-Ireland hurling success at both County and club are a bit of a joke. Winning one or two games along the way. Incredible stuff Jeff.
Do you think the clubs will go into Leinster? Show a bit of courage?
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 11/02/2024 11:34:38
Replying To Ban: "To be fair, your all-Ireland hurling success at both County and club are a bit of a joke. Winning one or two games along the way. Incredible stuff Jeff.
Do you think the clubs will go into Leinster? Show a bit of courage?" If ours is a joke, what's yours?
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 11/02/2024 12:00:26
Replying To baire: "If ours is a joke, what's yours?" Ours is very poor, both in hurling and football. But at least we play in a competition that's a proper test. Like what your footballers and county hurlers play in now.
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 11/02/2024 13:13:06
Replying To HurlingMan80: "Dublin referees & Wexford. Maybe a conspiracy but I feel we always on the wrong side of Dublin officials in Hurling at all ages/levels. Anyone any good at spotting trends??
Poor performance tonight, was due with it being 5th game on the trot with mostly same players. 2 weeks now to Waterford & hopefully some of the missing 6 or 7 will be back. Matt, Jippo, Dee, Liam Og, Rory, Conor Mc, Micky Dwyer will be huge help to the match day squad." Oh come on now sure why not get on to Breitbart or Gript to see if they will entertain that conspiracy?
Here's what you are on the wrong end of. Wexford didn't win that match because they spent 25 minutes messing around with the ball from short puck outs only to be turned over and concede a free or a point. It was not a night for short passing and time and time again it broke down. When they launched long ball, they were much more effective but why did it take a half of hurling for them to notice that?
Wexford think they are better than Offaly, Dublin, Antrim etc but the reality is, if you get in their faces and make life hell for them, Wexford crumble. Kilkenny make the mistake of trying to hurl Wexford, which is their DNA. These other counties aren't good enough hurlers, but what they are is battlers. Offaly had a few big strong men who swatted Wexford players aside time and again. The same happened Gorey v Kilcormack. It happens to so many Wexford teams.
This is why pundits don't rate Wexford, because they beat Kilkenny and then can't beat anyone else. You need to stop gauging yourselves on Kilkenny and start thinking about how to beat other teams. 6 days later Kilkenny went to Cork and hurled them off the park, Wexford got in to a dogfight with Offaly and there was not enough fight in the dog.
Jacko was unlucky and should have red card rescinded, only saw it a 2nd time on social media but do we not need to let the referee have a 2nd look if the TV has an angle? Works well in rugby.
Saw 2nd half of Kilkenny Cork but it was light years ahead. A long way to go for this Wexford team.
A positive final point, the new seats in Wexford Park are very comfortable and Saturday night matches are made for this time of year. But €20 for a league match is a bit pricey? At least the kids are free which makes it a bit better value.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1583 - 11/02/2024 13:48:49
Replying To Ban: "Ours is very poor, both in hurling and football. But at least we play in a competition that's a proper test. Like what your footballers and county hurlers play in now." With all due respects you're talking nonsense. The provincial system is a joke. There are 12 counties in Leinster, how many of them have won All Irelands in either hurling or football? It's far more competitive and difficult for a Galway hurling club to win a county final than it is for the Dublin or Kerry footballers to win their provincials. You talk about Galway having the courage to come into Leinster! Apart from KK they have won more Leinsters than any other county since their arrival in the Leinster championship. Leinster counties, understandably feel aggrieved. If Galway clubs play in the Leinster championship, they will win some of those Leinsters and the Leinster clubs will be equally aggrieved. It doesn't work. A non-provincial system would be a better alternative in both hurling and football.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 11/02/2024 14:04:28
Replying To ExiledInWex: "Oh come on now sure why not get on to Breitbart or Gript to see if they will entertain that conspiracy?
Here's what you are on the wrong end of. Wexford didn't win that match because they spent 25 minutes messing around with the ball from short puck outs only to be turned over and concede a free or a point. It was not a night for short passing and time and time again it broke down. When they launched long ball, they were much more effective but why did it take a half of hurling for them to notice that?
Wexford think they are better than Offaly, Dublin, Antrim etc but the reality is, if you get in their faces and make life hell for them, Wexford crumble. Kilkenny make the mistake of trying to hurl Wexford, which is their DNA. These other counties aren't good enough hurlers, but what they are is battlers. Offaly had a few big strong men who swatted Wexford players aside time and again. The same happened Gorey v Kilcormack. It happens to so many Wexford teams.
This is why pundits don't rate Wexford, because they beat Kilkenny and then can't beat anyone else. You need to stop gauging yourselves on Kilkenny and start thinking about how to beat other teams. 6 days later Kilkenny went to Cork and hurled them off the park, Wexford got in to a dogfight with Offaly and there was not enough fight in the dog.
Jacko was unlucky and should have red card rescinded, only saw it a 2nd time on social media but do we not need to let the referee have a 2nd look if the TV has an angle? Works well in rugby.
Saw 2nd half of Kilkenny Cork but it was light years ahead. A long way to go for this Wexford team.
A positive final point, the new seats in Wexford Park are very comfortable and Saturday night matches are made for this time of year. But €20 for a league match is a bit pricey? At least the kids are free which makes it a bit better value." There were 3 game and 5 game packages, 5 game packages worked out at €15 a match
goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 176 - 11/02/2024 14:37:05