Replying To Viking66: "It would still bother me. I wouldn't like us losing to them even if we were winning Leinsters. I don't think we have ever won a Leinster without beating them, at least not in my lifetime." The last time Wexford won a Leinster, without beating Kilkenny was 1951. When they beat Laois (who had beaten Kilkenny in the semi-final) in the final. Wexford's previous Leinster title to this was in 1918, which they also won without having to play Kilkenny.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 03/02/2024 00:50:46
Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin: "Tbh I'd say they're starting the year trying to reverse their loosing record to Limerick rather Wexford as beating them usually means its going to be an all Ireland final or semi final. They're still winning Leinsters and last few times playing its been us with more to play for in the last round Robin game. I think we make way too much of beating Kilkenny and not enough about loosing to nearly everyone else....I'd take beating all the other teams in Leinster and get to a Leinster final, all Ireland quarter/semi final than obsessing over winning one Kilkenny game in the group too much....They're not obsessing over Wexford games. Theyre worried about themselves and winning every game, maybe they might look at Galway, Limerick, Clare, whoever, for Leinster finals and all ireland finals/semis. Think we look at Kilkenny way too much for everything instead of doing our own thing and trying to do better than getting a win there and let the rest of the year just fall away. Especially when we're not that far off in overall quality, it's not the 2000s/10s Kilkenny teams, not some huge shock or makes a good year anymore. Fair enough the celebrations in 2017 after finally winning but thts 7 years ago. Facts are they've won 4 Leinster and been in 2 all Ireland's over last while and we haven't lost to them but sometimes that doesn't even mean we get out of Leinster. It's a weak mentality. Long may the hoodoo over Kilkenny continue but it would be nice to try get to a Leinster final or try beat Galway or Munster team in the year, that's when I'll know we're progressing more. Undefeated v Kilkenny last few years but also no wins v Westmeath last few years too. Clare obsess over Limerick games in a similar way but they still beat Cork, Waterford, Tipp too....just games Croke Park seem to be their kryptonite." Very good post, I would agree completely. Sunday we need to be competitive right up to the final whistle. Hopefully the younger players will go well also. It going to be tough on Sunday against a strong kilkenny team in their back garden.
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1189 - 03/02/2024 07:46:58
Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin: "Tbh I'd say they're starting the year trying to reverse their loosing record to Limerick rather Wexford as beating them usually means its going to be an all Ireland final or semi final. They're still winning Leinsters and last few times playing its been us with more to play for in the last round Robin game. I think we make way too much of beating Kilkenny and not enough about loosing to nearly everyone else....I'd take beating all the other teams in Leinster and get to a Leinster final, all Ireland quarter/semi final than obsessing over winning one Kilkenny game in the group too much....They're not obsessing over Wexford games. Theyre worried about themselves and winning every game, maybe they might look at Galway, Limerick, Clare, whoever, for Leinster finals and all ireland finals/semis. Think we look at Kilkenny way too much for everything instead of doing our own thing and trying to do better than getting a win there and let the rest of the year just fall away. Especially when we're not that far off in overall quality, it's not the 2000s/10s Kilkenny teams, not some huge shock or makes a good year anymore. Fair enough the celebrations in 2017 after finally winning but thts 7 years ago. Facts are they've won 4 Leinster and been in 2 all Ireland's over last while and we haven't lost to them but sometimes that doesn't even mean we get out of Leinster. It's a weak mentality. Long may the hoodoo over Kilkenny continue but it would be nice to try get to a Leinster final or try beat Galway or Munster team in the year, that's when I'll know we're progressing more. Undefeated v Kilkenny last few years but also no wins v Westmeath last few years too. Clare obsess over Limerick games in a similar way but they still beat Cork, Waterford, Tipp too....just games Croke Park seem to be their kryptonite." An excellent post agree 100% .Best post on here with a long time .
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 03/02/2024 08:23:40
Replying To Past hurler: "Lyng gone with 9 starters from last years Championship and Rossiter has 6 from Wexford.
There can really be no excuse for Kilkenny to lose at home on Sunday." Fanning, Reck, Chin, Kevin Foley, and Jacko have all started a good few championship games. Although Fanning and Foley weren't regular starters last year. Jacko didn't start them all last year either. Chin and Reck are the only 2 you would say would have been guaranteed starters last year had they not been injured. Mcguckin has only ever started 1 championship game for Wexford and Hearne not many more. Is it 1 also? Richie Lawlor started 1 last year. Conor Foley started 2? I doubt our whole team for Sunday had a dozen or so starts between them in last year's championship, and that's between the whole team of 15 named starters for Sunday. Only 5 of Kilkennys team haven't started multiple championship games, Molloy, Moylan, Heary, Doyle and Kevin Blanchfield. Kilkenny have absolutely no excuse for losing tomorrow.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 03/02/2024 08:28:13
Replying To Cockney_Cat: "The last time Wexford won a Leinster, without beating Kilkenny was 1951. When they beat Laois (who had beaten Kilkenny in the semi-final) in the final. Wexford's previous Leinster title to this was in 1918, which they also won without having to play Kilkenny." Thanks CC. The 20s, 30s, and early 40s were bleak years for Wexford hurling. The 30s were a bleak decade for GAA in general in the county.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 03/02/2024 08:36:51
Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin: "Tbh I'd say they're starting the year trying to reverse their loosing record to Limerick rather Wexford as beating them usually means its going to be an all Ireland final or semi final. They're still winning Leinsters and last few times playing its been us with more to play for in the last round Robin game. I think we make way too much of beating Kilkenny and not enough about loosing to nearly everyone else....I'd take beating all the other teams in Leinster and get to a Leinster final, all Ireland quarter/semi final than obsessing over winning one Kilkenny game in the group too much....They're not obsessing over Wexford games. Theyre worried about themselves and winning every game, maybe they might look at Galway, Limerick, Clare, whoever, for Leinster finals and all ireland finals/semis. Think we look at Kilkenny way too much for everything instead of doing our own thing and trying to do better than getting a win there and let the rest of the year just fall away. Especially when we're not that far off in overall quality, it's not the 2000s/10s Kilkenny teams, not some huge shock or makes a good year anymore. Fair enough the celebrations in 2017 after finally winning but thts 7 years ago. Facts are they've won 4 Leinster and been in 2 all Ireland's over last while and we haven't lost to them but sometimes that doesn't even mean we get out of Leinster. It's a weak mentality. Long may the hoodoo over Kilkenny continue but it would be nice to try get to a Leinster final or try beat Galway or Munster team in the year, that's when I'll know we're progressing more. Undefeated v Kilkenny last few years but also no wins v Westmeath last few years too. Clare obsess over Limerick games in a similar way but they still beat Cork, Waterford, Tipp too....just games Croke Park seem to be their kryptonite." Agree 100%. Hopefully Keith can get the lads to play against Galway, Carlow, Dublin and Antrim like they do against Kilkenny.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 03/02/2024 08:38:53
Replying To Viking66: "https://www.offalyindependent.ie/2024/02/02/offaly-hurlers-will-learn-from-tough-tests-against-the-elite/ Another lad assuming ourselves and Dublin will be in div1b next year." I have no bad blood around Offaly but I'd stick that up in the dressing room. Hope we hammer them.
I wouldn't even have minded if he used the phrase "for example"
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 03/02/2024 09:47:54
Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin: "Tbh I'd say they're starting the year trying to reverse their loosing record to Limerick rather Wexford as beating them usually means its going to be an all Ireland final or semi final. They're still winning Leinsters and last few times playing its been us with more to play for in the last round Robin game. I think we make way too much of beating Kilkenny and not enough about loosing to nearly everyone else....I'd take beating all the other teams in Leinster and get to a Leinster final, all Ireland quarter/semi final than obsessing over winning one Kilkenny game in the group too much....They're not obsessing over Wexford games. Theyre worried about themselves and winning every game, maybe they might look at Galway, Limerick, Clare, whoever, for Leinster finals and all ireland finals/semis. Think we look at Kilkenny way too much for everything instead of doing our own thing and trying to do better than getting a win there and let the rest of the year just fall away. Especially when we're not that far off in overall quality, it's not the 2000s/10s Kilkenny teams, not some huge shock or makes a good year anymore. Fair enough the celebrations in 2017 after finally winning but thts 7 years ago. Facts are they've won 4 Leinster and been in 2 all Ireland's over last while and we haven't lost to them but sometimes that doesn't even mean we get out of Leinster. It's a weak mentality. Long may the hoodoo over Kilkenny continue but it would be nice to try get to a Leinster final or try beat Galway or Munster team in the year, that's when I'll know we're progressing more. Undefeated v Kilkenny last few years but also no wins v Westmeath last few years too. Clare obsess over Limerick games in a similar way but they still beat Cork, Waterford, Tipp too....just games Croke Park seem to be their kryptonite." Super post. Agree completely.
Therein lies the importance of psychology.
We need to be looking inward to get the best out of ourselves.
That was the difference between 91-93(a better team) and 96(a more focused team).
We know what we have in us. The true measure of where we are against the weaker teams.
Stick Dublin when we're the better side, and destroy the teams we're expected to beat as ruthlessly as we can.
In the Davy era we did this against laois and Kerry etc.
I do feel as if Rossi and his team can get that right.
Competition for places is a huge part of that. The starting 15 should be looking over their shoulders knowing if the drop the ball in Antrim or Offaly games etc. There's a real chance they won't be picked for kk or Galway games
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 03/02/2024 09:56:10
Replying To Past hurler: "Lyng gone with 9 starters from last years Championship and Rossiter has 6 from Wexford.
There can really be no excuse for Kilkenny to lose at home on Sunday." There won't be excuses if they lose and should be the same for us it's what you learn from a defeat that makes you stronger not excuses.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 03/02/2024 10:41:29
Replying To Tiger1: "There won't be excuses if they lose and should be the same for us it's what you learn from a defeat that makes you stronger not excuses." Kilkenny men never made excuses in fairness to them.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 03/02/2024 12:15:25
No sign of Devitt, LiamRyan, D Okeeffe, Mogie, Mac, OHanlon, Conall Flood, Rory, Oisin Foley. Good to see Rossi giving plenty of gametime to the u20s. The experience will be of huge benefit for those lads. However the cats will be much stronger than they were against us in the Walsh Cup. With Eoin Cody, Adrian Mullen, Tommy Walsh, Eoin Murphy all back they look a good bit stronger than us, at least on paper.Having said that i really believe we will do well tomorrow. I base that on the style of play we have adopted. Strong tackling. Closing down defenders trying to make clearances. Taking scores From distance and excellent workrate. But we are Wexford and we don't do consistency!!!! I agree totally with the poster who said we should be targeting the likes of Galway, Dublin and the munster teams assuming we finish in the top 3. Of course it's great beating Kilkenny so many times over the last few years but we must set our sights on the bigger picture. Can we do it? We can if those young lads continue to improve and with the regulars to return soon ( hopefully). We just might be there or thereabouts. The backroom team of Damien,Dessie, Franks and Jason Ryan is strong and Keith will no doubt leave no stone unturned and will I'm sure get the best out of the players available to him. Verdict for Sunday--- Kilkenny to win by 4 points. Hope I'm very wrong.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 657 - 03/02/2024 12:21:14
Replying To Viking66: "Fanning, Reck, Chin, Kevin Foley, and Jacko have all started a good few championship games. Although Fanning and Foley weren't regular starters last year. Jacko didn't start them all last year either. Chin and Reck are the only 2 you would say would have been guaranteed starters last year had they not been injured. Mcguckin has only ever started 1 championship game for Wexford and Hearne not many more. Is it 1 also? Richie Lawlor started 1 last year. Conor Foley started 2? I doubt our whole team for Sunday had a dozen or so starts between them in last year's championship, and that's between the whole team of 15 named starters for Sunday. Only 5 of Kilkennys team haven't started multiple championship games, Molloy, Moylan, Heary, Doyle and Kevin Blanchfield. Kilkenny have absolutely no excuse for losing tomorrow." 7 of the Kilkenny team named started the final last year v Limerick plus David Blanchfield if fit would have, on recent championships we've 4 or 5 starters named, Kilkenny would have to be favourites but I just want a fully committed performance like the last 2 weeks and whatever that takes us so be it.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 03/02/2024 13:15:28
Good luck to Rossy and his men as they start the new season. Wexford men managing Wexford. Not before time. Those 3 home games will be vital for Wexford to get into Division 1 next year. I completely concur with Wexford needing to take the anger and passion they play with v Kilkenny to every match. Mixture of new and old which is great. I get that the focus is championship and blooding players for it but from what I hear I think many Wexford players need to follow Chin's attitude of not having hurled for 6 months and need all the games they can get. Championship only 8-9 week away? From what I heard the setup is much happier than last year. Good luck to the squad and management team.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1977 - 03/02/2024 13:28:38
Replying To StoreysTash: "Good luck to Rossy and his men as they start the new season. Wexford men managing Wexford. Not before time. Those 3 home games will be vital for Wexford to get into Division 1 next year. I completely concur with Wexford needing to take the anger and passion they play with v Kilkenny to every match. Mixture of new and old which is great. I get that the focus is championship and blooding players for it but from what I hear I think many Wexford players need to follow Chin's attitude of not having hurled for 6 months and need all the games they can get. Championship only 8-9 week away? From what I heard the setup is much happier than last year. Good luck to the squad and management team." Championship is 11 weeks away.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 03/02/2024 14:44:10
Almost to emphasize not reading too much into Walsh Cup, I see Galway have released 6 of the lads who started/came on v Wexford from the panel. But the work rate level is the only thing I want to take from that game and hope it's a sign of things to come and also good to see lads being rewarded for good performances with a pretty similar team named. From here on in the games will be moving up a gear every week until Championship. Interested to see how goalkeeper battle goes...it's grand for Walsh cup and first few rounds of league but you'd hope by last few games of league we'd have a definite no.1. A decent league and few lads come on bit is the aim and be primed for first round.....makes it sound very simplistic always easier said than done ....not hopefully not have half the panel out injured after.
Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 03/02/2024 17:58:09
The game sunday wont define either teams season. Its the first proper day out. Looking at the kk team it seems a stronger team on paper but they are also missing 6 or 7 who would start or be very close. I wont get to hung up on whos missing who because all teams wil be looking at this league differently and will be missing players at different stages. Fair play to keith he is rewarding mostly that group from the walsh cup. I know theres a big return list expected back later in the year but lets be honest hanlon,liam og and dee are most likely in their last year. Conor mac was dropped last year and is very inconsistent. Liam ryan has being struggling with injuries. Lee has probably two years left if he can stay injury free. What im trying to say is the game wexford were playing especially under davey required huge work and wasnt sustainable. Some players havent recovered since then.That 3 times leinster winning u21 is coming near the end. Keith knows he has to introduce freshness and build a new team. He needs to be given time and patience because there will be potholes along the way. Finishing the top 3 in leinster is very achievable and i believe training and the morale is very good. Theres freshness in the setup. On the match itself that kk full back line is very slow and will surely be targeted. All teams including wexford last year went after tommy walsh corner back. Lee destroyed him in the park. Cody played college the other night so mullen will the foward to watch. Alot of the others are inconsistent. Billy ryan is afraid of the dark. This would be a big win away all the same. It will be a big step up from the walsh cup we all know that but the lads who are there desrve their chance tomor. There should be a good crowd with it not bein on tv
Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 73 - 03/02/2024 21:45:27
Replying To Slowandshortsighted: "The game sunday wont define either teams season. Its the first proper day out. Looking at the kk team it seems a stronger team on paper but they are also missing 6 or 7 who would start or be very close. I wont get to hung up on whos missing who because all teams wil be looking at this league differently and will be missing players at different stages. Fair play to keith he is rewarding mostly that group from the walsh cup. I know theres a big return list expected back later in the year but lets be honest hanlon,liam og and dee are most likely in their last year. Conor mac was dropped last year and is very inconsistent. Liam ryan has being struggling with injuries. Lee has probably two years left if he can stay injury free. What im trying to say is the game wexford were playing especially under davey required huge work and wasnt sustainable. Some players havent recovered since then.That 3 times leinster winning u21 is coming near the end. Keith knows he has to introduce freshness and build a new team. He needs to be given time and patience because there will be potholes along the way. Finishing the top 3 in leinster is very achievable and i believe training and the morale is very good. Theres freshness in the setup. On the match itself that kk full back line is very slow and will surely be targeted. All teams including wexford last year went after tommy walsh corner back. Lee destroyed him in the park. Cody played college the other night so mullen will the foward to watch. Alot of the others are inconsistent. Billy ryan is afraid of the dark. This would be a big win away all the same. It will be a big step up from the walsh cup we all know that but the lads who are there desrve their chance tomor. There should be a good crowd with it not bein on tv" Agree on Hanlon, Dee and mogie but there's a good bit more left in jippo and Mac in my opinion.
Mac just needs to be used properly. Having said that the game we're developing won't suit him either. Maybe he's best in reserve to be stuck on the edge of the square when teams are tiring. He's proven time and again he doesn't need a huge amount of ball to do damage.
I'm feeling pretty cautious about tomorrow now, but again, keeping up the work rate and attitude is most important.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 03/02/2024 23:07:46
Replying To Doylerwex: "Agree on Hanlon, Dee and mogie but there's a good bit more left in jippo and Mac in my opinion.
Mac just needs to be used properly. Having said that the game we're developing won't suit him either. Maybe he's best in reserve to be stuck on the edge of the square when teams are tiring. He's proven time and again he doesn't need a huge amount of ball to do damage.
I'm feeling pretty cautious about tomorrow now, but again, keeping up the work rate and attitude is most important." Mac has shown very little since the Tipp game in 2019 if truth be told.
Might get the odd point or two but he's a sub in my eyes.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 1028 - 04/02/2024 01:04:19
This is a right game.
Two things. Jippo be under pressure to dislodge Conor Foley the way he's going.
Molloy has the potential to be a superstar
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 04/02/2024 14:52:53
That's unbelievably frustrating.
Hit on Foley was way worse thanks the one on Kenny. Penalty for a foul outside the area. Absolutely shocking
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 04/02/2024 14:57:37